Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: ROCCAT KAVE 5.1 Surround Sound Gaming Headset with Desktop Remote, Black
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 1, 2012
Let's settle this now: This is NOT a pair of audiophile headphones, it is a GAMING headset.

That said, lets get into the nitty-gritty.

I am upgrading from a Razer Megalodon 7.1 digital headset. Not a bad headset at all, but it was starting to die out on me and i needed something new.

This headset is a TRUE 5.1 audio system, and you can tell. the positional audio is amazing. I have never heard positional audio this good from a headset.

The ear-cups are over-ear and closed back, meaning no audio will spill over to the mic, and you wont have to worry about listening to anything in the real world. The apocalypse could be happening right now and I wouldn't hear a thing.

The microphone is as crystal clear as the Fortress of Solitude, and it's loud enough to be heard. Also, it features Noise Cancelling like the headset, so don't worry about your wife/girlfriend calling you to take out the trash or do the dishes in the middle of a BF3 match and being made fun of by your buddies.

The ear cups are rather large and heavy for a headset, but this is countered by a soft leatherette ear cushioning and a padded headband. I won't lie, the headband could be better, but it's not uncomfortable by any stretch.

The audio quality is astonishingly good. You have to tinker with your sound card to get it to work perfectly, but even out of the box it works very well.

The in line controls are GREAT, allowing you to control front, mids, rears, and the subs.

This is a LOUD headset. My old Megalodon couldn't put out near as much volume and retain the same quality of audio.

The bass could be louder out of the box, but after tinkering I got it to where I wanted it for explosions, gunfire, etc.

make sure you have a soundcard or a motherboard with 5.1/7.1 to use this to its full potential.

This headset is the BEST headset I have owned in quite a long while.
22 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2012
Hey all,

Let me start of this review by saying that I am an audio engineer and an audiophile. I have a wide array of gear for creating and listening to music, but I was looking for something to use with my gaming rig so I can enjoy spending time gaming and chatting with my friends over ventrilo. Thus, the verdict is based solely for the purpose I bought these for.

After my Razer Carcharias died out on me (left driver just stopped working on it's own - Razer was nice enough to give me a full refund - great customer service!), I have decided to get a new headset, and while Razer is great when it comes to keyboards and mice (Deathadder still the best mouse I ever had), Razer headphones just did not leave a great impression on me.

I googled a bit, and found this headset, watched the reviews and decided to go for it.

I am not going to go into specs and features as you can find those on the internet, and I'm just going to focus on my experience. And here we go:

DESIGN: The Roccat Kave is sturdy and well built. They are a bit heavy, but I personally do not mind it. The ear-cups are surprisingly comfortable. Same can't be said for the padding on the top, as it can cause a bit of a discomfort, but I managed to find a setting that works for me and after a few days of getting used to, I feel no discomfort. I think it could have been done better, and it feels weird that they went for three separate padding's instead of a one, continual padding that would have fit on a head of any size and shape. The ear-cups are really deep, and they will seperate your ear fro the drivers a bit, which will enable you to hit the volume up with a bit less stress to your ears.

MICROPHONE: Good quality. Sounds crisp and clear on the other side and you will have no issues with VOIP communication.

MUSIC: This headset is just not designed for listening to music. It's not bad, and if you are not an audiophile you will probably not hear a big difference from other gaming headsets. The sound was a bit strange at first, but after a few hours it did sink in. The lack of heavy bass for all you electronic music fans is being mended by the vibration unit that will shake your head a bit when frequencies up to 100hz hit in, giving you an impression of a bigger bass sound. Depending on the genre of music you will find switching of the presets on your controller useful sometimes. If you are looking for a headset to listen to music and game - think you can find better options with some stereo set (Sennheiser comes to mind).

MOVIES: Not bad, but not too great as well. I can't complain really about the sound - it's solid, and I did enjoy watching movies with this, but would always get back to my hi-fi speaker system to watch movies if I had to choose.

GAMES: This is where the Roccat Kave shines! Playing games with this headset is a great and immersive experience. They can be overwhelming sometimes if you push up the volume (these can be really really loud) but tweaking with the parameters will help you achieve better results. The 5.1 sound system works well on these while playing games. They are not really 100% correct when it comes to positioning - the front is going to sound like it's more in the center, and the back will sound more like a back-left or back-right depending on the situation. These are not big flaws, and you will still be able to pinpoint your enemies when you are playing first person shooters.

THE PRICE: You will not be able to get a better headset with 5.1 in this price range!!! They are really cheap for the quality they offer, so this is a no-brainer.

VERDICT: Should you get these? Yes! They have their flaws, of course, but if you are looking for a headset with 5.1 for gaming - look no further. I think These will keep me satisfied for at least 2-3 years for this purpose. Remember, 5.1 and 7.1 headsets are gimmicks, but this one is a well built gimmick that does not use software to give you a virtual surround sound and they use 3 drivers on each side to create a soundscape for you.

In the end - if you just need a good stereo pair - get some great audiophile headphones and buy a attachable mike. If you wanna have a bit of fun and don't care that much as long as it sounds decent, and you really want some 5.1 sounds - get these.

As you can see, I'm not a native English speaker, so I hope this review is written well enough to give you an impression on what these can offer.

Happy shopping!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 17, 2013
I love these headphones. Coming after me for a stealth kill with a knife (in game)? I can hear your footsteps behind me. Huge explosion nearby? Bass blows your ears out! The microphone quality seems good as attested to by my gaming friends. I love that you can bend the mic to any position and flip it up out of the way when not needed (even unplug it if you want). The only gripes I have are that since it takes up all your sound card "out" jacks, you need a splitter or something if you want external sound without having to unplug all the headphone jacks. Also, my set seems to have developed a 'short' or something in the line which causes static when I move the cord. No, it's not a loose connection, it's something in the line between the 'phones and the (cool) volume/directional volume gizmo. Hey this thing is neat, you can adjust volume for rear/left/right/bass and overall volume, inline. Recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2014
First the bad, as there are very few things about this headset I do not like.
1. And the biggest complaint I have with these, is that the arch seems to be backwards, which causes it to sit on your head at an odd angle, so it gets very uncomfortable after about 30 minutes. You can simply shift them to the back of your head and they feel great, but then they dont feel as "in place" and sturdy on your head. They feel like they may fall off. If you put them on backwards (right side on left ear, left side on right ear) They feel amazing. Pretty sad that they didnt manufacture them that way. I may try to see if I can swap the earbuds in the future, but I will probably wait until the warranty expires.
2. The mic switch seems to be poorly placed. To me it should have been the button in the middle of the volume, instead of on the side.
3. Mic quality is good, but not great..
I don't really have any other bad things to say about it.

Now, on to the good.
1. Analog inputs! I can not tell you how much I hate usb 5.1 or any usb headphones in general. Why? Feedback. If there is any "noise" in your system from the power supply, you hear it in the headphones when plugged into usb. Also, with analog, you can use a really good sound card, like a soundblaster, and get really great sound. Not simulated garbage from a usb. Some motherboards have pretty good ones built in as well, so why not take advantage of it. It does come with a usb to supply power, but thankfully that does not provide any feedback through the headphones. However, if it did, then I would just use a cell phone wall charger to power the set (This is what I did with my old Turtle beach ones to eleminate the hiss and pops from the usb).
2. True 5.1. Meaning there are speakers for each channel in each earbud, not just one speaker simulating.
3. Great sound quality in games and movies. Are these studio quality, no, they aren't. But for $75ish they are really really good. Music is ok, but honestly, why would you buy a 5.1 headset to listen to music?
4. They cover your entire ear. I have massive melon head, and large ears, and they fit over them with no problem. If they fit my head, they should fit yours, unless you are Andre the Giant. They are extremely comfortable over the ears as well. I foget they are even there. This is also great for noise cancelation. With these on my wife can be yelling at me and I can't hear any of it. (Warning, you might get a pillow thrown at you to get your attention :))

Overall, I am very happy with this purchase. I considered the much more expenvise Razer Tiamats, but honestly I think it would be silly to pay twice as much as I did for these and get the same thing. My friend has the Tiamats and to be frank, I can't tell any difference in sound quality or 5.1 delivery. The Tiamats are more comortable, however.

I would recommend these to anyone who was interested in true analog 5.1. If it weren't for the bad head rest, these would get 5 stars. But, as is, 4 very solid stars.

EDIT: I have had these cans for over 6 months now and put a few hundred hours on them. They are still in perfect condition. This edit is just to say that so far the build quality seems to be pretty solid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2016
Roccat makes a great headset. This is the older model but wow is it solid. The 5.1 isn't quite as pronounced as my very old Speedlink's but each speaker can still be heard distinctly. I did have some issues with the analog nature of the connections, the microphone was very quiet so I got a sound card however the soundcard had lots of noise from my pc even if I tried to use an external usb powersupply. So if you do get the analog model be sure to get an external sound card or a DAC to have the best experience. The headset itself was very comfortable and built well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2015
really great 5.1 for games and movies. for all of you not getting bass set your LTE crossover frequency to 90hz, then in the mixer turn the sub-woofer up by about 20%. turn it up much more and the vibrations may knock your fillings out!

this is a great product for the price. once you have them configured correctly they sound amazing. nice deep bass, amazing mid and highs. if you dont spend the time to set them up properly then they will still be ok but lacking bass!

pros

sound great for the £
5.1 just works
massive bass
comfy

cons

heavy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
Very good headset. Positional audio is very accurate and sound is clear, bass reproduction is good. Mic quality is very good. Overall construction is excellent after multiple plane trips and LAN parties. Ear cups are a soft leather like material I have never had an issue with sticking in humid temps or discomfort after extended use.

Cons -

Mic is a Male to female RCA style jack that likes to fall backwards when in the up position. (This is a minor con the mic is easily remove-able). Headband padding can get uncomfortable after extended use. (Multiple adjustments still yield same results, may be the shape of my head who knows). Cable from Volume/EQ Pod is short limiting movement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2015
I hate it I really do!
A really bad Materials in the headset and the wires.
The sound WAS ok.
Not COMFORTABLE at all.
Not worth this much money
Don't buy it , it is just Wasting money
review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
While the overall quality and sound on this product are very good, the head phones are very heavy and the head band cushion is very poorly designed. A relatively heavy weight is expected given these are 5.1 surround sound head phones, but the cushion on the head band should compensate for that by having high compression. The head band on these is terrible, creates pressure points, and can cause head aches/migraines. I do not normally get head aches or migraines but these head phones have caused some serious problems.

I can't imagine anyone could wear these for extended periods of time without suffering issues from the pressure points. I have read other reviews and everyone agrees that you MUST replace or supplement the cushioning provided by these in some way. Either a small piece of foam, or thick cloth to spread the weight out more evenly over the top of your skull.

It's a good product over all, but they need to go back to the drawing board on the head band/cushion because these are down right dangerous if worn for prolonged periods of time without supplementing the head band cushion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2012
I Have used several 5.1 headsets over the years, they have been built to break, either wire shorts or cracking at the neck, at or near, the cup hinges. My previous favorites were the Medusa 5.1 headphones, similar price point+, and they would crack near the plastic hinge within 18 months. The duct-tape look gets old. The Roccat Kave are excellent, heavy, well built headphones. I get great 5.1 sound and the pivot above the cup is metal! No cracking. Wires have held up and are medium thickness (similar to usb cable in diameter but more flexible).

I give a 4.5 stars. Downsides: Comfort of the padding on the headband is poor, have to move it around during extended usage. The cans block surrounding noise very well and are heavy, so you know what you are getting into. I was not able to use the mic with speech recognition software, too much static over the mic. Not yet sure if it is the Kave mic or Creative Flexijack, i suspect the latter. I will update review if i figure it out.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.