Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Nylabone Dental Chew Small Fresh Breath flavored Pro Action Bone Dog Chew Toy
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 26, 2010
All three of my dogs love these bones and will chew on them for hours. Unfortunately my ten month old Chesapeake Bay Retriever has figured out how to pop the ends off and then he chews off big chunks of the orange center. I did speak to customer service at Nylabone and was told the ends should not come off. I have since sent two samples in for r and d testing. Nylabone also said they would replace the bones. If your dogs are very powerful chewers keep an eye on them. Three weeks after returning two of these bones to Nylabone I received six replacements. Three of one type and three of another. As a longtime purchaser of Nylabone products I wholly recomend this company. Mojo is overjoyed to have his favorite chew toy back.
22 comments| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2011
Having had pit bulls for years, I know from experience that providing something that they cannot chew up or try to swallow whole in just a few seconds has been expensive and tedious. I would buy the largest other brand chew bones and they would still devour them....even tug toys. I was introduced to Nylabone when I "sat" for someone's dog's while they were gone. They had had the smaller, thin Nylabone for YEARS. After 3 years, it was finally down to a two inch nub. (Granted time that it would get lost here and there). I selected the Dental Chew because it was thick and states besides cleaning the teeth, it would satisfy their chewing desire as one was chewing up her bed blankets. After several weeks,the Dental Chew Nylabone shows evidence that it is has been chewed on but it is still 100% in tact! I expect this one to last years also.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
My dog became very sick after eating a Nylabone chew toy with red sections. All of the Nylabone chew toys I bought came from China, and I won't buy them anymore. That said, she has a few Nylabone chew toys without any dyed parts on them, i.e. whitish bones, and has not gotten sick from them. So I haven't thrown them out. However, as for future ingestible chew toys, I'm sticking to American-made products. NOTE: Nylabone Healthy Edibles treats (not chew toys) are made in the U.S., and my dogs love them.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2012
Just as a warning, unlike most other Nylabone products, this bone is made in China. I don't buy any chew toys made in a country without regulatory standards (China) and therefore will be returning this item. Big let down.
33 comments| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2014
Received one a few months ago which had glued ends, this one the ends swivel (using only 1 finger) and feel like they could be easily chewed off.

Called nylabone to complain and they said I have to ship the bone to them at my expense (they don't reimburse shipping nor do they provide a shipping label).

1 Star for lack of quality control and POOR customer service they were very short and said I could send it at my expense or deal with it. My dog is big $, no way will I let him play $10 defective bone and possibly choke on the ends.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2010
My little dachshund/maltese mix has destroyed many of the chew toys I have brought for her to gnaw at. Gladly, so far, this product has withstood her eager efforts to chew it to pieces (and she's had it for about two weeks now). Until I brought her the nylabone dinosaur a few days back, this was her favorite chew toy - now it's her second favorite.

I prefer offering my dog nylabone products to chew, rather than a hard bone because I believe they are safer for her. I appreciate not having to worry that she might eat small pieces that might cause her a stomach upset or worse. The product does not leave a mess of little pieces all over the floor after she's been chewing on it. Something to watch for - when I first gave my dog this toy, after she'd had it for about an hour, she chewed one of the edges into a sharp point and caught her mouth on it. It made her bleed a little. To ensure the toy remained safe, we filed the sharp edge away and gave it back to her. We have had no problems with the toy since then.

I am going to give the Nylabone Pro Action Advanced K-9 Dental Device - Medium three stars for two reasons: Firstly, because the edge became sharp and cut her slightly, and secondly because my dog doesn't really seem to enjoy gnawing at the middle (orange) portion of the toy. She likes the nylabone dinosaur much more, so when she needs something new to chew on, I will buy her another one of those instead.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2015
I gave this to my dog ( terrier mix) and she started shredding the middle in 5 minutes. Literally. I took a pic before I gave it to her and after 5 minutes (timestamped). If this is nothing to worry about...great, and I will change my review. But if a toy says "for powerful chewers" I guess I wasnt expecting this so fast.
review image
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2014
I really like these chew toys. I didn't think my dog would actually like them because they're hard as rock, but the second I hand it to her starts gnawing away and is occupied for hours. I would have given this 5 stars but there's a few little things I don't like.

For one, these aren't meant to last very long. It says right on the packaging that it needs to be replaced once little plastic pieces start coming off. This would be fine if my dog chewed more evenly. She tends to bite on one corner and never touches the other sides, so we end up having to buy another one fairly quickly. And they aren't cheap when you have to buy them regularly.

The other thing I don't like is the side that has little dots. As soon as my dog starts chewing on one of those sides, I'm super afraid she's going to cut her gums. The bumps get really sharp really fast even when the rest of the toy still looks brand new. The other ridges and styles work fine, just wish they wouldn't use those dots.

Also, the middle orange part is just a waste. I've never once seen my dog chew on the middle so it really seems pointless.

Overall, it will definitely keep your dog occupied for hours. Just keep in mind that its not meant to be chewed on forever. You'll have to buy another one pretty soon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2016
My dog is addicted to this Nylabone. I have bought many different chew toys for her and this one is by far her favorite. I probably bought her about five of them, by now. She is a compulsive chewer and I need something which she can chew safely. She went through her destructive puppy chewing stage last year - even though she was one year old when we got her - and the kitchen table and chair legs got pretty much destroyed before I leaned about Nylabones. I did a fair amount of research and learned where hoofs (which she also likes) can break their teeth. Lots of people wrote in about broken dog teeth secondary to the hoofs and expensive vet bills thereafter. Other people wrote in about the hazards of the large basted real animal bones which break into shards and cause diarrhea from bacterial contamination. She had weeks of very bad diarrhea from a rawhide product I bought her - never again! I also learned that rawhide can be very dangerous for some dogs. It is not a safe bet. Bully sticks were fine (she loved them) but they are very expensive and she goes though one of them in about 5 minutes tops - then it was onto the chair legs. Pig ears were greasy and brought about yet more diarrhea - and they lasted about 5 minutes also. The diarrhea lasted considerably longer and was very messy to clean up. It was all getting pretty discouraging. Either they risk breaking their teeth on hooves or they get sick (even die) on other animal products or they chew up your table legs. At last, I discovered Nylabones. Great choice. It is safe and the dog likes them. She absolutely attacks her Nylabones fiercely and they stand up to this sort of abuse. She is a border collie but a very aggressive chewer. I tried all manner of Nylabones and this one works out the best. I also tried a whole bunch of Kong toys which people swear by but my dog is not interested in any of them. After trying out virtually every chew product out there - some with disastrous results - Nylabones are, hsands down, my choice of dog chew product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2015
We have two large dogs, a Yellow Lab and her brother a Golden Retriever who love these bones. We buy them each a new one at Christmas and they chew on them all year without actually destroying them. Now we have 4-5 around the house and every day the dogs spend time chewing and playing with them. I got a pair for $8 each on Amazon which is almost $6 less(each) than they sell for at the "pet" stores. They do help clean their teeth also.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.