Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: BOSTITCH Factory-Reconditioned U/CPACK1850BN 18-Gauge Brad Nailer and Compressor Combo Kit
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 19, 2010
Unlike the other reviewers, the unit I received was clearly used (but, not abused). I have shopped for a compressor to use around the house on small projects, and especially for maintaining the air pressure on my car tires. So, when I saw this unit I knew the price was right, and took a chance on it being "Factory-Reconditioned." Glad I did. For the price, it is hard to beat this compressor. ** One caution, the picture of the unit gives one the impression that there is a black rubber 50 foot hose included. Mine arrived with a 25 foot coiled yellow PVC hose. So, just be aware, because you'll need to purchase a better hose if you want to use it for any robust work. ** Otherwise, I'm pleased with the purchase, and even recommended it to a friend.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2010
This is my first factory reconditioned power tool, but if what I've experienced so far is any indication, it will not be my last. First off the compressor and nailer arrived within the 5 days promised. I've seen some reviews of not being properly packed for shipment. While mine was not packed with bubble wrap or foam peanuts, the box was the proper size and shape to protect it during shipping. The compressor included hose, inflator, fittings, teflon tape and instructions. The nailer arrived in the plastic carry case with oil, box of brads and instruction manual. Basically everything you need to get started.

Appearance: The compressor was in great shape, it was obvious that it was not brand new with a few scratches on the tank paint and a few scuffs here and there. I'm sure the hose and accessories were brand new because they were still in factory wrapping. Some have said that their compressor included a good quality rubber hose, mine sadly did not. I got the 25' PVC hose as listed in the description. It is stiff, and does not coil really well, but will work for me until I need a new one. The nailer appeared to be brand new until I took a close look and spotted a few small scratches on the front.

Quick Test: I decided that I would turn it on and let it run with the tank drain valve open as a breaking in period for around 30 minutes while I assembled the air chuck, uncoiled the hose and installed the QD fittings. It was raining at the time so the compressor was in my garage with the door open. It is pretty loud as many have already stated, I would say it is about as loud as my circular saw, maybe just a little more. I was expecting it to be much louder from all the complaints, but it is as loud as you would expect a compressor of this size to be. If I had to work right next to it for any period I'd want to wear some ear protection. Once I closed the valve and adjusted the regulator to max, it ran for around 3 minutes then cut off. I didn't hear any leaks so I hooked up a blower nozzle I have and held the trigger wide open. After only 7 seconds the compressor kicked back on. I stopped blowing and let it build pressure. After 1 minute it cut off again. So far so good. Next I decided to top off all the car/truck tires. While adding 3-5 psi to each of 8 tires, the compressor had to run twice. I kept airing the tires while the compressor was running and it seemed to keep up. Next I tried out the nailer. I just wanted to make sure it worked so I shot around a dozen 2" brads into stacked pieces of MDF, then pine 2 by 4 and some plywood I had lying around. It drove and countersunk all the nails without any problems.

Projects and use: My first projects using the combo were out of 3/4 plywood. I think I shot around 30 2" brads and another 40 1.25" brads and never missed a beat. If I hold the nailer correctly, the brad is shot and countersunk well into the stock. I didn't need to mess with the depth set adjustment. I shot between 15 and 20 brads before the compressor had to build up pressure again. I've also used the compressor several times for blowing sawdust off power tools and general cleaning (moving dust).

Conclusion: So far I am satisfied with this combo, especially for the great price I got it for plus free shipping. I can't attest to how long it will last of course, but like I said so far so good. The condition of the tools upon arrival was excellent and they seem to be well-built sturdy tools, not cheap or lightweight at all. The original reason I wanted a compressor was just for blowing dust in the shop and airing up tires. The compressor has to run more often than I thought it would have for blowing dust, but if I lower the pressure I can find a happy medium. I guess that is a trade off for having a pancake compressor. I like that I can carry it where I need it and it takes up about the same space as a 5 gallon bucket. The nailer sure is a handy tool that I think I will use a lot if it lasts. I like the fact that the nailer will drive as small as 5/8" or large as 2" brad. Marked down for short power cord and questionable longevity.
11 comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2010
This is a very good value, mine arrived in great shape and looked new. However, the release valve does seem to be a weak point in the design as it is plastic and was broken upon arrival. A pair of vice grips solved the problem. Overall a great value. The compressor seems to be high quality and the gun as well. I used it for a small project and both the gun and compressor performed as expected. If it wasn't for the breaking of the release valve, this would have easily gotten 5 stars.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2010
Just opened up the box and I was impressed. The nailer and compressor both look like new. Plugged the thing in and slid in a sleeve of nails and started looking for something to test the nailer. Works awesome although my workbench now has a row of brads in it. I'll give the compressor a workout next weekend when I shingle my folks roof. Looking forward to it already.
44 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2010
I wanted a light compressor for small jobs and bought this combination becaue of the exellent value. I didn't need the brad nailer but gave it a try. It is far better than my old Porter Cable so I now use the Bostich. The compressor works well but it is noisier than my much larger compressor. I was using it indoors and had it sitting on a dropcloth on top of a carpet which should have muffled the sound a bit. Ear plugs are in order for even the most brief of use.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2010
I was looking around at air compressors for a long time on Amazon. I came across this compressor after being dissappointed with how expensive the other new compressors were. I took a chance and ordered this one for nearly 50% off of a new one. I have been using this product for over 2 weeks fairly heavly.

I was extremely happy with my purchase. The product came and looked brand new. No scratches, dents or anything to lead me to believe it was pre-owned.

Pros:
- Great value for price
- Easy to operate
- came with thread tape and 25ft heavy duty hose
- brad nailer works awesome and includes brads
- Fairly quiet compared to other air compressors.
- No oil to mess with, just plug in and your good to go
- Handle makes for easy carrying
- Builds pressure quickly

Cons:
- it looks like some others got a 50ft hose
-Power button is made of cheap plastic, I can see this breaking when pulling the knob to turn off.

You won't do better for the price! Such a deal and works awesome.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2011
My compressor kit arrived today. The brad nail gun kit looks new and the tank shows rub marks on the paint from prior use I guess. My only dilemma is they did not include an air hose!

I called Bostitch which politely told me to contact Amazon . . .after hunting around the web pages all I can do is return and exchange the whole bloody kit. Which is the ultimate in stupidity if you ask me since one way shipping of this fifty pound box is $35.00 so a return and replacement would cost in shipping $105.00 all by itself if you add in the original delivery cost. So I surrendered to common sense and just ordered a PVC 25ft hose and paid for it myself. I've save plenty of money in the past from Amazon's free shipping so I can cover the cost this time for the replacement.

My opinion of the compressor. It is pretty much just as I wanted and expected. A BIG negative is the flimsy handle on a rather well made metal drain-cock valve. A quick removal with a Phillips screwdriver and the use of a small 4" Crescent adjustable an no problem there anymore!

I shot a dozen or so brads this evening all over my porch had some fun and that two inch brad is set perfectly every time. I do like this tool and feel it is a great addition to my tool crib.

Well that is my report for this tool kit. I would have given it five stars but I had to take one for the missing air hose and one for not having an easy way to correct the problem without high shipping cost on Amazon.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2011
What an incredible value! I picked up this combo factory-reconditioned item. It arrived several days later, via free shipping. The brad nailer and accessories kits were brand new and the reconditioned compressor looked new, too. It's not nearly as loud as I expected it to be, and works like a champ! Instructions are simple, even for the nailer. I had it up and running in no time reinforcing my fence using the nailer. From another review, I was aware the tubing wouldn't be robust, so I also purchased a 50' Goodyear hose, which was a good call. My only problem was that I wanted to use it immediately for airing up tires and the accessories kit's inflator piece was junk. A bit irritated, I went to Home Depot (HD) to pick up a better attachment for that purpose and got a nice surprise. Next to the air compressor accessories at HD was the same brad nailer that came with my compressor... priced, all by its lonesome, at exactly what I paid for the compressor, nailer, and compressor accessories kit combined. Couldn't be happier!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2011
I was looking for a deal on a great 18 gauge brad nailer and compressor combo kit. I have purchased reconditioned tools from CPO before without a problem. CPO sells this unit for the same price as Amazon ($119). The difference was that this unit was supposed to come with brad nails, a better air hose, no tax, and free shipping. So I thought I would roll the dice on this unit and get it from Amazon. Well when the unit arrived it seemed fine. I ran the unit to get some pressure and it seemed like it was working fine. I let the unit sit and the needle on the pressure gauge started falling. Then I heard the leak. It sounded like it was coming from the quick connect fitting. I tried to connect the hose, but it wouldn't lock onto the hose at all. The quick connect fitting was damaged. After further investigation it wasn't leaking from the damaged quick connect fitting, but from the pressure gauges. I started to look about how to get the top cover off so I could tighten up the gauges when I saw that the electrical cord coming out of the unit was cut, and there were bare wires! That was that and I sent back the unit. Shame on Amazon for selling a unit that was listed as Factory-Reconditioned when obviously this unit was used, abused, returned, repackaged, and sold under false pretenses. Overall my opinion of the product is that the gun seems solid. The compressor is probably heavier than most people need for an 18 gauge brad nailer. The unit is rather loud. You aren't going to want to run air tools, or a framing nailer from this unit. There are better compressors out there for those applications. Plus there are better nailers like the fuel powered units that are cordless. Buyer beware on Amazon's items listed as "Factory-Reconditioned" they may or may not be.
review image
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
l purchased this package because I was looking for a small, portable compressor and nailer. I already have Bostitch tools and have had good luck with them, so I made an assumption this would be good. I saw some bad reviews of this and Amazon said they were "reviewing" this item because of this input. I panicked because I had already bought it and had not yet received it.
When I did receive it, it came in a brown cardboard box which was clean and straight, no holes or scars from being kicked around, but not an original box. I opened it apprehensively think it was going to be banged up or used, but I was surprised to see that it looked like it was new. Not a scratch. In fact, I don't think this thing has ever been plugged in. The nail gun was perfect also, as was the air hose. After reading the bad reviews, I expected it to be really loud, but it isn't. It's not quiet, but it's not what I would consider to be overly loud either.

I was ready to send it back before I got it because of the fact that Amazon said they were not making it available until they review it more thoroughly, but as soon as I received it and found that it was fine, I decided to keep it.

I actually like this thing quite a bit, and the price was much less then if I had bought it at Lowes. BTW, I'm giving it four stars instead of five because I haven't used it enough to make sure it lasts. Otherwise, it's great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 15 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.