Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: IRIS 4-Panel with Door Plastic Pet Playpen
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Style: 4-Panel with Door|Color: Pearl White|Change
Price:$38.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 22, 2015
Our Maltese weighs in at about 12 pounds - he's something of a bruiser. We occasionally need to leave him at home for short periods of time and Sam has separation anxiety - he scratches doors and door mouldings if we leave him loose. We got one of these 4 panel pens instead of locking him up in a crate and thought we'd found the perfect solution, but after a few times left in the pen Sam learned how to push on the corner causing the pen to change from a square to a slim diamond shape. Twice he got pinned in the diamond and once he succeeded in tipping it over and crawling out from underneath. We then had to block the pen in with some fairly heavy items so he couldn't move it and form the diamond shape. I've read other reviews here complaining of the same issue. To me, the pen's convenience is lost when one has to place heavy items around it so that a rambunctious pup can't foil it. The manufacturer should make corner brackets of some kind to prevent the folding of the pen by the pup but it appears they don't and I couldn't find brackets that would fit easily.
I have, however, found a solution that I'll pass along here. The items used are inexpensive, OK looking and easily produced by anyone with a little DIY experience. I decided to try adding two flat bars criss-crossed at the top of the pen and held in place by the "Pins" used to join the walls. I used some flat vinyl screen moulding from Home Depot that is 3/4" wide and 8' long. Description is "1/4 x 3/4 x8 PVC 6578 White". With the pen squared up using a measuring tape the pins are approximately 48 3/4" apart diagonally. You'll need two 8' pieces of this moulding as the overall length of each one will be about 50" long. With the 50" pieces cut and 1/2" holes drilled 48 3/4" apart at each end, you're ready to remove the corner "pins" from the pen one at a time and mount the crossmember pieces at the top. The photos attached will show this simple operation.
The pen is now rigid and Sam can't fold it into the diamond shape. He can still push the pen around on a smooth floor but I'm ok with that - we have no stairs or anything. If I want to keep him in one spot, I can just put the pen on a carpet and he's unable to move it much.
If you have the "diamond" problem, try this quick fix. It'll do until the manufacturer addresses the problem with some proper removable corner brackets. The pen is wonderful otherwise.
review image review image review image review image
88 comments| 565 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
I love how easy this playpen is to put together and it looks nice, HOWEVER, my little 1lb yorkie puppy climbs out of this thing like a monkey. She can easily use the little squares to climb up it like a ladder putting each paw in each square, she then falls out once she's on top. I can no longer keep her in there unattended and ordered the mesh roof. Hopefully this will help.
review image
1212 comments| 569 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2015
This is one of the best things I ever bought!! I have it with the e-z Whelp pads which is another very good purchase and the Puppy Go Here Dog Litter Pan. My daughter says that Onyx has his own little condo set up in the house. He goes and comes when ever he feels like it except for night when i have the gate secured. He sleeps till the 6 or 7 in the morning when its time to put the food and water down back in and he is happy as a clam. Onyx is a 3lb maltipoo he may gain another lb or 2 before its all over but for my dog this is just perfect!!!!.

Got it on Friday March 21 (3days ago) and so far no issues yet. No knocking over or trying to climb out. At first I had the puppy pad holder in the pen which I didn't like because after folding the pad to fit the holder, there was hardly any room for him to use on the pad. Then I just put the pad down with the top and left side blue edges of the pad secured by the iris pen. The pen is heavy enough to hold the pad down and keep him form pulling it out. If i had a girl dog I might have just stayed with that but since males are prone to raise their leg at a certain age I got the litter pan. Now everything is right in puppy land!!!
review image review image review image review image review image review image
11 comment| 125 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
We bought 2 and combined it into one to give our puppy extra room to walk. Although one would be fine for a small Pomeranian, but since we leave him in his crib most of the day so we wanted him to move around. Easy to assemble and transport!
review image
11 comment| 163 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2007
I purchased this for my little yorkshire terrier to stay in when we all leave the house to go to work. Its wonderful. It is the perfect size and doesnt take up alot of room. My little dog likes to jump up and stand against the walls of this product and they dont fall or shake so it is very sturdy yet very light. It took me a minute to assemble the product and the little door makes it so great we leave it open and my little dog goes in and comes out when he wants. This is a great buy and cheap too.
44 comments| 226 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2015
review image
33 comments| 115 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 25, 2009
**** Editing review 6 years later:

11/19/14
My Maltese is still using this pen and it's in perfect working order. He hasn't jumped out or managed to escape. And he's not easily trainable (I can't get him to stop barking lol) This has been the best pet investment I have made and recommend it whole heartedly.

I've been using this pen for about 6 wks now. At first I had a metal ex-pen but I didn't like that for various reasons. I'd added pictures to show what it looks like in real use. My Maltese pup is about 5lbs. I bought a piece of waterproof building material (shower pan liner from a home building supply store sold by the foot at the cost of $10) to line my pen with for easy clean up and to protect my wood floors from spills. Here's a list of my pros and cons.

PROS:
~ Easy to move around, lightweight, folds flat to quickly stash behind a couch when company comes over
~ Attractive for indoor use
~ Will not scratch floors and does not have sharp edges like the metal ex-pens
~ Quiet, not squeaky and noisy like the metal ex-pen
~ Easy open latches on the door
~ Expandable, you can buy a second pen and add panels to make it bigger
~ Easy to reach over to put food in, get dog out, etc.

CONS:
~ Short and an active dog could easily get out
~ A little small at 3' x 3' but you can purchase another unit to add panels to it. The addition of a crate would make this pen seem a little bit cramped
1616 comments| 110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2015
I wanted to love this as soon as it arrived. It was a nice size I thought it would be perfect for my 2lb Pomeranian. However the first day I put her in it she was able to jump out. I had to think quickly how to make this work, so I decided to attach cardboard to cover the top to make a barrier. I though about buying the cover that goes with this pen however it had horrible reviews. After I added the cardboard to the top it is now perfect. Rating this a 3 due to the extra addition I had to add to make it work.
review image
11 comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2014
So far good fit our situation and the quality is great.
review image review image
66 comments| 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
Great quality and spacious for my small shih tzu.
review image
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 362 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.