Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 86 reviews
on February 15, 2015
The salacious cover art on this Blu-ray edition of The Vampire Lovers is purposely misleading as no such scene ever appears in this movie. No one is chained to a wall. There is no army of female vampires on the loose. Instead, you have a single vampire on the prowl (Ingrid Pitt as Marcilla/Carmilla). She targets two young women (Pippa Steel as Laura, her first victim, then Madeline Smith as Emma). Anyone else who gets in her way is simply a warm beverage. The plot is very basic, Marcilla/Carmilla insinuates herself in two households and holds sway over the people there as she exerts her influence over her two victims. She's aided in her evil deeds by a mysterious woman claiming to be her mother. This mother brokers Marcilla/Carmilla's entry into the right home then departs. Periodically throughout the film a creepy looking guy on horseback puts in an appearance, grins malevolently, then disappears. This movie is heavy on atmosphere, less than forthcoming on information. It begins in General von Spielsdorf's home (Peter Cushing). Then the General makes a hasty departure and doesn't reappear until the final scenes, making him less than a supporting character. (A great pity considering I bought this movie thinking it was a Peter Cushing vehicle.) Make no mistake about it; this is Ingrid Pitt's movie. Her character is a force to be reckoned with. It's a fascinating performance. She manages to evoke such great sadness that one could almost feel sorry for her. Poor dear, she has to drink people to death. Well, at least she didn't dine alone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2015
I had never seen this film before. So when I saw Shout! Factory had an edition on Amazon for $8.99, I said, let me get this! Hammer Studios Almost always puts out a great film.
This is a VERY soft core & erotic film. I was extreamly suprised that Hammer Studios deigned to make this, let alone release it. It is very classy. Well scripted. And extreamly well acted. When It says on the cover "Not for the mentally immature", THEY AREN'T KIDDING!!!!
I love this film. And am glad I purchased it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2015
Good entry from Hammer, the first of a trilogy of non Christopher Lee vampire movies. Interesting story (bonus includes Ingrid Pitt reading the novella Carmilla, the story on which the film is loosely based), decent acting, and Ingrid Pitt. What more can you ask for? The blu-ray looks great (as with all the new Hammer blu-rays I've purchased.)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2016
Much appreciated having this released on Blu.
Ingrid is incredible, Peter is perfect and it's a pretty good film too.
We now have two of the Hammer "Karnstein trilogy" on Blu ( other is "Twins of Evil", a GREAT film!).
PLEASE release "Lust For A Vampire" (the 2nd one) soon!
It may not be Oscar worthy but is far better than some of the dreck released on Blu lately.
When I'm chopping wood for my fireplace, I think of Eddie Murphy movies released on Blu.
Time just flies by!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2017
Good sexy vampire film from Hammer Studios.
Would buy from again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
Probably the best vampire movie ever made and very ahead of its time, but this particular version has sadly been cut and edited so much, that it reflects badly on the original theme. I've heard there is an uncut version on Blue-ray, but it should never have been messed with in the first place. If those in charge had more sense, they could have issued an M15+ version and an R rated, uncut version for perfectionists.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2017
scream factory does it again with another quality release, plenty of extra goodies. (I'm not going to review the movie, as we have all seen it before) this is definitely a collectors edition Blu Ray with nice packaging and lots of extras... If your going to collect movies and you love horror then you cant go wrong with Scream Factory
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2017
as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2014
By FAR Hammer pictures most sensual and erotic picture is a MUST own for every red blooded man (or woman) in our great Nation . The film's charming budgetary restrictions are handled smartly and artistically very well by director Roy Ward Baker (Dr. Jekyll And Sister Hyde , Quatermass And The Pit , Asylum , Scars Of Dracula , The Vault Of Horror , The Legend Of The 7 Golden Vampires) . For example , when an individual is riding a horse (in close up) against a false blue sky , Mr. Baker manages to achieve a near Bava (mario) like image circa Black Sabbath .
There's simply too much terrific stuff here , including a fine cast , great atmospherics and cinematography and a tremendously "revealing" Blu ray image for me to get me prattling on at great length (aka , don't get me started) . Great gore too . Get this one yesterday . The value (as of 7-19-14) is FANTASTIC as well . Pull that trigger friends . I'm so glad I did......Ben
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
Vampire Lovers on blu-ray was a excellent transfer. This is worth having. Its a great movie that came the closes to the classic novel of Camilla. The special features could have had a little more improvement but still worth having. I was disappointed that it did not come with a dvd as other sets have, or that you can download this as streaming, since I believe Blu-ray will eventually die out and replace by streaming, nevertheless I recommend this blu-ray to everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse