Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop STEM Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
18,322
Kindle Fire HD 7", HD Display, Wi-Fi, 8 GB - Includes Special Offers (Previous Generation - 3rd)
Digital Storage Capacity: 8|Offer Type: With Special Offers|Change
Price:$139.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


An Amazon.com official commented on the review below
on October 2, 2013
This is the next-generation Kindle Fire HD but with an updated operating system and new features, a redesigned shell (with the power and volume control buttons more readily accessible) and the power adapter included rather than as a separate $19.99 accessory. And all of this at a great price. When you consider the formerly separate cost of the adapter, you'd have spent $80 more just a couple of months ago for almost the same tablet.

NOTE: This is the base model of the three models that Amazon is shipping this year: the Kindle Fire HD, the Kindle Fire HDX, and the Kindle Fire HDX 8.9". Despite what I wrote above, this model is not really the successor for the Kindle Fire HD; it's the successor for the Kindle Fire. The successor for last year's Kindle Fire HD is this year's Kindle Fire HDX. I think a lot of reviewers are missing that point because of Amazon's unfortunate naming conventions.

The Amazon tablets are primarily content consumption devices, best suited for connecting to the Amazon ecosystem, including videos, music, books, apps, and so on. With the free Prime trial subscription, you can check out the Prime Instant Video options and watch movies and shows at no charge until the Free Trial expires automatically. For videos, music, and books, the Amazon selection is at or near the top of the list; for apps, much less so. Roughly 90% of the top 100 apps are available on Amazon.com, as well as 100,000 others, but that's only a small fraction of what is available with Google or Apple.

It's not quite as bad as it sounds because, while the competition has ten times as many apps, most of those apps are, um ... how shall I put this ... less than stellar (look up Sturgeon's Law). If there are specific apps you need or want, you definitely should double-check before purchasing to make sure that they are available. The apps that will likely never become available on the Kindle Fire ecosystem are those apps that require Google services (i.e., anything that uses Google location services). One ameloriating factor is that it is possible to side-load most of the apps from the Google Play store onto an Amazon tablet and a web search on side-loading apps onto Kindle Fire will show dozens of websites with detailed instructions. If the app you are sideloading requires a Google service to work, though, it will not run on the Fire, even if you manage to successfully install it.

It has an updated OS and updated feature software (but does not include the free unlimited Mayday customer support feature; you'll have to move up to the HDX to get that). The software updates include the ability to download some Prime Instant Videos to your device and watch them offline, enhanced accessibility, enhanced enterprise controls and features (so now it's better suited for office work), enhanced email client, enhanced parental controls, improved X-Ray features (now including lyrics for music, as well as additional information for both books and movies), integration with GoodReads (coming soon), and the like.

Where I noticed the biggest difference was the home screen. The default view is still the carousel but if you swipe upward, you'll see a more traditional icon view. The "Recommended for you" display on the home screen is now smaller and much less obtrusive (and it can be turned off in the settings). Amazon has also added multi-tasking of a sort, where swiping up from the bottom of the screen while you're in an app shows you the 20 most-recently-used items from your home screen, so you can quickly switch from one app to another without returning to the home screen.

There is also a left panel available on most screens (but not the home screen) and in some of the apps, with navigation links and settings to make it easier to navigate and control your tablet or to navigate within the app. If you tap the center of your display and then swipe left while you're reading a book, for example, you'll see a panel that shows you the table of contents, the About the Author link, the Sync to Furthest Page Read link, and so on.

The Kindle FreeTime option and the parental controls are still among the best in the business. If you want a tablet for a child and want to control what they can access, how long they can use the tablet at any given time, and the like, Amazon has you covered.

You can now also schedule "Quiet Time" on the tablet, where notification sounds and pop-up notifications are disabled, either on a temporary basis by simply pushing a button or on a scheduled basis. Frankly, I doubt I'll ever use this feature but if you're the type who likes to read or watch video until you fall asleep, it's kind of nice to be able to disable all sounds so that you don't get rudely awakened when, e.g., someone plays a new word in your Words with Friends game.

As I noted, the Kindle Fire HD does not support the new "Mayday" feature that Amazon has been advertising. However, if you swipe down from the top of the screen, tap the Settings option on the top right, and then select Help, you'll see various options, including Wifi information and troubleshooting tips, a comprehensive User Guide, information on providing feedback on select features, and information on contacting Customer Service via email or phone.

So what are the drawbacks? No camera or microphone, so no video conferencing, no Skype, no picture-taking. A little underpowered with a slightly reduced battery life and slightly higher weight when compared to the newest tablets (e.g., the Kindle Fire HDX has a quad-core processor, 11 hour battery life, and a 10.7 oz. weight compared to the Kindle Fire HD dual-core processor, 10 hour battery life, and 12.2 oz weight). On the other hand, you're paying $90 less for the Kindle Fire HD so you're getting a pretty good value.

Also, like the other Kindle Fire tablets, as well as the Apple iPad and the Google Nexus, the Kindle tablet line doesn't have a micro-SD slot, so the assumption is that you're consuming content from the cloud. This is fine when you're using your tablet with wifi; not so good when you're traveling and want to load up your tablet with content for the trip. If the latter is something you expect to do regularly, you might want to consider the 16GB version. Also, if all of your content is on iTunes or on Google Play, you would have to side-load everything onto the tablet. As is true of Apple and Google tablets, there's no way to automatically connect to the cloud storage of the competition.

Update: I was asked in the comments about downloading Prime Instant Videos. I verified that I can download Prime Instant Videos to my Kindle Fire HD. However, that option is not available for all movies and TV shows. It looks like they had to get the permission of the studios and not all of them said yes. So, for example, I was able to download "Casablanca" but not able to download "The Avengers" even though both are part of the Prime Instant Video collection and both are available for free streaming.

Update: There seems to be some questions (and some misinformation) about the Amazon Prime 30-day free trial that comes with these tablets. That 30-day free trial expires automatically unless you specifically renew; they will not charge your credit card. That differs from the experience when you explicitly sign up for the Prime 30-day free trial on the Amazon.com website. In the latter case, unless you cancel, your 30-day free trial membership will automatically convert to the annual membership.

Update: There also seem to be some questions about the "special offers" version of this tablet. The special offers consist of an image with a link on the startup screen for the tablet. Once you're past that screen, there is absolutely no difference between the "with special offers" and "without special offers" tablet. Typical offers include advertising a new game, special deals on specific Kindle books, special deals on tablet accessories, or even the occasional deal on the tablets or e-readers themselves (a particularly noteworthy deal was the offer of $100 off the latest e-reader). If you find the advertisements irritating, you can always go to the Manage Your Kindle page on Amazon.com (https://www.amazon.com/myk) and pay $15 to turn them off forever.

Update: How does this Kindle Fire HD differ from the previous generation Kindle Fire HD? (Although the real comparison should be with the previous generation base Kindle Fire, for more on that, see below.)
- It's a bit lighter (12.2 oz vs. 13.9 oz)
- It's a bit smaller (7.5" x 5.0" x 0.42" vs. 7.6" x 5.4" x 0.4")
- It's a bit faster (1.5GHz dual-core CPU compared to 1.2GHz)
- A redesigned shell with power and volume control buttons that are easy to find!
- The base version of the new Kindle Fire HD has 8 GB instead of 16 GB.
- No camera
- No HDMI out (but see the description above for details on how Amazon is providing a software solution for sharing your tablet screen on your television)
- No ambient light sensor, so the brightness is always set manually
- It contains a power adapter, something that was sold separately with last year's model
- It has an updated OS and updated feature software.
- It's $60 cheaper ($80 cheaper if you count the power adapter). Since last year's Kindle Fire HD had 16GB rather than 8GB, perhaps the comparison ought to be that it's $30 cheaper ($50 if you count the power adapter).

As I wrote above, this isn't the successor for the 2012 Kindle Fire HD; it's the successor for the base Kindle Fire. There were three tablets last year: Kindle Fire, Kindle Fire HD, and Kindle Fire HD 8.9". There are three tablets this year: Kindle Fire HD, Kindle Fire HDX, and Kindle Fire HDX 8.9". If you bought the Kindle Fire HD last year, the equivalent model this year is the Kindle Fire HDX. So how does this year's base model compare with last year's base model?
- It's got a much better display (1280x800 vs. 1024x600), plus better technology driving the display (10-point multi-touch vs. 2-point multi-touch). The display is also brighter and cleaner. There really is no comparison.
- It's got better sound (including Dolby audio).
- It's much faster (1.5GHz OMAP 4470 vs. 1.2GHz OMAP4430).
- It's lighter (12.2 oz vs. 14.1 oz).
- It has better battery life (10 hours vs. 9 hours).
- It's $20 cheaper ($40 cheaper if you count the power adapter).
Last year's base model had no microphone or camera; neither does this year's. Last year's base model had no HDMI output; neither does this year's. Last year's base model had 8GB storage; so does this year's. Last year's base model had no ambient light sensor; neither does this year's. And so on... When you look at it that way, this is a heck of a deal.

How does the Kindle Fire HD compare to the competition? In this class, the major competition would be the 2012 Apple iPad Mini, which Apple is still selling, and the 2012 Google Nexus 7, which Google no longer sells but which is still available on Amazon.

Display:
HD: 1280x800 - 7" display (216 ppi)
Nexus: 1280x800 - 7" display (216 ppi)
iPad Mini: 1024x768 - 7.9" display (163 ppi)

These are all decent, previous-generation displays, with the iPad Mini both a winner (it has a larger screen) and a loser (it has lower resolution). It's worth noting that the aspect ratio of the HD and Nexus is 16:10 while the aspect ratio of the iPad Mini is 4:3. Where this matters is watching video. If you're watching an old television show, a 4:3 aspect ratio is fine. If you're watching a high-def movie, the 4:3 aspect ratio is going to leave large black bars on your screen and the video will be much more compressed than it would be on the HD and Nexus. Apple chose to maintain backward compatibility with prior devices rather than moving up.

Sound: The HD has Dolby Audio; the other two have standard stereo sound. The iPad Mini also makes the same mistake that Amazon made in its first-generation tablet: putting both speakers on the same side (in this case, at the bottom of the tablet). If you're watching a video, you'll have the tablet turned sideways and the sound will all come from the same side. The HD has the speakers placed in a more appropriate location.

Networking: All have dual-band wifi.

Size and Weight:
HD: 7.5" x 5.0" x 0.42" and 12.2 oz.
Nexus: 7.81" x 4.72" x 0.41" and 12 oz.
iPad Mini: 7.87" x 5.3" x 0.28" and 11 oz.

There's really nothing to choose from here. All three are small, thin, and light. The iPad Mini is the largest but it also has the largest screen, and it is the lightest and thinnest.

Processor:
HD: Dual-core 1.5GHz OMAP 4470, 1GB memory
Nexus: Dual-core 1.20 GHz Tegra 3.0, 1GB memory
iPad Mini: Dual-core A5, 0.5GB memory

The HD wins this round, although none of these is a real barn-burner, which is not a surprise at this price point. Both the HD and the Nexus have more RAM than does the Mini.

Cameras: Both the Nexus and the iPad Mini have 1.2 MP front and 5MP rear cameras. The HD has no camera. If you need a front-facing camera, you'll need to move up to the HDX. If you need a rear-facing camera, you'll need to move up to the 8.9" HDX.

Battery Life: HD = 10 hours; Nexus = 9.5 hours; iPad Mini = 10 hours.

Expansion: None of them have a microSD slot; they all assume that you'll be using their respective cloud systems.

Price: The HD is $139, the Nexus is approximately $165, and the iPad Mini is $299. The iPad Mini is priced very high for what it offers; Apple dropped the price only $30 (down from $329) when it debuted its 2013 iPad Mini with Retina display. The HD is really a great price but you don't get a camera with this model.

From my own perspective, there is no single clear winner, as each tablet has strengths and weaknesses. If you already have Amazon Prime, the HD is a no-brainer, with the access to the Prime Instant Video and the Kindle Owners' Lending Library. If you want apps, Apple and Google both have far more choices. If you want to watch movies, I'd pick either the HD or the Nexus, as Apple's aspect ratio and its lagging sound put it at the back of the pack. If price is a factor, then I'd pick the the HD, unless you really need a camera, in which case, I'd recommend the Nexus.

If you're heavily invested in the Apple ecosystem, i.e., you already own an iPhone or iPad and all of your content is on iTunes, the HD really isn't the tablet for you. Similarly, if you love browsing Google Play for apps to play on your Samsung Galaxy phone, you're likely to be disappointed in the section available on Amazon (although, as I note above, most of the Google Play apps can be sideloaded onto the tablet). If you love your Google Now or Siri, neither of which will ever be available on Amazon, this isn't the tablet for you.

Update: It was pointed out to me in the comments that I missed a couple of alternatives that are worth considering. One alternative is the 2012 Kindle Fire HD 8.9" tablet, which is still available here on Amazon.com. (The 7" Kindle Fire HD is no longer available on Amazon but you might be able to find it at a local Best Buy or office superstore as those stores run through their inventory.) If you want a larger, true HD tablet for $229, the 2012 HD 8.9" tablet is pretty compelling. The only drawback is that it's a two-hander; this isn't a tablet you're going to be comfortable holding in one hand for very long. But sometimes the extra screen real estate is worth it.

A second alternative is the 2012 Barnes & Noble 7" Nook. This was a very good tablet in 2012 and it still holds up in 2013 as a bargain tablet. The specs make it competitive with the Kindle Fire HD and B&N is currently selling it for $129. It's an even more compelling deal because of two factors: the first is that it has a micro-SD slot, so you can expand its available capacity, and it provides access to the Google Play store, so you have the full range of Android apps. The one drawback is that there is reason to question whether B&N is going to remain in business, as it's been steadily losing money and market share over the past few years, with no signs yet of that stopping. Also, like the Kindle Fire HD, the Nook doesn't have a camera.

The bottom line: The Kindle Fire HD tablet is primarily intended as a viewport into Amazon content and Amazon services. If you have Amazon Prime and you have Amazon eBooks in your collection, this tablet is a no-brainer. The price is low, particularly for what you get, and it's a small, light, budget (without being cheap) tablet with a good display and good sound. This really is an excellent value.

Update:
Now that I have a Kindle Fire HDX tablet (see http://www.amazon.com/review/R2KVHBC7NMNOGU for my review), I'm in a little better position to talk about which one I'd recommend:

You should get the Kindle Fire HDX if:
- You're a techie who wants the latest and greatest, the best display, the fastest processor.
- You need a camera for Skype or other video app.
- You play graphics-intensive games (e.g., racing games).
- The size and weight matter to you, even in such small increments as this.
- You think you will need the Mayday technical support.

You should get the Kindle Fire HD if:
- Price is a factor. $90 cheaper is not an insignificant amount. This really is an excellent value for the money.
- You want an inexpensive tablet for a child (and, for this case, the lack of a camera might well be a plus)
- All you want is a basic tablet for reading books, playing music, watching the occasional video, playing Words with Friends, and the like. While the screen on the HD isn't as stunning as is it on the HDX, this is still a true HD screen and it is very good.

Note: I check back here pretty regularly. If you have questions, I'll be happy to try to answer them.
6,005 helpful votes
6,006 helpful votes
|
5150+ comments|Report abuse
on October 4, 2013
First off, I would like to say this tablet is a great deal for just $139.99. I tried finding a tablet for under $100 that would just work properly, and to let you know, it's impossible. Secondly, I want to tell you how I decided to buy this tablet.

I first bought the 9 inch Dragon touch tablet for 78$ but to be blunt it sucked. It was so slow that the web browser would always freeze, even if I did a simple Google search. I did not want to take a chance with it anymore and returned it after 2 days of using it; then I decided to give the kindle fire HD a chance.

Exterior: The exterior is well built. No loose pieces, and the plastic is very firm. My previous cheap tablet had plastic that felt it was going to snap if you held it too hard. Of course the iPad mini has a glass screen and aluminum body, but it also starts at $329. There are 2 ports: a micro usb and a headphone jack to plug in your headphones. The nice thing is that the micro usb is universal and finding a plug is cheap and easy to find. Although, amazon does include a very nice and not cheaply made cable/ wall charger along with your kindle. The previous kindle did not include them and they are worth $20. The buttons for the volume and power are a nice touch. I would not be surprised if new generation tablets will include these style buttons.
Only down side is there is no port for an SD card so you can store more memory. It would be a nice feature but if you really need all that storage, go buy a computer.

Display: One word, amazing. Maybe I am pushing it, but the screen is so clear. I own an iPhone 5 and my eyes prefer my kindle. I love reading on this machine and for the price, amazon did a good job with this one.

Internal/processor: I never owned the older versions of the kindle, so I won't be able to compare to them. I can say that this kindle is not slow. My previous tablet took a couple of seconds to respond to my touch but there is no delay on this kindle. As far as apps go, I downloaded that deer hunting game to test out if the kindle can handle it. The answer is yes, and didn't even struggle :).

WiFi: Surfing the web is awesome on this device. I watched a tv series(arrested development, which I do recommend) and the video playback was great. It was very smooth and even when I went outside the video was fine. I added the outside part because my 2010 MacBook pro starts to get a jittery WiFi connection when I bring it outside my house. But the overall speed is in between my iPhone 5 and MacBook pro, where it should be.

Battery: Yeah... I noticed the older version of the kindle was 11 hours and this one is 10 hours. But if you're on the kindle for 10 hours straight, time to GET A JOB! (Read update 10/23/13 lower in the review for true battery life)

Camera: I wish there was a camera and Mic in this kindle so I could Skype with my family. Keeping the price and size in mind you can't really blame amazon. Well, at least the NSA can't see me or hear what I'm doing. If you want those features then you can always buy the better version of the kindle. (Kindle HDX)

Sound: I don't know what the previous kindle sounded like, but this kindle has great speakers. I was in my room watching my show and my roommates(my parents..) told me to turn it down. I could understand everything that was said in the show and that's all that matters. If you bought this tablet to listen to quality music, I don't know what to tell you.

Setup: I've seen lots of people saying that the setup is a pain in the you know what. I was waiting to see what they were talking about but I had no issue. When I received my tablet, I turned on the screen and connected to my WiFi. I had no problems and then an amazon load screen came up and I said, here we goooo... The load screen only lasted 2 minutes and it was completed. I didn't have another one, nor did I have an issue setting up my kindle. My email, WiFi, amazon account, and other set ups went very smoothly without any issues.
I am not doubting that other people had problems with their tablets, no electronic device is perfect. Either amazon saw that there was a problem and fixed it, I got lucky with my tablet, or maybe so many people were trying to register their new kindle and amazon servers could not handle it. Wouldn't have been the first time a new product had its servers go down(obamacare, ios 7, COD servers, etc.)

Bluetooth: Haven't tried it yet, sorry! But apparently no one has any issues with it. 10/21/13 I have tested it out by hooking it up to my car and it works. I don't own a Bluetooth mouse or keyboard but you should not have a problem pairing them with the kindle.

SO, if you want a general summary, this is a fantastic tablet for the price. This tablet is probably the cheapest tablet that you can buy with it being dependable. There are a lot of cheaper tablets out there, but are only good if you want bald spots. Keep the price in mind when buying this tablet, this is why amazon offers a lot better kindles that cost more. This kindle is for someone that is on a budget, wants a device to surf the web,reading books, looking at photos, watching movies, playing games, and obviously "facebooking." If you want something more "show off-ie" then this isn't the kindle tablet for you.
Also, keep in mind Amazon is an extraordinary company. They are fair priced for almost everything they sell on their website, especially their books. I cannot thank them enough for saving me hundreds of dollars on books I need for college. For not being an electronics company like Apple, Samsung Sony etc, they can definitely give those companies a run for their money with their tablets. So thank you amazon for making a very affordable, dependable tablet!

I will update this if I see something out of the ordinary or if something goes wrong that shouldn't have.

P.S. If there spelling mistakes, sorry. I used my new kindle to type this all out. I figured it would be good practice.

UPDATE 10/21/13

First, I want to mention is that I am having sound glitches. When I'm watching a video the sound just shuts off and I have to press the rewind button 1 to 3 times. In doing so, the video loads itself again and the sound magically comes back on. I know it's a software issue because sometimes when I load my apps there is no sound even when it is turned on. I shut off the app (sometimes a couple of times) and the sound comes back. If anyone knows how to fix the issue or has the same problem, let me know. Thank you.
Another problem I have is trying to connect the micro usb cable in. I think it's a problem because the way the sides of the kindle are angled. Usually I plug in all my electronics at night, with no lights on. But with the kindle, I have to leave the light on so I can find the port to plug in the charger.
There is no flash player in the kindle, but that's no surprise since android and iPads don't either. There might be manual ways on installing it but I wouldn't know.
When you use you're kindle while charging it, it gets pretty warm. Not really a problem just something that was noticeable.

Now, time for some good news! The display is great outside, I can watch all my shows when the sun is out. This is a huge plus for me.
The true battery life. I tested it out by watching 4 episodes of a show that lasted about 22 minutes. Each show drained my battery 5%, keep in mind my display brightness was set around 75%. Doing the math, the battery life will last you roughly 7.5 hours when watching videos. When I web surf, read books, play a game here and there I would have enough battery life to last me a little less than 2 days. I think the battery life would be a lot better if there was a light sensor on the kindle, but there isn't. So if you want to save battery you need to manually change the brightness yourself because the kindle is not able to.

Two suggestions so far.
1. Amazon, I wish your kindle cases were cheaper. Two of your cases cost as much as the kindle itself! They do look nice and pretty cool but not for that price. Sorry, but I went with the 20$ marware case and it does the job.
2. Instead of offering $2 amazon music credit incentives when you buy certain products. A $2 amazon coins incentive would be incredible. Almost everything in the app store costs money and amazon coins would be very useful for a lot of your loyal customers.

11/26/13

My previous issue that I had with my kindle (sound disappearing) has been resolved. I am not sure what it was but I think it had something to do with the recent update.

Some people are angry and giving horrible reviews because this isn't like the previous generation Kindle Fire HD. READ THE PRODUCT DESCRIPTION BEFORE YOU BUY ANYTHING. This kindle fire HD is marketed as the improved, previous Kindle Fire, while the kindle fire HDX is the new and improved, previous kindle fire HD. I do not want to bash anybody, but I do not think that this Kindle should have such bad reviews because of others' stupid mistakes. So, if you are not on a budget and want an even greater tablet; the Kindle Fire HDX is what you should look into.

The other cool thing about the recent update is, if you bought a kindle with special offers, the lock screen now has a notification bar. Before it just showed the special offers on the screen. Now on the lock screen, at the top of the screen, it shows the time, battery life and other notification like new emails. Before you had to unlock the screen to see any of this. Nice touch Amazon!

Also, HAPPY THANKSGIVING EVERYONE!
3,185 helpful votes
3,186 helpful votes
|
3434 comments|Report abuse
on October 4, 2013
This new KFHD replaces last year's basic Kindle Fire. Although it has some cool new features, it lacks a camera, microphone, and HDMI port. For this reason, I'm glad I kept my 2012 model since it does have these 3 features!

Here are my initial impressions of the 2013 Kindle Fire HD: I like the placement of the on/off & volume buttons. Being on opposite sides makes it unlikely to hit the wrong one. I never cared for the carousel (this is what you see when you turn your Kindle on and it contains all the books & apps you have recently accessed), and now there's an option to have favorites showing on the home screen instead, and the apps/books can be rearranged to your liking. I was very surprised that web pages can no longer be placed in the favorites bar (which is now being called "home"). I don't know why Amazon removed this option, and we also are unable to have the last accessed web page appear in the carousel. But you can still bookmark your favorite web pages & YouTube videos for easy access.

When I play songs purchased from Amazon's MP 3 store the lyrics scroll down karaoke style. Nice feature, but it doesn't work on every song. This device has a cool new feature called "Quick Switch", which allows us, when reading or using an app, to bring up recently accessed items with a swipe instead of having to exit the book or app you were using and go back to the "home" screen to open up another one.

In terms of sound, I find it to be tinny and not as rich as it is on the original KFHD. But you can really improve the sound of music by wearing a good set of ear buds. Ironically, music sounds muffled unless you hold the device in landscape mode with your hands covering the speakers. Holding it this way projects the sound out to you.

In terms of speed, this new model loads web pages and email faster, which isn't surprising considering that it has a 1.5GHz processor compared to 1.2GHz on the older model.
I like the placement of the USB charging port. It's now on the upper left hand side (when in landscape mode). On the older model it's on the bottom, which makes it awkward to stand it up while charging.

**AMAZON PRIME VIDEO DOWNLOADS HAS ARRIVED!! If you have an Amazon Prime subscription, in addition to being able to stream videos on your Kindle you can now download many of them. I love being able to watch shows offline when I'm away from a WiFi connection! It took about 5 minutes for a 45 minute television show to download. We can choose the picture quality we prefer (either "good", "better", or "best"), and the higher the quality, the longer it takes to download & the more storage space it uses. A 45 minute show at the "best" resolution used up a whopping 2GB of storage space! No worries though because it's a cinch to delete the videos after watching them. Most of the Prime tv episodes can be downloaded, such as Chopped, Nova, Twilight Zone, and the The Universe, but only a fraction of the movies have this capability so far.

Amazon promises a software update in mid-November that will allow us to sort our books and apps into "collections"! This will be a wonderful feature to have because now we have to scroll through all of our content to find the book or app we want to access.
***UPDATE***
My device received the software update, and now I can organize all of my books and apps into collections!! And we can put the folders on the home screen, not just in our content libraries!! This is a great new feature that I've wanted for quite a while and it adds to my enjoyment of using the device.

Many people are complaining about the lack of a user guide, so I wanted to mention that it can be accessed from the device itself. (You need an active WIFI connection to complete this task)!! Just swipe down from the top of the screen where the time is displayed & tap on "help".
Here's a link for Amazon.com help:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeld=201306980
Then tap on "Get help with your Kindle device or Reading App", and then tap on "Kindle Fire HD 2nd Generation". This should help get everyone started!
3,058 helpful votes
3,059 helpful votes
|
3535 comments|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon February 28, 2014
Yes..this is my 6th Kindle Fire HD 7 and I am sharing my story so you are not discouraged! My previous Kindle Fire performed well and I decided to upgrade to the newer model with 16GB. My 2nd Kindle Fire arrived as a Christmas gift and the first week I used it, the unit crashed. Ouch! My previous generation-now referred to as "Old Faithful" -never failed me. I followed the onscreen instructions for Kindle#2 and rebooted my device. After using my device for about 30 minutes, it crashed again and the on-screen instructions said to reboot the reset the entire device. I reset the device and lost all my settings, then again after using the device it crashed. I was not a happy customer so I called Kindle Support.

If you are not bored yet...keep reading....

Kindle support told me NOT to reset the device, because this erases the memory on their support side and they are unable to resolve the issue from their end if I reset the device. They advised me to call them when this happens. After a conversation about my new device not working, they agreed to send me another Kindle.

Kindle #3, #4 and #5 all arrived...and I returned all of them when I discovered they were refurbished units. Since my device was brand new and I had only used it one week, I expected a brand new device as a replacement. On Kindle #6 I ended up placing a new order (rather than an exchange order) and then returned the refurbished units they continued to send me. Problem resolved.

It gets worse...

Kindle #6 crashed too! Within the first week...again!

This time I did not "reset the device" and instead I would reboot the device. I did this each time I turned on the Kindle. 100% of the time, when I turned on the power button, I would get the error message and my device would shut off and require a reboot. It would work after each reboot.

This is fascinating though... on the day when I brought my Kindle #6 outside my home and not longer had wifi, I made a great observation (I hope Kindle support reads this!). When I turned on the power button, the Kindle started automatically loading a software update! Wow... that was interesting and it actually took a few minutes to update. I'm not a genius..however I think the software update was causing the failure each time I powered my device. It was conflicting with the same wifi that would load new books to the device....and this caused it to crash. It's just a theory...however when you're on Kindle #6 then you seek any possibility for your frustration.

Summary...I love my Kindle and would never want to be without one, I only hate it when it does not work right out of the box. I had to walk through some challenges to get the device working and it was worth the frustration. Now, if someone could please tell me how to turn off the Wiki notes that keep appearing whenever I highlight...you'll be my very best friend! I did pay the upgrade to remove the ads and I still have those Wiki popups. Ugh!

Please, if you have time .....comment on my review below so I know what information you find useful or what you would like to see added to my review. Or just click the "like" or "dislike" button to save time. Your input is valuable feedback for me!

UPDATE: 23 days after returning my Christmas Kindle gift, I received a refund on my first Kindle and also was charged this: Restocking Fee Refund Deduction: ($25.94) although I was not informed of any restocking fee during my four phone conversations with Amazon. Amazon needs to be more specific on their "one year warranty" and their "restocking fees."

Thumbs down for the SIXTEEN PERCENT RESTOCKING FEE FOR A BRAND NEW KINDLE DEVICE!
232 helpful votes
233 helpful votes
|
1212 comments|Report abuse
on October 9, 2013
UPDATED REVIEW: 10/18/2013 Well, I did call customer support, and they were awesome. They quickly replaced my Kindle and the new one has NO PROBLEMS and is absolutely everything I expected and wanted. I've had it for a week now and it's been smooth sailing, so I feel safe in updating my review to full marks - five stars!

ORIGINAL REVIEW 10/9/2013:
I love all the features and what it can do - so much access and connectivity. Being able to do email, supposed to be able to do office work (haven't found that app yet), video streaming, all my books, and so much more.

Biggest problem. It keeps rebooting. If it takes too long to try and authenticate (hangs up or freezes) then it's like it overloads the processors and so it reboots. If you take too long to make a decision on something, it might freeze up and reboot. Then, it gets stuck in this reboot loop where it will reboot every 20-30 seconds no matter what you do. You have to catch it before it does one of these reboots and do a hard boot on it - hold the power button for 30-50 seconds - and then let it sit five minutes before you turn it back on. Very annoying. I emailed customer support on it but have not heard back. So much for their automated "you'll have a response from us within 12 hours." I've had the device for 5 days and we'll see how this goes. I certainly haven't been scared off - I'm more tech savvy than that. It's just glitchy and I need to call the support team instead of email them. I'll do that and then update this review. For now, 4 stars because of the glitches. 10/9/2013
12 helpful votes
13 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on December 5, 2013
Folks, be extra careful when purchasing this unit. When I saw this as a pre-cyber Monday sale, I thought it was a great deal. I honestly thought I was getting the Kindle Fire HD 16 GB that was released in 2012 (I already own one of these). This item is actually just a little bit better version of the original Kindle Fire 1st Gen. It has the same button controls and it does not have a camera. If you're ordering in a rush, you might not see those caveats. I actually owned the 1st Gen Kindle when it came out, so I am familiar with the controls, etc.

As of today, 12/5/2013, the description line of the item I am reviewing begins by saying, '"Kindle Fire HD 7." ' I bought this for my wife during a limited availability sale (so I ordered it very quickly). When I opened it today, I found that it is a souped up version of the 1st Generation Kindle with HD display. No camera, and different controls from the 2012 Kindle Fire HD.

This is what I was expecting:

Kindle Fire HD 7", Dolby Audio, Dual-Band Wi-Fi, 16 GB - Includes Special Offers [Previous Generation]

Notice that the above item says, "Previous Generation." Hmmm. So I wrote to Amazon and I explained how confusing this all is. A lady wrote back and said that Amazon has the following models available:

For your reference, here's a list of our Kindle tablets.

Kindle Fire Previous Generation:

* Kindle Fire (1st Generation)
* Kindle Fire Tablet
* Kindle Fire HD 7"
* Kindle Fire HD 8.9"

All-New Kindle Fire:

* All-New Kindle Fire 7"
* All-New Kindle Fire HDX 7"
* All-New Kindle Fire HDX 8.9"

If you look at the opening words of the two Kindles I'm talking about, as of today, they both begin by saying "Kindle Fire HD." I'm a bit slower than most, but I think anyone could get confused by all of this. For what it was worth, I submitted feedback to Amazon about these abiguities.

Well, Amazon was very good, and they accepted my return for a full refund. I personally am not wild about this Kindle Fire because it is slower, lacks a camera for Skype, lacks a microphone for language translation apps, etc. Hence, 3 stars from my perspective. HOWEVER, if you just want a very simple device for reading, some games and music, some HD video (still at lower resolution than its other HD cousins) and infrequent/slower web surfing, then this is the one for you.
19 helpful votes
20 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on April 26, 2017
I bought this tablet about 3 years ago when it was $120 or so. I originally walked into Best Buy looking to buy a kindle paperwhite E-reader, but they were out and offered me the Kindle Fire HD 7" instead. I reluctantly went with it. I was actually pleasantly surprised to find I preferred having a lit up screen to read books at night. The basic software that comes with this kindle is alright to read with. There's minimal customization but it isn't too bad. I mostly just download free books in .mobi form and they're ready to read once they're downloaded. I never used this tablet for watching videos at first, but I did play some games and it performed well.

I noticed after owning it for roughly 11 months that the screen was developing burned-in text. If I was reading for 15-20 minutes and then went to the dark homescreen, I could see faint lines of text running across the screen. It wouldn't go away unless I turned the kindle off for at least an hour. Customer support said it didn't fall under their warranty and there was nothing they could do about it. 2 years later the issue still persists, but it hasn't gotten WORSE, so I guess it's not that big of a deal...

Fast forward to 1 week ago when I tried to stream Netflix for the very first time in 3 years. I noticed this tablet had slowed down considerably after a rather large update a couple months back. It wasn't running as snappy as usual, and nothing I did seemed to fix it. Well, my first time trying to watch a Netflix video went poorly. The audio and visuals were extremely choppy and while I had very fast internet and the video was completely loaded, it still stopped intermittently and was impossible to watch. I still have 1GB of storage left and have nothing running in the background so there's really no excuse for this. It's rendered this tablet as solely an e-reader now, and sometimes even that gets tedious. Trying to turn a page causes the kindle to lock up occasionally for 10-12 seconds. Opening a book will make the screen go blank with a loading screen, then it continually refreshes this loading screen 4-5 times before actually opening the book. Incredibly slow.

So after 3 years I'm looking for a replacement tablet, and I'll be steering clear of the Kindle Fire line. This would have been a great tablet that lasted many years if it hadn't been ruined by the recent updates. It's too bad I never got to use its other functions besides reading books.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on December 18, 2013
Might as well pay any extra money for the device because the "discounted" price w/ "special offers" is like browsing the internet, every time you go to open your kindle there is an advertisement for some garbage right on your screen. The only way to remove this is to pay $15. SO, all in all its not a deal to get the kindle at the price, they just find ways to make it sound like a deal while in reality its jus as annoying as internet pop ups
12 helpful votes
13 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on April 8, 2014
The Kindle Fire seemed to be okay until 2 months into purchasing it when it started to shut down in the middle of games, reading a book, etc. At first it was just every once in awhile where it would shut down, and the battery level had nothing to do with it because it would happen when the battery level was at 98% full. Progressivly it got worse where it would shut down and the only way to get it to start back up would be to plug it in to turn it back on (and the battery was not low). After a month of dealing with this I finally contacted Amazon. When I explained the issue and told them I had done a factory reset to try and resolve the issue I was told they would send me a replacement. Today, I received the replacement. IT IS A REFURBISHED Device. I immediately contacted Amazon and was told when they are sending replacement devices they may send refurbished or they may send new; it just depends what they have on hand. When I stated that I had only had their lemon product for 3 months and expected a brand new device I was basically told too bad. This was my 3rd Kindle. I loved my Kindles. I will NEVER buy a Kindle Fire again. Would I buy a regular Kindle? Possibly... but the next time I want a tablet I am going with the iPad.
7 helpful votes
8 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on February 3, 2017
I've had this for several years now and at first, I really liked it, but now, the small amount of memory/storage is really obvious. I can't even store one movie and two apps on it without getting the "low memory" message and it automatically shuts off. This is good if you only use it when you have wifi, but I wanted to use it also for my daughter when I was NOT connected to the internet and have a few things stored/saved for her to use in the car. This is not a good device for that type of usage. I wouldn't buy this again. It seems outdated already and needs charged a lot. It feels sturdy, but I actually like my basic Fire 5th generation much more and it feels a lot flimsier and actually needs charged more. But it charges faster.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse