Customer Reviews: Finding the Devil: Darkness, Light, and the Untold Story of the Chilean Mine Disaster (Kindle Single)
Amazon Vehicles 4-month subscription Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 New Professional Skin Care Cozy Knits STEM Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  All-New Echo Dot Introducing new colors All-New Kindle for Kids Edition Lady Gaga Shop Cycling on Amazon

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 26, 2012
More than two years after the rescue of the Chilean miners, I had thought that I knew everything I wanted to know about their plight. Then I read "Finding the Devil," William Langewiesche's panoramic spectacle of the extraction. His mastery of the technical details of mining--the construction of tunnels, the nature of drills, the climate underground--is extraordinary, as is his ability to communicate this knowledge to the common reader. His portraits of the miners and their rescuers are incisive, as is his portrayal of the political circus that sprang up around the crisis from the beginning. Unexpectedly, Finding the Devil is tinged with comedy throughout. Not long after the drill bit explodes through the ceiling of the refuge, leading to joyous contact with the world above, several of the miners' families smuggle marijuana back down the shaft to their men. Langewiesche's epic will survive as the authoritative account of this not quite unalloyed tale of survival.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2015
The author did a great job of describing and explaining the many aspects of the Chilean mine collapse of 2010. His style is engaging, easy to follow, technical where it needs to be yet never over the head of the reader. I appreciated the author's illuminating comments on the (as usual) over the top, self-serving actions of the press, politicians and even some miners' family members during this crisis. The author also describes how the members of the successful drilling crew, the real saviors, were pushed aside at the end, and wound up quietly packing their equipment and leaving without receiving due credit for their efforts. A sad final comment was that many of the trapped miners did not thrive once freed. Publicity, greed, PTSD and a host of other reactions soured their lives. All in all, this is a story about human nature with all its warts and with the flashes of heroism that give us hope during disappointments and dark times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2012
Though I followed the story of the Chilean miners as the disaster unfolded, I had no idea of the rich tale behind the headlines. Langewiesche, an absolute master storyteller and reporter, delivers a gripping account of the miners' plight almost a mile underground as well as the opportunistic circus that sprang up on the fringes of the rescue effort. A wonderful story of survival, courage, and human nature.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
Like the rest of the world, I was mesmerized to the tale of the Chilean Miners and I cried as I watched their rescue on television. This is an interesting look at details that escaped the TV monitors. I did however, wish for more. I didn't feel that I had learned a great deal more and I would have liked to "meet" more of the miners personally on the page. Worth the read, but somewhat disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
This is an excellent story of the Chilean mine disaster, well-written with understandable explanations of all the technical parts. It begins with an overview of the mining conditions in Chile, then goes on to the story of how the mine collapsed and what the miners did to survive. The author was in the camp which sprung up around the collapsed mine and tells of the conditions there as the relatives of the miners waited for news. He tells how the rescue was completed, and how many politicians used the rescue for their own publicity. It is a gripping tale!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2013
This short balances the telling of a technical history of the engineering feat(s) involved in the rescue of the 33, telling the human story of the men and their families, and illuminating a small bit of the internal politics that inevitably swirl around such incidents (and balances it well). It is a quick and compelling read that was well worth the time and price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2013
A well written book about a story that the news on tv and newspaper kept us informed of for the duration. Mixed emotions for me seeing people from a different country deal with disasiter.This book took a public story and gave us a personal look,and let us know the stories of each person had far reaching details, of how an industry that would never tell the truth about the way it got away with putting people's lives in danger.. Another good book from Amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2014
One of those stories that you remember from a few years back....I remember just thinking "those poor guys are dead...." but as already there is more to the story than that, and the author does a great job of telling the whole story with perspective and hindsight. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2014
I find this book do not add any really interesting facts about this already famous story.
The author gossip a lot about the families of the miners and other people about the site; that only make me feel like I was reading a tabloid magazine article not a book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
A great fast read, informative, moves like a spy novel. Action, great characters and true to boot! The end was a real unsuspected surprise and by end, I mean the paragraphs about the follow up and the stats 2 years after the rescue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here