Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Life of a Bowerbird: Creating Beautiful Interiors with the Things You Collect
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Thank you Scientist Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 18, 2012
Similar to the other books by Sibella Court, this one is gorgeous. Attention to detail is the key aspect of "Bowerbird." From the beautiful covers, ribbon bookmark, thick paper, and stunning photography, this is a joy. I love the photos of the arranged objects, especially the books and ephemera. I am never disappointed with her books. Be cautioned, however, that this is not a design book with tips and instruction. It is basically a photography book very light on the text. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
I have mixed feelings about this book. On the plus side, I like the "extra effort" presentation of the book, including an embossed cover, quality paper, ribbon book mark and handsome leather-like spine. I also have the previous books by Sibella Court, so I was familiar with her personal aesthetic -- and was eager to see more of her suggestions for creating eclectic tableaus, using all of my "stuff". Personally, I like her "anthropolgie" vibe, and I relate to some of her comments......For instance: "I love a mad mantle!". Well, I can't imagine myself actually saying that phrase.....but I really do know what she means, and completely agree. I am thinking back to the evolving "mad mantle" in the Sixties movie "Darling" with Julie Christie. The changing tableau on the mantle provided a visual record of what happened throughout the movie, and the image has stayed with me. Decor can have THAT kind of personal appeal -- it can be a temporary/shifting reflection of your state of mind; an ever-changing gathering of stuff, from the ridiculous to the sublime. That is Court's strong point, as a visual taste-maker, and I think her books provide great idea "prompts" that anyone can adapt to their own aesthetic. While I did not find the preponderance of taxidermy to be a distraction throughout the book -- I take issue with the end papers. One opens the book to a large needlessly-discouraging photograph of dead birds, tagged and laying in rows. In the whole wide world of images that could have been used for the end papers.....This would have been my last choice.
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
...it really is. The cover has amazing detail, the binding is leather (or pleather, not sure but either way it's a nice detail), and it is just a hint at what is inside this book. Each page is full of neutral colors, vintage and antique collections displayed beautifully. The book is not heavy on text, but the pictures are rich and dreamy, inspiring, and complex and simple all at the same time. The colors are muted and soft and the collections include items like vintage glass, scissors, wood bobbins of thread, tools, taxidermy, specimens, old wood, anything you could possibly collect that is old and special. I can see my many collections of flea market finds, beads, and old things in the pages of this book and the inspiration is endless.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
I have all of her books and this is my least favorite. Dead birds, dead seahorses and stuffed owls...too many dead things. It just made me feel bad and I didn't want to turn the pages because I was afraid of what sad thing I would see next. Ninety percent of the book is fine but I wish I would have looked at this before I ordered it. Her other books are far better on many levels...color and clarity included. Still, her books are always interesting and I'm sure other people will enjoy this one.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2012
No only did I love all of the items Sibella Court collects but I was blown away by the attention to detail put into each background on every page! It is a visually stunning book - maybe some will be disappointed in that it doesn't go into detail regarding the title claim "..creating beautiful interiors with the things you collect" but it did inspire me to order other books of hers as this is the first I've owned.

I am very pleased with the book and will make it a permanent part of my collection.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
I've liked other books by Ms. Court, but this one I actually disliked. It goes beyond the "photo collage" types of decor coffee-table books, which I generally like, and is just rather twee photos of tiny areas, without showing the big picture or even the entire room. The first thing you see when you open the book is an "artistic" photo of carefully arranged dead birds. Please. I sent it back.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2012
I ordered this book because all my favorite design gurus sing the praises of Sibella Court, and I've admired her earlier books. A day after ordering it from Amazon, I browsed through a copy at Anthropologie, and immediately thought, "uh-oh." While The Life of a Bowerbird is a beautiful coffee table book to linger with over a cup of coffee, it doesn't really offer any practical tips as claimed by the subtitle. And although the pictures are lovely, the text/layout is hard to read. I ultimately decided to return the book, because I'd honestly rather spend my money on accumulating some of the things pictured in the book than own the book itself, which features page after page of fascinating collections of feathers, bones, buttons, etc. but no real substance beyond the eye candy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2014
This was entirely one woman's collections and as interesting as they were I have seen better ways to display collectiions in decorating magazines. I browsed through this book in one setting and passed it on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2015
Although billed as a do-it-yourselfer's guide to the galaxy, this book is a beautifully sculpted decorator's "dream". And it's just that, a dream. It lacks concrete ideas about what to do with your collections, but rather spins yarns about the author's collections of peculiar and interesting items. Many of the items pictured are single items - hardly a collection of anything, and hardly an idea for what to do if you have 15 sets of salt and pepper shakers you'd like to display in your 'interior'. The smallish text is, at times, difficult to read over the top of the 245 pages of mood-lit black & white photography set-ups. And on that note, the photography is amazing! I would be more inclined to label this book an intro to still-life photography than "Creating Beautiful Interiors..."
The bright spot: pages 246-251 list museums and flea markets around the world where you might ACTUALLY get some ideas for how to display your collections of things!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
I just recently discovered this woman. I saw her book Etc., here at one of our specialty shops downtown, and after leafing through it, purchased it. I love Etc.!
When I saw this one at Amazon, I had to have it. It arrived today. I love this one too. Interesting photos, and info. Even if I never put one idea into practice in my home, all is not lost, as its just a "pretty" book to browse through, and enjoy. Two thumbs up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse