Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 48" Yakima RoundBars Roof Rack Crossbars
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Style Name: 48"|Change
Price:$71.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 6, 2013
I think that when one pays around $80 for 2 pieces of coated pipe, Yakima could damn well throw in the caps without charging $11 for them, especially considering that they're marked "Yakima" and advertise the company.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2016
I've had a few Yakima products in the past and these are as good as the previous ones. Yes, they are just bars, but the quality and strength are still there. I have these installed on the bed of my truck with Yakima BedRock Multi-Sport Truck Bed Rack System and it works well. Yes they did not come with end caps, but the Yakima Bed Rack System I bought did include them. Not sure why they don't include them when you buy the bars though, but check to see if the rack system (I assume your going to get also) does include them. I use them to hold 4 bikes when we go camping. They flex a bit with the 4 bikes, but I'd rather have that to absorb the shock of my trucks stiff suspension rather than beat them up and destroy the bike carriers. I think of it like a shock absorber for the bikes. After using them for a while, I'd buy them again definitely.
review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2013
I've owned the Yakima Q-Tower system for almost eight years. I just transferred it to my third vehicle (same bars and Q-Tower, somewhat different clips needed for different vehicles).

I found the installation instructions to be clear.

The installation process was straightforward and eminently "doable" by this "not-so-handy" guy.

The tower itself, and the foot, appears relatively aerodynamically efficient. The lock housing -- not so much (the lock housing is the assembly that holds the clip and the lock and has the cam that locks down the unit to the car).

I also bought the optional fairing, but have never used it. I liked the idea that the fairing would reduce wind noise and slightly increase fuel economy. But I found that I'd have to remove the fairing to attach things to the bars -- and at least some of the things that I wanted to attach were incompatible with the fairing. I don't even use it when I just have the bars up there because -- well -- I usually try to remove the whole mess when I'm not using it to even more surely decrease noise and increase gas mileage.

The round bars have been effective -- can't complain about them. I presume that they are slightly more aerodynamically efficient than Thule's standard square bars, but can't prove it.

The bars definitely increase wind noise when they are up there -- I'm even more inclined than usual to keep my speed down with the bars up there -- to keep down noise and minimize fuel efficiency decrease.

Why did I buy Yakima's system instead of Thule's eight years ago? Well, I wanted to ensure that it would fit well on my vehicle. My vehicle's manufacturer offered the Yakima rack as an optional accessory at time of purchase -- so I figured that pretty much guaranteed good compatibility.

If I were buying a system now, I think that I would look into one of the new Aero bars (i.e., with more of a wing-shaped cross-section).

Incidentally, the three vehicles I've used this on were: 2006 Scion xB (the old original boxy version), 2008 Toyota Prius, 2013 Toyota Prius.

I've used it with bicycles, a kayak, and a cargo box.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2014
If you just buy the bars, they will howl and you will be upset. Just suck it up and buy the fairing. The noise will stop and you won't even know you have the rack on your vehicle! They should just be part of the kit.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2011
Any roof rack is going to make noise. The 58" crossbars have plenty of width to make enough noise that the driver could wear ear plugs if traveling many miles. You don't need to buy a Yakima "noise reducer". Go to the hardware store and get the 1" foam pipe insulation (that has a slit down it's length). The foam cuts easily. cover the middle and both ends of each cross bar. I used the white nylon locking fastener strips around the foam to keep it from rotating on the bar (or blowing off at highway speeds).
The foam will also protect the vinyl covering of the cross bars from the sun.
22 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 7, 2011
The Yakima roof rack went onto my Jeep Cherokee in less than 30 minutes with two adults standing on either side. It installed easily and exactly according to directions. The directions were thorough and straightforward.

Luckily I was able to look at different racks at local stores while deciding what parts I actually needed to transport our sailboats and to understand how they all fit together. Yakima's website gave me the exact size of Raingutter Towers for my car. I purchased Yakima RoundBars Roof Rack Cross Bars (66-Inches),Yakima 1A Raingutter Towers - Set of 4, and the Yakima SKS Lock Cores for Yakima Rooftop Car Racks. There is another styrofoam piece available for transporting boats but I found that it was not necessary. Once I knew what parts were needed, I compared prices, and found the lowest prices for 2 out of 3 of these items were from Amazon.

I purchased this item for transporting my sunfish sailboat (14') or my 15YO's laser sailboat (16') after years of struggling with different solutions to move the boats around. We used to have to use a trailer or to tie one down on top of my Jeep, or in some rather perilous cases, both. The other solution was to get the Commodore to come move one of our boats in the back of his pickup. While this solution worked well for me, it was not his favorite.

This roof rack has performed perfectly. It has also given us peace of mind while we are on highways with one of the boats on top of my car.

UPDATE: When I came to get the product name for another product review, imagine my surprise to see this message: This does not fit your: 2001 Jeep Cherokee. YES, IT DOES!
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
I have way too many sets of Yakima bars. Why? Because they are tried and true approach to carrying cargo, parts are interchangeable, they hold up very well over time, are simple to use. These long bars went on a trailer project, with re-purposed C clips, and anchors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2013
Replaced my factory setup on my 2001 Jeep Cherokee XJ and these are MUCH stronger and look nice and clean. Cheapest I could find on the web and arrived quickly. Standard 48" bars, not end caps are included in case you were wondering. They do put off a howling sound between 60mph and up so I will probably have to get a deflector for these.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2014
The crossbars we received, at first, we thought were used, due to the scuff marks and where they appeared to have been installed. IT was only upon further inspection that if became apparent that it wasn't previously installed, just defects from the manufacturing process - they're not amazing quality (my boyfriend, the recipient has done machining for years). For what you get, these are overpriced.

For what it's worth, as another reviewer mentioned, since my purchase a month or so ago and now, I am now informed "This product does not fit your 2014 Jeep Wrangler". Yes, it does. This feature worked correctly when I bought it, but for whatever reason it doesn't anymore. Don't trust it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
The bars themselves are fine, but there is a hum or whine with wind noise across the bars. I have had Thule bars for the last decade, but had to switch to Yakima because Thule does not make a fit kit for the 2013 Subaru Outback (I wish they would, but too late now). The new fit kit isn't wonderful either, but I was surprised that a round Yakima bar would make more noise than a square (Thule) bar - logically, it ought to make less noise and have less drag. I got to thinking about it - those fairings to move wind over the bars - you see those with Yakimas, but hardly ever with Thules (maybe this is due to the noise issue). I will keep the bars, since I don't have a Thule solution, and I will see if I can come up with an idea to quiet them that does not involve additional investment in a fairing - but my overall rating of this is that I wish Thule had done a better job in following the Subaru market so I didn't have to settle for these noisy bars...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 23 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.