Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Cross Classic Century, Medalist Ballpoint Pen and 0.7mm Pencil Set, Polished Chrome with 23 Karat Gold Plated Appointments (330105)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 20, 2007
Before you buy, be sure to check where the pen was made. I have a number of older Cross pens that say "USA" near the top, and they are great pens. However, I have bought three different ones in the past few years that do not indicate where they were made, and they are of inferior quality. The top and bottom halves are loose, and have to be carefully manipulated to come together without a gap. The first one I got, I sent it back to Cross for warranty repair under their "lifetime guarantee," only to receive it back unchanged telling me that it was just fine - and a "handling fee" attached.

I was willing to believe it was simply an anomaly, one bad pen. So later on when some new colors came out, I bought two more - only to see that they have the same quality defect.

My advice: if you want a good Cross pen, go to the secondhand store and buy one that was made in USA. They aren't making them the same anymore.
1313 comments| 133 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2011
I tried to like it, I really did. I thought other reviews were exaggerated because the pens aren't manufactured in the US anymore. But as soon as I held the pens in my hand they felt like plastic! The quality is not there anymore (I guess it's been this way from the time they started manufacturing the pens in china!
The pens don't have the same sturdiness and feel like they used to. The weight they used to have is also not there anymore. Cross should be ashamed. This isn't an American product anymore but a low quality cheap Chinese one. Congratulations Cross.
11 comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2007
Before you buy, be sure to check where the pen was made. I have a number of older Cross pens that say "USA" near the top, and they are great pens. However, I have bought three different ones in the past few years that do not indicate where they were made, and they are of inferior quality. The top and bottom halves are loose, and have to be carefully manipulated to come together without a gap. The first one I got, I sent it back to Cross for warranty repair under their "lifetime guarantee," only to receive it back unchanged telling me that it was just fine - and a "handling fee" attached.

I was willing to believe it was simply an anomaly, one bad pen. So later on when some new colors came out, I bought two more - only to see that they have the same quality defect.

My advice: if you want a good Cross pen, go to the secondhand store and buy one that was made in USA. They aren't making them the same anymore.
55 comments| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2006
I have been using Cross product for lat 15 years. This product which is Made in China, has highly disappointed me. The finish of the pen is very poor. Gold plating is of a poor quality. It has some patches of a different color. The body has sharp edges.

Overall it has spoilt my impression about Cross products.

Regards

R.P. Kale
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2007
Just received my pen today. Feels cheap compared to one I got 12 years ago. Feels a little gritty when you twist it. Not smooth and well machined like my old one.
I won't be buying one again. Crossing "CROSS" off my list.

Update. The Pen got much smoother after about a month and I have been using it for a couple of years now.
I gave it two more stars that did at first.
Guess the finishing is not as good as it once was but did get smoother over time.
11 comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
I'm not sure if I just received a defective pen or what happened. My general experience with Cross pens has been very positive. This one, however, is awful. It doesn't write smootly and leaves ink everywhere.
33 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2011
I thoroughly agree with D.S. Bornus. I have a collection of Cross pens, most dating from the 1960's and 1970's They are wonderful, smooth, balanced and a real joy to write with. I wanted another to carry with me, (my earlier collection stays at home). I ordered a later model Cross classic 2502 on E- baymuch and much to my chagrin the barrel had some slippage at the end of its' travel both ways. And yet this one was made in the USA which means it was made prior to 2007 when unfortunately Cross shipped their production to China. I then purchase a brand new one from Staples and was extremely disappointed at the fall from grace of the Rhode Island based Co,once manufacturer of very fine pens. The China version is anything but a true Cross pen of old. The balance is off. The taper at the point is broader and far from the slim look of the USA models. The graphic CROSS logo is much less sophisticated, in bold and deep type. And yes, the barrel slips noticeably. Richard and Alonzo Cross would be horrified at what the Boss family has done to their reputation. The early Cross pens if you can find them are the best. Even the later USA models are not made to the crucial standards that were once assured by A.T. Cross. I lament the loss of that once respected Lincoln, Rhode Island manufacturer.
33 comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 24, 2007
I have decided that a good writing instrument in the pocket is the cost of doing business in my line of work. This lightweight, thin Cross pen helps me not look back.

The black satin finish is very nice, the writing quality is good for an entry-level fine pen, and the gold appointments complement clothing in the earth color range.

I ruin about a shirt per year via ink leaks. This pen is not going to do that.

A very handsome, economical, solid-value product from Cross.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2012
I have quite an extensive collection of Vintage Cross pens from the 1950's and 1960's.
I had a pen and pencil set of this Cross Century from 1976 that started slipping after many years of use.
So, I sent it in to Cross get repaired. Turns out they didn't have the parts so they replaced my pair with this new Chinese set.
I was HORRIFIED. It was so light and cheap, the two parts of the pen and pencil don't sit well together, the engraved "grip" mark is gone, its slipperly to the touch, and worse of all, NOT USA MADE. They're not the high quality pens they used to be.

I'm hanging on dearly to my 20+ vintage cross pens more than ever.
Do yourself a favor if you plan on buying this new chinese cross set.
Go to ebay and get a vintage usa made Cross set for 15 bucks. You'll love the high quality vintage usa made Cross sets.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2008
I had a Cross Classic Century 14K set for years. Due to my total carelessness, I lost them recently. I thought at least I can replace them by ordering a new set. I was wrong. The item I received today was a big disappointment. First, the color wasn't rose gold. It was rather plain yellow gold. Second, it felt so much lighter than the same pen/pencil I used to have. There was no nice heavy feel to it. Then I realize the 'USA' engraving was missing on top. I flipped the box to find 'Made in China'. I was so disgusted I didn't want the set any more. I called Cross to ask if they have anything made in USA. The lady said no... Now all Cross pens are made in China. I'm so saddened that I can never get replace my pens. You can clearly see and feel the quality is not there.
66 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 106 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.