Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 500 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 721 reviews
on March 24, 2014
Pros
- Fluid controls and graphics that allow the player to not only easily navigate the cities landscape, but also maintain the enjoyment of an open world environment.
- City scale is appropriate to the game and I find myself traveling much less between main/side missions compared to its predecessors.
- A game that takes enough of old game play elements to feel like 'inFamous' but at the same time changing enough to make it a completely separate game.

Cons
- Main story line can easily be gone through in under 15 hours if you rush it (please don't).
- Your decisions do not seem AS 'evil' or AS 'good'. The morality system could have been a bit more integrated into the story.

Neural
- Character't can not take as much as a beating. Some may or may not enjoy as much.
- Story and character development is deep enough for my tastes.

Knocked down a star for its relative short game play and lack of a more integrated morality system that could of had the potential to really make one's action affect the story line more.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2014
I was never too much of a fan of the original Infamous or Infamous 2 on the PS3 I felt like the game play was hard to learn and the enemies had way to many strengths making it hard to get anywhere in the games. However I got into Infamous: Second Son right away i was intrigued by the story and even though I never finished the Original Infamous, I was glued to this new PS4 game. I started to feel for each character and even brought a tear to my eyes during certain story-line scenes. If you are a fan of the Bioshock franchise this game would probably suit you also it has much of the same style of powering up and gaining new abilities as Bioshock has.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2017
I didn't play the first infamous game so I wasn't sure if I needed to play it to understand this one. Luckily you don't really need to know that story to enjoy this one. The plot of the game was good and the choices you have to make between good and evil sometimes made you think about which way you wanted the character to end up. The pace of the game was pretty fast and I was able to beat it pretty quick. I replayed it again and once again finished it very quickly ( I wanted to get a trophy!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2014
I would give this game a 7.0 out of 10, combing fun & flaws. I would give it a solid 8 out of 10 for Fun alone.

PROS
CONS
Graphical Inconsistency
Conclusion
Comparing Old to New
Some ranting about the VoiceOver issues, and how Id explain to a friend without giving them a full out criticizing review

Pros:
The emotions, facial movement/expression and gestures are phenomenal. The game was a lot of fun to play. As far as what out for the next gen consoles I would give this Infamous Second Son my highest vote. I won't go too far into details here.

Cons:
Story repetition:
At the start you meet a guy and absorb his powers. You're able to see his story, and he explains he was simply waiting for the right time to break free. He gets out because they armory truck hauling him gets in an accident. No reason for the accident. The exact same thing happens for the next character you get your powers from. She was in the back of the armory vehicle & it gets in an accident. No reason, no explanation, no swerve from traffic. The armory vehicles both just flip over & the back door opens up. I believe anyone would agree that just a day of thinking could make up at least some twist besides a truck just turning over on its side. How many armory trucks just randomly fall over & are so structurally weak that the doors pop opened?
It shows others in the truck, but it does not show anyone else set free. It's as if everyone else dies but the characters in the game get out without a scratch. The trucks don't flip or have any type of sever accident. They literally just plop over, and away the character goes.
So, needless to say, you're not going to hear or learn anything different about the escape of the second person you find to get your new powers. It's a "Copy & Paste" story, the Developers could have done better, but On A Good Note - Im sure the developers realize this & simply needed to get the game out. This is the next generation/new hardware for them. So, we can't expect everything to be perfect.
I cannot remember exactly what happened to the Angel guy, but. I think the story was somewhat different, but not deep.

Graphical inconsistency:
You will come to an area toward the start where the Seattle HWY sign is down, and you're standing on top. The detail is "STUNNING". I shared the image on Facebook and I had a friend of mine who is also 32 ask "Is that real or a game?". That's how good the detail was.
As you move on, the detail is not near to the point of how they polished that beginning section. You can get on other HWY signs & from reflections of bolts/rivets (whatever holds signs up) do not have the reflection & "pop" of Realism. I posted other images & videos, but no one was fooled into thinking it was real. It is very degrading.
There are some cut scenes that will make your jaws drop. I remember Des's pants & seeing the detail in the material & incredible detail in the wrinkles to the point it looked better than real life. Absolutely incredible, but cut scenes can be polished over and over like a cartoon or any other form of CGI.
On top of the space needle, looking out & seeing the water & trees does look very good, but it still doesn't capture the realism that could have been. You're not fighting while looking at the scenery, and there's no reason it couldn't have been polished more than it was.

Conclusion:
Facial features and body gestures are second to none in gaming. Even with its graphical downfalls you'll feel more like playing a real character when compared to a last gen game. The stories are reparative of how they break out of the armory truck, but the back stories further explained are quite interesting. I really like the girl, Fetch. She was cool, and her body movements were incredible in cut scenes.
The first character is a disgrace to the South per his Accent. You don't use someone from Boston to do a Southern VoiceOver & a Southerner not feel the urge to puke trying to tolerate the accent, and just as well, you should never use anyone but a genuine Country Boy to try to VoiceOver a "Country Boy Accent". Im from Alabama, and 'ole boy was trying WAY too hard to play a Southern speaking character for the character in the game that comes in at the start (smoke power).

Comparing Old to New (for this Style of gaming):
It's great, but I keep thinking back to the powers from the first "Prototype" (the game for the 360/PS3), and if you've played it, this may not knock your socks off, but it's still whole heartedly worth the purchase. When you slam into the ground on this game, some things move. When you slam into the ground on Prototype, it's like dropping a nuclear bomb, and you feel far more powerful. The peak devastating move on this game really cannot hold a candle to Prototypes splitting his body into HUNDREDS of pieces & killing everything in probably a 50 yard radius.

I probably didn't cover everything, but the game deserved a Vote, and I feel its a fair rating. If this were their second shot at the newest generation of consoles this game would certainly only get 3 stars, combining flaws along with the positives. All in all I think Naughty Dog did great, and I'm considering this game a stepping stone since it is their 1st Infamous development for the PS4 Hardware. If it is a stepping stone, this is fantastic for a fairly rushed game, and future game should be nothing short of amazing.
"Rushed" is a bit harsh for me to say, knowing some of the Development team is probably sick of seeing images they've done so much polishing on, and had I seen how much work truly went into this game, graphically, the reality is probably that an army of game developers put blood sweat and tears into making this game look & play as well as it does. So, yes, it was rushed to an extent, but you can tell they did the best they could for the time given (graphically).
The "Story" is another story. It was quite undeveloped.

I Can't Stress This Enough: Listen up Hollywood movie producers, and all game Developers.... Ask anyone from the South how disgusted they are to hear or see a non-Southerner try to make a Southern accent. Ask a good ole country boy to talk like he's from Boston or NY & you'll laugh your head off, but it's not funny when it comes to game or movie characters. You guys ruined that character. You can find a good ole regular Southern guy willing to do a VoiceOver for $10 per hour and hit the nail on the head with a voice match. The best of the best usually cannot pull off accents like this. So I cannot stress enough to please never get anyone to use anything besides their natural accent.
Yes, guys & gals, I realize I yapp'd a lot about the accent, but it can make or break a character.

My personal explanation without critiquing would be:
Dude... You gotta get the new Infamous if you get or have a PS4. Some sections are so stunning it will blow you away. No, it isn't perfect, but it's pretty stinkin good, and so much facial detail you can even tell a certain lady that is the main "bad guy" was made to look like a smoker. It's pretty cool, and the framerate to me is great. I could nitpick it, but it's well worth the full price, in my opinion. It has a lot of gameplay time, and especially if you do all of the side missions. It's a must have if you own a PS4.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2014
Infamous: Second Son is a superhero game that purports to be about something deeper than blowing stuff up.

Surely you've heard that Stan Lee classic: "With great power comes great responsibility." That moral lesson has been focused on, deconstructed and returned to over and over in superhero comics since the 1960s. Meanwhile, superhero games have always leaned a little harder on just letting players have fun — all power, very little responsibility.

Set seven years after the universe-altering events of Infamous 2, Second Son follows new protagonist Delsin Rowe. As a rebellious graffiti artist, Delsin lives to annoy his brother Reggie, a cop on the Pacific Northwest reservation where the two live as part of the fictional Okomish tribe.

The first two Infamous games tried with mixed success to introduce more ramifications to their virtual superhero stories, and if anything, Second Son has even nobler goals in mind. While this semi-reboot still plays with the origin story trope of a hero coming to terms with the impact of his new abilities, it also toys with darker issues: the overwhelming nature of surveillance in modern society, trading freedom for security, society-wide fear of the unknown.

These themes form an undercurrent to Infamous: Second Son that has strong potential, but they're underdeveloped in the main narrative. By the time credits roll, the game has undeniably chosen power over responsibility yet again. Because it backs down from its grand vision, Second Son may not hit as hard as it should have. But I was having so much fun blowing s*** up that I almost didn't notice.

This relatively peaceful existence is brought to an end when Delsin is put in contact with a conduit — the Infamous universe's name for people with superpowers — and discovers he can siphon their abilities. This gift sets Delsin apart from previous protagonist Cole in an important way: Delsin gains entirely new powers as the game progresses, beyond the regular upgrade paths afforded by the game's leveling structure.
While you'll use your powers to navigate the city, float through the air and search for hidden blast shards (which can be cashed in to upgrade powers), combat takes up the vast majority of time in Infamous: Second Son. There are some side missions, and the handful of boss battles often have a small gimmick to figure out, but all primary progress comes back to blasting bad guys. And it's a hell of a lot of fun to do so.

Each power set in Second Son is kept small — so as to not overextend the control scheme — but with enough options to never feel constrained by your current choice of powers. And they all feel suitably different as well. Both smoke and neon have regular shots, but smoke shots hit harder, while neon rewards you for carefully aiming at specific body parts. Both sets have more powerful, limited-ammo shots, but smoke's is a rocket that causes massive area-of-effect damage, while neon's is a more directed sniper shot that has a sizable charge-up time to take into account.

While I eventually settled on neon as my personal favorite of the game's options, I appreciated the variety and how well the game encouraged mixing things up from mission to mission. Between blast shard upgrades and narrative progression, I always felt like I was unlocking something new to mess around with.

A big part of the draw of these powers comes from your ability to cause lasting destruction in Second Son's playground of virtual Seattle. You won't be taking down actual buildings or legitimate landmarks in the game, but Delsin finds himself up against the DUP (Department of Unified Protection), a government agency in charge of rounding up and jailing conduits. As part of locking down Seattle for their search, the DUP has built militarized checkpoints, makeshift headquarters and other imposing structures — blights on the beautifully rendered cityscape that are just begging to be knocked down.

Let's say you approach an intersection with a checkpoint where DUP soldiers are checking civilians for the conduit gene with a special scanner. Two watchtowers stand on either side of the checkpoint, with a small bridge extending above it. A few feet ahead, there's a giant cage where "suspicious" individuals are being held.

You could just rush in and start taking down individual agents with melee attacks or smoke shots. Or you could collapse the bridge, instantly knocking out the guard on top of it while taking out the scanner, buying yourself enough time to rip open the cage door so that you don't accidentally destroy it and hurt the innocent people inside in the ensuing shootout. The options are empowering, and no matter how much time passes in game, the cage will remain opened, the bridge will remain destroyed, and the scanner will be gone for good. Your surgical strikes against the DUP have a lasting impact.

The best moments in the game are reserved for skillful use of your ultimate powers (or "Karma Bombs," as they're known in-game). These abilities are charged by doing good or evil acts, depending on your alignment (we'll get to that system in a second). Once charged, you can unleash them at any point by tapping a single button ... at which point you can sit back and watch the chaos unfold. A single ultimate move can handily wipe out a whole battalion of enemies, likely taking out nearby structures as well. It feels incredible to launch into the air and smash down on enemies like a comet, leaving the area cleared out.

Though the number of powers at my disposal keeps it moving, I wish that Second Son had more activities to offer. We're on a new generation of consoles, but Second Son's general structure is identical to its PlayStation 3 ancestors: a few different tiers of activities, side missions and main missions that virtually all culminate in the goal of beating up more soldiers or thugs. You can explore a little, finding more blast shards and the like, but there's not much in the game built to support any interesting experiments with powers and navigation. That lack of vision extends to the game's narrative as well.

While Second Son does a great job of making your combat choices feeling meaningful and engaging, I can't say the same for the handful of story choices. At a few set moments as the game progresses, a cutscene will pause and you'll be given two choices presented as blue (heroic) or red (villainous).

From the very first choice 20 minutes into the game, these are obvious, binary decisions of the least interesting variety. A few missions are locked off based on whether you've chosen a good or evil path, but in terms of story, it mainly dictates Delsin's overall tone. I had trouble feeling much connection to my choices when they were so cleanly split between being a decent human and an absolute monster.

It felt like Sucker Punch could have done better here, because they do so much better elsewhere. Second Son's moment-to-moment writing is a giant leap over previous Infamous games. Delsin, Reggie, even the game's scenery-chewing villain are infinitely more likable than Cole and Zeke, the duo that led the first two games. And cutscenes feature some of the most impressive facial capture I've ever seen in a game, which makes the natural tension present in dialogue between the two on-edge brothers even more of a joy to listen to and watch.

But just as the serious theme of life in post-9/11 America becomes a mere backdrop to Delsin's story, the moral choices in Infamous: Second Son seem like more of a burden than a boon — like something that the game is expected to have even if it doesn't add anything of value to the story Sucker Punch is trying to tell. As a character piece alone, Second Son delivers a well-developed arc that drew me in. As a full-blown narrative, it disappointed me.

Conclusion:

I struggled with feeling let down that Second Son isn't a brilliant shift for action games. My small disappointments come mostly as a result of undeveloped potential. It had a chance to be a superhero game about more serious issues as well as a showcase for the power of the new generation of consoles. Instead, Second Son is more of the Infamous I already loved last generation, prettier, with more powers and better writing. But Second Son still kept me excited to discover each new power set and happy to shoot fireballs at fascist thugs long into the night. Maybe it's not so bad to just let go of responsibility and blow stuff up once in a while.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
I never beat infamous 1 or 2.
I enjoyed them but couldn't really get too invested in them for some reason....
Infamous:second son is a differ percent story.
I was engaged from the beginning of the game.
I am now an infamous fan.
If you are on the fence due to past infamous games.
Believe me when I say this will change your mind.

Pros;
Voice acting is on point.
Combat & movement is very fluid and a lot of fun.
Great use of the touch pad for different game actions.
Side activities are varied.
Powers are creative and a lot of fun when fully upgraded.
There are unlockable vests taking back districts from the d.u.p.
Shards are more fun to collect.
Best graphics on ps4 hands down,specially for an open world game,very impressive.
The story has a great pace.
Climbing up buildings is quicker and more fun than ever. (Using powers)
Draw distance is great.
Once again it's a visual treat.
And most importantly it's a lot of fun to play.
Soundtrack is good.
Worth playing twice for varied powers & different story bits & ending (requires a second playthrough one on good and one on evil to expirience all the powers and content)

Cons;
The story seems too short
Side characters don't get a lot of screen time
Side activities can feel repetitive but are a nice side distraction
Not a lot of enemy variety (but enemy are different enough and fun to fight)
Boss fights are nothing special and some can be very annoying (but still fun in their own way & varied enough)

IMO it's the best ps4 exclusive at this moment.
A must buy for open world/super hero fans!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2014
Like many of you, I purchased a PS4 on release day and have played through all the major PS4 titles (Killzone, Assassin's Creed: Black Flag, Call of Duty: Ghosts, Battlefield 4, Thief, Tomb Raider) and we've been waiting for that true next-generation game which we were promised. I must say, inFAMOUS: Second Son is that game and is simply phenomenal and blows all others away in graphics and over-all gameplay.

On a personal note, I played through the game with good karma as well as playing through a second time on expert difficulty on evil karma. I have the Platinum trophy. Great game, very fun. If anyone needs any tips, please don't hesitate to message me or add me as a PSN friend.

What They did Right!
+ Amazing graphics! Smooth, crisp and very Detailed. Great use of the PS4 potential.
+ Very fun open-world Gameplay. Lots to do an see, plenty of exploration.
+ Very good character voice acting and story building. You really get into the characters.
+ Solid story with characters you learn to love, or hate. Different path or story outcome depending if you play to be a hero or be evil (I've completed the game twice, once for each karma path).
+ Fun and rewarding ways to earn and upgrade new powers. There is Smoke, Neon, Video and Concrete. Each with different uses and capabilities depending on what you're doing.
+ The city of Seattle has changing weather, rain which cause fog and puddles. Very real feeling environment.

Frustrations...
- A.I. is basic, almost the same as in past games. I expected a little more at times throughout the gameplay. Over-all, you take away the amazing graphics and you have a basic game with some fun powers.
- Sometimes frustrating when you're trying to suck power from smoke, neon, video... and you keep getting shot and interrupting you regaining some of your power. At times, you cannot leave the area to get out of the line of fire as you're playing a mission. Sometimes can be frustrating.
- Over-all the game didn't feel as long as the past two games. Sure there is a lot to do and plenty to explore, however I found every single shard and completed ever single side mission and it still did not take up as much time as past games. Still, ate a big chunk of time and was quite enjoyable to play through multiple times.
- As in past games, you sometimes accidently walk into a mess of bad guys and die, then will be ported back to the nearest checkpoint, which may be 10 blocks away. As the game is huge, sometimes when you go back to the nearest checkpoint it takes time to find where you just were. The good news is anything you accomplished (shard collection, drug bust, other side mission) will be saved when you die and go back to the checkpoint.

The graphics are amazingly detailed and very smooth. Eye poppingly crisp with lively colors. The control is perfect and the voice acting is some of the best I have ever witnessed. It is clear they put a lot of time and effort into this game and it was well worth the wait. They made good use of the power of the PS4 while also utilizing the PS4 controller speaker and touchpad. The story and attention to character building is great. It is a completely new story with all new characters, just as we suspected. Though there is mention of Empire City and you'll see some familiar faces as you progress though the game. Very fresh feeling gameplay with lots to offer and plenty to do and explore. This is a very open-world game and every block of the city has lots to do and explore.

There are new and improved powers and abilities and new interesting ways to upgrade your abilities. You start off with utilizing smoke as an energy source instead of electricity as in previous games. Then you "earn" neon, which is nothing short of amazingly beautiful at night, taking neon energy from the neon lights around the city. You also earn more and different powers as you progress through the game like video & concrete. The powers are very different and are a lot of fun to use in different situations. This is a completely new gaming experience as compared to the two previous inFAMOUS titles. The in-game clips are directed like movies and the cut scenes are cool and artsy, similar to previous games. You can jump, climb, hover, push or run up walls, and even quickly swoop through vents in buildings to get to the roof or new areas, depending on what powers you have. It's very well designed and thought out. So much fun to play. You quickly can choose your karma by progressively doing good or bad. You can be a hero or a villain, good or evil.

Some of your enemies also have abilities which make the gameplay more challenging. The city of Seattle is huge and there is so much to explore and see. I've played through twice, good and evil karma as well as completing all side missions earning me the Platinum Trophy. The game is very fun and for those Platinum Trophy hunters out there you won't be disappointed and you'll have a blast. Very fun game to take your time with, play and enjoy.

Highly recommended for any PS4 owner. The first true graphically next-gen game.

PSN: adrielaugust

Patches!
- There was a day-one patch to correct some minor issues, add about 5 hours of gameplay and some other minor additions.

- Also, there is a new patch mid-April which brings photo mode, disable the HUD, change the time of day as well as a few game fixes.
1313 comments| 107 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2014
Another entry in the Infamous series has come and gone, and much like its predecessors, Second Son provides gamers with another fun romp in a free-roam environment that is sure to scratch any itch gamers might have for the opportunity to control a guy with awesome superpowers. Some could argue that this is the best game in the series; others could argue that it's the weakest game; and still others could say that it's the "middle child". In my opinion...all those viewpoints are correct. Confused? To be honest, so am I. When I think about it, deciding which game in the Infamous series is my favorite is kind of like asking a parent which of their three children they love most. It is my understanding that most parents would not be able to choose which kid is their favorite (in most cases) because they love them all equally. That's how I feel about the Infamous series: they're all really good games with their own strengths and weaknesses. A feature that is prevalent in one game could be lacking in the others. All three games have very many similarities and have the same basic functions with regards to controls and how superpowers are used, but they also have other subtle differences. So, how does Second Son stack up compared to its predecessors? Let's find out.

Taking place 7 years after the good (Hero) ending of Infamous 2, we are put in the shoes of Delsin Rowe, your classic juvenile delinquent who has a penchant for spray painting and bugging his older cop brother, Reggie (and getting arrested by him on numerous occasions). The two brothers, who are both of the Akomish tribe, are verbally duking it out near their reservation's main gathering place when an armored transport carrying 3 Conduits (now branded as "Bio-terrorists") crashes nearby, forever changing the fate of both brothers, and possibly the fate of the world. Delsin comes into contact with one of the escaping Conduits and suddenly copies his ability to manipulate smoke, and before he knows it he's doing things like dematerializing into a puff of smoke and ash to pass through gates and travel through air vents, as well as hovering in the air and shooting smoky fireballs. Soon enough, the party is crashed by the Department of Unified Protection (D.U.P.), an anti-Bio-terrorist organization whose sole duty is to gather up and confine all Conduits and imprison them for life in a detention facility known as Curdun Cay. Conduits are currently viewed as evil beings who bring nothing but death and destruction. Anyone who's even glanced at an X-Men comic or seen one of the movies should recognize the very similar prejudices Conduits face compared to the Mutants in the aforementioned comics and movies. While some may think this premise has been done to death already, I personally found it to be well done in this game and it really gave the story a dramatic quality, and it thankfully wasn't too overdone either. Anyway, the head of the D.U.P., the oh-so-hateful and professional female dog, Brooke Augustine, uses her own powers to torture and mortally wound the other members of Delsin's tribe in order to get answers out of them about Delsin's involvement with the accident caused by the other Conduits. After taking some time to recover from Augustine's special form of interrogation, Delsin then takes it upon himself to get to Seattle, where the main D.U.P. headquarters is located, and get Augustine's power so he could undo the damage done to his tribe (with his very reluctant brother Reggie along for the ride).

The rest of the story has some interesting moments sprinkled along as Delsin eventually joins with other Conduits and makes his way up the D.U.P. food chain to get to Augustine. The relationship between Delsin and Reggie was well done and did a great job showcasing two believable brothers who don't normally agree with each other, but still support each other through thick and through thin, with often amusing banter resulting. Delsin repeatedly makes fun of Reggie and antagonizes him, but does so in a (usually) lovable manner that shows he never stops caring for his big, bossy brother. As for Reggie, he often grows frustrated with Delsin's immaturity and pressures him not to be so impulsive, but sticks with his little bro by using his contacts in the police force to dig up useful info on the D.U.P. and other characters they encounter. There is one strange inconsistency involving the relationship between Delsin and Reggie, and that is the fact that Reggie appears to be oblivious to all the horrible things Delsin does should the player choose to make him evil. Also, all this focus on the brothers' relationship leads to them kind of hogging the spotlight, which causes Delsin's relationships with other characters to be less developed than they should have been. The fact that the story for Second Son is also the shortest compared to the previous two games only compounds this issue. While the story for Second Son was certainly good and was more personal, it wasn't as epic or memorable as the story in the first Infamous. Also, Second Son's good and evil endings definitely closed things out in two very different ways, however it still lacked the oomph and greater polarizing elements of the two endings in Infamous 2 (but not by too much). I would also like to add how the comic book style cutscenes, which do make a return, were slightly less grasping to me than in the first two games as they were largely used in flashback sequences when Delsin comes into contact with other Conduits and experiences their memories as he copies their powers.

Speaking of powers, let's discuss those next. Delsin is a special type of Conduit who can copy the powers of other Conduits simply by touching them. He starts with the smoke powers, followed by neon (using neon light to shoot laser blasts), video (using light pixels from t.v. screens to create "hard light" constructs and holograms), and concrete (hurl concrete projectiles). Each of these powers have their own uses and functions, all of which are eventually unlocked after Delsin absorbs energy from Core Relays. The most notable differences between these powers is how they allow Delsin to traverse the city. Delsin can use his neon powers to change into a wave of light to run at increased speeds and run up the sides of buildings, while using his video powers lets him sprout a pair of holographic wings to make quick dashes along the ground, in mid-air, or (again) up the sides of buildings. Delsin's smoke powers give him comparatively less mobility, except when going through strategically placed air vents located around many buildings that let him reach rooftops in seconds. The concrete powers let Delsin hover in the air for longer and higher than he can with his other powers, and he can also surround himself in concrete armor and charge down the street at high speeds like someone out of a Prototype game. As far as attacking enemies go, all 4 powers function very similarly and allow Delsin to shoot gun or missile-like projectiles at his foes, though there are other differences like Delsin using his video powers to turn invisible or summon holographic angels and demons to aid him in battle.

Delsin can also imbue the chain he keeps wrapped around his wrist with his current power and unleash impressive physical attacks on those who dare to get too close to him. The first three powers have what can be called "big finishing attacks" or "karmic bombs" and involve Delsin unleashing these visually impressive attacks that can subdue (good karma) or destroy (evil karma) all surrounding enemies in one fell swoop, but they can only be powered up after Delsin has performed enough good or evil karmic actions in relatively quick succession. As in the previous games, Delsin has to recharge his powers by absorbing the necessary elements from certain sources: smoke from chimneys and destroyed vehicles, neon from lit-up signs on buildings, video from t.v. screens and certain satellite dishes, and concrete from...let's keep that one a surprise. The most notable feature with the powers is that players no longer have the option to duck and cover behind walls or cars while shooting enemies like they could in the previous games. That now useless feature has been replaced with the option to "quick-fire" projectile attacks without having to use the classic over-the-shoulder aiming from the first two games, though aiming is still an option in this game (and actually necessary for certain attacks with the neon power). Each power also has different functions depending on whether Delsin is good or evil, with his good persona gaining more abilities that focus on debilitating or subduing his enemies, while his evil persona of course focuses on obliterating them into nothingness.

The missions Delsin takes part in actually don't cover very many avenues like they did in the previous games, especially the highly varied missions in Infamous 2, and the missions don't differ too greatly between the good and evil campaigns. Aside from a few chase missions and investigating a few crime scenes, Delsin normally finds himself taking down D.U.P. command centers and strongholds in both the main and side-missions. There is also one mission where Delsin is taken into a virtual world when he's on his way to gaining his video powers which does change things up considerably, but it's just a one time deal. The city of Seattle is made up of two decent-sized islands, and the islands are divided into a number of districts. After Delsin has destroyed the D.U.P. command centers in these districts, then the available side-missions for those districts (as well as some main missions) will be unlocked. The missions themselves consist of finding audio logs, destroying surveillance cameras, spray painting, and chasing down undercover D.U.P. agents. Some of these missions, mainly the spray painting, can be tedious at times, but they somehow make you want to complete them all, especially since clearing out a district leads to a "final showdown" where you must repel a D.U.P. attack force in order to fully liberate each district. Sidenote: One thing I did like about the spray painting missions was how they included the feature to hold the controller sideways and use it like an actual can of spray paint; it was kind of nifty...gimmicky, but nifty.

One more important gameplay element they added to the game that I appreciated was how they changed the use of Blast Shards. In the first two games, Blast Shards were collectibles that simply increased Cole's power meter, and there were literally hundreds of them. In Second Son, the number of Blast Shards available to find has been downgraded to a more reasonable level and they now serve to upgrade Delsin's powers like increasing the rate at which he absorbs power from different sources, decreasing the amount of power he uses up when shooting enemies, increasing his power meter (this is unchanged), and improved versions of his current abilities. Even finding the Blast Shards is more enjoyable since most of them are being carried by unmanned drones that have to be shot down before you can get the Shards they're carrying, while others are acquired by destroying the mobile command centers.

Enemy variety, like the missions, is also more limited compared to what's on offer in the first two games. Delsin will take on the occasional drug dealers, gangsters, cops (mostly when he's evil), and some of those holographic angels and demons in that one mission. He will chiefly be fighting D.U.P. soldiers who not only use guns, missile launchers, mounted machineguns, APCs, and attack choppers, but they are also imbued with concrete powers of their own. These guys range from the simple grunts who use their guns in conjunction with lobbing balls of concrete at Delsin, to the big bruisers who are encased in concrete armor and can crush him when up close, as well as keep pace with him when going up high buildings. There are only a handful of boss fights, and while they get progressively more challenging, neither of them prove all that daunting. The second boss does provide a decent enough challenge, and the final boss isn't too bad either, though it is kind of over before you know it.

The stand-alone DLC, First Light, lets players take control of everyone's favorite emotionally unstable, neon-powered Conduit, Abigail Walker, better known as Fetch. As interesting as her background was in the main game, we only got a short glimpse of her life before she met up with Delsin. First Light lets us experience her past in far more detail and without the inclusion of a karma meter. While those who have played the main game already know how that particular chapter of Fetch's life ends, there are some surprising revelations that shine some new light on Fetch's past dealings with drug dealers and her relationship with her brother, Brent. First Light's story definitely surpasses that of the main game. The game opens with Fetch in the custody of the D.U.P. at Curdun Cay and telling her life's story to Augustine, while also having her powers put to the test in the facility's battle arenas. We chiefly take control of Fetch during flashback sequences taking place 2 years earlier when she's on the streets of Seattle with Brent (only the first island is accessible), and it's not long before the siblings run into some trouble that gets them separated. Fetch then spends the majority of her time battling gangsters, drug dealers, cops, and eventually D.U.P. soldiers. The main missions are lots of fun, and are generally more varied than most of those in the main game. Aside from the usual stuff, they include sniping large groups of enemies from afar and escorting vehicles past enemy forces; they actually remind me of several missions in the first two Infamous games, so it's nice to see them make a return.

Side-missions and random encounters involve Fetch dealing with drive-by shootings, saving hostages from gangsters, shooting down drones, etching "neon art" on walls, and finding collectibles. Floating clouds of neon gas called "lumens" litter the city (some have to be chased down in special race trials) and collecting them earns Fetch upgrades for her powers; there are also larger neon gas clouds on the streets and rooftops that give Fetch speed boosts when she runs through them at light speed (there is a reasonable explanation for the presence of all these neon gas clouds, FYI). Occasionally, we're brought back to the present where Fetch is undergoing her training at Curdun Cay with Augustine, which includes battles against holographic versions of gangsters, drug dealers, D.U.P. soldiers, and even some new demon and angel enemies. For those who are interested (not including me), the arena battles can be replayed at any time with both Fetch and Delsin, with your scores being posted on online leaderboards. These arena battles also introduce new powers to Fetch's story. With regards to Fetch's powers, she displays several abilities not accessible to Delsin. Her light speed running ability lets her phase through fences and most other obstacles, even balconies when running up the sides of buildings (these things would annoyingly impede Delsin when he was going light speed). Fetch can also hit enemies with powerful neon drop kicks, homing blasts, and can even temporarily take control of auto turrets and other enemies to fight alongside her for a time. Her most powerful ability, Singularity, lets her shoot out a large ball of neon light that draws in nearby enemies and objects like a miniature black hole before going "boom". Even the speed at which Fetch shoots neon blasts and the amount of neon power she can store is greater than Delsin's. First Light is certainly a worthwhile DLC for fans of Infamous, especially for those who liked Fetch's character.

Infamous: Second Son is, at the very least, just as good as the first two games in the series. Aside from the slight changes with the controls, larger number of powers, and using the touch pad feature to have Delsin interact with certain objects and absorb Blast Shards and power sources, it basically has the same characteristics as the first two games. The graphics are quite nice though and the particle effects for the powers (especially neon) were very well done and are visually stunning. I enjoyed this game, as will most gamers who enjoyed its predecessors. Under any other developer, the Infamous series likely would have lost its steam long ago and fallen under the category of "too much of the same thing", but somehow Sucker Punch managed to release three games that operate on the same basic principles, yet still made them fun and entertaining. The first Infamous had the best story and atmosphere, as well as the most interesting setting. Infamous 2 had the most variety with missions, enemies, and environments. Infamous: Second Son had more variety with the powers. However, as my title suggests, the Infamous series has indeed hit its peak and is past its prime. If a fourth game is eventually released, Sucker Punch needs to go back to the drawing board and make some drastic changes to their tried and true formula. The karma system, which is still exactly the same as before, needs to be more dynamic like the ones in other game series such as Fallout and Mass Effect. They should also think about differentiating the powers more so that they feel more unique; some can be strictly long-range, others can focus on melee, and others can be stealth based, etc. I still recommend this game for fans of the series and for anyone who likes free-roam games with a superpowered flavor.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
The first two installments are purely why I purchased this game...and because I'm a sucker for good flashy graphics.

What I liked:
* The combat was not just a total breeze, you definitely have to maneuver, retreat, advance and have some level of strategy to do well.
* The environment is excellently detailed and lively. Certainly a lot going on here. The weather and general mood of everything seems to change from time to time.
* The upgrade system in general is a good concept.
* General polish of the game is high.

What I didn't like so much:
* The story was forgettable, though I admittedly didn't finish it because...
* The game was so repetitive, with my very limited time to play, I found more interesting games to play. You essentially do the same thing over and over, open a new zone, get a new power, then run the same 4 side missions to run the baddies out of that area. Rinse and repeat. While the other games did this, I somehow didn't find it as entertaining this time around. This was the main reason I give it a low score. It's just bland after the 4th or 5th time you've blasted into and freed up a zone...run after the same disappearing spy, search for some hidden camera, and spray painted some silly graphic on a billboard press-fit in the game to showcase the fact that the DS4 controller has motion sensitivity.
* The power progression is quite slow, it seems like I was yawning over a particular power LONG before something new was added to my arsenal.
* The karma system felt very muted compared to Infamous 1 & 2. It creeps along so slowly that I resorted to hacking up crowds of bystanders to gain points. This too has the same limited scope as the previously mentioned side missions: for the bad side you basically stop some protesters, defeat a few cops and execute instead of save baddies. Pretty limited after you do it 50 times.
* The main character didn't really matter to me. He sort of stumbled on his powers and started shooting things...I also missed the comic relief that was Zeke from the first game.

The Final Word:
I didn't by any means hate the game, but I didn't find a reason to keep it. I found myself thinking down the road "when I am switching to a PS5, is this one that will keep my booting up my old PS4?" The short answer is no, I don't think I'll miss it as it didn't add a lot to my PS4 experience.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2015
Having played and truly enjoyed the first two Infamous games (which I enjoyed so much I played through on both good and evil paths) for PS3 along with the vampire DLC, I was eagerly awaiting the Next Gen version of the game. I had actually played the little prequel (First Light) to get a feel for the game but it was worth it as well.

And I wasn't disappointed. The game is mechanically almost identical to the first games but the four different powers you can pick up adds a bit more variety. Certainly they play nearly identically (you've got a beam weapon, a missle, a run of some sort and usually some type of special) but each is unique and I found that certain powers were better for certain applications or purposes (i.e. endless neon running is great for traversing large distances). While I generally found the video power pointless, the ability to turn invisible and sneak up on guys was so much fun.

The overall story seemed short compared to the previous games but some of that may have been due to playing it relentlessly. And I went back and played the other karma path after finishing the first. The stories were different enough and I certainly enjoyed both. If there is any issue, and this is really a problem with most binary morality systems, it's that once you've chosen a path, unless you do it by accident there's no purpose making any other choices. You can only max out your powers by maxing out karma in the first place.

I was disappointed in the Cole's legacy mission but the additional conduit mission that tied in with an online website was interesting (and irritating at the same time). Suckerpunch put so much work into that alone.

Overall, for fans of the franchise, highly recommended it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 17 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here