Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Proctor -Silex 1 Liter Electric Kettle
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 26, 2005
This is a nice little electric tea kettle. It requires that you heat at least 1 and 1/2 cups of water because of the submerged coil. I especially like the detachable cord.

My concerns are two fold. First, the sides do get hot. The handle remains cool, but I would not trust small children to be near it. Second, for the automatic shuttoff to work, the lid MUST be snapped closed. It will continue to boil if the lid is not completely closed (the instructions do state this). This is why I only gave it 4 stars.

It took me 7 minutes to boil (to auto-shutoff) a full pot (4 cups). The minimum (1 and 1/2 cups) took 2 min 50 sec.

It is supposed to be a 1000 watt heating element. Measuring it with a "Kill A Watt" meter, I found it actually used only 850-880 watts.

Update January 2013: After more than 7 years, this kettle is still in use boiling a single cup of water at my work approx 4 times per week. That is over 1000 uses. A few times the detachable cord was not in all the way, and when I turned it on, the on light did not turn on. Simply pushing it in fixed It. The heating element does appear to have some wear, as its got a few pitting marks. This is to be expected. Other than that there have been no problems. I would still rate it 4 stars.
99 comments| 574 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2005
This Electric Kettle is quite simple without any frills. For the price, it does what it claims to do. It boils water quickly , the water level is easy to see and has the auto-shut off feature. I have used it reliably to boil water for tea, oatmeal etc. The water is quite hot, so use caution when pouring it out. The lid , can sometimes be hard to close & open.
44 comments| 482 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 15, 2006
I first became hooked on electric kettles when traveling in the U.K. and have kept putting off getting one. This is perfect for my six (O, heavens did I really say six!) cups of tea a day. Faster than the microwave (only because its actually boiled and hot) and no worrys about...did I leave the stove on as it has a brilliant auto shut-off. It even stays plenty warm enough to top off the first cup of tea. I love it, am only sorry it took this many years to indulge my self with such a simple product!

P.S -- Terrific on snowy days when the kids come in and want hot coco...FAST! (Makes one feel like SuperMom for the rare second or two!!! <g>)

UPDATE: This, my original PS electric kettle died a painful death last year following a power surge after eight great years. I bought another and am happy to report its just as good.
0Comment| 490 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2007
Have used the Bodum electric kettle for travel for years, but decided I'd purchase this Proctor Silex for the office since it was a few bucks cheaper. That was a mistake.

Despite boiling and dumping out the water a half-dozen times, the water itself STILL tasted like "plastic." Ick. As a tea drinker, the quality of the water is key. Also, I found the general shape difficult to handle, the lid was hard to open, and when gently pouring the water it consistently (and dangerously) sloshed out the sides near the spout.

Anyway, I ended up giving this one away and buying an additional Bodum electric kettle for the office. It's working great, just like the 10-year-old Bodum I take traveling. (I think it's also interesting to note that the classic, no-frills, usable design of the Bodum has remain unchanged in the past 10 years - Hey, if it ain't broke, don't 'fix' it.)
3939 comments| 732 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2007
if you've read a few complaints about how the water smells or tastes "plasticky", i found that it truly smell this way for about the first 10 boils of use, but no difference in taste that i can tell. after a while, the smell goes away. other than that, no problems. it boils a full liter or more in about 3-4 minutes with an automatic shut off which is handy. so far, seems like a great product. i've used this for about 6 months now with im sure over 200 cups of tea.

great deal, i recommend it.
22 comments| 111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2009
I purchased the Proctor Silex K2070H knowing that some had a problem with the taste of plastic. But I was willing to take a chance. The instructions say to fill the pot up with water, boil and dump it out, twice. I did that. The smell of resin boiling from the pot was intense. So I did the same thing FIFTEEN more times. I then made a cup of Earl Grey tea. YUK. The plastic taste stuck in my mouth until I had lunch. You have to wonder what chemicals are leaching out to create such a nasty taste.

So I tried the boil out routine about 5 more times over 3 days. After all, this is a great price and it's handy to use in my office. I made tea again. Same result. I always say -"Can't you learn, or don't you want to?". I sent the unit back to Amazon today. It boils water great, and it shuts off just fine. I had no problems with snapping the lid down. But that plastic smell just lingers. I think I'll try the Sunbeam 6131 Hot Shot next. I didn't see any taste issues in reviews of it.

Don't waste your time or money on this unless you work in a lab and want to check thermocouples to make sure they read 212° F when water boils.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2006
I can't believe that amazon put this on a one day sale for $10. I should have bought more.

This is a wonderful electric kettle. I timed it to see how long it takes for the water to boil and it took exactly 5 minutes, then it automaticly shuts off. This kettle takes less time and energy to boil the same amount of water than my brand new stove top or microwave.

You need to becareful though. Even the kettle is cool to the touch after water boils, you need to close cap tightly (when you hear a click) before flipping the switch on. Otherwise you can get burn by the scalding hot water.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2007
You get what you pay for. I suspect I'll use it for a while (it really isn't worth spending the money to return it when it was only $11), but I wish I had bought a more expensive one that is metal inside because this one has a strong plastic smell that I don't like or want to think about drinking from.

Also, the spot doesn't seem to close tighly enough on mine so i have to be very careful when pouring.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2007
Water purity and taste are the main issues for me here. Before I bought this item to use at work, I often used a stainless steel kettle on the stove at home. That water was fine of course, but this item makes water taste, smell, and even look plasticky (when light reflects inside the cup it looks oily and there is an oily film on top of the water). I can still taste and smell it even after I've brewed my tea.

I figured this might be normal for the first time using it, so I kept using it. I've used it over a week, probably 6 or 7 times, and there is no improvement. I haven't tried vinegar or anything like that, so I'm not sure if that will help... but even if it does, I don't really trust that plastic isn't getting into my water. I drink a lot of tea and water purity is important. If it's important to you too, I'd say spend a bit more and get a stainless steel model.

Aside from that major problem, no issues. water boils fast and quiet.
22 comments| 86 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2006
I asked for this for Christmas so I could make tea at my desk at work. I can't believe how fast this heats the water to a rapid boil! I also love that the cord detaches for easier pouring. The water is hot enough for tea, instant oatmeal and cup-a-soups; I've made all three easily at my desk with this. It's attractive and it has auto shut-off - good for those with short attention spans like me! The water stays warm enough in the pitcher that sometimes I can get a second cup of tea without turning it back on. You do have to have enough water to cover the coils before you turn it on, but that hasn't been a problem for me. I love this one. I used to have a HotPot that took FOREVER to boil the same amount of water.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 103 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.