Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: .hack//Legend of the Twilight - Enter the Nightmare! (Vol. 2)
Amazon Vehicles GoldBox Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 20, 2016
Amazing! I grew up with Dot. Hack and .Hack//Legend and when I found copies #1-3 I had to find #2! thankfully Amazon always has what you want! :) i'm so happy, for many people dot.Hack is either an hit or miss. Personally I grew up with it and I still love it. Ohh the memories. :) I always recommend it but I biased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2013
Love it , its funny , great animation and very cute . If your a gamer than the Hack series will hold some interest to you if not for the gamer aspect of the series . This was some of my first anime I got into , that would lead to my love for anime , so its a great series and light hearted . Its nothing like the Hack Sign series if not its the complete opposite of it . Great series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2004
I love the whole .hack idea. A online roleplaying game where people call into comas for no appearent reason. While the legend of the twilight has more action than the .sign shows, the animation leaves more to be desired.

I say doesn't live up to promise because there could be more action and trying to solve the coma deal, and it would only add to the series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2009
The unevenness of this latest incarnation of .hack continues in the second set of episodes. At first the action bubbles along as fast-paced as before, with a few new ( and one old ) characters added to the mix. The story encounters a major roadblock, however, when Rena falls victim to a mysterious group of child hackers and disappears from The World. The remainder of the entire series deals with Shugo's attempt to locate her missing avatar, BlackRose, and thus revive his twin sister who has fallen into a coma - the Nightmare of the title - in the "real" world.

If the "children in a coma" sounds familliar, it's because the .hack writers who created this could come up with nothing original to advance the story, resorting to Tsukasa's dillemma from SIGN. Only this time to make it even more "dramatic", the comas have reached epidemic proportions, claiming dozens of victims! ( One can only imagine the glee of injury trial lawyers going after the fictitous C.C. Corp. - owners of The World franchise - in a class-action lawsuit if this was an actual event! ) It is this mostly turgid development which causes the entire series to grind to a screeching halt.

The rest plays out in a predictable style, as the heroes go to ground trying to figure out how to rescue Rena, while avoiding the Cerulian Knights who seek to delete them from the game as bad influences. Their leader Kamui and her delusions of grandeur form the only interesting sub-plot in this set of episodes. In a rather wasted "guest appearance", Ginkan/Silver Knight from SIGN attempts to thwart this even-more-repressive version of his old Crimson Knights, failing miserably. His fate is also deletion for interfering with their "witch hunt" for unauthorized player modification. Again, this is all "borrowed" from SIGN with no improvement over the original.

In one of the more painful examples of how a once-popular actor can fall, the Japanese seyuu Masami Kikuchi ( Tenchi Muyo! himself ) takes the small role of Komian the Third, a really annoying classmate of Shugo and Rena, whose main function is to act the fool and be the butt of all misfortune. Some of his antics are mildly amusing, though the character is basically ripped off from that of Hanagata in the Saber Marionette series. That's just another example of the lack of any originality in this so-far disappointing series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2008
I love the whole .hack idea. A online roleplaying game where people call into comas for no appearent reason. While the legend of the twilight has more action than the .sign shows, the animation leaves more to be desired
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
Great series, deserves nothing but the best ratings and recommendations! Great animation, great style, great plot, great character development all around!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2014
anime is awesome. This series is cute but has serious moments. VEry much like the original .hack games. Which I also own
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2015
loved it would love to find more like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2004
As with volume 1, it could be a great anime but rent it first. If you can't watch it, it doesn't count for much. The discs don't play on all machines, same problem in the coding as the first. Bandai knows of the trouble with the discs but hasn't said anything about it or if they'll be doing anything about it. So again be warned.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse