Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Tides & Currents
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 3, 2012
Very easy to use on my Kindle Fire. I kayak all over Washington coastal rivers and in Japan. you do not need to be onlinear to use it. It works perfect for planning launch times. I just cannot say enough about it. A great companion for my GPS. If you have a Kindle Fire and need to know tides or currents even in far off places the get this app. You will love it!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
02/14/2016
I am updating this post and restoring my rating to 5 starts. The issue noted below had nothing to do with the app. It was caused by an update to the Samsung Note 4 (and other phones) that changed the way the phone software deals with Amazon apps. It is necessary to UNINSTALL the Tides and Currents app and the Amazon app itself. Logon to Amazon on your computer and REMOVE the device (Your Account / Your Android Apps and Devices). Using the normal Amazon "store" app (this is not the app you just uninstalled which only focuses on their "apps.") which should still be on your phone - go to the menu and open "Underground Apps." Search for Tides and Currents and re-install. When you open this app, it will ask that you sign-on to your Amazon account. This is the key. Once you do this - all is OK and you'll be able to download Amazon apps with no problem.

ORIGINAL POST
Samsung Note 4. Ran fine for past year but since last Note 4 update around 2/10/16, says INTERNAL SERVICE ERROR then APP NOT OWNED .. I did purchase it and when reinstalling, Amazon correctly does not try to charge me again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
Too difficult to find specific locations. Have to scroll through thousands of locations only to find Lincoln City or Siletz Bay not even listed. When I did finally find a useful area I couldn't add it to the favorites list. Like I'm going to scroll through that mess every time I want to look at the tide. You should at least be able to search by state or location. It's just easier to go to the web from my tablet, Google Oregon tides, and Bam. Oregon tides. Some of these apps are just too convoluted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2016
Hey FLYTOMAP why did you abandon this fabulous app? I have had this app on two older Motorola Droids and rated it the best tide app out there. Simple, graphical, plenty of tide stations, moon and sun info, easy to keep a list of favorites. I recently hard reset my aging Samsung Galaxy 10.1 tab and had to search to find this app (even though I had bought it through Amazon!) Finally loaded it on the tab manually, and it worked perfect. Now I have upgraded to a Samsung Galaxy 7 phone and cannot get Tides & Currents to work at all. Tried several different install methods, and still no success. Seriously, how can you make such a fine app and not bother to support it in the Android Universe? Are you a crowd of elite, effete Apple snobs? From other comments it appears you have orphaned this fine app. Doesn't ONE of your developers care enough to fix this? I mean, dayum!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
This is a great app on my HTC Thunderbolt phone and supposedly works on my smaller Kindle but I'm disappointed that it isn't compatible with my new Kindle Fire HD 8.9.

Gave it 4 stars because it is a great app - make it work for the new Kindle and it's a five-star app.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2016
Good, useful App. I use it to estimate the tides n my area (Southeast Alaska) where we have between 6' and 21' tides. So far, it has been accurate, and has not let me down. It is fairly intuitive and easy to read. JBK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2013
I like this app. I appreciate the scrolling feature that lets you move back and forth in time. It took me a minute to reconcile the difference in UI between the smartphone and kindle versions but I have used this on my phone and now look forward to using it on my new Kindle too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2013
this works really well when I go to the beach ... of course you could always just use (GASP) a paper tide tables that you can pick up most places for free... but hey its electronic so that is always good ...most of the time....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2015
I downloaded what thought would be an awesome and useful app. Unfortunately, after loading it wouldn't open. Then upon uninstall it caused my phone to restart which has never happened before. Very disappointing that an app has so many issues on so many devices. I loaded on a Samsung Note 3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
Works well but when I turn the phone off and restart the "Fly To" function takes me to New Jersey....I'm in South Carolina!! After a couple more "Fly To" attempts I end up in SC.......hopefully a future update will fix this.......otherwise it works very well!!
Thanks!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.