Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,256 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,406 reviews
on February 7, 2012
Levin has weaved a thought process through the ages of philosophers' writings and demonstrated how these have influenced the various political forces that exist today. He shows how the progressives have been systematically embedding their philosophy in the nations leadership in ways that move control of activities to a centralized government and continually denegrating individual independence and self reliance.
This book is a must read and can provide insights into the issues facing America today. It requires thoughtful reading as it reviews philosophical thought that shaped civilization. Levin clearly shows the impact of government over-reaching and impacting each citizen's life with a plethora of regulations that significantly inhibit individual freedoms and those very things that made the USA an exceptional nation. He shows how the tyrannical activity can creep into a society and destroy it from within.
The logic and arguments are exceptional and should be must reading by all thoughtful people.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2014
In "Ameritopia," Mr. Levin outlines the existential threat to our Constitution and our republican form of government. He says in the book "...the heart of the problem is, in fact, utopianism,...which is the ideological and doctrinal foundation for statism."

Levin respects his readers and has a great way with words that will keep you wide awake and thinking as you read the book. In the book Mr. Levin notes: "Although the mastermind's incompetence and vision plague the society, responsibility must be diverted elsewhere--to those assigned to carry them out, or to the people's lack of sacrifice, or to the enemies of the state who have conspired to thwart the Utopian cause--for the mastermind is inextricably linked to the fantasy. If he is fallible then who is to usher in paradise?"

If you read this book, you will get involved in a combination philosophy and history course led by Professor Levin and you will learn about the literature (Plato's Republic, Thomas Moore's Utopia, Thomas Hobbes' Leviathan, Karl Marx's Communist Manifesto, John Locke, Charles de Montesquieu, Alexis de Tocqueville and others), giving the reader the background support and discussion for the aforementioned quote. You will also get Mr. Levin's analysis and comparison of the philosophical reasoning behind republican vs. utopian forms of government, and you will get Mr. Levin's additional comments, analysis and opinion relative to the above. When Mr. Levin quotes, explains and summarizes De Tocqueville's thoughts in Chapter 10, he gives warnings that the American Republic is currently experiencing a "soft tyranny" brought about by an overbearing and controlling administrative state. With attribution to De Tocqueville, Levin notes that the degradation of our liberties is being brought about by a "miscomprehension of equality, resulting in the descent into centralized tyranny." In addition, Mr. Levin, in summarizing and further explaining De Tocqueville notes: "Rather than embracing equality as a condition of natural law and inalienable rights, which underlie a free and diverse society, equality may be misapplied politically in the form of radical egalitarianism and to promote equal social and economic outcomes."

As President Calvin Coolidge once said: "To live under the American Constitution is the greatest political privilege that was ever accorded to the human race." Coolidge also said: "We review the past not in order that we may return to it but that we may find in what direction, straight and clear, it points into the future." In addition to his keen intellect and writing ability, what is also great about Mark Levin is that he loves his country and is like-minded with Coolidge on these issues.

What I love about Mr. Levin and President Coolidge is that they, like President Reagan are very significant and substantial men. Meticulous and methodical in their approach, what they write is substantive and is supported whenever possible by source documents and supporting literature. Like President Coolidge, Levin doesn't sugar coat anything; he talks to you as a father would talk to his son or daughter, he always tells you the truth, and he never lets you down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2014
Great points, difficult book. I agree with most of the points. I'm a conservative who believes the country is in real trouble because of the 'utopian' attitude and the 'let the government take care of me trend.' The problem is this book is SO slow and difficult to read. I like the general idea of introducing all these past philosophers and their ideas and discussing how these things relate to America, how it all plays out in history, etc. but, Levin fills WAY too much of the book with direct quotes, some quite lengthy, from original works that are very difficult to follow. I'm an intelligent, well-educated person, but I am not used to reading these styles/types of writings, and the archaic language can be hard to follow. It's sort of like reading the Bible or a foreign document. I gave up trying to read this at bedtime, which is my usual 'big' reading time, because it kept putting me to sleep. I had to read only when I could find time to have coffee and really focus intently on the text. It's too bad he didn't make this more accessible to everyone--the points are valid and very important, but lost in the book.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2014
Amazing - hits right at the truth - how can a country with so much going for it be so divided, so miss guided as goes continuing the saga of a nation gifted with freedom, talents, and resources - and Mr. Levin does a terrific job of not separating or advocating a party but simply shows how man in perhaps his drive to do right, to be caring, gets it wrong and that indeed power, the desire for prestige, and of course money stirs this great country toward a cliff but hope is not lost as Americans are individuals first, and most want the succeeding generation, perhaps their own kids to have it better. Pride in being an America - versus wanting to change for change sake versus improve is what Mr. Levin advocates and this book paints the picture of what is happening as the majority allows others, many with agenda's to create muck out of good. A book you want to share with friends who care enough to value being blessed to live in this country.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2017
Levin gives much insight into the problems America faces. It is informative, and a good book to study. I enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2017
Highly Recommended: An excellent discussion of democracy, tyranny, and the assault and dismantling of our U.S. Constitution, our “inalienable God-given rights” and the resultant decay of America and the American republic.

Like Mr. Levin’s “Liberty and Tyranny” and “Rediscovering America,” both of which I had previously read, “Ameritopia” is an extraordinarily well-written and researched document of immeasurable value to the American people and their nation. Indeed, it is another wake-up call to all freedom loving peoples.

“Liberty lost is seldom regained.”
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2012
Mark Levin has written another classic that will be just as applicable centuries in the future as it is today. "Ameritopia" is a detailed assessment of the plague of "utopianism" in past and present societies. Beginning with Plato's "Republic" and ending with Karl Marx's "Communist Manifesto", Mark Levin analyzes the works of political philosophers in their attempt to create the unachievable perfect society. Levin then compares this mode of thinking with that of the philosophers (e.g. John Locke and Baron Charles de Montesquieu) that influenced the American founders. Whereas the utopian scheme requires an all-powerful self-described infallible elite to suppress the nature of man, Americanism embraces individualism, liberty, and organizes society in a manner that acknowledges the true nature of mankind. Levin compares and contrasts the political philosophy of mankind's history to that of modern times.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2012
Mark

This should be given to every "free" loader in the country, with a manditory test in two weeks or the checks get cut off. anyone who gets any kind of money from the government, i.e. student aide,welfare,mediaide, mortgage subsidies, and any other type of freeloading I haven't hear of.
Every bum hanging out in the parks that think they represent the "99" percent. Then two weeks after they all get thier copies
all the rest of us productive people get ours(those who already have it- require to re-read) then we go cleanout the "parks", check the welfare offices, making sure they are all on the up and up.
And when that is done storm Washington for a "pucker up test"
\Bob Bala

P.S. I purchased the audio book
33 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2015
There are many similarities between Europa and the United States and nothing is more evident than the current drive towards a Utopian state. I listen to the Mark Levin show with envy because we do not have the privilege of online or any talkradio that is so informative. It is with this in mind that I bought his book 'Ameritopia'.
It is obviously written with the United States in mind, Mark Levin loves his country and its constitution and is very worried where events are leading them. He has the ability to take a step back and to provide an overview of events, and he does it in such a way that the book becomes universal. I read the book and recognize similar goings on in Europe, or better said, the EU, our Utopian project.
It is cleverly written, he obviously knows what he is talking about and it will make you think. If you're an American and you worry about what is happening to your country, you should read it. And if you're not an American, you still should read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
Another great book by a great author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse