Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Fisher-Price Laugh & Learn Fun with Friends Musical Table Activity Center
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Product Packaging: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$125.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 5, 2008
My son is 9 months old and just received this toy as a gift. He LOVES it! It has a lot to entertain him with, and he just loves flipping the computer open and shut. He laughs every single time.

I like that it has a few different settings that include ABCs, music, an interactive real life sounds and Spanish with English translation. My only complaint about it is that it doesn't have a volume control like so many Fisher Price toys have!! However, I really haven't been too bothered by it, as the songs aren't very long and are actually rather cute. I find myself singing along with them frequently.

I love that the ABC setting includes numbers, too. Each individual number can be pressed on the telephone. My son also has the Leap Frog Learn and Groove Musical Table, but it doesn't have a lot of the different features this table has.

I would definitely recommend this toy, it's great.
11 comment| 130 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2009
My 9 mo boy has been playing with this every chance he gets since he was 7 mo. I also know the LeapFrog Learn & Groove(tm) Musical Table because my niece has it. I like this one better because it has a lot more going on. Both kids seem to like this one better if given their choice.

I put the legs on it immediately as he was already starting to lean on furniture, but as other reviewers note they are easy to take off (unlike the leapfrog), which is great for packing. It has been great to see him get more and more steady on his feet. He can now crab walk all around it to choose which toy he wants to use. It looks like great exercise and that is my favorite thing about the toy. of course, he fell backwards a few times while practicing his standing, but that's just in the nature of the toy: do not use unsupervised. Probably best used on carpet.

Others have complained that the computer closes hard and kids can get there fingers trapped. I have to say that although it makes a loud noise, it does not close with any force. Closing the computer with his hand in it seems to be one of my son's favorite things to do and he does it often with no indication of pain or injury. He just slides his hand right out and is in no hurry to do so.

Actually, the biggest problem is that he likes it so much it is sometimes hard to get him off it. When he does get off it and we start to get into a good game of peek-a-boo, it actually pipes up with "hey, I wanna play" and he actually leaves me to go play with it again. I guess there is a timer in it that makes it say this after it is inactive for about 30 seconds. Now I turn it off immediately when he gets off it so it will shut up. I also hide it from view for a few hours a day so that he will play with me, his other toys, visiting grandparents, etc.

Another gripe: the Spanish mode says everything in English first. Since he presses the buttons one after the other, he sometimes doesn't even hear the Spanish word. I don't understand why they need to translate everything from English, since he doesn't even speak English yet. Also, the songs are still in English. So it hardly speaks any Spanish at all. If it is very important to you that your child learn Spanish, the Leap Frog does it better.

All in all, I'm very satisfied with it. I think that it is helping him with walking. I have gotten more than my money's worth and highly recommend it.
0Comment| 96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2008
My children (even the 5 and 3 year old) love this table. The songs are catchy, but if they start to get too annoying, you just switch the mode to something less noisy, such as the imagination mode where each button just makes a funny sound. In response to the first review about there being no volume control, there actually is a switch under the table that changes the volume from loud to soft.
11 comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2011
My almost 10 month old son received this for Christmas from his grandmother. We were all excited about it as he loves to stand up and play. The tabletop activities immediately caught his attention. He loved it. I loved it. I was taking video to share with grandma. Within 5 minutes of it entering the play area, it tipped over on him twice, making him fall backwards with the table on top of him. (video is of first time) Fortunately he did not hit his head, but this toy will not be staying in our home. I don't want my son getting hurt because of the instability of this toy. I will be making contact with Fisher Price tomorrow.
88 comments| 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2009
Really a fun toy, our daughter did not get it until she was around 8 months because the toys are more then just spinners and shakers (like the leap frog). We have tried the leap frog but it was to simple for our child and she has enough spinners and shakers in all her other toys like walkers, jumperoo, and exersaucers.

Our daughter just loves the phone, keyboard, book, and her fav is the computer. She loves to just open the computer and close it. She never closed the computer on her fingure and honestly its not heavy, i cant possibly see how any child can hurt themselves on it. But again, i would say this toy is better for the older child (around 8 months) since the toys are more educational and take a little bit of higher intelligency then the leap frog.

The Pros:
*The computer is awasome and our daughter just loves to close and open it and press all the buttons
*she loves the phone (rattle) that disattaches from the toy and she loves to carry it around with her. (she loves it more then any toy we have but see "cons")
*she like flippin the book pages
*she also enjoys the keyboard.
*i like that it has "words options and musical options", thats fun to change it up. We are not quite to the "spanish" options but i am sure we will use it later since we hope our child speaks multiple languages.
* legs are easy to take off
* sturdy enough for her to pull herself up on.
* easy to clean
* batteries last a long time

Cons:
*our baby misplaces the phone (rattle) and we have to find it all the time (wish it was attached by a phone cord but maybe they dont do that because it could be dangerous.
*after playing with the computer our daughter learned that all computers open and close, which includes mommys and daddys real laptops. But i guess i didnt expect anything different.

Overall, great toy and we really love it.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2008
We had the old version of this table with the food that my kids loved and just received this new version as a gift. It's even better than the first. There is much more for them to do and it's a little bit taller than the older one which is great because it's easier for my tall 3 year old to play with her younger sister with it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2013
We bought this toy after visiting some friends who had it. Our daughter was not quite 7 months old and was not yet. Their child was older and walking, so the toy was assembled with it's legs. I helped my LO get to a standing position next to it and she squealed with delight. We ordered it online a few days later (our city didn't have it in stock in any stores nearby) and she's been playing with it non stop for 3 months.

This toy is awesome. It's definitely her "must have" toy for this busy age. She plays with it on and off all day. Somehow, the sounds that it makes are NOT annoying like a lot of other toys (probably because there's so much variation). She played with it without the legs for a while, when we were trying to encourage her to do tummy time (she didn't like to be on her belly). I think it contributed to her crawling, because she'd want to get to this to play so badly. She uses all of the activity centers on the toy but looooooves the computer and the book. LOVES THEM. She opens and closes the computer around 40 times a day. No exaggeration. The book only has three pages (only 1 page turns), and though _I_ wish that it had more, she doesn't seemed phased by the only-one-page-to-turn issue.

This toy is great for pre-crawlers, great for crawlers, great for standers and will be great for walkers I'm sure.

MY SUGGESTED AGES:
* 4 - 12 months? I wish that we had bought it sooner

PRO:
* Encourages crawling
* Not annoying
* Good value
* Not too loud
* Batteries last a long time
* Batteries easy to change
* Converts from ground play into standing play
* Very stable. We haven't had it turn over on her ever. Not even once.
* Compact. We travel a lot and its easy to take off the legs and pack it.
* No parts for her to pull off and break.
* Great colors.
* Perfect height for standers (some of her other toys are just too tall)

CONS:
* None that should stop you from buying, but here's what I'd recommend that the company do:
* Add another page or 2 to the book

When I think about the value, I'm surprised the price is so low. We considered buying a flip book that made noise that was $20 and a little computer that was $30. That would have put us into the price range of this toy--- but those wouldn't have encouraged standing and engaged her the way this standing toy does. Seriously-- it's better than her walker, her activity center, etc.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2014
I feel bad for the kids whose parents don't buy this, or take it away from them because of the threat of smashed fingers in the laptop thing. I got this for my son when he was 6 months old because he was starting to pull up on things. Yes, he promptly mashed his fingers in the laptop thing, twice. He got mad about it, but he wasn't hurt. It only has as much pressure as he puts on it, so there was no bruising, no harm done. It stung, he figured out not to put his fingers in there in about a minute, and now he LOVES to slam that thing closed. And yes, he pulled it over on himself one time, and he yelled about that too, but he was fine, and he never did it again, and he pulls himself up on it about a hundred times a day. So, this is probably not a toy for parents that want to wrap their babies in bubble wrap and protect them from life. For us, it's been a great toy. It's fun for me to see him learning to turn pages on the little book thing. He carries the purple phone thing with him all over the house and shakes it madly (it's not attached). He spends several minutes at a time opening the lid on the laptop thing and slamming it closed again. It's taken a lot of abuse and seems to be great. I will say that we use it on carpet only. It put it onto tile once, and it slides all over the place so that he couldn't play with it at all.

UPDATE: When my son was 9 months old, we moved this onto the tile floor and he LOVED pushing it around. He used it like a walker, basically. He would happily push it in circles around in the kitchen, mashing buttons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2010
My 7-month old absolutely adores this table. Unfortunately, however, her favorite thing to do is slam shut the computer screen, and she has crushed her fingers in the back ("hinge") area of the computer several times (which, unlike the front and sides of the computer, is small enough to painfully pinch tiny fingers when closed). We've ended up taping the monitor shut. She does enjoy playing with the rest of the table too (especially the piano) and hopefully once her hands get a little bigger, we can put the computer part back in use.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2008
My 10 month old received this as a gift, and she's very entertained by it. The different modes provide plenty of variety. However, like another reviewer experienced, the laptop toy is easy to catch baby's hands. My little one slammed the cover down on her hand and screamed. It's too soon to tell if this will be a recurring problem, but we're keeping a close eye on things. Another concern is that the table is so light that it slides around and tips over easily. We're going to have to buy a rubber mat or something similar to make this product safer to use. It's surprising to see so many safety issues, especially some obvious ones that would have been caught in product testing.
22 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 21 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.