Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far Prime Day Lead Up nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Get 4 months of Amazon Music Unlimited for $0.99. Prime member exclusive. New subscribers only. Just $7.99/month after. Terms apply. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Prime Day Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon $1.99 rentals for Prime members 1.99 rentals for Prime members 1.99 rentals for Prime members  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno

Read an (INDIE) eBook Week 2011

Moxie Mezcal
The list author says: "Celebrate Read an eBook Week (March 6-12, 2011) by supporting some exciting and innovative independent authors. Here are a few of my favorite works by writers who are redefining what DIY literature can be."
Broken Bulbs
Broken Bulbs
"A compelling meditation about the intersection of art and addiction and the way that both are essentially born of our need to feel like our life has meaning.  It's gritty, it's ugly, it's brazenly experimental in both form and style, it's allegorical, it's satirical, it's as darkly engrossing as staring at someone's disfiguring wounds, and yet it also manages to be profoundly cathartic."
The American Book of the Dead
The American Book of the Dead
"A writer works on a novel about a religious zealot who gets elected POTUS as part of a conspiracy to immanentize the eschaton, only to realize that his story is coming true. Apocalyptic lit in the tradition of Wilson & Shea's Illuminatus!, TABOTD explores the double-edged roles that religious faith and warfare play in the human drama."
The Island of California
The Island of California
"This Unhappy Planet is a satirical dramedy about two guys who hatch a scheme to open a chain of spiritual fitness clubs, hoping to get rich quick off of bored yoga moms and affluent New Age seekers.  The characters are imbued with such depth and shading, they are rendered so completely believable, that you can't help but empathize with them even while laughing at their foibles."
The Man Who Painted Agnieszka's Shoes
The Man Who Painted Agnieszka's Shoes
"Like all of Dan Holloway's work, this novel is unflinchingly experimental and evocative.  A father unable to get over his missing daughter gets drawn into an obsessive subculture built around a beautiful celebrity whose death became a YouTube phenomenon."
(life) razorblades included
(life) razorblades included
"An essential primer on the work of Dan Holloway, this generation's answer to the beats.  Simultaneously visceral and transcendent, these stories celebrate the richness of all life's experiences, especially the ones that leave scars."
The Dead Beat
The Dead Beat
"A story about self-sabotaging meth addicts that manages to be at once painfully honest, defiantly hopeful, and laugh-out-loud funny.  Its characters include a suicidal hypochondriac, a hopeless Polyanna with a venereal disease, a guy who pokes holes in his condoms so he'll impregnate the girl he's stalking, and the passive-aggressive narrator they all look to for a salvation he can never deliver."
Charcoal
Charcoal
"Possibly the most twisted, audacious, and brilliant book you'll read all year, Charcoal tells the story of an angry young intellectual obsessively researching the best way to kill himself.  But when he learns of the suicide of a beautiful model, he slips through a magical realist tear in fictional space-time to go back in a misguided attempt at salvation-by-proxy."
Back(stabbed) In Brooklyn
Back(stabbed) In Brooklyn
"Brutally funny, this story about an aging actor spurned by Hollywood who tries reconnect with his roots in Brooklyn is irresistibly beguiling with an acerbic edge that makes that cuts through the sentimental lies and bs we tell ourselves after the dust settles."
Why They Cried
Why They Cried
"Jim Hanas is the master of the slow burn.  These short works appear unassuming enough at first, then swell with a skilled balance of humor and humanity to a powerful resonance.  They are simple stories, elegantly told, that stay with you long after you've put them down."
Loisaida -- A New York Story
Loisaida -- A New York Story
"A nonlinear, multi-perspectival tale of murder set amidst the backdrop of the Tompkins Square Park riot in New York's Lower East Side during the late '80s.  A lyrical ode to life lived outside the mainstream."
The Death Trip
The Death Trip
"The Death Trip is a controversial new end-of-life medical treatment that promises a chemically-induced spiritual catharsis.  Mixing politics, philosophy, and science fiction, this novella manages to weave together questions of euthanasia, assisted suicide, drug counter-culture, and corporatized medicine into a compelling narrative without feeling preachy or heavy-handed."
Trapdoor
Trapdoor
"At times reading this tale of star-crossed lovers can feel like gorging yourself on dark chocolate truffles, it's intensely sensual and undeniably indulgent, yet still made the bitter by the knowledge that it can’t lead anywhere pretty.  If beautiful tormented boys are your thing, this book could become your next guilty pleasure."
Snapdragon Alley (Dragon City (Book One of Four) 1)
Snapdragon Alley (Dragon City (Book One of Four) 1)
"A supernatural urban mystery about a vacant lot, a phantom bus route, and a trio of curious youths unfolds with a relentless pace that makes it impossible to put down."
Freak City (Dragon City (Book Two of Four) 2)
Freak City (Dragon City (Book Two of Four) 2)
"The sequel to Snapdragon Alley that stands as an engrossing mystery in its own right.  A strange parcel appears containing a number of seemingly-random objects that turn out to be pieces of a puzzle that draw a young man out of his shell and into an uncanny supernatural conspiracy."
Password Incorrect (Geek Fiction Stories Vol. 1/2)
Password Incorrect (Geek Fiction Stories Vol. 1/2)
"I love how these stories show an understanding of the nuanced relationship between human beings and technology, which is often belied by the absurdity of the humor. Technology is presented not as a boogey-man, but rather as the tools human beings create to fill real needs.  The problem, of course, arises from humans' preternatural abilities to epically eff up even the best intentions."
Failure Confirmed (Geek Fiction Stories Vol. 2/2)
Failure Confirmed (Geek Fiction Stories Vol. 2/2)
"The second volume from Polish tech-absurdist Nick Name, bite-sized fiction for people too smart and snarky for their own good."
the Butcher Shop (Enigmatic Moon Mysteries)
the Butcher Shop (Enigmatic Moon Mysteries)
"An old-fashioned whodunnit set in the underground party scene.  Hard-nosed hipster Claire St. Claire has to track down her estranged boyfriend's murderer to clear her own name.  It's a familiar story adeptly told with a sense of sheer anarchic bliss, the literary equivalent of drunken karaoke, utterly irresistible."
Concrete Underground
Concrete Underground
"Either a postmodern murder mystery about identity and alienation in the digital age, or the sophomoric and largely incoherent indulgences of a shameless attention whore..."