Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 67 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 114 reviews
on September 10, 2017
This is one of those books that leaves me feeling like it was good but it had the potential for being great and even a classic. Jeph Loeb and Tim Sale working together is a recipe for success, they couldn't make a bad book if they tried, I don't think; but here it feels to me as if the concept and the ideas that they were going with could've used a bit more fleshing out. All three stories are interesting takes on Batman as Halloween tales, but I can't help but feel like maybe they needed more pages to fully realize them and give them a more satisfying conclusion. A worthy addition to any Batman collection, especially for those fans of the Loeb/Sale team.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2017
Longtime Batman fan, but I learned about comics and Batman through Kevin Smith's Fatman on Batman. That's how I figured out what storylines to go back and read. The episode with Jeph Loeb is still a great listen for me and makes me love that mans stories and Tim Sale's art all the more. Started with the Long Halloween and Dark Victory but this year I needed more of that storytelling dynamic duo so u went for these specials. They did not disappoint!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
Batman Haunted Knight:

This book collects three Batman Stories set on Halloween made by jeph Loeb and Tim Sale.

The first one, and the volume s best is the first one. It pits Batman against the scarecrow. In this story, Batman shows a lot of inexperience, which is quite refreshing, and has to be aided by Alfred who solves one of the main problems the Dark Knight faces on it.
The second story is at least entertaining, it pits batman against the Mad Hatter.
The Final story is really bad, it tries to mix Batman Mythos with the Christmas Carol, the results are dissapointing, leading to a boring story, which is still a lot better tan Lee Bermejo s Noel.
In conclusión I reccomend this comic, it is easy reading, even if it is uneven, the final result is good , plus Tim Sale s artwork is magnificent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2016
These are some solid batman stories. As a standalone, it's a great book. But I think it's underrated because it stands in the shadow of Loeb and Sale's other works, being TLH and Dark Victory. It's admittedly not as good as those, but these are three well written stories of the Dark Knight's Halloween experiences. I would personally recommend checking it out, but just know going in that it's not at all related to TLH story arc and not quite as good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
many people will say that this book wasn't as good as the other stuff that jeph loeb has done but thats not true. people will say this because loeb has made the long halloween and the sequel dark victory which are wildly popular for their element of crime drama, they are less of comic books and more like dark mafia movie that would happen to have batman in it. however haunted knight is different, but not more like a comic book. the book explores three phycological themes and becomes less of a story heavy of plot line and character sketches but more of dreamscape that ventures through the psyche of bruce wayne. the way this story is written transcends batman and the concept of. its more the physical manifestation and illustration of the struggles of an exceptional man done very artistically. the art also transcends the style of comic book by maintaining a more sleek and flowing design that complements the story at hand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
This is a great comic with some great stories featuring Scarecrow, Mad Hatter, and Penguin. The artwork is great and has a style similar to the animated series. I personally thought the story with the Mad Hatter was amazing and really creepy. This volume also has some classic origin moments like how Bruce and Lucious Fox met, also how Gordon's daughter Barbara comes into the picture. All around great issues with a spooky undertone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2012
This collection of three stories from Batman's career highlight 3 separate events from Batman's crime-fighting career. The first, and longest of the three stories (and in my opinion most entertaining) deals with the Dark Knight's hunt to stop a lunatic Scarecrow from his usual agenda of striking fear into his victim. The second involves a hostage situation with the Mad Hatter serving as the antagonist, and the final story is a play on Charles Dickens' A Christmas Carol. Without spoiling too much, the first story deals with romance/love, the second with Bruce's mother and the third with his father. Great because anyone can pick up and read. Only downside is that it is a fairly quick read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2014
After reading the long halloween and dark victory, I decided to pick up haunted knight. The book is short compared to the previous books but is still a good read but the chapters seem to be rushing before they run out of pages. Haunted knight isn't just one story it's basically batman dealing with his inner demons as he fights diffrent bad guys throughout the days. It does have a cheerful ending to bring things to a nice close.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2014
truly a great bat-comic...has there ever been a better duo on any bat comic than loeb/sale???

of all the various interpretations of bats over the years,the one imagined by the genius of loeb/sale stands the test of time as the very best.

in short...great story,great art...incredibly original,completely imaginative and amazingly awesome.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2016
If you are going into this thinking this is in any way a follow up to "the Long Halloween" and "Dark Victory", you will be sadly disappointed. Instead, this is the telling of three separate stories, making it a Bat-anthology.

The one major thing that bothered me in this entire book was the Jokers placement in the final story....he had a few panels and then his part of the Loeb/Sale re-telling of "a Christmas Carol" is over.

It's was an enjoyable collection, something to quickly read through. Price from Amazon was good, so it was worth it in my opinion to have in my growing collection.
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse