Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pilot
Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

  • Pilot
  • Customer Reviews

Price:$1.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 7, 2011
Never watched this until one night when I found myself with nothing to do. I cannot recommend it highly enough. I laughed mercilessly throughout the entire series. Jason Bateman is hilarious as the "straight man." It seems it was pretty poorly promoted during its on-air run, because it never looked very funny to me. More wrong I could not have been. Watch, watch, watch. You will not regret!
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2011
Back when Arrested Development was on TV, I had no interest in watching it. From the advertisements, it seemed like a totally lame show and I refused to waste my time trying it out. However, 5 years ago, I was up all hours of the night with a new baby. Nothing good was on TV, and I stumbled across Arrested Development while channel surfing. I figured it was better than watching infomercials, so I tried it out. It was all I could do to not wake up everyone in the house with my laughter! From that point on, I was glued to the TV every time it was on. Even after my daughter fell asleep, I couldn't tear myself away because it was so hysterical! I can't wait for the new episodes and the movie to come out (seems so far away!)
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
Saying that this show is as layered as an onion would be selling it short. Jokes are set up episodes, sometimes seasons, in advance. Word-play, puns, situational irony and hypocrisy, popular culture and historical references all commingle to create a very rich and consuming intellectual experience, that at the same time feels unpretentious and homey. It's density is such that to this day, having seen it back-to-back 5+ times, I'm still discovering new things. Like Shakespeare, writers and actors must have known that they were creating something that must be relevant and lasting, otherwise it wouldn't be so 10+ years after it first aired. It's hard to pick up a comedy series that's that old, because it ages culturally, socially and mentally. This show is a true exception to the rule.

The plot is well-thought out, never predictable and unlike other well-meted out shows, none of the episodes are just a byway to the latter better ones. The shows starts fast and it only keeps gaining momentum, building and expanding on the satire that was set up initially. Characters are well-developed and the cast selection is extraordinary.

Pure genius. This is the show that I consistently come back to year after year. It's the sitcom love of my life.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2011
Completely mishandled by FOX, from promoting it to moving time slots. Characters are instantly likable and the writing is top notch. I have watched every episode dozens of times and still find jokes or references I missed before. Easily one of my all-time favorite comedies. Be warned once you become hooked, it'll boggle the mind how this show was ever canceled.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2011
Unfortunately I did not discover Arrested Development until it was off the air, but it has been my favorite show since I first saw Tobias Funke dress up as a pirate using Lindsey's wardrobe. It is now the litmus test I apply to television comedies, and so far, nothing has measured up. We miss you, AD! Come back to us!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2011
I agree with David Cross' complaints to their marketing team, as Arrested Development should've been a bigger hit than it was. Its won Emmys and critical acclaim, and a massive cult following. This is the most clever show on television. It's almost like it was written backwards because all the stories just fall into place.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2011
It is hard to oversell Arrested Development, and mind-boggling they only did three season before being canned.
The characters are hilarious and well-developed, David Cross is perfect, but the whole cast is great. The writing is great, but best of all: NO LAUGH TRACK!
I hate laugh tracks, and Arrested Development, the Office, Parks and Rec, 30 Rock, and Community are much appreciated for not having one. The laugh track detracts from otherwise quality comedy shows.

Start with the first episode in order to better understand the characters, and you will be hooked, no doubt.

Ron Howard is perfect as the narrator. I just love this show and am so thankful Amazon added it to the Prime package. GOOD JOB AMAZON! I will likely renew Prime because of decisions like this!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
It's Okay.. I don't get all the hype this series have. All these positive reviews and IMDB rating of 9.1 made me interested in watching it. It's Okay I guess. I din't laugh my ass off, but it had it's moments..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2016
We don't have cable in our bedroom and only have an apple tv, which we were disappointed after buying since there isn't much use for it if you dont have netflix or hulu. Amazon prime streams perfectly, but I have a hard time finding things on prime that I haven't already watched or that interest me. I was really looking for a show that I could watch for 25-40 minutes just before bed and shut it off. Something funny, but mindless to rest and not keep my up thinking about. I have heard friends talk about Arrested Development, but it never really interested me and I just thought that humor would be too dry for my taste when watching the commercials or reading about. I had never watched this until one night when I found myself with nothing to watch and really just wanting to lay in my bed, but it was too early to go to sleep. I cannot recommend it highly enough. I laughed mercilessly throughout the entire first season and I will continue to do so. Jason Bateman is hilarious as the "straight man." It seems it was pretty poorly promoted during its on-air run, because it never looked very funny to me. An added bonus is that my boyfriend and I are both into it, which doesn't happen often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2011
This show is great, good story line, out of control family, this show is a riot! Very entertaining and lovable characters!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse