Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Dell Inspiron i15N-2548BK 15-Inch Laptop (2.4 GHz Intel Core i3-2370M Processor, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Windows 7 Home Premium) Black [Discontinued By Manufacturer]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lori Mckenna Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 23, 2012
I bought this notebook to use primarily as a streaming device connected to my TV. It does this well. I also have a few games loaded on it and it runs them well with their settings turned down. I purchased this on Monday of black Friday deal week (2012) for $329 and then used Microsoft's windows upgrade offer (windowsupgradeoffer.com $15) to install windows 8. The verdict is still out on windows 8 but for the notebook I feel I got a good value. I especially like that it has a HDMI port so it is just one cable going to my TV for video and sound.

If i needed a second I would definitely buy another at the sale price and possibly at regular price. I gave it four stars because I would say I like it not love it. It would have to be faster to love it but that would also cost $500+. Overall I would recommend this notebook for streaming video, light gaming, paper typing, and internet.
11 comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
I don't review things very often, but I have decided to give it a go. Below is a list of things I thought were worth mentioning. Hopefully I will remember to update this over time.

It has a very pretty glossy finish. The only negative about this thus far is that it attracts smudges and fingerprints very easily.
Set up was really simple and fast. I did not have to uninstall many programs.
This is the first laptop I have had with the island style keyboard. It will take some time to get used to. In my opinion, it feels a bit clunky.
The optical drive is kind of loud. So far I have only used it to install a few games. I am hoping that it is not quite so loud while playing dvds.
Speaking of games, if you like to play The Sims 3, it works wonderfully.
The Windows Experience Index is 4.6
The webcam could use improvements.
The track pad is not jumpy and the zoom is fun to play with. The scrolling is going to take some practice though.
With default settings, the speakers kind of suck. (What I did to make it better: start/control panel/hardware and sound/sound/right click on speakers/headphones and choose properties/enhancements/check loudness equalization/apply)

Update one:
Thankfully the optical drive is not loud while playing dvds. However, something I have noticed is that when you open it while it is laying flat on a surface (the laptop) the disc holder thingy will scrape along the surface.
I had an issue after using sleep mode for the first time. After doing so, whenever I put it on hibernate, I would find that hours later it had turned itself on...by itself. I did quickly find a solution though and it has not repeated this since.

Update two (a year later):
Still a very good laptop. My least favorite thing is still the optical drive. It is just cheap and flimsy. (It does work though) The only new issue that has popped up for me involves the trackpad. It occasionally just slows down for some reason. I usually just press F3 to deactivate it and then again to reactivate and then it begins working correctly again. At this point I have played many games using this laptop and although you may have to adjust the settings, it still runs wonderfully.
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2012
Excellent for students, good quality in video and fast enough w/ regular MS applications, good responsein internet. It is not too heavy and it doesn't get too hot in your lap.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
I bought this laptop for my wife as a lightning deal on Cyber Monday and picked it up for 329.99. For this price point, I really felt like I couldn't do better. The laptop seems to be pretty solid with good hinges (sounds like a dumb point unless you have had a laptop with crappy hinges). The only part that seems kind of cheap is the keyboard, but for the price I can't complain too much.

It comes with an intel core i3 processor which is what really sold me (I could not find the core i series processors at this price point on any other laptops), as the HD and RAM can be upgraded at a pretty inexpensive price. My wife was adamant about having windows 8 so I purchased the pro upgrade at a reduced price through MS (after rebate from Dell, the upgrade is free). The upgrade went fairly well, however I had to do a bios upgrade in order to get the laptop screen to work with win 8 (the upgrade would seem to freeze after a certain point on me, but once i hooked it up to an external screen i was able to complete it, then found on the dell website that this is a known issue for this model).

I did a clean upgrade to 8 so i can't speak to the performance out of the box with all the bloatware, but for my wife's purposes (viewing videos, pictures, facebook, youtube, etc.) it runs great and is very quick on win 8.

Just a note on the weight. The 8lbs reported by amazon is the weight including shipping materials. The actual weight of the laptop is around 5lbs with a 15.7" screen and we are happy with that size/weight. We have not had a need to really test battery life so I can't speak to that aspect of it.

Overall we are very happy with this product and would consider buying it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
Purchased for daughter for college. After 3 years laptop still going strong. Battery tends to drain a lot quicker now but I think thats to be expected at this point. Got a great deal on this during black friday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2012
I am experincing the same wi-fi connection issue that Udayakiran posted, however, I'm not seeing the blue screen problem. If it weren't for the connection issue, this laptap would serve well for everyday home use for the gold box deal I got it for.

It's not the most portable of 15" laptop. As you can see from the picture that it is a bit on the thick side but those seeking an ultrabook would not be looking at this laptop. Some may say that the build quality is poor but it seems rigid enough. The black plastic body and the understated design may seem cheap or boring to some. Definitely doesn't have the sleekness or the rigid feel of aluminum unibody. There's no mistaking that this laptop is all about function over style.

The display is fine, the touchpad response is good and the hardware specs are well beyond the price I paid. The real design drawback to this laptop (connection issue I consider an isolated flaw) is the feel of the keyboard. The looseness and rattling of the keys every time you type screams cheap. Other budget laptops I owned had much better keyboards. I don't think the keys will crumble or fall out but every key stroke is a reminder that it's a budget laptop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
Finally got fed up and sent this computer back. It kept shutting down Windows, and would say there was no internet connection even though the other laptop was connecting fine. The final straw was when the computer went to black screen with a message stating 'driver power state failure'. Enough already. Two weeks of nothing but trouble.

Update on 12/28/12 Sent this off on Monday the 24th and got an email yesterday that Amazon has processed the refund. Awesome! I was a bit apprehensive about ordering an expensive product online but am very pleased with the quality of customer service provided. Thank you Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
Used to think highly of Dell computers till I got this. Have to keep refreshing my internet browser EVERYTIME because it will not load. It's not my wifi because my internet works just fine on my ipad and other devices plus I have the same problem while using other networks. I have spent hours on the phone with DELL customer service and after all else failed, they restored to factory settings but still no difference. They tried to refer me to their software department to pay $130 because its "not a hardware problem and they are not software experts". Why do I have to pay so much money to fix a problem on a laptop that is still under factory warranty? Just horrible!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2014
I have only owned Dell desk tops and laptops for the past 10 years. This one, by far, is the cheapest made I have ever seen. First of all, Dell changed the keyboard from standard to having the calculator keys on the right side which makes typing a little harder (their photo shows the standard). The case is flimsy and actually bends when picked up! I think I could have dropped my older Dell on concrete without damaging it but I'd be afraid to drop this one on carpet (although I've never dropped one but...). I've had numerous problems with it but have been blaming the software (Microsoft updates/changes their Office software about every 20 minutes, I think). These problems included not saving documents and a very strange layout for Outlook. I'm happy with the speed of this Dell but can't recommend buying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
I had been looking for a laptop as backup to my Dell desktop for some time. I wanted one with Windows 7 as opposed to Win 8. On Black Friday night I received an e-mail from Amazon about this laptop. After doing some research I ordered it. I day shipping was free with my particular credit card. I received it on following Monday afternoon.

Everything came up and ran correctly. I was able to load all of my application programs. I was able to connect to my wireless network with no problem. I had a problem connecting to to the internet via wireless when using battery mode. It worked perfectly when the laptop was plugged into the wall outlet. I found that there was a setting in advanced power settings that reduced the power consumption of the wireless adapter. I changed it to a better reception setting, and I've had no problem since.

I definately would recomment this laptop, but all current models will probably be shipped with Windows 8.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.