YED Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Subscribe & Save nav_sap_shop_all_hm_cal Shop now Book House Cleaning Paterson Paterson Paterson  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Go Explore Outdoor Recreation on Amazon NYNN

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$34.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews(Verified Purchases). Show all reviews
on November 2, 2008
This is one of the best books available for anyone serious about learning more on any given subject within Biblical Theology. The articles are surprisingly detailed for a one volume book and will be a great starting point for further study if you really wanted to get deep. The Theology is conservative and balanced and I cannot recommend this enough, it is a MUST HAVE book for your library and the revised volume is even better than the original first edition.

If you only by one general Theology book, make sure it is this one. If you only buy 2, then get this and Wayne Grudem's Systematic Theology. Between these 2 books you will get most of what you need about anything!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2015
What a great source of information for any theologians library and it was $20 cheaper to buy this hard cover edition than it was to buy the Logo electronic version. I truly enjoy using this book in my graduate studies of Theology.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2015
Such an awesome book. I bought it as a requirement for a class but I am going to keep this book and use it in the future. This look literally addresses every concept, misconception and theological issue one can think of with evidence of when and why the Christian church believes what it does. Some areas give scripture to back up it's views but not enough. The bible is equipped to answer all of these topics too and that is why I'm giving it a 4 instead of a 5, because they're could be a lot more scriptural evidence than there is. But nevertheless, it's still a great reference for teaching, writing papers, speaking or just answering someones or your own questions on why the Christian church does what it does.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2014
For theological students, pastors and professionals like historians, this Theological Dictionary is a really helpful tool. Although written by a great number of experts, its academic treatment and style shows a unity in diversity – thanks to the rigorous guidance of the editor Dr. Walter Elwell. These diversity and unity you will find also in the broad and open interpretation of the word Evangelical in its title: it is a Dictionary that gives objective information with (of course) on certain places a specific Evangelical judgment. Especially I recommend it to online students (not living on a Campus with a good library or living – as myself – in a developing country without access to any academic library) and pastors working in remote areas. With this book on your working table you have a small theological library in your home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2013
I, of course, have not read this whole work cover to cover, but it is a reference every Bible teacher should have! It covers a broad range of topics, and one can find short passages on influential Christians, theological topics (e.g. attributes of God), biblical topics (e.g. peace), social issues (e.g. abortion), and many more. It is very helpful to have relatively short discussions on these topics rather than having to read or search through whole books.

The only drawback is that some articles are not written as thoroughly, or have as many verse references, or are as clear, but this is because of the varying authors that have contributed. By and large, most every topic is well written and biblically based.

I highly recommend this work to all Bible teachers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
I absolutely love this book. Elwell does a great job of explaining the terms in layman, clear and concise language. The large print is an extra plus. It will definitely remain among my favorites during study time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
I have used this book during my seminary days and decided to purchase my own copy for the personal library. The resources provided are extremely helpful when conducting biblical research. I hope another edition will be forthcoming. In the meantime I will continue to use this one. The book arrived on time and in great condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
I had to read this thing from cover to cover for a reading course I did. It wasn't easy and I didn't always enjoy it but it's one of those things that pay off in the end. You will become familiar with names and terms that are important in theology and philosophy especially.
I have returned to it over and over to refresh my memory, to research topics that I'm studying, and it is usable as a reliable, quotable source.
Negatives... around 10 years old, hopefully a 3rd Edition comes sometime. Always good to keep up with the times and new findings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2012
The morning after I ordered this item, it was in the mail shipped! I ordered this item on Wednesday night and received it Friday afternoon with standard shipping. This product said it was used but it was brand new and never used, but because of a small ding and a publisher overstock, I got it a new book for a used price. Very very good service. Strongly recommend buying through this dealer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2008
This is a great resource, but it is extremely Reformed in its perspective. The article on the means of grace, for instance, does not discuss the Lutheran view. The reader is often given the impression throughout this work that the standard or only view on various theological questions is that of the Reformed faith as opposed to the Lutheran or Arminian. That is problematic in that one of the chief founders of modern Evangelicalism, John Wesley, would come to typify the Arminian branch of Evangelicalism.

That said, the articles are of a very high quality and serve as an excellent resource for theological terms and ideas.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse