Customer Review

Reviewed in the United States on February 10, 2019
I know I say this every time but this was an amazing book, very intense, full of action and I love love love Dustin Graves.
This time, the trouble strikes very close to home, some alliances are tested, new ones created, and Dustin is growing up, becoming stronger and more serious. A very special person is back and we get to know them so much better. This was my favourite part of the story, I cannot deny it.
I am still not sure how I feel about a more capable and more serious all grown up Dustin, but I guess it was inevitable. He was so adorable being saved all the time and escaping trouble by pure luck, that I am still getting used to him being fully capable of taking care of himself.
Sterling is still amazingly cool, and Asher is just as adorable as Dustin was, only a lot more in touch with his powers. Carver becomes a little less of a mystery and Bastion has a family! It did seem at times that all the Lorica people were hatched from eggs and had no relatives whatsoever. 
The action in this book was so nerve wrecking, probably due to all the very personal stuff that was happening with the characters, I had to pause reading several times! This was an amazing book, as expected. This author never disappoints and I can't wait to read more. Fortunately, the next book is almost here. 
The books are best read in order. Reading order is Penumbra (Darkling Mage Book 0), Shadow Magic (Darkling Mage Book 1), Dark Harvest (Darkling Mage Book 2), Grave Intentions (Darkling Mage Book 3), Oblivion Heart (Darkling Mage Book 4), Midnight's Son (Darkling Mage Book 5) and Last Rites (Darkling Mage Book 6).
Report abuse Permalink

Product Details

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
54 global ratings