Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: imo free video calls and chat
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Joseph Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 16, 2013
Looking for the "best" Android IM client, I installed IMO on my tablet.
Once I verified my IMO.IM account it sent out email to ALL THE EMAIL
ADDRESSES in my contacts inviting them on my behalf to join the IMO
network.

It's going to take me days of apologizing for "giving out" people's
addresses...

It doesn't matter if it's the world's best gold-making app. It is
now uninstalled and I've emailed them to cancel my account and I'll
never use any of their software.

E
44 comments| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2012
this app is terrible. It made me give my email and picture just to go on. I gave a picture of my table instead, and found it on the internet the next day.

The developers would never answer my emails about the application's flaws, including the User unfriendly setup, and the fact that it would log me in and tell my friends that I was online at random times.

It also messed with my email and skype accounts. My friends would be video chatting with me, both on computers and the app was not logged in, when the app turns on from in my backpack and ends the video chat and kicks me off of skype because you cannot be logged on twice.

It also DELETED some of my preexisting accounts.

Please don't discard my review, I know this app is free but I had to warn you guys about the app.

uninstalled.
0Comment| 217 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2012
READ BEFORE GETTING. THIS MAY BE LONG, BUT YOU NEED TO KNOW WHAT YOU'RE GETTING BEFORE YOU DOWNLOAD.

Yes, this app does not do video calls, I know that. But that is not the problem I have with it.

I use this app for both, Facebook and Skype. The reason why I hate this app is because it constantly explodes your Skype wall with "android.Imo.im" Any Skype posts that you put are overided within the next half hour. All up and down my Skype wall is that cursed message. I want to be able to post my own statuses on Skype, without a program spamming it's program name on my wall.

As for Facebook, it works fine. But you are still able to chat on Facebook, simply use the "Chat" app that can be found under that "Apps" section on the left sideboard (on mobile or on desktop). So it isn't needed for Facebook really.

Overall, if you don't mind the consistent spam on your Skype wall, feel free to get it. Personally, I do not like it. Just wanted to warn people before they got the spam. There is no option to turn it off, other than to log out. Hope this gets fixed!
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2012
The instant I linked it to my Yahoo account I had strangers sending me endless strings of letters and symbols, and when I tried to delete them, they were worming their way into my Facebook Friends list and all my other accounts. DO NOT GET THIS APP IF YOU DON'T LIKE RANDOM STRANGERS SPAMMING / STALKING YOU!
11 comment| 223 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2012
I have tried several times to "like" this app. It seems to work ok for Google Talk, but I can't connect to Facebook, which is my main reason for downloading it onto my Kindle Fire. It gives me a message telling me it is misconfigured for Facebook.
Interesting, there is a link to IMO on the Facebook App, but when I click that it goes to the Silk browser and then crashes.
Uninstalled, perhaps will try again later if they ever fix it.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2013
Plenty of other users have been complaining of this same issue since May 5th. Skype account via IMO says you are offline. Amazon support has been of little help so far. The usual "uninstall...reload...contact us via phone..." TO THE DEVELOPERS - IT WASN'T BROKE, WHY DID YOU "FIX" IT? Arrrrrrggggghhhhh!!!!!!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2011
It works great on my Kindle Fire, having aim, Yahoo!, and facebook messaging simultaneously. It's very easy to use; I can simply swipe my finger to the side and it'll go to another active conversation. It can even show you your older conversations. Adding accounts was quick and simple. Very content with the programming. Was well-adjusted to touch screens with simple layout and usage. Definitely get this.
0Comment| 396 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
new version is a disaster. I 'm dumping it. dont recomend it to msn users. xxx xxxx xxxx xxxxx cccc
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2011
This app is so great! You can log into skype, msn, aim,facebook, myspace and more all at once in a single app! Use this app to stay connected!! :D
0Comment| 287 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2013
This app was outstanding, until a beta update came out. At that point, all the standard functions were changed, and no longer worked as original. In addition, when trying to add a Skype account to imo, you need to either put in your phone number, or link a facebook, twitter, or linkedIn account. There is no way to join the imo main group, as it does not allow you to join, unless you link an external account, and even then it fails. On the imo main website, there are chats from people in other countries. When trying to join this group (to access my Skype), again I was told imo requires you to link another account. I actually tried linking my facebook account to this system, but imo cannot access facebook accounts. If you link an external account, information in it will be linked to and accessible from the imo account -- link your phone number, and information about your location will appear in a global directory, which as far as I can see, cannot be edited. I am greatly disappointed in this app. With the beta update, I lost the ability to communicate with Skype contacts. I have uninstalled and reinstalled this app 3 times, but nothing works as before.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Turns out, Skype on the imo system appears to have been disabled for some reason. I found information on the imo Facebook site, that allowed me to see, that other people are also having issues with Skype on the imo system. Sadly, I was unable to find a report of when Skype will be accessible again
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here