Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Intel Desktop Motherboard LGA1155 DDR3 1600 ATX - BOXDZ77GA-70K
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 24, 2012
I flashed the newest bios before doing anything (its system building 101 that you ALWAYS do this first, it is full up retarded not to) then loaded win7 without difficulty.

Also, obviously the Installation disk can be old, so you always go to the website to download the newest drivers.

Pretty much all these ivy bridge / sandy bridge motherboards are the same. Asus and EVGA might add a few more features, but I always buy from Intel for one reason:

BIOS support.

Intel makes the motherboards, reference designs, chips and CPUs that everyone else uses. Accordingly they write all the BIOS fixes as they come along.... then Asus etc. validate and release those (if they want and have the money available, think about that for a second). If you are on an Intel branded board, you always get every BIOS fix, everytime, as soon as it comes out.

Asus and other brands have outright refused to fix stuff that was fixed on Intel boards many times.... These fixes are there, just Asus hasn't had a big enough customer demand it. Intel's customers are Dell and HP so they MUST fix ALL problems.

Intel boards come out a little earlier, so sometimes you may get a bleeding edge problem if you choose to buy a brand new board.... but the difference with Intel is: you KNOW they will fix it.

Since I started buying Intel.... I've seen many noobs complain of no boot on a product that's been out 1 week and they haven't flashed the BIOS or make a pilot error about how to do it (there are 5 ways you can try with this board)... but I've NEVER had an Intel board with a problem that didn't get fixed.... which has happened with Taiwan brands many times over the years, and I've been doing this for 20 years.

This board is a top of the line choice with 2nd and 3rd gen Core Intel CPUs, its got
- a great UEFI BIOS with mouse support and automated overclocking,
- onboard hybrid hardware / software RAID,
- actual high quality Intel (not cheapo) Gigabit Ethernet,
- comes with integrated Motorola Bluetooth and a VERY good RAlink Wifi N adapter, (these come on a USB adapter pod / antenna you attach to the inside of the case, very smart design and very good performance)
- dual USB 3.0, black 3.5 inch external bay adapter with 20 pin motherboard cable
- and Dolby surround with every connection you can think of

don't listen to fanboys trying to imitate experts and whining about Intel boards because they didn't know what they were doing, Intel doesn't deserve that.... this is a good product. enjoy

NOTE:
I've loaded UEFI on windows 7 on these boards without a problem many times, but you will need to modify the DVD or USB image you are installing it from as MS did not enable UEFI install by default

the easiest way is to use the MS usb install tool with a 4gb or greater USB and make an install USB

in the \efi\microsoft\boot directory. Copy this directory one level up so the files also reside under \efi\boot.

Copy the bootmgfw.efi file to \efi\boot, and rename it to bootx64.efi.

boot the USB and it will install on UEFI fine... of course make sure you have flashed the newest BIOS first.
review image review image review image
3131 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2012
I recently purchased and assembled the Intel DZ77GA-70K motherboard with the Intel i7-3770K processor combined with 8 GB of mediocre Corsair CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 memory. I am using the motherboard's HDMI output and running 1680 X 1050 without any video card. I use the on-board sound system with amplified speakers.
My Windows 7 64-bit Experience Index is:
Processor 7.7
Memory 7.7
Graphics 6.5
Gaming Graphics 6.5
Primary hard disk 7.6
My primary hard disk is the Intel 320 Series 120 GB SSD connected to one of the motherboard 3.0 Gb/s ports. The Intel Desktop Utilities report a 42 degree C processor in a 73 degree room using the stock Intel fan plus three case fans. The highest I have seen is 64 degrees C under some extreme multitasking. Fan speeds remain less than 1,000 RPM at all times, so fan noise is minimal.
I continually update my motherboard using all of the most recent Intel drivers and BIOS. (BIOS is currently 0045).
I am not a gamer, but I do multitask such as play iTunes while watching a web video and occassionally burning a DVD all at the same time. I can honestly report I have yet to experience any slowness or hesitation while doing all of those tasks at once. My previous Core 2 Quad Q6700 would have hesitated numerous times while running these exact same tasks.
Bottom line, you do not realize how slow a Core 2 Quad really is until you step up to a simple system like this. If I were a gamer I would invest in a decent video card but currently the overall performance is very acceptable and was well worth the effort and expense.

UPDATE 7-11-2012 Really enjoying this motherboard. Something useful to note, if you activate the "Fast Boot" feature on this motherboard it will delay the USB keyboard and USB mouse from working until the operating system arrives at the login screen. This delay prevents the "F2" key from accessing the BIOS setup.

If this happened to you, grab your old PS/2 keyboard and use it to enter the BIOS setup, then go to the "Fast Boot" feature and "Disable" the USB Fast Boot feature. Disabling will allow the USB devices to load immediately at boot and this will restore the F2 key function so you can access the BIOS using F2 on your USB keyboard. Note: Allowing USB devices to load at boot did not noticeably increase the boot time, this motherboard still boots quickly!
88 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 18, 2013
There is a lot to like about this board; software-based overclocking, high quality parts, and the Intel name, but it suffers from a significant flaw:

It will not boot Windows 7 (x64) in UEFI mode. It will boot it properly in legacy BIOS mode, and it will boot Windows 8 in UEFI mode, but not Windows 7 (as of May 2013 BIOS release). The initial boot process works fine, but it always locks up before you can get to the installation screen.

I worked with Intel tech support multiple times for hours, tried disconnecting everything, tried every combination of hardware, and they have no answers, and given that Intel has announced they're pulling out of the MB market, I suspect resources are being drawn down.

Its a shame, but I can't use the board, so I'll pass this along to someone who can live with legacy mode in Windows 7.

So a split review: Legacy BIOS users, I'd give it 4 stars, For UEFI users, 2 stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2012
This is truly an amazing motherboard. For it's price you get so much. It comes with a wifi access point so you just plug it into an available USB slot and you're done. It comes with usb 3.0, usb 2.0 and high current usb as well. It has a built in speaker so you can hear the beep to tell you it POST's properly. The BIOS is amazing. It's a visual bios, and you can scroll around with the mouth as well as easily overclock your CPU, Graphics card, or RAM. It comes with 4 6 Gb/s sata ports and 4 3 Gb/s. It comes with an extra 2 USB 3.0's and the motherboard itself has 2 slots for USB 3.0 sockets.

You name it, this board probably has it. The mother board comes with all necessary cables to do what you want to do, SLI graphics cards, etc. And the manuals and diagrams couldn't be easier.

Buy this motherboard. It's superb.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2015
I love the feature set on this board. It's also one of the last Extreme series boards Intel put out on their own. I worked at an Intel small OEM partner system builder and we used Intel boards and rarely had problems. When we did, Intel support was great. So I might have been a little brainwashed from the beginning and I haven't adopted another motherboard manufacturer just yet.

Yes, the processor isn't the latest and greatest, but still leaps over my old DX48BT2 and my old QX9770. Dual nics (great for virtualization or teaming), USB3 (lots of them), Intel RAID (which migrated my old RAID like a champ), DDR3 (got to reuse my old RAM, plan to upgrade later), and PCIe 3. Overall, this made for a great upgrade option over my older hardware as I didn't have to buy everything new again, just the CPU and motherboard. Though I did up the GPU and SSD while I was at it too.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2012
I must say I am very impressed. I had some concerns as to what the box contained. On the Intel website, it had things like a mousepad, wifi module, and USB 3.0 header. Thats exactly what this box contains. I chose standard shipping and the company overnighted it from Reno. I will post an update as to its performance it the upcoming weeks.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2014
What can I say? It's an INTEL motherboard made for SLI. I know a few people have bad-mouthed this particular product, BUT, IT WORKS. After trying to save $90 by purchasing an EXTREME6 board, and 9 or so days of pure frustration with it (ASRocks tech support people are very nice but couldn't help me), I went to Orlando and purchased one of these boards. It was up and running in no time at all (grandkids love it for their games). So, I purchased another thru Amazon at a bit better price. And it works perfect as well. I've replaced many boards for others and it just seems to me the INTEL boards are the best to work with....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2015
I LOVE this motherboard. It's the best motherboard I've ever owned. The Intel Visual Bios is absolutely remarkable. All the parts, cables, tools, mounting equipment, documentation and drivers included were the icing on the cake! It also came with a WiFi/Bluetooth adapter which I integrated into my case.

I'm running an Intel i7 3770 w/ 16GB DDR3 memory, Samsung 840 Evo for the OS, Samsung 850 Evo for data, and an LSI MeaRaid controller with 3TB array. There are wayyyy too many unused SATA ports, in the best way possible! Also, the abundance of USB ports is great. I was looking to buy a future-proof motherboard (aside from socket limitations) and I wouldn't recommend any other motherboard for this generation/socket.

Go Intel!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2015
Great board, performs well. Despite having set the proper options for USB in the BIOS, after a reboot it stops letting me use the keyboard to get into BIOS. Updated to latest BIOS, same issue so have to rely on motherboard button to get into BIOS. Not a huge issue but annoying nonetheless.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2013
Pros: Very stable, power efficient, good layout, lots of connectivity

Cons: Must use back to bios button to enter bios, because no power to mouse and keyboard till after OS boot. Not the best grounding on board, make sure you use the paper washers if installing Xigmatec dark knight cooler, without them you get the three beep memory error during boot.

FYI Do initial bios upgrade before you install OS without video card. Bios would just hang with video card installed without latest bios. I really enjoy using Intel boards usually, but this is the first Intel board I've used that had this many headaches, its a good board once you get past the bugs, but considering this is an Intel board not impressed.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 38 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.