Oil month Automotive HPC Magazine Deals Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Country Heat PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now Start your Baby Registry



Need to beam the wifi's out to the outside or an exterior building? Read on.

I run a small business from my shop and I needed wifi out to my garage. I use an industrial enterprise hot spot on LTE to get my internet. That hot spot/router does a fine job at getting the internet through my house. My shop is detatched and located about 200 feet from the house and I had zero internet there. Running CAT 6 to the shop was not an option as I was not about to tear up my driveway. So, bring on the Ubiquiti LocoM2.

Using a lan cable into the LocoM2, configuring took about 5 minutes. There are lots of good videos online on how to do this so I won't go into much detail, other than saying you should have at least a decent understanding of computers and systems in order to use this. If you have zero networking experience, I'd phone a friend.

I ran some CAT 6 from the lan port on the router and also through the POE (this is a power injector that supplies power, through the lan cable, into the LocoM2) I then ran from the POE about 100' of CAT 6 onto my roof peak and used the building mount to mount the M2 on the eve of my roof. I then pointed the M2 directly at my shop. By the time I got back on solid ground, the M2 was already online and I had a -52 DBM signal inside of my shop. I did some testing outside the shop and this little guy has pretty good side to side and even rear coverage, although this is a directional antenna and not an omni-directional.

I chose the M2 in the 2.4ghz range because one of my devices in the shop will only run on 2.4ghz or the Wireless N range. While I would have opted for the M5 in the AC or 5ghz range, that would have made it obsolete for my purposes since my one device can't connect to that band.

I hope you found my review helpful and if so, please click the yes button below. Thanks!
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 11, 2016
I use this to beam the Internets over to my parents house, and it works great! :P

Seriously though, I bought two of these, I placed one at my house and the other at my parents house across the street. I won't go into detail on my exact technical setup, but essentially they are acting like there is a physical cable going between our two houses. I choose the 2.4Ghz band over the 5.8Ghz as these are going through a few walls on both ends and 2.4Ghz can penetrate walls better. I did not want to run cables, I guess I'm just lazy.. But hey, this setup works great, going about 50 yards and through a few walls.

I made a quick stand for each of these by cutting a PVC pipe to size and drilling into a piece of 2x4 (see pictures). Not the prettiest thing but I suppose I could fancy it up a bit down the road (Wife has not complained yet so I probably wont though, :)

The lights on the back are pretty bright, so if you install one of these in your bedroom like I did you will want to cover them up. I use a small piece of black foam (not shown in the picture) but you could use a piece of black electrical tape or anything really that would cover up the lights.
These things seem VERY stable. I've had multiple power outages and resetting of the router on the backend and they just keep on doing what they do best (keeping the wireless bridge between two houses up and operational).
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 19, 2016
My parents live in a rural area and high speed internet is not offered unless you use a satellite provider. My sister down the road however is at the end of the line for DSL service and allowed us to set up one of these at their place. With one nanostation at each end I am able to transmit internet service over a mile. I did struggle a bit to set them up, but once I went back and followed the directions more closely I was able to correct my mistakes and get the receivers set up. I have a router at my parents' house that is plugged in to the second receiver. Now when I visit I am able to use wifi, beamed from my sisters house, and avoid burning through all my date. At a total cost (2 nanostations, router, misc cables) of $100 this beats out most cable packages monthly bills.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 10, 2012
EDIT: See update at bottom of review.

Ubiquiti products are great because they are extremely reliable (no need to reset AP periodically), extremely powerful (some of the most powerful radios you can buy, with output power up to the max allowable by law of 1000mw (1 watt), at least in the USA, and they are highly programmable. However, they traditionally have been designed for the networking professional, and are missing a few features most consumer specific brands often have (D-Link, Linksys, Buffalo, Netgear, etc.), such as the ability to create multiple SSIDs (the name advertised by the access point), and a push-button setup procedure... to name two. But if you have the know-how to manually set an IP address on your computer you are a candidate for these fine products.

Having said that, the trick is to pick the correct Ubiquiti model for your needs. For example the Nanostation LOCO M2 is great, but what is not revealed in the Amazon specifications is the coverage area. The built in antenna is NOT an omni (360 degree coverage). Rather, it is a 60 degree antenna (vertically and horizontally. That is coverage roughly equivalent to a fat slice of mom's apple pie. If you need to cover such an area this unit will shoot a signal hundreds of feet. And the Nanostation is weather resistant, so it can be mounted outside for a better reach. NOTE: Amazon is terrible about allowing external links in a review but if you go to ubnt com website you can see a pictogram of the coverage area.

If you need a different coverage area (either wider or narrower), consider the Picostation M2-HP (see my general review of the Picostation line here:Ubiquiti Networks PICO2 2.4GHz 802.11bg). This model has the same power, but has a detachable omni antenna. You can use the omni or attach whatever antenna suits your needs. The downside to the Picostation is that is only has one antenna (MIMO 1x1), so speed maxes out at 150mb/s. The Nanostation maxes at 300 mb/s thanx to two internal antennas (MIMO 2x2). If you need the higher speed AND the external antennas, you need to look at another brand.

Configuration tip: Unless you are connecting to a large numbers of other Ubiquiti devices with an "M" in the model number, turn off "airMAX" in the configuration, and also set the Channel Width in the wireless settings to "20MHz". This will give you the best compatibility, especially if using the Nanostation (or Picostation) as an AP for laptops and handheld devices to connect to.

UPDATE 11-2015: Regarding the comment about looking elsewhere if greater than 300mb/s throughput is required PLUS external antennas... Ubiquiti now markets the "ac" series such as the Rocket ac, which passes up to 500+ mb/s (Ubiquiti Rocket AC Wireless Access Point (R5AC-LITE)).

Ubiquiti also offers some very serious sector antennas that fit the Rocket, which allow not only extremely long distance links between two Rockets (for back haul), but also applications such as using a single Rocket as a Wireless Access Point to get a good WiFi signal to consumer devices that may be hundreds of feet away. The Ubiquiti antennas are really good "listeners", so the signal from the relatively low powered consumer devices transmitted over what would normally be a deal breaking distance can be picked up by the rocket. The Ubiquiti product page shows all this stuff off: ubnt dot com slash products
1616 comments| 217 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 1, 2014
What to do when the everyday household network/Wi-Fi range extenders won't do it? Well, the first thing is some research. Amazon is not a bad place to start. And, you may not have to go any further. I ran into this challenge recently. For years, I have been successfully using both the NETGEAR N300 Wi-Fi Range Extender - Wall Plug Version (WN3000RP) and the Netgear WN2000RPT Universal WiFi Range Extender - Refurbished, which can be accessed through their own "Genie" and can be daisy-chained off of each other to produce some incredible long-range effects. There is a limit, however, to how far each of these can work. So, I took a more sure approach based on Amazon research.

I bought a NanoStationlocoM2. On first try, the installation instructions are cryptic to say the least. Yet, there are enough secondary sources and forums to get the information that you'll need. For me, the best I found was an article I found, "How to extend WiFi coverage using an Ubiquiti NanoStation M2."

I just followed the article's simple instructions (plug the locoM2 into your router/switch and when you access the IP Address, which has a default of 192.168.1.20, a wizard called AirOS will appear). Go to the "Wireless" tab: configure the unit as an Access Point, enable Transparent Bridge Mode (WDS) and I set the Channel Width to 20MHz to be able to be compatible with older wireless devices, like old cell phones. You can also choose to change the SSID to a name of your own choice rather than the default. Then set up you Wireless Security as you would for any router. You get the same choices. Then move to the first tab (left of "Main") and uncheck the airMAX enable box.

Immediately, I had Wi-Fi through this Access Point at 2.4 GHz. I have not mounted this permanently yet. Although, having mounted it to a lamp in my study while installing and testing it, I had superior Wi-Fi access throughout the house and almost one full block in one direction (has 60 degree "pie slice" shaped coverage). I know nothing about adjusting these antennas. There are diagnostic lights and setting that enable you to adjust the strength of the antenna. However, right out of the box I got better results than I expected and went no further.

It all seemed very complicated when I opened the box. It didn't stay that way for long. It was cookbook! Well thanks to the above article it was. Just like following a nice recipe.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2018
I am Director of IT for my company. 4 locations, I use Ubiquiti Unifi products for all our wireless and they are outstanding. I also use them at home, so I bought this one to extend my WiFi outside. As for range and product overall it is awesome. I only have it a week but it really works great.

My reason for not giving 5 stars is as usual, Ubiquiti products, as great as they are, lack seriously when it comes to documentation and support.
I hooked this up as per the lackluster instructions. But every time I tried to connect with any device I got an error "cannot connect to this network"
So I wasted an hour of my life searching their forums to ultimately find that I had to turn off "Airmax" in order to connect.
Don't you think that should be in the instructions? Really simple, one line of text .. lol
Anyway after that this bad boy works just fine. I would give 5 stars if I could get that hour of my life back .. lol
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 26, 2016
Ubiquiti has been my go to for anything wireless for years, and continue to surprise me. This nano station works excelently as an access point and as a bridge (I have seen some with an option to be a router, but I have not tested it) in many applications.

Point to point I have had these units work well at about 6 miles out, or in my most recent application, penetrate through two brick walls, two interior walls and a metal shed over 200 yards apart.

These transceivers do get warm, but I have yet to have one fail after years of use.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 11, 2015
I have been using the Nano for a few months now and absolutely love it. We spent the summer in a campground with good wifi service, however my kids' laptops are older and couldn't get a good signal. I was getting about 5 mbps downloads on my laptop without the Nano, my kids were lucky if they could connect. With the Nano, I was getting 18 mbps downloads on my laptop and the kids were able to connect without issue and could even stream videos from Amazon Prime.

Setup was a breeze. At the campground without the Nano, my laptop could see about 3 or 4 wifi access points. The nano could see about 15. It tells you the signal strength of each network as well as the channel, so I was able to pick the access point with the best signal with the least potential for interference from other access points.

Now that we are back home, I use the Nano wired directly to my son's desktop computer to boost the wifi signal to his computer. His computer is furthest from the wifi router and he likes playing Minecraft online. His online experience has improved significantly since he started using the Nano.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 14, 2016
2 months in and it's still working great. Set up was super easy (with help from a youtube video). I keep it outside but it's covered by a small tarp. I use it to turn the free campground wifi into a secure network inside my camper. I definitely recommend this for utilizing wifi at campgrounds. Seriously, anyone can tap into your computer or apple TV or whatever with just a little knowledge. Here's the video on youtube I used to set this up ([...]). I'll update this review if it stops working at some point.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 5, 2017
Initially set a pair of these up in AP-Repeater mode about 150 feet apart from house to barn. This requires that AirMax be disabled and the wifi set to 20 MHz. After getting them permanently mounted and watching a few YouTube videos that suggested using Access Point for the main base and Station for the remote unit, I reconfigured them to enable AirMax and 40 MHz (main base) and 20/40 MHz (remote unit), the performance went up significantly.

The downside to this configuration is that you cannot connect to the remote unit via Wifi but you can connect another access point that will feed off the unit, which is probably a better configuration. These seem to be designed for point-to-point, rather than used as an access point.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 358 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here