Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W650 16.1 MP Digital Camera with 5x Optical Zoom and 3.0-Inch LCD (Black) (2012 Model)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 22, 2012
Camera is compact and light weight. It has all the basic features you would need for great pictures and it is fairly easy to use. I was able to play with it for less than 5 minutes and have all the controls figured out without looking at a manual. The battery life seems great as I just got back from a week long vacation and after snapping over 150 photos I still have almost a full battery. I am also very impressed with how great my pictures turned out, vivid colors and great contrast.
66 comments| 116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2012
I purchased this product as I planned a last-minute visit to the Niagara Falls and, being on a business trip, I had nothing else to immortalize this moment than my smartphone and its lousy camera. After unpacking it, I first tried it indoors and was not impressed at all: mediocre yellowish pictures, noisy and grainy. I tried to disable the (weak) flash and it got worse. I was tempted to return it immediately but decided to give it a try outdoors. When I started to shoot the falls, I became very quickly addicted to this litte gizmo. In most of the cases, the camera is able to deal with the subject, although I would recommend the usage of the advanced scene mode: facing violent contrasts, the camera shoots automatically twice with different exposure parameters, which increases the odds to get a good shot. Smart.

The exposure can be easily fixed manually, using the "manual" mode (in fact, an automatic mode that can be adjusted). In a matter of seconds, over-exposed white water on dark rocks takes texture, to the droplet. It is a bit of trial and error, but delivers quick results. The panorama function works very well, delivery much better pictures than the lousy prints available in the souvenir shop. I also gave it a chance to show how it works with video: better than average sound (if not too much wind), functional and silent zoom and again, surprising image quality. As the light changed due to overcast clouds, I adjusted the settings and the camera obediently followed, again delivering satisfying stills. The zoom works fine. It's not a super-zoom but the resolution is good enough to enable enlargement on the PC.

Happy with the outdoor quality, I decided to give it another try indoors, using the advanced mode P. To my surprise, the various settings, including several white balance modes, enabled to fix the initial issues and I got noise-free, decent-quality pictures under artificial lighting. I fumbled a bit with the flash and while I find it a bit rough, it's within expectations.

Outdoor picture quality is really great for the price - I was really positively surprised by the sharpness and color quality, which is still far from SLR standards but surprising for a compact. The autofocus is decent, shutter speed good, transfer speed correct. The camera behaves predictably. It is more limited indoors but still very decent once one gets used to it. I was not disturbed by the lack of functionality to adjust speed or aperture as I'm using it for point-and-shoot, which it does pretty well in general. It's not a function-rich camera, but what's built in is useful and working well (the online manual may need some polishing though).

I'm giving it five stars because this Sony camera exceeds consistently my value-for-money expectations. It cannot be a substitute for more serious hardware (I own a Sony Alpha and my wife is a NEX user) but it is definitively the camera I will take on business trips or in my breast pocket for a casual walk in the park.
11 comment| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2012
So the image quality isn't perfect- but it's pretty darn close (the only reason this camera got 4 stars instead of 5). I like taking pictures with it. The menu features are really easy to figure out, so it's no trouble changing the settings to my liking. My favorite part of the camera? the Panorama view- I think Sony was genius with that addition! Definitely worth the money- and Sony has a pretty good name in cameras so you know it's a good investment. Total bonus- I love that my camera is red- not just boring black or silver.
22 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2012
This purchase was great. Sony always delivers amazing quality. The camera has some great features and is state of the art. The bundle is a nice deal price-wise; The memory card has more than enough capacity and the case is OK (It's not as nice as others, but it's good for keeping the camera safe). I recomend this product.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2012
This is a fantastic camera in it's price class. I was surprised by it's size ( as small as a cell phone ) but with that said, it packs alot of punch. Takes great pictures and is easy to operate. The only drawback is low light pictures aren't as sharp as could be. All in all you get alot for the money with this Sony,
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2012
This a wonderful camera. Camera is compact and light weight. 16 megapixels. You will get a GREAT camera for a little over $100.Very easy to use, takes amazing pictures for the price and size. I would highly recommend anyone buying this camera. it takes video, and panoramic pictures. fast shipping.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2012
Purchased it for my wife's birthday - perfect little camera that she can take anywhere and fits into a small bag. Having the 16.1 captures and prints pictures nicely and we like the other point and shoot features. Great camera for the price!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2013
I purchased two of these cameras, one for my fiancee and one for myself. We both wanted something that we can always take with us. This camera fits in a men's dress shirt pocket and is completely concealed. We have used these cameras for the past six months and they have produced amazing pictures. We are both extremely happy with these little photographic wonders.

I own three cameras ... this one...an Olympus XZ-1 ... and a Nikon D7000 DSLR, and I use all three ...mostly the DSLR whenever I can.

This camera gets 5 stars for the following reasons and considering that it is a pocket camera (not a DSLR ;-) - digital single lens reflex camera):

1) The size of the camera is only 3.8 inches x 2.2 inches with a 3" back review LCD screen (230k dots resolution, awesome for this little wonder) and less than an inch thin (0.8") with control elements that even a grown man can reasonably operate. So very compact but well designed elements.

2) The camera has 16.1 MP and has outstanding Carl Zeiss optics (5x optical zoom).
Carl Zeiss optics are flawless in quality, and without the optics nothing else matters. That this camera has such a high quality lens is a great sign of what's behind the lens. The lens is image stabilized.

Lens Type : Carl Zeiss® Vario-Tessar®
Optical Zoom : 5x
Focal Length (35mm equivalent) : Still 16:9: 28-140mm / Still 4:3: 25-125mm / Movie 16:9: 29-145mm(SteadyShot Standard), 30-150mm(SteadyShot Active) / Movie 4:3: 35-175mm(SteadyShot Standard), f=37-185mm(SteadyShot Active)
Lens Construction : 6 elements in 5 groups (including 3 aspheric elements)
Minimum Focus Distance : iAuto:AF(W:Approx..5cm(0.16') to Infinity, T:Approx.100cm(3.28') to Infinity) / Program Auto:AF(W:Approx..5cm(0.16') to Infinity, T:Approx.100cm(3.28') to Infinity)
Aspheric Elements : 3
Steady Shot Mode:Active : Yes

Regarding the 16.1 MP image sensor. I shoot this sony with 10MP resolution because I don't like to deal with huge files and it makes little difference to my perceived quality of this image from this camera. However the results from this camera are truly outstanding. You can produce a good looking 20" X 30" poster from this 10MP image, so with 16.1 MP full resolution you will get all you ever need for casual photography ( for what this camera is really meant for). The resolution is adjustable with the easy to use menu screen: 16.1 MP, 10MP, 5MP (straight uploadable resolution to Facebook), VGA resolution (640x480 pixels for direct computer screen for a blog for example) all in 4:3 aspect ratio. You can also choose wide screen shooting modes (aspect ratio 16:9) in these resolutions: 12 MP and 2 MP.
So really plenty of options to adjust to your needs/preferences.

3) The camera can be operated in different camera modes including P (for most manual control):
Intelligent Auto (works great), Program Auto (most control for the user), Picture Effect (for the instant artist ;-), 4 modes ), and scene mode (11 scene modes wow).

a) Intelligent Auto: This is my main mode to use this camera for plain fun snap shots without having to think. This camera is great in focusing, choosing modes and getting the best picture for you most of the time and instantly. In iAuto you get to further select EASY mode (simplified menu and larger font for the true point and shooter who just rather not deal with anything except take a great picture), image resolution, single shooting or continous shooting (1 fps up to 100 shots), EV (exposure correction -2.0 to +2.0) basically to adjust image brightness, iScene auto and advanced,smile detection sensitivity (three settings),Face detection (off,auto,child priority,adult priority,in camera guide,operation settings menu (time,date,sounds).
b) Program Auto: this gives you more choices for those more familiar with photography. It is actually quite amazing to me how many cool features have been carried from advanced photography into this one-click-wonder. same controls as in a) above but in addition these... ISO settings: Auto, 80,100,200,400,800,1600,3200; White Balance: Auto,Daylight,Cloudy,Fluorescent 1,2,3, Incandescent,Flash,One Push and One Push Set (for custom white balance, cool!); Auto Focus: Multi AF,Center AF,Spot AF; Metering Mode: Multi,Center,Spot; DRO (recovering of tones in image): Off,standard,plus;
c) Picture effect: I haven't used these...you can do it with photoshop etc, but why bother with complex software as a poin and shooter with these fun features?! ...and instant gratification with Toy Camera: shoot images with the effect of a toy camera ... i guess it sounds like a toy camera (the shutter release haha) ... Pop effect: shoot images in pop and colorful colors ... Partial color: shoots dramatic images coloring only the extracted colors (extract red, green, blue, yellow)...like a red rose in a black and white pic ...sweet...Soft High key Effect: shootswarm fresh photos emphasizing the bright areas.

4) It takes amazing video (i didn't buy it for video, but it does do a great job) but hey I take it and it is a bonus to me.
Video Format : MP4(AVC/H.264)
Video Mode : 1280x720(Fine)(1,280x720/30fps)/1280x720(Standard)(1,280x720/30fps)/VGA(640x480/30fps)
Audio Format : AAC
Microphone/Speaker : Mono/mono

That sums up my reasons why I consider this a great 5 star camera and a fantastic buy for ANYONE.

This is a complete one-click-wonder and may become even a serious photographers little angel in the pocket (it is for me for sure) ... because the best camera is the one you have with you ... and if it has to fit in a pocket, this definitely the best!
77 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
This is my second Sony in this series. Both have taken 1000s of photos. The first one I dropped (my fault) and broke the viewing screen. I like d the Sony so I got a newer updated version with equally great results. The only little thing is the on/off switch should have a little more of a bump on it so you can feel it and not have to hunt for it the press it.

I give it a 99.99999999% rating. Buy one !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2012
This is one of the best cameras I have owned. It takes wonderful pictures and videos. Changing modes is as easy as sliding the button up or down. I loved it so much that when my adult son asked for a camera for his birthday I didn't even have to shop, there was no doubt which one he was getting. So we each have one and can not sing it's praises loud enough!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 19 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.