Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Intel Desktop Board Media Series LGA 1155 DDR 1333 Micro-ATX Form Factor - BOXDH67BLB3
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 17, 2011
I bought this motherboard and a Sandybridge CPU for a new home PC, running Win 7. The great thing about it is that you don't need a separate video card, it's built into the MB (with the GFX processing built into the SNB cpu). Note, there is no VGA out on it, just DVI and HDMI. I have used both video outs successfully, although the DVI output is crisper than the HDMI (this could be a function of my monitor...)

It has lots of USB ports, including two USB 3.0. (No legacy PS/2 ports for mouse and keyboard, tho.) Also, no firewire (but like I said, two USB 3.0's).

I loaded the four DIMM slots with 16GB of RAM, and am using the single parallel PCI slot for a parallel interface card, for my legacy printer. The board has an additional two PCI express slots, which I am not using.

Had no trouble installing the MB into an Antec mid tower case. The CPU fan snaps in easily.
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Just got this board up & running for a new Linux server machine with 2500K processor. No problems and seems great for my needs. Only one PCI slot but that's all I needed for an extra Ethernet port.

Flashing the BIOS with the "F7" utility worked fine & I didn't even need any bootable media, just a USB flash drive.

Low power consumption & no need for a discrete graphics card - especially for a server. At idle, the system only uses 46-47 watts with an Intel SSD, 500GB WD Black 7200 RPM HD, 5 fans (3 case, 1 CPU cooler, 1 power supply), and one extra Ethernet card.

2x SATA 3 (6 Gbit/s) ports & 2x USB 3.0 ports... though I had an issue using the SATA 3 ports with Linux (I think it was a Linux issue) so I just moved the connections to the SATA 2 ports.

Intel reliability - THREE year warranty.

UPDATE 2011-06-16: I bought another one of these for a Windows Home Server upgrade. There are no network drivers for Windows Home Server, Server 2003, and I think Server 2008 R2 as well (because Intel claims this is a "desktop" not "server" board so I guess they feel there is no need)... so beware. I ended up having to use a separate network card instead of using the built-in NIC.

UPDATE 2014-02-10: Knocking this down to 2 stars because it died due to a BIOS update. It said the updated completely successfully, then it powered down and would not come back up. All attempts to use the BIOS recovery feature failed. I had to go out and buy a new MB (non-Intel this time). At least it lasted a bit more than 2 years but what a pain to have a needed machine go down from a BIOS update. I've never had this happen before and I've updated the BIOS on a lot of machines.

UPDATE 2014-03-01: I'm raising this to 3 stars because Intel replaced the motherboard under warranty at no cost to me (except for my time). A+ for Intel service.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2011
Works very well with the 2600k processor. Easy to install. FYI. If you want to put in a Corsair A70 cpu cooler. Make sure your DDR3 aren't as tall as the Corsair Vengeance series. Otherwise I would just remove the DDR3 sidings and the cooler will fit over the closest two slot to the cpu. The DDR3 will works just fine.

WARNING! This motherboard like the previous reviewer said has no legacy ports for your mouse and keyboard. You must have a USB adapter for each for both to work. Amazon has several adapters. I bought the 'USB to PS/2 Adapter' by GWC Technology Inc. It can connects both mouse and keyboard to just one USB port.

Good luck!

P.S. You cannot install a single 8gb module in any one of the slot. Your module would need to be a double-sided memory module to work as 8GB. Otherwise it is impossible to add all 4 of the 4 GB modules to equal 32gb.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2011
This Intel motherboard (BOXDH67BLB3) is a great little H67 motherboard for a basic to moderate PC build requiring the use of the on-CPU graphic capabilities of the Intel CPU's. Nothing too fancy going on here, but it gets the job done, just as it is supposed to. It gets five stars from me as it meets/exceeds all of my expectations.

Some things to note about this motherboard:

- This was a replacement for a pre-B3 stepping board, so I just swapped all of the new accessories from the new box to the old one and shipped the old one back (with the new accessories) before installing the replacement... That was a silly thing to do as the I/O shield is slightly different. So, an FYI for anybody else intelligent enough to do what I did. ;)

- The new B3 stepping board has a Foxconn socket. My old B2 stepping board had a LOTES socket. Since this board is actually manufactured by Foxconn for Intel, it makes since, but just a head's up for people looking at images on the web from the original board showing the LOTES socket.

- My board shipped with a pre-realease BIOS from 11/15/2010 which caused my CPU PWM fan to max out before I updated the BIOS... So, keep in mind that a BIOS update may be required. (checking for the latest BIOS is always a good idea when getting a new motherboard.)

All in all, this board will serve as a great, inexpensive backbone to my moderate level PC.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2016
Great motherboard, my wife seems to love it. Whenever we initially built her computer, I used a motherboard that was bundled with her processor because it was a "great deal" only costing $5 more at the time than just the processor by itself. Well her old motherboard immediately started showing issues that I was not aware of at the time of purchase. My fault, should have read the box. However I couldn't use all 4 dimm's that I bought her, bummer. Well later down the road, the SATA started wigging the hell out and causing random bluescreens left and right. This caused me to have to pull out an old sata card that was sata rev 1 in order to keep from blue screening. You could imagine how this would cause her load times to increase esp considering she was using an SSD.

Anyways, I purchased this board to replace her other, didn't need to reload the OS or anything. Simple installed drivers and everything was good to go. System is running faster than ever and now she can actually use all of the memory that I had purchased for her. She said that her gaming hasn't lagged nearly as hard now and everything seems a lot more smooth lately. Great buy! would buy again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2011
I have been using this motherboard for a couple of months now.

Salient Features:

* On-board display adapter - if you do not plan to buy a dedicated graphics card.
* USB 3.0 slots
* Support II Gen i3, i5, i7 processors.
* Support for upto 32GB of RAM.
* H67 - no crossfire support for dual graphics cards.
* SATA6 interfaces.

Assembly:

Assembling on this motherboard was a breeze. I completed the whole assembly in about an hour and I had never assembled a PC before that. The Motherboard comes with an excellent and easy to follow installation instructions leaflet.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2016
The Intel Boards are by far the most reliable Motherboard you can buy and a great Warranty to match. BUT makes sure you purchased a BOXED motherboard and not a OEM, unless OEM is what you are looking for or prefer. For end-users we recommend the BOXED boards over OEM because the warranty is not the same. Intel Boxed Motherboard warranty is 3 Years with Intel, OEM are with whom ever you got the board from and most of those point of purchase facilities offer 30-day, 60-day or 1 year and that's it, and most have to do a RMA to get the replacement board, thereby creating a downtime of your system or you having to purchase another motherboard to get back up and running. Performance is also something to consider, since Intel manufactures the CPU on BOXED form as well, the overall systems performance is great. For those who like Overclocking, Intel always for very small adjustment where-as other manufacture allow a greater customization for over-clocking of the CPU.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2012
I've been building computers for the better part of 10 years, and the biggest concern is always the reliability of a product, especially when you're not use to that said product. Well this is the first Intel board I have ever purchased and let me start by saying...it's simply amazing. Intel packed so many features and so much rock solid reliability into this board that it makes me question why I spent so many years with ASUS. This board actually replaced an ASUS board that was a year old and had already been RMA'd once and was going bad. For what you get this board is an amazing value. This board stays super cool and I've received noticeably faster boot times with this board over my old ASUS board. I recommended the BOXDH67BLB3 to my dad and my best friend and both have commented on the ease of installation and overall 'feel' of reliability. I think it's safe to say my next board will be an Intel board. Happy building.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2012
Intel seems to have a reputation for unexciting but reliable boards and I was prioritizing the latter, especially after hearing stories of new 3rd-party boards with buggy EFI implementations having trouble booting Linux. I've set this one up with Ubuntu 12.04 and so far it's running with no problems, including the integrated video, sound, network, USB & SATA.

For the past 5-10 years I've been exclusively buying hardware based on Intel chips (having started with AMD) because of their great support for Linux drivers (graphics, wireless etc.), so I was really quite disappointed that they no longer list any of their desktop boards as being Linux compatible (though neither do other brands). However, a bit of research confirmed that this one should work well in practice and in fact that seems to be the case (perhaps one of the more obscure features like the infrared transmitter/receiver isn't supported; I haven't tried that as my case came with its own USB remote).

This board seems good value for money. It came with a couple of SATA cables. It doesn't have the old-style PS/2 and VGA connectors but I'm using a couple of adaptors (Starlink DVI-VGA adaptor and TrendNet USB-PS/2 convertor, also from Amazon) to connect my old screen, keyboard & mouse without problems. If you need Firewire then you want the DH67GD version instead.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2016
I had to replace the MB on an old Acer M3970 and quickly realized the very limited availability of decent LGA 1155 MB's. Glad Amazon stocks this board. Also, upgraded the cpu from the original sandy bridge Core i3 to an ivy bridge Core i5. Just had to update the bios on the MB and all is working very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.