Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Yonanas Frozen Healthy Dessert Maker - 100% Fruit Soft-Serve Maker (Black and Silver)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 17, 2012
I am in love with this item. If you've ever made banana whip or "mock ice cream" in a blender, you will probably love this too. A few key negative review points are as follows, and I'll address these with my experience:
1. Yonanas didn't taste like vanilla/soft serve ice cream. ~Well, it is not made of unicorns and rainbows, so logic says that if you put a banana in, and no other ingredients, what comes out will most likely taste like a banana. Maybe some day they will make a magic Yonanas machine and the universe will rejoice.
2. It is loud. ~Yup, it is. But so is a blender, food processor, stick blender, etc. The fact is, I did not go deaf or bleed from my ears in the 2 minutes it took me to make a container full of blueberry-banana Yonanas.
3. It doesn't rinse right off. ~Yeah, it does. I undid my machine right after finishing the whip and rinsed it in the sink. All of the fruit came right off. I did have to apply a little soap to a sponge and move my hand back and forth on the machine for a second or two to get all the strawberry seeds out of the teeth, but this was hardly traumatizing. The only thing I can think of with folks not having successful clean-up is that it is not rinsed right away.
4. It leaves a half serving in the machine. ~Yup, it does. I took my Yonanas apart to rinse it, and just used a spoon to scrape the little bit left in the machine into my bowl. This was also not traumatizing.
5. I had to call in reinforcements (probably bodybuilders) to help me push the bananas in and take the machine apart. ~Really? I'm a regular lady with little spider-monkey arms, and I did not have to call in big, strong people to help me push the bananas in or take the machine apart.
6. It takes a ton of bananas to make a serving. ~No, not really. My Yonanas came with a plastic tub to keep in the freezer. Just today, all by myself, with no bodybuilder friends, no bleeding from the ears, and no dishpan hands, I filled the tub using only 4 whole bananas and 2 cups of frozen blueberries. This seems reasonable to me.
I like bananas, I like banana whips, I like fruit, and I like Yonanas.
7575 comments| 2,535 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2011
This machine makes wonderful banana based 'ice cream' effortlessly. The frozen ice cream dispenses directly into your serving bowl. You do not need to stop and clean out any containers. So when the line of little children forms up behind you, you can just keep going. Clean up is a breeze. Break down the processing parts and rinse in less than 2 minutes. No scrubbing. This machine is not as loud as the Vitamix which also makes wonderful things.
The 'ice cream' is soft formed and very creamy.
You start with one frozen banana. Add other frozen fruit such as berries, pineapple, oranges, in between each banana. Non frozen bananas do not work as my daughter found out.
I don't think this machine will ever be placed under the counter. My biggest challenge to my raw lifestyle has been my love affair with ice cream. That ended last night.
44 comments| 677 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2012
No, it doesn't taste or feel "exactly" like soft serve ice cream but, yes, it is incredibly good and creamy. Fantastic, really. BUT you must follow the directions carefully--yet the directions are inconsistent and full of typos. SO here's what you have to do: The bananas must be ripe but not really overripe (slightly mushy is good for banana bread, not Yonanas). They should be "cheetah spotted" as they say, and the banana inside must still be white. Peel, break in half and freeze for 24 hours--don't try to get around this. Thaw on the counter for five minutes--no longer and no shorter. The directions say 5 minutes one page, 15-20 minutes on another page, and also recommend microwaving for a few seconds instead. Forget about it--just leave the bananas and any other frozen fruit on the counter for five minutes. Use slow, steady, even pressure when pushing down with the plunger thing. Too fast and you get ice chips and possibly burn out the motor. Not thawing the fruit is another way to burn out the motor. It really helps to put the serving bowl in the freezer for a half hour or so ahead of time to prevent premature melting. It's no good when it's melted. And, finally, don't even think about putting chocolate in this thing even though several recipes say to do so. Not unless you want to spend the next ten, grumpy minutes scraping it out of that cone shaped part with the blades. Some of the chocolate will get through in irregular pieces but not much. I will soon experiment with chocolate syrup or fudge sauce mixed in but never again with the actual chocolate. If you follow these tips exactly, it's very, very good. Try 2 bananas and 3/4 cup of blueberries. Awesome combo!
33 comments| 376 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2011
Make sure you are freezing the fruit really well - very important. And ripe, not green. My first try I did with bananas only. The texture was creamy and smooth and fantastic. The second try I added blueberries. Yum. The berries were not quite as smooth as the bananas but was still very good. Berries with lots of seeds do make a less smooth final product. You would need to puree and strain the fruit before freeing to avoid having that seedy texture in the final product.

If you are expecting not to be able to taste the bananas and have it taste like vanilla iceacream, you might be disappointed. But you can add things to it to minimize the banana flavor.

I have really liked my experience with this item so far.

Using the Yohnana is very easy. Cut fruit into manageable sized pieces and freeze. If your freezer is one that freezes things very hard, you may need to let frozen fruit set on counter a few minutes before using. Drop the frozen fruit into the chute and use the tamper to push it thru the blades. If you are feeling creative, use a blender to make a thick fruit smoothie and freeze on a tray. Break into pieces and push thru the Yohnana for more "gourmet" flavors.

The machine is made of sturdy plastic, has metal blades, and extremely easy to disassemble and clean with a quick rinse under the faucet.
Yes, the machine is extremely noisy. You will wake the household if you try to use this in the morning.

edit: December 2014
We now also have a champion juicer for making banana whips. We have since given this to my parents. For the curious, the Champion juicer makes banana whips that are fantastic, but the Yohnana is a very close second. If you only want banana whips, then the Yohnana is the less expensive option and works great. If you want to do all of the other things that a champion juicer will do, then go that route. Other juicers use a different blade design that does not whip air into the final product as well as the champion and the yohnana do. Both products produce a fantastic banana whip though.
3333 comments| 519 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
I bought 2 of these, one for myself about 3 yrs ago and another for my mom this past mothers day. I literally use mine every singe evening. Its my evening snack.
I use bananas, cantaloupe and frozen peaches..
I do like adding a few chocolate chips into the machine. When I am done,.. I add a little cinn. My son who is 14 is addicted to it too and literally throws a fit if I dont make it for some reason.
1st thing is 1st, make sure you let your frozen fruit sit out for about 7 min. I usually feel it. if it feels too hard, I wait.. if it is very very slightly soft, then its ready (dont wait any longer as it will come out to soft)..
You also must like bananas because bananas is the key in ingredients to make it creamy.
When I put it in the machine, I put one banana piece, one peach, one cantaloupe, one banana, one peach, one cantaloupe and so on until its all pushed through..

ONLY con is, it is loud but I dont care.. I love it

I am all about fitness and health and if anyone is looking to get into insane shape, working out or just want to lose weight without feeling like you are sacrificing anything, this is def the thing for you.
I also attached a photo.. as I am in very good shape.. my eating healthy is ideal for me and I dont feel like I am missing anything..
If you are on the fence about it, DO IT., you wont be disappointed.

I add sometimes a cereal to the top of it.. and its sweet enough but if you ever want it sweeter, I at times might add a stevia packet.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
Okay,so I didn't get mine on Amazon, but I did look at it here first to see what others were saying. I had a gift card for another site that I did not want anything they had until I saw a sidebar ad for the Yonanas and clicked through. Admittedly, when I first started hearing about the Yonanas, I though "who one earth can eat that many bananas?" After repeatedly seeing Pins, videos, and comments in my social media feeds, I gave in and took a second look (I had to spend that gift card on something).

Turns out, that I can eat that many bananas.

While the base of many recipes in the Yonanas is bananas, there are many others that don't use them. I have pushed frozen yogurt, pudding, peaches, blueberries, pineapples, even a few chunks of sugar free whipped topping, and many other low cal items through my machine.
I've found that a few frozen peaches, a banana, and a couple of sugar free frozen pudding ice cubes makes a smooth and creamy (ice cream consistency) dessert that curbs my sweet tooth and ice cream addiction.

It's a great gadget for anyone trying to watch their weight, have more control over food ingredients, or just eat a little more healthier, not that pudding is the best choice, but you get the jest....you control what goes in it.

It makes the perfect base for thick and creamy smoothies, a quick snack, and activity to do in the kitchen with the kids...who by the way, are amazed at how a banana can not be a banana. Many desserts that I have made with bananas as my base, don't even taste like a banana. A frozen lemon in the mix tastes like a creamy lemon sorbet, no to very little banana flavor.

There is a little clean up work, as with any small kitchen appliance, but nothing too labor intensive or time involved. Just don't leave it out, because it's much harder to clean after the fruit and such dries onto it (trust me on this).

Three weeks ago, at 43 years old, I had my tonsils removed, a horrible experience as an adult (I would have rather given birth to all of my children at the same time). My Yonanas kept me from going completely hungry. Because you can get really creative, it also kept me from getting tired of eating the same bland foods and was incredibly soothing on my inflamed throat. I got the same relief from ice cream, but would then be irritated by the "film" and buildup left behind by many dairy products. The Yonanas, doesn't leave the milk "film" so the relief was longer lived.

It's so much fun! I would totally buy again! In fact I am sending my mother, who is a diabetic, one for her birthday. Of all her pre-diagnosis treats she misses ice cream the most, now she won't have to.
review image
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2014
This thing totally works awesome for frozen fruit, does everything it says and the kids love it. Also freezing pudding in ice cube trays comes out quite nice... but... When the kiddo's are asleep (YES I use this while my 2 year old sleeps, it's isn't THAT loud, everyone seems to have supersonic ears or something, trust me it's not that bad!) I keep ice cube trays full of fruit juice, my favorite being pineapple juice, that I run through the machine which is great in itself because it comes out as a nice Italian ice treat, but I don't stop there, I put it in a glass, add coconut rum, a splash of cranberry juice and mix it up to create what can only be described as tropical bliss and enjoy that I didn't waste a ton of money on a huge cumbersome Margaritaville blender/ice shaver.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 7, 2015
In 5 uses, my opinion of the Yonanas changed from "wow, 5 stars without hesitation!" to "WARNING - DO NOT USE!"

Uses 1 - 3: I absolutely loved the Yonanas and would have given it 5 stars without hesitation. I was enjoying frozen banana soft serve "ice cream" that I mixed with chocolate powder, also a "tutti fruity" frozen dessert of frozen bananas, frozen cherries and frozen blueberries.

Use #4 - Used the machine and my husband and I enjoyed a "black forest ice cream" of frozen bananas, frozen cherries, and cocoa powder stirred in. When I went to disassemble the machine, the black "blender" portion of the machine got stuck, and I had a very difficult time getting it off. I thought perhaps I had locked it in to tightly, and resolved to be more careful next time. Once I finally got the machine disassembled it was very easy to clean.

Use #5 - I was eating my frozen "tutti fruity" dessert and found myself pulling small shreds of white plastic out of my mouth! The blade had shredded white plastic from the machine. I checked the 1-star reviews and found that other people were experiencing the same thing. Again, when I dissembled the machine, it was very difficult to get the black blender portion off.

As far as I'm concerned, the shredded plastic coming off into the food is a deal breaker. I will report this to the company and the Consumer's Union. Also, I will go back to making frozen banana desserts in my food processor. It takes 5 minutes or so longer than using the Yonanas, but IMO the frozen dessert is just as good.
22 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2012
So far I've tried frozen bananas w/ frozen strawberries (a bit icy), frozen bananas with frozen pineapple (less icy), and frozen banana with frozen vanilla pudding - DING, DING, DING - we have a winner! This combo made a smooth, truly soft-serve style dessert that my toddler kept wanting to steal bites of. It was like a banana cream soft serve. I just made instant pudding using 1% milk, froze in an ice cube tray, and threw in about 4-5 frozen cubes with 1.5 frozen bananas. Made about 2 adult-sized servings. So yummy! Next going to crumble graham cracker crumbs on top for the true banana cream pie experience. I'm excited to try butterscotch, pistachio, and chocolate frozen puddings, too! (PS - you don't need the deluxe model Yonanas- the $50 model is all you need for great desserts...)
66 comments| 242 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2012
I am having a REALLY tough time comprehending the negative reviews I have read about this product! My family received this as a Christmas gift, and I am so grateful to our neighbors for giving it to us!

First off, there is no learning curve. Simply freeze bananas (and other fruit, if desired,) the night before. We let them thaw for 10 minutes on the counter, then went directly to ice cream textured perfection on the very first try. I'm serious; this is truly easy. Rarely have I encountered a product that actually does exactly what it is supposed to do so easily and immediately. The directions are simple and easy to follow. I am no body builder at 5'6', 130 lbs., and both me and my petite 18-year-old daughter were able to shove the frozen fruit through quite easily.

Yes, it is noisy, but you're not running it for very long. I am a truly noise sensitive person. I HATE noise and love quiet, am always turning down the volume on the tv, etc., and I find the noise level of Yonanas completely tolerable for a short period of time.

Another point-you cannot duplicate the creamy texture this product delivers with a food processor of blender. It cannot be done. This does not create a smoothie or shake.Yonanas really makes a creamy consistency very much like ice cream. Of course, if you do not like bananas at all, you will probably not like them from the Yonanas machine, either. We made our first batch with strawberries (delicious,) and are looking forward to trying out other fruit combinations.

Lastly, cleaning up could not be easier. It actually disassembles into 5 washable pieces (hand or dishwasher.) I can't understand how some reviewers found it difficult to clean. Ours rinsed clean in seconds. I did use hot water and soap, and washed it right away. Maybe that's key.

Added bonus- as another reviewer stated, no more throwing out brown bananas. My four-year-old daughter loves bananas, but doesn't always eat them before they go bad. Now when I see them getting brown, I throw them (peeled) into the freezer to add to my supply!

Overall, a fantastic product, easy to use, a breeze to clean AND reassemble. If you want to eat healthier, or just want to have a frozen treat ready at hand, give it a try! I imagine this would be great for a kid's party. Stock up on frozen fruit, let the kids pick their own recipe, and let the fun begin!
11 comment| 149 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 103 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.