Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Tetra 16140 TetraFin Flakes, 7.06-Ounce
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Thank you Scientist Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Size: 7.06-Ounce|Change
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 12, 2009
Don't know which fish food to buy? I didn't either. So I started buying various brands and noted the way my fish and pond reacted. At first I thought "What do fish know about taste and quality? One food's the same as the next." How wrong I was! My pond is about 200 gallons in which live 13 comets, walkin and shubunkin. The largest fish is an 8" comet. This flake-style food floats, as well as all the other brands I tried. It makes it easy to observe how quickly the fish take the food and whether they spit it out after taking it. In retrospect, of 5 competing products I tried previously, the fish ate all of them but seemed disinterested, taking the offered food only because there was no alternative, not because they were particularly fond of it. Then my daughter recommended that I try TetraFin Flakes. I first bought 7 ounces, fearing that it would be "more of the same". The difference, however, was nothing short of amazing. Suffice it to say that the fish "attack" this food in what can only be described as a "feeding frenzy". After feeding this food for a week, the fish completely ignored or rejected the products they previously ate. Another pleasant outcome was the reduced solid waste produced by the fish when on this food. This seems to be much more within the capability of my "vegetable" filter and, coupled with the apparent lack of any undesirable parasites, makes for a cleaner, healthier pond.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2010
I bought a house last year and inherited some fish in a pond. The seller left some food behind and when the fish finally awoke from their winter sleep I gave them some of the food. There were two kinds of food--one flake and one in stick form. They didn't seem to like the stick variety so I tossed it and fed them the flakes. Inevitably I ran out of the flakes and went to purchase the same product. The Petco store was out of that brand. I picked a similar flake food and brought it home and tossed it in the pond. The fish rushed out as they usually did for food but seemed a little taken aback by this new one. I figured "different food--takes a while to adjust". The next day they seemed less interested. By the third day they didn't even bother to come out of their little cave under the waterfall. Point taken. I went to a different Petco and found the right brand and brought it home. They were a little slow trusting me but by the second feeding they were happily rushing out to eat as always. I checked out Amazon to see if it was available here to avoid the "out of stock" problem again. Not only did Amazon have it but for nearly $5 less a container. Win-win! I ordered three canisters to get free shipping and will continue to get the food from Amazon until the fish go to sleep for the winter again. Thanks, Amazon, for having the right brand for my very picky fish and at a good price!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 21, 2013
I've been keeping Fancy Goldfish for close to 40 years and if I've learned anything about these marvelous creatures it's that they need all the room you can provide, massive water changes and wide variety of sinking foods.

Here are the ingrediants for TetraFin:

Fish meal - You want to see a specific fish named such as salmon meal or white fish meal (as with all pet foods) "Fish meal" means the MFG is using whatever is cheapest at market including rancid diseased fish and fish by products.

Ground brown rice - The first three ingrediants of ANY pet or fish food should be a specific animal protien - period. Rice is a filler used for weight and volume to the packaging.

Torula dried yeast - cheap protien enhancer

Oat meal - binding agent and filler

Shrimp meal - Excellent but is only found in trace amounts in this food

Wheat gluten - The number one source for pet food related deaths and recalls in the past 20 years. Works as a binding agent and artifically pumps up crude protien percentage

Soybean oil - Few Omega fatty acids

Fish oil - Again you want to see a specific fish named like salmon. When a specific animal isn't mentioned it means the manufacturer is buying whatever is cheapest at the time. What is more, this leaves them free to use rancid and diseased fish.

Algae meal - Excellent but in very low arounts here.

Sorbitol- Artifical sweetner makes food more palatable to fish, can be potentially toxic.

Artifical colors including yellow 5, red 3, and blue 2, - Zero nutrional value

ethoxyquin. - Ethoxyquin is usually listed as a "preservtive - however it's a lethal pesticide. The FDA has banned from dog and cat foods. Studies show ethoxyquin is especially lethal to fish. research Google or simply look it up on Wiki-Pedia and follow the links to the research findings.

