Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 247 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 401 reviews
on June 22, 2017
I loved it. I grew up in this era, and I owned an Apple ][ Plus very early in the game and several more souped versions thereafter, so recalling the history was fantastic. Very interesting person and writing style. Great details about his focus on network designs, etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2017
Steve Wozniak is the most human person in his book, so much so that the credit due to him were sorely lacking. I'm glad he wrote this book to set history straight and let people know the real Steve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2013
I began reading this book as a follow-up to the excellent Steve Jobs biography by Walter Isaacson. What a great book this was! Steve Wozniak was the sole engineer who designed/invented the Apple computer, the first personal computer that worked with a keyboard and TV monitor. If you know anything about Steve Wozniak, you know that he is a down-to-earth and very honest regular guy. The wonderful thing about this book is that this is way the book reads and flows. Therefore, it's a very enjoyable and quick read.

Steve tells how his father explained engineering principles to him in such a way that he understood them completely and absorbed the information. This became the foundation of his passion and interest in engineering.

"The Woz" explains every step in his quest to design a personal computer, since he couldn't afford to buy one. He always kept redesigning this computer on paper, trying to utilize as few chips as possible. In between, we hear about his beloved job at Hewlett-Packard, building a "blue box" (device that makes free long distance phone calls), creating a dial-a-joke service, designing a game for Atari, and inventing the first universal remote. This man is brilliant, and Steve Jobs knew it.

Wozniak discusses the working atmosphere at Apple, his marriages, owning a movie theater, funding the US Music Festival, his love of being a father and becoming a computer teacher at his kids' school.

This is an excellent book told in an honest and informative fashion. In addition, it is the perfect companion to reading the Steve Jobs book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2016
I've read a lot about the story of Apple but it's nice to hear it from Woz himself. Easy to read and enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2016
An interesting look at some Apple history from Wozniak's POV. It is a tad preachy and self-aggrandizing.
I'm not a fan of the VERY informal writing style--it's like he's having a conversation with you in person. I'm not sure it works.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2011
I read this book from a somewhat different perspective (although it is shared by millions). I wound up in Sunnyvale in 1978, in the heart of the Silicon Valley at the beginning of the Personal Computer Revolution. I hung out at Computerland of Los Altos and played with the early Cromemcos etc. It was an extremely exciting time and, in retrospect, I was extremely lucky to have lived through it all.

In those days, Jobs and Wozniak were household names. Everyone was amazed at what they had done. I took an early Apple II running UCSD Pascal into work at Control Data (fast dinosaurs), and the editor impressed people so much that CDC introduced its own "full-screen editor" very quickly. When I was assigned to explain the internal workings of our Sort / Merge product, it was extremely easy to look up the relevant algorithms in Knuth and translate them to Pascal --- and print out traces which enabled everyone to grasp the inner details of a tournament sort. It is no exaggeration to say that an Apple II was, in many respects, quicker and easier to use than a CDC computer which cost millions of dollars.

Clearly, the world of computing was in for a total tranformation.

Steve Wozniak's book explains just how he did it. I was surprised to learn that his IQ measured over 200, and then I sort of kicked myself: "Well, what did you expect?" This is the man who designed the Apple I singlehandedly, and then surpassed himself by designing the completely different Apple II a few months later. He had the vision of a computer with a keyboard and a screen --- very new concepts when the hobbyist world was still dealing with punched cards and "blinken lights." Wozniak, acting alone, defined the new world of the personal computer simply by inventing it. He was a true American genius who is simply stating the truth about his amazing accomplishments --- including writing the original Integer Basic interpreter for the Apple machines.

A lot of people may wonder what Woz has to say about Steve Jobs, and I will report that Woz admired Jobs terrifically, especially when Jobs played the comeback kid and returned to an Apple that seemed to be losing direction.

There may be an underlying story in this book, which Woz does not clearly bring out, and it has to do with what may have been a classic case of burnout. This occurred after his stunning successes, and after he was worth $100 million, when he went to Hawaii and simply stopped working on engineering. He decided that there were plenty of engineers in the world, but his kids had just the one father, and he decided to devote much more time to his family. In fact, he became a teacher and really devoted the rest of his life to educating the next generation.

In fact, leaving aside his very short life of crime (selling illegal Blue Boxes) this seems to be the tale of a model citizen, and someone you might have enjoyed knowing --- if you could follow his thoughts.

A very enjoyable read, and a definite contribution to history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2017
I enjoyed this book. Working in tech this brought back lots of memories. In addition to being a genius, the Woz is a really nice guy. Hard to believe he got along with Jobs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2015
This book provided an excellent insight into Steve Wozniak, the man (and boy) and the crucial role he played in the creation and development of the Apple computers. His is a wonderful case of those few among us who look beyond simply knowing to a deep understanding of how things actually work. Coupled with his creative mind, he developed quite a number of paradigm changing products at a time of ferment in the electronics and computer fields.

Despite his - one has to say - towering intellect, he comes across as a wonderful human being; happy to share his faults as well as the many highlights. I'd thoroughly recommend this book to anyone - not just those interested in computers and the like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2014
I found this book disappointing. I was hoping for some inspiration from a fellow engineer that actually did do some good work in the beginning for Apple, but instead I got a childish first person account that read like, "I did this, I did that, aren't I great". Was very hard to read and took me an abnormally long time to finish.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2014
I just finished reading this book cover to cover in one sitting. Woz isn't a gifted writer, but you can just hear his voice saying the things in the book. So, if you're looking for John Keats, you're not going to find it here, but if you're looking for a true story of Woz's life, the founding of Apple, and a number of other interesting and personal details about him, this is a great book.

The ending was particularly touching, as he switches gears and starts talking to the reader directly -- encouraging and offering advice.

One of the most interesting things I read in the book was a more honest portrayal of Steve Jobs than you find elsewhere. Although Jobs' biography doesn't pull any punches, it also doesn't describe some of the things I'm sure Jobs would have rather forgotten (like trying to sabotage Woz's design for a universal remote control by basically blacklisting Woz's new company from using Apple's design firm).

Overall, a great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse