Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Ellen

Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 144 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 218 reviews
on November 20, 2016
OK.... this is a book which was purchased on my husband's account, so let's not embarrass him by reviewing a girls book and letting the public think "he" wrote it. I like Carolyn Brown's books. She writes well. The story lines are usually good, clean and well paced. Characters are the kind one would like to know in real life. Sometimes the story lines are a little predictable. However, Carolyn Brown's books are enjoyable as a break from a the more intense genre of literature, and I sometimes just want to enjoy an afternoon of leisure reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
This was the kind of romance I would have read in highschool. Though the heroine was an older woman and was the owner of the boarding house, I knew a boarder would come that would strike her fancy and the story would go from there to its inevitable end. What I liked most about this book was that it was set in Oklahoma (I;m an Okie, born& bred) and Ms. Brown described the oil field and everything about it exactly right. She also had great knowledge about the small towns of the time in Oklahoma. Actually they haven't changed all that much even to this day. I would recommend this book for anyone looking for a light read that doesn't take too long to finish.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
Only one font available for this book. This font is hard for someone with less than perfect vision to see at night. The book is good as always with a Carolyn Brown book. I will finish the book but feel I should be allowed to return it as it is essentially a damaged copy for a kindle book. I will be more careful and not order a book from Kindle that does not have the option to change fonts. If this is some kind of error it needs to be fixed. Loved the book although it was very hard to read at night.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2016
I always enjoy Carolyn Brown books and this is no exception! Being from small town Oklahoma, I can whole heartedly relate to her characters and stories. Ready for Tully's story!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
I just love the way Carolyn Brown writes a book. You can always count on her to bring laughter, heated confrontations, along with love and joy into each and every one of her stories. And this one is no exception.

Clara Anderson was jilted a decade ago, but she got over it awhile ago. Now she has has her routine, and she likes it that way. But oil has brought change to Healdton, Oklahoma, and she doesn't like it one bit. That doesn't mean she has to rent rooms to anyone from that oil company, they can all just go looking somewhere else for all she cares. Then one day she comes back from running errands, only to find out that her hired help rented a room to Briar Nelson, a roustabout for Rose Oil.

Briar just wants a place to sleep and eat and if the lovely, crazy woman has a problem with that, she can take it up with a lawyer. He signed the contract for three months and paid the rent in advance and nothing is going to make him leave. Changes more personal than the discovery of oil take place in the Morning Glory Inn as Clara and Briar fight the past and fear the future.

Bravo Ms. Brown, for another very entertaining read!

Would I recommend this book? Yes, most definitely
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2017
Even though Carolyn Brown books are predictable, they are still an enjoyable read. Sometimes, I need to read predictable books that you can count on to have a happily ever after ending. (At least you presume that to be the case.) The characters in this book had previous unhappy endings, then they met each other and clashed. A good beginning for an interesting read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2017
Carolyn Brown speaks my language. She is saucy, and down to earth, and funny. Her writing is always interesting and believable. I love her work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
This was a great story! It shows that when people care about each other that they can always find happiness.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2017
I really love these books. The women and their remind me of my mother-in-law. She's just as feisty as them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
This is a good book to read in a waiting room or on a trip, light and fun and easy get bag to if you have interruptions. Sweet love story and a happy ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99

Need customer service? Click here