What is more, flake foods should be avoided at all costs. Most Fancy Goldfish especially deep chested fish like Oranda, Ranch and butterflys are all extremly susceptable to bouyancy issues and swim bladder disease. One of the significant causes of this, is the taking in of air. That said your fish are infinatley better off with sinking foods.

Much better commercial foods include those by ZooMed, Aqueon, Omega One, New Spectrum and Hikari.
22 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TetraFin Goldfish Flakes are supposed to contain essential nutrients and extra Vitamin C for your goldfish and koi.

It has stuff in it like fish meal, brown rice, dried yeast, oatmeal, wheat gluten and a lot more.

Unfortunately, I can't tell you if it tastes good, or if the nutritional claims are sound, but the fish seem to like it just fine, and they're growing fast and have lots of energy.

We've tried a couple of other brands, but our fish are confirmed TetraFin fans.

Original music used in this video is by Peter John Ross of sonnyboo dot com, and has been used with his kind permission.

Amanda Richards, October 17, 2007
2424 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2009
I've been using TetraFin for my pond goldfish. I have what I would call a large pond, with hundreds of golfish of all sizes, and they love it! With this bucket of fish flakes, I don't have to run to the store every month or so to buy the smaller (7 oz.)cans of flakes. I compared the cost of this purchase to the cost of buying the smaller cans and this value cannot be beat.

You will notice that in the product description, they indicate that you are purchasing a 4.52 lb. container. The picture of the product they show is one of the smaller cans. Make no mistake, you will get a bucket of fish food that would last someone a long time. Hey, extra value, you get another plastic bucket to use around the house.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2016
This is much larger than I expected (7.06 oz). This should last a very long time with our 4 goldfish. The water doesn't seem to cloud as fast as our old fish food, but I am coming to grips with the fact that we might just have some dirty goldfish. The fish love it, no complaints from them!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2016
This ginormous tub of fish food was ordered for the reception area fish tank at work. It is HUGE! I don;t think we will ever need to purchase any more fish food because this will probably last until our office fish are long gone. It is a great price for such a large amount. NOTE: Only drawback in ordering this, is if you have pets...my dog freaked out and barked at the tub all weekend, and was afraid of it when i set it close to her on the floor! My guess is that she couldn't figure out the smell and why it was in a bucket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2015
I will never go back to any other fish food. I have a few different kinds of tetras in my tank. The neon tetras were slow and inactive most of the time, and always waited for the filter to push the food under the water before they would dare take a bite at it. Then one day, I ran out of my tetra food, and living in the boonies it was not something readily available in my area. I searched through the fish supplies I did have, including some floating pellets...my tetras were uninterested. Then I tried TetraFin Goldfish Flakes, being the last bottle in my supply crate. Pretty soon, I noticed the neon tetras more active than normal, not being afraid to venture around the tank or go to the surface for the food, and they started socializing with the other fish. They've grown larger and brighter in color too. This food says "Goldfish Flakes" but my Tetras never seemed happier. It's been at least 6 months since I started them on it, and even my Black Skirt Tetras seem more lively and colorful. TetraFin Flakes are awesome. They make my aquarium happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2016
This is the size to buy of you have Goldfish and don't want to run out to get new bottles of Goldfish food frequently. I was floored by how large this bottle was when it arrived. For the price, combined with Amazon Prime shipping and no tax, I paid a LOT less than at my local pet store or big named department store. My Goldfish readily eat this food...of course, when I put my hand in the tank to move my aquatic plants around a bit the Goldfish try to eat my hand, too, so I'm not sure if my Goldfish readily eating this food is a valuable endorsement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2016
I have 20 Gallon tank with an 8 gold fish, buying fish food flakes in local pet shop is very expensive compared to this price. The same 7.6 ounce gold fish flakes sells for $14 in local pet shop here but I brought this for ~ $7.17. The 7.6 ounce is sufficient for almost 6 months to feed my 8 gold fish. The clean and clear water formula helps maintaining clear water. With this food, If it sufficient to do partial water change ever alternate week.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.