Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Drawing the Head and Hands
Workplace Solutions Best Kids' Books of the Year Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Gift with Purchase Gifts for Him hgg16 Get up to $100 back on House Cleaning services westworld westworld westworld  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Outdoor Deals on Amazon

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$31.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 130 reviews(verified purchases). Show all reviews
on July 11, 2014
It pains me to give such a poor review for this wonderful item, but please do yourself a favor and steer clear of the Kindle Version. It's nothing more than a very poorly sized and uploaded scan of someone's marked and underlined copy of the book! I would recommend this purchase unconditionally as long as you are buying the printed version, unfortunately quality issues prevented me from getting any use out of the digital version.
22 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2014
This book is a photo or scanned copy. Many of the pages are unreadable. The publisher, or whomever, has simply scaned this book into a computer and is now selling it. This is a complete rip off and Amazon should delete this from its Kindle menu, especially since many of the pages are blurry, have underlines, and are unreadable.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2015
Amazon needs to 're scan this book the illustrations are terribly low resolution so as to be useless. For a "how to" art book with notes and construction lines on the art scans this is UNACCEPTABLE. Some of the text and lines were illegible. Buy the hardcopy instead, the digital copy is borderline useless. Dont get the wrong idea, this is one of the best if not THE best, book on portrait sketching,.easily a classic, it's a shame the low resolution photos even when zoomed in distracts/intereferes with the lessons being taught & yes I have seen the full sized hardcover which is a beauty to behold and informative drawings illustrated full size.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2014
This is just a xerox copy of an old book, complete with pencil underlining from some reader in the past. I know the ordinal book is old, but this kindle version is so poorly done, I would say that it is not useful/useable, unless you want to read blurry text. Would not recommend this book in this format. I'll be buying the hardback version instead.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Loomis is really a "must have" for anyone inclined toward an artistic pursuit. While there are pdf files available online, these are far superior in quality, usability and durability. In an era of digital, I'm thrilled to find these superb resources! My thanks to the publisher...I've already pre-ordered the next in line.

Now, for the actual content...for those that are not familiar with Loomis, do yourself a favor and review his work FIRST. I've purchased many different tutorials but by far, Loomis is the best. His explanations are readable, engaging and pertinent. Examples are detailed yet not overwhelming. Trouble-shooting always seems to be right on target. Best of all, his understanding of the body is unsurpassed! The information on Head and Hands builds upon that of the general works. Originally I waivered on whether or not this was needed since there is some discussion in other works...due to the superb detailed instruction, I opted to purchase this and very glad I did so!

While many topics are fine for digital, this is one area where print really makes a difference.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2014
This rating is solely based on the Kindle version. Text is so bad I can't read it and there is no zoom option. Waste of money.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
Indispensable tome. Suck it up and pay what you have to to get this one. Try to ignore how he breaks it all down to a mathematical formula unless you want every portrait to look the same. But an excellent primer and fun to go through.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2014
The E-book version is photo copied. It sucks and it is impossible to read on my tablet. The pages can't be resized and the text is way to small. So unless you're gonna read it on a 50 inch TV you are S.O.L.! I can see where the book they scanned had notes scribbled inside it and different things highlighted. Crap crap crap!!! I can't even get my money back.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
Jack Hamms (s) book comes close to Andrews as far a being very useful for a beginner
(pencil sketching) Jack's cost about $7.00 and Andrew's cost approximately $30.00
I won't be giving either one of them up soon... unless the good Lord has other plans
for an old codger like me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2016
This is not a how to book. It won't give you step by steps on how to draw a face. It's not simple. It's not easy. It is mostly theory and information. It is, in my opinion, the best reference book on how to draw hands and faces ever made.

You will not ever find a book that says "do it like this and this and it will be perfect every time!" because ever subject, every pose is different. The lighting is different. There are subtle differences in the way emotions change faces and hands.

So, in order to know how to draw these things you've got to fundamentally understand them-the theory of them. It's not easy. Even professizonal figurative artists have a hard time once in a while.

However, you're not going to find another book that is a better book on explaining the processes and means behind drawing these things. It's a dry read but so worth it. Get it. Watch some YouTube videos. Take some classes and GO MAKE ART.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here