BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment TNF TNF TNF  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Schindler's List [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$12.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on February 6, 2015
A great film, of course. The documentary, 'Voices From the List', is a fantastic insight into the story of Oskar Schindler and the Jews saved by him. One of the greatest documentaries I have ever seen included with a Blu-ray or DVD. The increased definition of the Blu-ray is phenomenal. It's a nice Blu-ray/DVD set with some nice extras.

The film speaks for itself.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
Schindler's List is a reminder to all of those that go after us that we are capable of great evil and great compassion. Why Schindler decided to do what he did he and God will only know but it was brought to life in this film. His devotion to those who worked for him was unending. And his ability to find essentiality where the naked eye could not see was amazing. He didn't do it for greatness but for something deeper and personal. One could only hope that there are others in this world who are like this man was in such horrible circumstances. Schindler's List is long, over 3 hours but it has depth and insight that many movies cannot bring out that all generations should be subject to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2016
I have not seen this movie since its original release. It made an unforgettable impression on me then, but this time the impact was even more intense. It is such an extraordinary movie, in subject matter, acting, and cinematography. I had forgotten how effective the black-and-white production made this film. I'm getting ready to make a trip to Poland and Auschwitz and am glad I watched this film again in preparation for the experience . It is such a graphic and compelling reminder of what a horrific and shameful time this was in modern history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
There are many movies out there that you can watch over and over and be entertained. You can pop it in, make some popcorn, and generally be entertained. No matter how many times you see it, it doesn't get old.

Schindler's List is not that kind of movie. In the same vein of Twelve Years a Slave, you won't be eager to watch this movie again. In fact, I cannot blame you if you don't want to. I will likely never watch this movie again, save to remind myself and others of just what humanity is capable of doing to itself.

However, that does not detract from this movie; quite the opposite. This is a graphic, brutal, and completely horrifying tale from the Holocaust, in which millions of innocent human beings were murdered for possessing a different religious view than the majority of Europe, and were reviled and persecuted because of it. The only smile you will have on your face will be one of relief at the end, with tears flowing from your eyes, as you see a man originally doing this for profit redeem himself by saving everyone he could, then BERATING himself for not saving more when he truly could not.

You should not watch this movie; nay, you MUST watch it. This is a film in which you will regret never seeing if you do not, because you will have deprived yourself a true understanding of the horror that was visited upon these people, and how the efforts of one man, arguably the least likely person of them all, managed to save them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2017
This movie really is one of the best movies ever made, and super important for everyone to see. However, I was VERY unhappy that on the very first showing of the blu ray in my home, the disc failed at the very end, and the movie locked up and the closing scene that was very moving was almost ruined. But apparently I waited to long to watch the movie so I am unable to review it. Caveat emptor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 2, 2014
This film is hands down the best one I've ever seen on the Holocaust, and there have been a couple of others that were very good. Liam Neeson's performance is stellar. As the Nazi industrialist who gradually realizes what the Nazis are doing to the Jews and has compassion for the Jews, Neeson gives a nuanced performance that is believable and skillfully done. The soundtrack is artfully matched to the film's action and provides cues at every turn as to what the mood and context in each scene are. Ralph Fiennes as the psychopathic Amon is chilling. Some of the devices that Spielberg uses in the film are pure genius, such as the saying and typing of each name on the list. This burns the memory of the names into the brains of the viewers and indirectly pays tribute to the real people the names belong to, some of whom appear at the end of the movie to pay homage to the real Oskar Schindler. The little girl in the red coat is a silent but haunting character that embodies the senseless tragedy of the Holocaust. This movie is both inspiring and difficult to watch. It is so exquisitely crafted, moment by moment, that you cannot take your eyes off it in most scenes, yet the horror and depravity of Nazi brutality brands your heart with a searing recognition of the unreasoning inhumanity that is both maddening and tragic at the same time. Whatever you think of Spielberg or the actors in the film, you will very likely never forget the experience of viewing it, and that was undoubtedly Spielberg's intent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2016
Great movie, will make any real man cry (at least a little).

Overall, it's great what Schindler did but a little upsetting watching him waste time and money with the evil Nazis in control of the torture. In the end one should have no remorse for anything he did because he did so much more good!

I love this story and it makes me want to do more for our human family (we all are one family, brothers & sisters) but for most of of us we will never have to go through anything so terrible. Anything this motivating and heroic is just amazing!

I will watch this movie many times but others tell me they would never own it and couldn't stomach it more than once or twice. This should be a high school requirement for everyone everywhere.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2014
A monument to Spielberg and all who participated...Zillian, Neeson, Kingsley, and especially, Ralph Finnes....No single film yet made has captured the singular nature of the programmatic and State directed murder of millions. It occured with the complicity of many, resisted by only a few who were indeed righteous. The ease with which this occured in full view was breathtaking. So many benefited from the removal of Jews from the society. Apartments were taken, jobs filled, possessions treated as spoils of an uncivil war. What makes this so important is its constancy. Hatred of Jews existed before and persists after this film. To prove the point, and thus the import of this movie, I leave you with two facts. First, the far right wind RIght Sector, and its political compatriot , Svoboda, devotedly anti - Semitic and neo- fascist hold 3 cabinet postions in the new Kiev government. When confronted , the acting Prime Minister says that they are under control. He may think so but when the leading candidate for the upcoming election rose to calm a crowd of Ukrainian's besieging the " sepratists", he was greeted by the worst opprobrium that they could muster....The called him a " Jew".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2013
How is it possible to review a film like this? I cry every time I watch the movie and I don't think that will ever change. Content of the film aside, the blu ray transfer is AMAZING. I didn't think it was possible to get this level of detail in a 20 year old (mostly) black and white film, but I was surprised. Sound and picture are perfect and it's light years better looking than the original DVD release. I'm so happy this film has been restored so it can remain a reminder or the atrocities that happened in World War 2. Never again!

I recommend ditching your dvd copy and replacing with this ASAP.
Also, the feature length documentary is riveting and a must see.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2017
First of all, this biopic is so good it sparked an interest in learning about all aspects of WWII. Schindler (Liam Neeson) is realistically portrayed and it deepens the plot and drama to watch him save many Jewish lives while maintaining his safety among Nazi peers. Neeson does a great job executing the complexities of Man vs. Man and Man vs. Himself, this is worthy of 5 stars.

However, it is a LONG movie. I don't recommend it if you aren't ready to pay attention, immerse yourself in the characters and serious storyline, read some English subtitles, see graphic and tear-jerking images then pass this one for now.

Easier and very enjoyable if you're in the mood to get serious and appreciate this horrific time in history, and involve yourself in the heroic yet self-serving leading role.
Drags on in some places depending on your mood puts it at a 4.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse