Spring Deals Automotive Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Save $20 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy  Echo Dot Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now TG18PP_gno

on December 8, 2012
Season two has more than met expectations, and the writers tweaked our noses a bit when the first half of the second season ended by stating on screen: TO BE CONTINUED, and then below those words: SORRY. So the second half looks like a kicker and the characters are becoming more intertwined and more team oriented. The bond between Nick and Monroe continues to strengthen. Particularly touching is when Monroe takes Nick in after Nick leaves the house he shares with Juliette. It's phenomenal, and heightens the greatest paradox on the show: a "Grimm" and a "Wessen" teaming up with total trust in one another. These two characters, and indeed the actors, have unbelievable chemistry between them. If you try to imagine casting two other actors in these roles, it's impossible.

Season two does not fail to entertain nor decrease nail biting in the least. Even I am poised on the edge of my seat wondering where all the plot lines will go. It's among the top three programs I've ever watched in my 58 years. This show will put the actors on the "acting map", particularly David Giuntoli. He's finally been given a chance to show what he can do and broken out of the small parts arena. I noted his performance as a guest in an episode of Grey's Anatomy; he brings strength and sensitivity to any role he takes on, and his Nick character shows this in abundance.

So tune in to this show if you have not done so. After the constant barrage of reality shows and fall-flat comedies, Grimm is a huge change. You'll get lost in its magic and forget your troubles for an hour each week.
1010 comments| 169 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 2, 2016
This is a show that is so successful and continually entertaining because it's been done so well. It's a perfect mix of a traditional buddy-cop crime drama and Grimm's Fairy Tales sci-fi/fantasy. A young Portland detective, Nick Burkhart, learns that he's descended from a centuries-old tradition of Grimms when he begins seeing "normal" human beings transform (woge... pronounced 'vogga') into hideous Fairy Tale-esque monsters (wesen... VES-sin; Ger. "a being" or "creature"). He inherits the family trailer from his dying Aunt who raised him. The trailer is filled with mystical weapons and instructions on how to kill the various species of wesen in the most effective ways based on their biology. Charged with his police code of honor, however, Nick doesn't kill randomly like his predecessors. He does go after (and kill) criminal wesen when necessary and uses others as CIs and friends. His compassion makes him a unique, likable Grimm and a legend among wesen who view Grimms as the kinds of nightmarish ghouls similar to the Bogeyman for normal folk. Aided by his non-Grimm detective partner, Hank Griffin, his reformed wesen Big Bad Wolf buddy, Monroe and Monroe's girlfriend, Rosalee, they solve a plethora of unique crimes. Great fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 17, 2015
Season Two left many fingernail slivers on MY chest... and cheeze-dust from Chetos!
Brilliant writing, throughout EVERY season. Amazing which plot-lines end and begin in just 43-minutes
[I enjoyed the 55-minute re-constructed one]. One of my favorite FIVE programs, currently on-the-air.
It showcases MANY actors' resum`es. David Giuntoli has become more than a pretty face that, once, only
reminded me of [a recent] Superman's stunt-double.. He's developed into a capable leading man of merit.
I suppose I could Google it, but he's been in a few other shows as a guest-star. Nick's character has as
much TEETH as Monroe... BOTH men show their characters' CHARACTER.

Grimm is a giant step FORWARD from the other shows that I like:

After you've seen the first episode, season one, you'll be scooped up in the magic, and forget the world's B.S.
for 43-minute mini-movies... every single week on the tube, or like I do---here in Germany---BINGE WATCH
one of the five discs, a day, Monday through Friday.

Help keep the show on the air as long as SOME dumb shows that have been on TV for over twenty years. Buy every
season available:
Grimm: Season 1 [Blu-ray]
Grimm: Season 2 [Blu-ray]
Grimm: Season 3 [Blu-ray]
Grimm: Season 4 [Blu-ray]
Grimm: Season FIVE -- Blu-ray

A Review From NEAR Grimm's Black Forest,
SFC Michael John Groesch-McCluskey
U. S. Navy and U. S. Army, Retired*



*=denotes a 67-year-old man that dresses up like... well, the profile photo IS me; I live near Frankenstein castle,
on the Bavarian-Hessen border. When you are the same size as "Frankie", flaunt it!

Happy Howl-o-we'en!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 22, 2016
Not as good as season 1. The storyline with Juilet not remembering him, getting involved with someone else, and then getting her memories back really just seemed to drag on and on and on and on...... It actually became difficult to watch. I had to force myself through several episodes so I wouldn't miss anything important and eventually it picked back up and got sooooo much better toward the end of the season. So if you find yourself losing interest like I did, just push through and it will get better.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 21, 2017
Let me say first that Grimm isn't for everyone. If you don't like sci-fi/fantasy, or strange creatures, or dark themes, you probably won't like Grimm. But if you enjoy sci-fi/fantasy, and are intrigued by strange creatures, Grimm may be right down your alley.

One of the things I enjoy most about Grimm is the cast, and the humor. Overall, Grimm deals with dark themes, but there's lots of comedic relief. The main character Nick develops close friendships with several strange and likable characters, who have become the protagonists in the series.

If you order Season 1 or Season 5 on Blu-ray, be sure to check if you're getting the standard plastic Blu-ray cases (which I prefer), or the crummy cardboard cases. The cardboard cases have more artwork, but are a hassle when removing/inserting the disks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I have sincerely enjoyed this delightful series. My only complaint, and it's a big one, is that the last season is not available for those with Amazon Prime. And the cost per episode is WAY too high to be affordable. I may actually quit looking at Amazon Prime series because of this practice. I find it totally objectionable. Enough said. Grimm season 2 is every bit as good as season 1, maybe even better, because the characters are being developed, and their relationships being fleshed out. I love the good guys (especially Nick and Monroe) and I hate the bad guys (especially the Hexenbeist Adalind), and remain neutral about Juliet. The plot development remains exciting, innovative, and just plain fun. The special effects are terrific. This is one of my favorite series ever. Now if I could just be allowed to watch the final season without bankrupting myself...booo, hisss!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 9, 2016
This review applies just to season 2...


This continues to be a great show. They are introducing more nuisances now, and are learning more about the world of the Grimm, and have more sub-plots happening at once. It is my opinion that 2-3 sub-plots that have significance and can hold audience interest are the key to any successful TV Drama. Grimm handles 1-2 sub-plots in season 2 - very well. It reveals more about the characters, and you get a sense that there is a depending main plot that is far more than just a detective show (all good).


The acting performances of the main characters in general is from good to great. The production and directing has been excellent. The story (i.e. actors lines and interactions are not always perfect - It is my impression this is due to the script writing). This is the main reason I'm rating 4 stars vs 5. Some of the shows are a bit weak on credibility (it would take so little more effort to change things slightly, and make it feel more realistic). Thankfully, this doesn't happen a lot. Also, with every show, there is at least one new "wesen" being introduced. This tends to change the premise of the show in season 1, which was that only some (perhaps less than half the population) were wesen. But, it is getting more difficult to believe this, unless all criminals, and a lot of victims happen to be wesen, while all others are just normal folks.

They finished the season strong (from a drama and overall story point of view). They have set themselves up well to be able to have several more good seasons.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 24, 2016
Love this series. It's a new and unexpected twist on the Grimm's Fairy Tales I heard or read as a kid. Each episode is a stand-alone feature, with only one exception so far. It's fun, unusual, and a most welcome break from the usual television hum-drum subject matter. Filmmakers and television producers are in it for the money, so they always look at the bottom line. That's why there is so much junk on TV...the average viewer in the television business is assumed to have the IQ of an eight year old...I used to work in television, and this was always the age group commercials and programming were developed for. "Grimm" is a welcome break, and even though it has some usual character and plot development stuff, it's done well enough to hold my attention. After a couple seasons, you can tell the writers are stretching a bit for new material, but everything like this has a beginning and an end. Usually the pilot episode makes or breaks the season, so the best episodes are the pilots and the first couple seasons. Very few make it past just a few years. Really terrific pilots in past years have showed poorly and were dumped right after the debut of the pilot episode. Grimm should last at least five years, I think...maybe more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 20, 2017
If Season 1 was like your nice next-door neighbour you wished would be a little more forthcoming about his past, Season 2 is that same neighbour gone on a rampage - it's like the writers are throwing out all the information and sub-plots they could think of - creativity rather than discipline. You'll want to clear your schedule to get through the 1st half of Season 1.

The 2nd half is a little more toned down, and those episodes are probably the best - you get a breather and can appreciate some of the new Wessen species - but then right at the end, the tension ratchets up again and we're back to the whole royal conspiracy thing. All your favourite characters are still playing, but they don't really let them just deal with their regular cases. Season 2 is less police procedural, more fairy tale drama. Which means less detective work (for them), more binge-watching (for you). You have been warned.

Nice that it's even more multilingual (French, Spanish, German) this season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 23, 2015
Always one of the best "rarities" on Network TV ! Perfect cast ensemble. Loved it since Season 1 Episode 1. Purchased the Season 1 DVD Set. Super special effects...sometimes mind-blowing scripts. Season 2 picks-up the pace set in the first year of this excellent series. The interaction between the characters gets tighter as they mature in their roles.

The relationship between Nick & Juliette is strained due to her memory loss...making her character really grating at times. But that of the adorable Rosalee (Bree Turner) & Monroe shifts into a warm, sweet pairing that both actors make true and believable. Hank is brought "into-the-mix" this Season by being taught how to view Wesen...and finally understands how the change from human to Wesen/Wesen to human occurs.

In short: If you want to see a Fantasy/Horror-based Series that's got a great cast, good scripts, phenomenal special effects, and, superb production values... you can't go wrong with Season 2, Or, any Season of "Grimm" !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here