Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 151 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 193 reviews
on May 18, 2013
I bought this pack for the Red Faction games and Homefront.

**Homefront: It's four hours. From what I understand, the multiplayer is super buggy and has been since release. It's yet another Call of Duty clone. There are only a few guns and a few scopes. Play mix-and-match. Disappointing. I was intrigued by the Red Dawn-inspired plot, but the game fails to deliver.

**STALKER is an interesting, though overly complex game typical of Eastern European game developers (ARMA). Sometimes you'll find yourself randomly dying because you're being shot at and you don't know it. A large part of this is that I rely on subtitles to tell me action is happening, but the game doesn't subtitle action sounds. But the ambiance is creepy and the mild RPG elements feel rewarding.

**RF: Guerrilla is a fun open-world destruction fest where almost everything can be smashed into tiny bits for profit or fun. It's just a super fun, enjoyable game and I highly recommend it. It is short, clocking in at 20 hours for 100% completion, but it's time well-spent.

**RF: Armageddon is a completely different game. Using the same Lego-ish "everything is made of smaller pieces" model, though to a slightly lesser degree, Armageddon is an over-the-shoulder 3rd person shooter. Your time is spent progressing through linear levels with low degrees of variance. It's a much more attractive and smooth game than its predecessor, but not nearly as original.

**I have not played Space Marine or Metro 2033.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
Before buying this bundle, I owned 3 of the 6 games already. I bought it because, even taking those games out, it was still a fantastic deal. Amazon has really been coming through on digital game sales lately, beating out deals that other digital competitors (such as Steam and the almost too-cheap-to-be-true Green Man Gaming) have. Great deal aside, here's a short review for each of the games in the bundle:

Homefront (5/10): This is a pretty mediocre shooter. It tries to win over the Call of Duty crowd with its obvious take on Red Dawn, but it's just not very fun to play. The story is ok at best, with a few moments here and there standing out, but nothing extremely memorable. Overall a pretty passable title.

STALKER (8.5/10): One of the three games I had played previously. This is easily the oldest in the bunch, but arguably the best too. It's an open-world survival shooter set in Chernobyl after the nuclear bomb goes off. You are a survivor among other survivors, trying to get the supplies you need to stay alive. All while fighting off the occasional mutant animal or bandit attack along the way. Very good game.

Red Faction: Guerilla (8/10): Probably my favorite game in the Red Faction series. Another of the games I played previously. I loved the open world direction they took the series in, and the destructible environments never get old. The story is ultimately forgettable, but who cares? This game is so much fun just to go in and smash stuff up. What other game can you walk into a building and take it down with just a sledge hammer?

Red Faction: Armageddon (6/10): A significant step back for the series, in my opinion. The open world environments are gone, replaced by the corridors of the early Red Faction games. The destruction is still fun, but severely limited when compared to Guerilla. This game doesn't really do enough to make it stand out, especially when compared to other similar third-person games available (including its predecessor).

Warhammer 40k: Space Marine (N/A): I haven't played enough of this to give it a review, but the few hours I have played seemed like a fairly generic shooter at its core. I will probably pick it up again and give it another chance, but it did nothing to suck me into its world or gameplay.

Metro 2033 (8.5/10): Another brilliant game worth the price of admission by itself. Set in the underground rail tunnels of post-apocalyptic Russia, this is a truly original first-person shooter. Everything feels so real and lived-in. All the weapons, items, environments, and people are worn out like you would expect, and the story is very well-made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
Let me qualify this review. I paid 7.50 for it during Christmas, and it is almost always on sale for at least 75% off. At those prices it really is a lot of bang for your buck. None of the games are quite stand out titles, with Metro and Stalker coming close, but none of the games are below average. Homefront has a very short single player campaign, I turned up the difficulty the first time through which helped quite a bit, good multiplayer too but I don't play MP much. The Red Faction games are pretty average, as they have been since the PS2 days, great ideas that start to fall flat half way through. Stalker is very good though its age is starting to show. Space marines reminds me of the old destiny warriors games back when they were decent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2013
Homefront and Red Faction: Armageddon are just bad shooters trying to copy Call of Duty's success. Red Faction: Guerilla and Space Marine really shine when all of the gameplay elements come together correctly, but the gunplay might not be for everyone. Metro 2033 and STALKER are the gems in this grab bag of games, though: both are about trying to survive in hauntingly post-apoc atmospheric environments with scarce supplies.

If this package becomes available again, you should definitely buy it. Metro or STALKER alone make it worth the spare change.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2013
Another solid pack from THQ. I already owned all games but simply bought them again to support them (as they are apparently in trouble) when the pack went on sale.

All individule steam keys. Homefront has a s***ty and cory storyline but the graphics is very nice to me. You won't find any online games anymore but the single playthrough is fun enough.

Stalker is just classic and loads of fun. Remember to download free Stalker Complete mod to iimprove the graphics and small things.

Red Faction is another great series. And very nice they include the newest one too.

Metro 2033 still is one of the best shooter game and the environment they created is very engaging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
Homefront: Short, sweet. Four hours could be worse spent, especially when acquired with this bundle.

Stalker: Brilliant game. Atmospheric, difficult (at times), and very entertaining and memorable.

Red Faction: Guerrilla: Destroy stuff. Have fun. Get bored after 15 hours because it grows a little repetitive.

Red Faction: Armageddon: Grab magnet gun: make things smash into other things. Neat!

Metro: See STALKER. Same idea, but linear instead of open world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
So far, I've only had a chance to play Homefront, Stalker, Metro 2033, and a bit of Warhammer: Space Marine. THQ puts out some solid games. Homefront is an enjoyable FPS, somewhat along the lines of COD or the BF series. The opening sequence is pretty graphic. If you have small children, you may want to usher them out of the room. Stalker is promising. I've only put a few hours into it, but it was fun. Metro 2033 is a post-apocalyptic sci-fi classic. The bundle is worth it for that game alone. Help THQ out and buy this bundle! For the current price ($7.49), you need only ask one question: can I really afford NOT to get it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
Now, I don't think that any of these games are perfect 5 star games but the collection for its price is worth the rating.

For 12 bucks you get two very good single player FPS games (Metro 2033 and Stalker), a fun third person action game (Space Marine) and some good, if older, third person shooters (the Red Faction games). While Homefront received unimpressive reviews on release, I personally haven't gotten around to playing it yet so can't make any claims.

And for pete's sake, the collection here costs dollars less than any of the games individually. Grab it while you can.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
If you're interested in even one of these games, and you can tolerate Steam, buy this now. I paid around $7 for the package and it's probably the best deal I've ever gotten on a game bundle. Metro 2033 alone kept me occupied for a week just getting through the game once, and I could easily replay this one a few times. S.T.A.L.K.E.R. is a classic and if you don't have it, you should try it out. Red Faction is also quite entertaining. You're getting a heck of a lot more out of this package for the price than you'll get out of a first person shooter for half off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
Unfortunately, this deal is no longer available, but boy was it a great one! Keep an eye out for promotion packs like these in the future and you can get quite a bang for your buck.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here