Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop now Shop Popular Services masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 270 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 295 reviews
on May 10, 2015
Amazon to the rescue, again! Impossible to find these anywhere local and desperately needed them to repair some cameras on a project we have. Came in prime speed, was a little over $4 for a pack of ten and they all worked perfectly. Was initially looking for some kind of a brand name but these are very comparable and work just the same, so no need to spend more or hunt around for something else.

So pleased with these that we already ordered another set for backups.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2014
These ten power Jacks all tested good out of the box with an ohmmeter. After you strip 1/4 inch of insulation off of the wire, you might want to tin the wires with solder, in order to ensure a stray strand of wire doesn't accidently short against the adjacent confuctor. A thin flat-blade (common) screwdriver secures the wire to the jack. There are small "plus and minus" signs to indicate where each wire goes. The plus sign terminal is connected to the center conductor. You have the ability to reverse polarity on this jack, so you might want to test your powered-up jack with a volt meter before applying it to your equipment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2014
These work great, easy to use. The only problem I can find with these is actually the size of wiring your wanting to use on them, if its smaller then 14-16, it might not stay in or catch at all. I got some led lights to use with this item and I think I have to solder some 14 gauge wire on them just to connect to these.

Other then that perfect for 5amp per hour max 12volt usage.
These work great with the (HitLights 5-24V Easy Plug Dimmer for Single-Color LED Strip Light, 2A Max) Dimmer switch.

These work a bit differently then the female ones for the dimmer switch, you have to push them up into the plastic tubing for the dimmer. It does stretch the tubing for a full flush. While the female adapters work perfectly without problems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2014
Need to pull low voltage power for a camera? I use these with video baluns and Cat5 Cable. The balun uses two wires, and another pair or two can be used in the same Cat5 to pull power. This way when you install an analog camera system, you are future proofed to install IP cameras without needing to pull new cable. Note these are only the males.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2014
I needs male DC power jack adapters to hook up a 12V battery Adapter (8x 1.5v AA batteries in Series) to power my 3528 LED strip.

Worked like a charm.

The screw down screws were a bit tricky to use as I was slipping in 22 gauge wire and had to fold the ends to make it thicker so the Screw can hold the wire down.

The screw when "screwed" pushes down a metal sheet inside that clips or bites the wire.

THere are + and - signs on top to indicate the HOT and neutral wire for insertion.

Bag came with 10 pcs, I have tried 2 and both worked fine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
These things are great for about 5 seconds, then they become dangerous. if you are using solid wire this will not apply to you, but those of us using multi-strand copper should head warning. If the ends are untinned ( soldered ) your wire will eventually fray and poke out of the screw fitting. your fine strand wire now becomes a copper jumper and path of least resistance.... if your using low voltage power adapters the draw should not be enough to arc ( maybe ? ) but those pushing a few amps now have a simple but very effective ignitor some place in your attic. this could have been avoided by extending the green plastic shielding around the terminals, the only solution i have found is to tin the ends to avoid the stray strand ( I had one arc on me providing an exciting moment balancing on rafter beams... )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2012
The price is great, and while these are often used for security camera power connections, they are also standard for a lot of Remote Control (R/C) First Person View (FPV) equipment.
i.e. often used for the ground station equipment running on 12V DC: remote video receivers, diversity equipment...
I find it particularly well adapted for that R/C usage as the length of the cables can vary quite a lot depending on the antennas position, and it's super fast to attach a cable to that connector.

I found the "+" marking to be connected to the center contact on the batch I received. As I wanted to make these center positive, that worked great.
In all cases, please check with a multi-meter to see what post connects to center, and what polarity your equipment requires. [measure twice, cut once would be more like measure twice, avoid smoking your electronic equipment).
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
Exactly what they are, and expected. They are industry standard items.

For those that have never used anything like this if you use them in a high air moisture environment consider some outdoor electrical wrap or even a bit of dielectric grease on all connection points to prevent corrosion over time. NOTE: this is no fault of the product, just simple electrolysis that happens when power passes thru different metals exposed to moisture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
They're cheap plastic and you'll end up breaking 1 out of 20, but so what? They're cheap and they work. Once they're in place, they're working and you won't think about them again. I've had systems in for 5 years using these and haven't had a single one fail.

Save yourself the headache...if you're still running analog systems as new...and buy these, baluns, and Cat5 to run everything over a single cable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
I needed this jack size but with a slightly thicker wire. This made soldering the wire in a traditional style jack difficult. In this jack the wires come in the back and are held in place with a screw clamp, similar to the way speaker wires are often secured. This new style of jack had no problem with a thicker gauge wire. The only problem I see with this jack is there is no strain relief in the plug itself. Pulling on the wire deliberately or accidentally may dislodge the wire leads and cause a short. A traditional Radio Shack style plug has a flexible wire cover which acts in a small way as strain relief. Interesting concept though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse