Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on April 21, 2017
Sure, it's blasphemous, but if you picked up this book to begin with you weren't afraid of a little blaspheming, now were you? Truth is, this book is remarkably tame in the blaspheme category, as it is written from the standpoint that Jesus of Nazareth was indeed The Christ (remember, not his surname, folks). The book simply provides an alternate view of... how he got where we all know he wound up. It's a good read -- funny, tender, human -- and surprisingly supportive of the narrative we all know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 3, 2017
So, if you've judged this book by it's cover through the view of your incredibly long nose and judgement colored spectacles, you're missed out. This book tells the life of Jesus Christ from a HUMAN point of view- that of his best friend Biff. Did Jesus have a best friend? Who knows; the gospels don't mention it. Who taught Jesus about love and one's fellow man? Unsure. Maybe it was innate. But this book does an amazing job at giving Jesus some humanity (and while divine, Jesus as also human. One of the great mysteries. Read it with an open mind and don't be afraid to laugh. You'll enjoy it, I promise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 14, 2017
You think you know Jesus and His story.... but you don't. Moore has managed to weave together a tale of Jesus (or as his best pal Biff calls him, Joshua) in his youth as he embarks on the journey to truly understanding what it means to be the "Messiah." As it turns out, he's far from perfect. Jesus wasn't born all-knowing; in fact, he's a mischievous child like any other child, who happens to receive news that he's the Messiah 10 years too late (the angel, Raziel, was a little late in delivering his message due to his gambling habits), and must discover for himself what it means to be the Messiah.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 15, 2017
I just loved it. It combines fact and fiction. It was sad and funny at the same time. I think it would have been wonderful for Jesus to have really had a best friend like Biff. He tried to be Jesus' buffer against the world
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 28, 2017
I loved Lamb! I am not particularly religious but enjoyed this story very much. Love how it was told. I do not reread books but not only reread it several times but bought multiple copies (I shared my first two copies with friends and never got them back). It's a great "go to" book when you need to take life less serious or just need a break to laugh a little. Lamb is one of the books that makes you laugh out loud, often. My family wont let me read it when they are in the room since I am constantly giggling (apparently disrupting their life). Have read other Moore books. Loved them, too but I have to say this is my favorite book ever. If you like parody & sarcasm and not offended by every little thing, this is the book for you. Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 9, 2017
Incredibly witty and profound. Some may find it sacrilegious or profane but any belief system should be able to handle some satire. The "missing" 30 years of Jesus' life in the Bible are open to any interpretation and this one seems on point. And while it gives Mary and the Magdalene greater importance than in the traditional story, still seems like something is missing. I am not an adherent of any patriarchal religion so the emphasis on a "savior" being the only way to salvation is deeply unsettling. The world is in the mess it is in because their are three major patriarchal religions claiming they are the "true" one and are willing to kill for it. It is difficult to change millennium of beliefs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 22, 2016
This has to be one of my favorite books of all time. As a devout Catholic, I didn't find it even slightly sacreligious (as some people do). It is a FICTIONAL account of the life of Jesus, particularly those "missing years" before His Passion, as told by his best friend Levi who is called Biff. From the origins of coffee to why we feel compelled to eat Chinese food on Christ's birthday, the author gives explanations for traditions that make you say "Oooooooh, so THAT'S why." before giggling and turning the page. I have gifted this book several times over, with rave reviews every time. Do yourself a favor, find out what it was like for Jesus to be a hormonal teenager.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 11, 2017
I found the first part of the book great fun. The last part I enjoyed less. Biff should understand Joshua better after a life of traveling together. Perhaps it was Biff's perspective, but it seems that anger issues and repressed sexual desires became central, and healings became treated as commonplace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 26, 2017
I've purchased this book for multiple people, ranging from hardcore Christians to staunch atheists. It's always received well. As someone who grew up Christian and studied eastern traditions exhaustively in college, this book does a fantastic job of showing the large degree of overlap without feeling like it's trying to teach you anything. You're laughing consistently while reading about the Torah, the changes Jesus proposed toward a more compassionate approach, the concepts of the bodhisattva and atman, and the occasional mythological creature. I have not yet met someone who shouldn't read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon May 18, 2010
Levi who is called Biff has been resurrected only to find himself locked in a hotel room with an Angel. Why? Well, it seems that he was the best friend of Josh (Jesus) and it is time that he write his own gospel.

The adventures that Biff and Josh experience are... incredible. As they should be. They are, after all, trying to prove to the world, or at the very least to themselves, that Josh is really the son of God.

If you are so devoted that you cannot have a sense of humor when it comes to a fictional accounting of what the early years of Jesus may have been like, skip this. If you feel that Jesus was born perfect, skip this. If you feel he'd never have chatted about sex with his buddies, skip this. If you believe Jesus would never have sworn, skip this.

On the other hand, if you want a fun read that paints Jesus as both a real young man and the Messiah then this is for you.

And for the record, no, you don't really need to know the Bible to appreciate this book. If you've so much as heard of the biggies, which most of us have, that'll get you through. I've not read the Bible myself and still loved this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse