Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$7.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 34 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 81 reviews
on June 7, 2014
I considered buying this book for a while but the negative comments threw me off. But, having an interest in the sociological impact of women in the work force, and also an interest in broadcast journalism and mass media, I decided to get it. I found it to be a good read - interesting, thoughtful, and open.

I wasn't too far into it when I really began to question why all the vehement, downright mean-spirited comments, had been posted in reviews. I had a very different take on her experiences and ideas. Yes she was exhausted - she was working nights in a grueling job. Yes she employed help, but that was her answer to what she was facing. Other women in a similar situation might look at trading baby-sitting or getting a parent to help. Above all I question how any one could imply that she did not love and cherish her children. They are quite apparently the center of her life, along with her husband, an obviously supportive and caring man who she has been married to for decades. They certainly seem to have a strong marriage and family centered life. Yes, she has a career that takes up a lot of time and attention, but she manages to hold it all together in the best way she can.

I can only guess that these comments are coming from those engaged in either political retribution aimed at discrediting women who do not reflect conservative values, or that this is a volley perpetrated in the "mommy wars."

At any rate, her life experiences were interesting and unique, and her career path has taken many turns which she navigated in a genuine way. I found the part about her broadcasting experience on 9-11 to be riveting and an important contribution to our collective knowledge and memory of that day.

I recommend this book to anyone interested in reading about current events, work-life balance or broadcasting.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2016
Fun read especially her childhood. Her stepping stone career was ok but got redundant. Skipped over many paragraphs in the last few chapters.
Enjoy watching her once in awhile but will watch her with admiration for her hard work to get where she is today.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2013
Good reasons to read this book:
1) It's well-written in the sense that it is authentically narrative (you can hear her "voice," unlike some memoirs that are hyper-edited or ghostwritten into bland monotone). Wisely contructed, she unfolds her story thematically, creating a forward momentum without relying on the easy out of linear exposition.

2) It's dramatic without being forced. It reads as honest. Her childhood, some seriously traumatic experiences, her wide-ranging career, the mistakes and successes--whether talking about note-taking at a secret meeting between her dad and Arafat or jogging to make her kid's school performance the overall tone is the same, conveying her story in a manner that is interesting and self-referential in the best sense of that term.

3) It's an individualized take on decades of the evolution of tv news and her experience in the emergence of cable news, the 24-hr news cycle, all that "news" for better or worse has become in the past 20+ years.

4) It's a cautionary yet inspiring tale for young women in J-schools. Do you take all the assignments available? Do you accept the traditionally taught trajectory of "start local and assume you aren't truly a success until you hit the national scene"? How do you protect your professional credibility when it comes to making friends in the workplace? In a field of optics, how do you balance "it's about having the right look" with "it's about having the right ideas"? These are topics that new grads have to address and--whether you like her answers or not--the author offers an important starting point for crucial conversations.

5) She reframes "having it all" in a way that makes sense, though I think the explication could have been more clearly executed. Judging by the ranter reviews, folks misread her as saying have kids unthinkingly, have kids young and then farm them out to nannies because you are rich. That's not her story, the truth, or her message. I think she should have seen that caricature coming, given the super-charged cultural baggage associated with the phrase, and more carefully crafted that part of her position.

*as an aside, I think the ranters on here are silly: one doesn't have to like Morning Joe or his politics or what people surmise about hers or like MSNBC to find the book interesting and useful! The book is not about politics, except to the extent that the personal is inevitably political and certainly to the extent that NO one would attack a man for making the choices she's made with regard to her family and career.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
Well i have to be honest and say that if you are not a fan of the show. Morning Joe then this might not be the book for you. If you are a fan then its not bad, not great but not bad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2015
The book is both hilarious and poignant. Highly recommended for career women who may not be in more traditional career tracks, even those who aspire to government service as well as broadcasting. I have grown to love Mika's presence on Morning Joe and now understand a lot of the interplay and her style. She has an important message which she clearly delivers in a precise writing style. The peak at the Carter era White House is wonderful. reading her food book-I won't spoil the story line. buy this book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2016
I really enjoyed this book. I listened to the audio book which was narrated by Mika. It was so interesting to learn more about her background. I especially liked that it was narrated by Mika, as it was like sitting down with her for a visit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
If you’re a fan of MSNBC’s Morning Joe and a fan of Ms. Brzezinski then you will love this book and you should have purchased it yesterday. If your looking for “a motivational book aimed at women” then this book misses the mark. Ms. Brzezinski writing is self-justifying and self-serving, highlighting emotional scares and personal defects to the world that she, herself can not see.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
My interest in this book stems from wanting to learn more about women in broadcasting. This book absolutely met that need. It provides an important and advisory narrative about the potential emotional, physical and financial demands made on women who want to pursue a career in broadcast journalism. It is a well written page turner and a "must read" for any woman who has set her mind on such a career and wants to better prepare herself for the challenges ahead. Thank you Mika, for sharing your hard learned lessons and triumphs with those thinking about, or intending to make this journey. You shed much needed light on this path for those who choose to travel it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2011
This book was an easy read - and while I am glad I read it - Mika's condescending tone on work and motherhood leaves me thinking I don't like her as much as I did. She goes on and on about how women can do "all things at once" but proves that it isn't possible to do all at once! I don't want to spoil anything - but she didn't inspire me or make me question why I didn't have kids at 23 (which she says she would have had she met her husband earlier!). It was not my favorite read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
I enjoyed this book by Mika. I watch Morning Joe and she does a good job of mediating and standing up for us lefties against Joe. Interesting to read about her life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse