Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Yakima SKS Lock Cores for Yakima Rooftop Car Racks
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 9, 2013
These installed easy enough, but after examining how the locking mechanism works, I am pretty sure I could still force the latch on the support tower open without any tools. The locks work by engaging a metal clip behind a plastic tab on the back of the outer cover on the support tower. The engagement is only about 1/8" and the plastic is not very thick. If someone wants to steal your rack or its contents, this will barely slow them down.

For what these roof racks cost, the manufacturer needs to include a more secure locking mechanism. This would probably require making the outer cover on the support towers out of metal instead of plastic, or re-thinking how the locking mechanism works entirely.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2014
So expensive for what they are. The mechanism is too basic and feel like anyone can open this.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2014
After years of not locking our roof rack, a friend pointed out that someone with a pickup could easily remove the entire rack, with all its contents (ski rack, cargo box), in a few minutes. For the extra peace of mind, we spent the modest amount to get these locks. They installed in a snap (literally).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2009
It took a little time trying to get the lock into the slot correctly but once I did, it works like a champ. I like that they give you 3 keys and key sign-up form if you ever lose them. Good product. Would recommend.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2016
Some people have commented that it doesnt give enough safety and you could still break through the locks. While that may be true (because no lock is unbreakable), I dont see anything about these that make them unnecessary. I love how well they secure down the strap and keep it from moving. I was unsure, but after installing they are essential to me. Very glad I got a pack of 4 to keep the rack locked down. You wont regret it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2016
Yakima SKS lock cores for Yakima SKS-equipped bars. Perfect fit, naturally. I appreciate the included control key.

I see some complaints about these locks being too flimsy. Let me provide some perspective: I have a set of Yak bars that I got from a vehicle in a junkyard. The bars were locked onto the junker, but I still got them without having to break the Yakima towers (the same can't be said for the junker's roof rails). When I got the bars home, I drilled-out the cores and replaced them with a set ordered here on Amazon. So the bars can be removed even if they're locked. You have to dismantle or destroy the car's roof rack to do it, but it can be done. But how many thieves out there really want to make that much noise and movement for that much time? Sure, you can use a claw hammer to ruin the tower lock directly and get the bar off, but a thief isn't going to want to sell broken bars.

The best situation is to get 4 lock cores and lock both sides of each bar. That would make it a major headache to steal the bars. If you stick with just one core per bar, put one lock on each side of your roof; for example, lock the front bar on the left side of the roof and the rear bar on the right side of the roof. That will force a thief to take twice as much time to pry the bars off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2015
Very pleased with this lock set. They installed into the JayLow carrier set that we have without any issue and function very easily. We are planning on buying a carrier rack for our other vehicle and this lock set will be purchased again to go along with it. I highly recommend this lock set
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
Other than being a little pricey for what they are, I am very happy with these locks. Installing them takes less than a minute. The key they come with works smoothly. I feel a lot better about leaving my bike in my roof rack when I'm not around. Its nice to be able to swap the cores out between my bike racks in the summer and ski racks in the winter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2015
I purchased the four lock set and it about 10 minutes to install them into my Yakima rack setup. The install is very simple and the included directions were very clearly written. As another reviewer stated, these locks only hold the plastic cam lock cover closed. This is not a robust locking setup. I purchased these locks as an additional safety to insure that the cam lock covers stay closed when I'm moving down the road.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2016
A must have to keep your valuables secure! The bulk packs of Yakima SKS lock cores make things super easy to keep track of being that they are all keyed alike. If you have several different Yakima accessories, the bulk pack is definitely the way to go. My suggestion would be to buy a pack that has a few extras... this helps to keep things future-proof for your next toy :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 32 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.