YED Best kids' books of February Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Beauty & Grooming Shop Popular Services biglittlelies biglittlelies biglittlelies  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Ryan Adams Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
66
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 66 reviews
on July 25, 2000
This book is a must for anyone who loves formal poetry (sonnets, villanelles, pantoums e.t.c.). After decades of so called "free verse" the formal poem is making a come back. This book explains each form in detail, provides the history of the form and many of the best examples. A "close up" on each form tells about an individual poet who uses that form. It would make a perfect text for a course on formal poetry. In fact, the teacher that recommended it to me uses it in her college courses.
22 comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2010
Of all the anthology's of Poetic Forms, this is the best at showing the precise differences between each poetic form. Each poetic form has an "At a Glance" section which provides the exact differences, sort of cookbook style. Other books in this category are: Handbook of Poetic Form (excellent for it's breadth), How to be Well Versed, Rhyme's Reason.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book got me writing Villanelles.
Who woulda thought how fun that is?

Great resource for poets, and teachers.

forever,
Annie

Annie Lanzillotto
author of "L is for Lion: an italian bronx butch freedom memoir" SUNY Press
and "Schistsong" BORDIGHERA Press

www.annielanzillotto.com

L Is for Lion: An Italian Bronx Butch Freedom Memoir (SUNY series in Italian/American Culture)
Schistsong (Via Folios)
Blue Pill
Carry My Coffee (Live)
Eleven Recitations
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2017
I like this book, overall.

After finding the hardback in a local used bookstore, I ordered a paperback copy through Amazon and subsequently adopted it as one of my Literary Genres course texts. Strand and Boland don't seem entirely content with the book, given their restrictive principles of selection, and probably no genres teacher will find it entirely sufficient. The text gives introductions to some popular closed forms (villanelles, sestinas, sonnets, pantoums, and ballads, as well as heroic couplets, stanza types, and blank verse), "shaping forms (odes, elegies, and pastorals), open forms (free verse poems), and meter.

The primary weakness of the book for my classes is that it doesn't supply footnotes to poems with topical, mythic, and literary allusions that inevitably require explanation for contemporary understanding, classroom or otherwise. This editorial decision is different to most Norton Anthologies I am familiar with. Some of Strand and Boland's introductions seem, to my taste, wordy and theatrical, especially in contrast to their helpful "At a Glance" modules that clearly explain each genre and which begin each chapter.

On a positive note, and my opinion of the book is far more positive than negative, the poems are presented in a, typically, chronological sequence and thus illustrate a historical-development conception of the genres while throwing a spotlight on issues of canonicity and sheer intertextuality. The font size is appropriate, a problem with a number of those tiny-print thoroughly-footnoted Norton anthologies I reference above. If Norton were tailoring the volume to actual literary genres classes, it might instate footnotes, update biographies, and represent some more genres. Could we have some ghazals,epigrams, suras, ruba'iayat, psalms, haiku, etc.? Could they fit a short epic or verse romance in there?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2012
Even though much contemporary poetry is written in free verse, there are lots of imaginative poets working within the limitations and challenges of formal poetry, using traditional forms. This book will help you understand those forms, whether you are trying to read a poem that uses them or write a poem within them.

In my household, this book has found use both as college textbook, in a literature class, and as poet's handbook, on a writer's shelf. It served both purposes well. A reader who comes across a formal poem may want to understand the form, its history and construction. He or she may want examples that both follow and flaunt the rules. And a poet who wants to experiment with a form may want similar help.

Yes, there are more forms than these. But it is a good starting point, getting at 80% of what one is likely to run across in poetry reading, and the ground it covers, it covers well, balancing a clear list of the "rules" governing a particular form as well as variations on those rules and examples as to what might be done within the confines of the form.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2015
Each section describes a poetic form and then shows many examples from first rate poets. Some are really exotic. The only failing is that it does not introduce the Japanese forms and those are not as exotic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2014
The seller got this book to me super quickly and I was happy with the condition and content. This is becoming one of my favorite textbooks, actually, so I'm really glad I bought it and getting it at a good price makes it even more of a good thing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2009
Wish I had this book years ago. Perfectly arranged by type of poem with helpful "At a Glace" pages that quickly explains the form of the poem. For instance, "The Vinanelle at a Glance" lists six basics that form the Villanelle. This book is invaluable for a student or a lover of poetic form. It is complete with classic and contemporary poems. Of course, the book is a Norton Anthology - who always publish quality books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2013
and does so quite well.
This text is like a bible for my poetry professor and it does the trick well.
It segments types of poetry and tells you the characteristics of each.
A great complimenting text is "In the Palm of Your Hand"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
Exactly what I was loking for to introduce me to poetic forms I did not know well, or know how to use. Scholarly, a bit dry, but I expected that. The poetry is amazing. Good selections
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse