Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: When I Fall In Love
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now STEM

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 13, 2004
The best way to describe what I hear when I listen to Chris Botti is a slow burn. The whole cd simmers with soft but intense sensuality. This is my favorite kind of music: exceptional melodies, respected and true to their origin but uniquely interpreted by extraordinary combinations of understated but undeniable arrangements. The traditional orchestral sounds are sophisticated and fresh creating a tapestry of genuine, gentle jazz sounds (try "My Romance" to understand what I mean). These standards he chose to include are truly some of my most favorite melodies of all time and he gives each song so much controlled passion it's delectable. The combinations of bass and trumpet for "What'll I Do?" could not be more perfect. "Let's Fall in Love," is swinging and true to Big Band reverence but Chris's interpretation is strikingly original. Sting's "La Belle Dame Sans Regrets" is the single to release with it's lush, latin mood. The unaffected vocals of Paula Cole are a well chosen compliment to Botti's exceptional talent as is the keyboard genius of pianist Billy Childs.

Listen for Chris's spectacular jazz trumpet in guest appearances on other cd's (for example on Renee Olstead's new cd) as well.

If you thought "Thousand Kisses Deep" was one of the best cd's last year (I did too) wait until you hear this one! Chris was just getting warmed up. This is the cd that maximizes all of his talent. The entire production is fabulous. One of my favorite top 5 releases of '04.
0Comment| 138 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 28, 2004
This isn't the most fantastic jazz-trumpet-standards CD I've ever heard - that distinction belongs to something like Clifford Brown With Strings - but it's still a real solid effort from Chris Botti. His tones on these songs are as clear and pure as a mountain spring, and the song selection is well designed for those who want to get "in the mood for love." I like the fact that there's a mix of traditional standards and more modern romantic songs. Thus Sting's "No Ordinary Love" appears right after "What'll I Do?" and so on. I think Botti has been unfairly labeled as a "Smooth Jazz" artist (a now ultra-bland subgenre that no self-respecting musician wants to be a part of - although they'll gladly take the sales...). Certainly on this album his backing is more likely to satisfy classic jazz fans - no funky rhythm section and synthesized dance beats, just an orchestra, big band or acoustic ensemble. And his straight-out horn blowing on songs such "Let's Fall In Love" (cool jazz riffs) should earn him a measure of respect.
0Comment| 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2004
I have enjoyed Chris' other recordings -- "Slowing Down THe World" is my personal favorite -- and his other work with other artists. With this cd I can't help but get the feeling that Botti wanted to exercise his "musical muscle". He can simply flat out play. He's got the chops.

I hope people will sit down and listen to it and not dismiss it as the usual "smooth jazz" shlock that has clogged the airwaves these days. WHEN I FALL IN LOVE is soo much more than that!

THere are no slick and cool beats accompanying CHris. (except for his verson of ORDINARY LOVE -- which is ok) THis is beautiful, and lush and as "straight ahead" jazz as you're going to hear these days. Smooth jazz stations may not know what to do with this cd.

All of these jazz standards get Chris full and beautiful tone ... his expression is flawless. The best tune on the cd is ONE FOR MY BABY. I can feel the vibe of the smokey bar, and the dirty bar glasses, and the familiar ring of "last call!" After hearing that one I was speechless. You just don't hear beauty like that anymore. CHris' version of TIME TO SAY GOODBYE reminds you that angels can play the trumpet.

If you're looking for a lush and romantic collection of jazz standards be sure to include this in your collection. Chris Botti will break your heart and then mend it with this cd.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2006
Ah, that perennial conundrum. Is it a smooth jazz performance or is it just instrumental pop? For years I've railed against artistes like Kenny G, George Howard, Najee and even Norman Brown (for a minute); artistes who not only think it's clever to play their instruments along the vocal melodies of pop songs and claim they're playing jazz but actually go on to have massive commercial success at it. They play just enough improvisation to substantiate their claims but not too much, so as not to scare the horses. Not that I've got anything against jazz artistes doing pop tunes. Even the heavyweight Pat Metheny did a cover on his last solo album, "One Quiet Night" but it was a Norah Jones song and it was almost a one-off. He certainly doesn't do entire albums of covers. I just think it's lazy and boring.

"As seen on: Oprah [and] The Today Show", proudly stated the sticker that came on this CD and indeed, although I had been aware for some time of his seemingly endless residence on the Billboard charts, it was on Ms Winfrey's show that I first heard Chris Botti. Oprah's no fool, I thought, and while nothing I heard on the show made me believe that this was anything other than what I thought it was, his appearance on the show was enough to make me want to find out more. I wanted to be sure before I dismissed him outright.

But the expected ennui did not come. Right from the first tune, I was taken in by the lush orchestration, which reminded me of great classic music and movies from the 40s and 50s. His trumpet playing is straightforward enough but it has a quality of tone to it that was mesmerising. I immediately imagined myself kicking back on a high-rise balcony looking out on the city, late at night or on a sea front patio gazing out to sea. I told my friend: "The music just lifts you up and you feel like you want to grow wings and go kiss the stars." All in all, it's pretty amazing stuff.

And while some of the songs, like "No Ordinary Love", do appear rather tidy, rather predictable, there are others, like "Let's Fall In Love", "Make Someone Happy" and "Cinema Paradiso" (which has a wonderful piano solo by Billy Childs), that are more daring and where he really kicks in some oomph and gets real jazzy. I think there's something here for everyone. Paula Cole sounds angelic lovely on "What'll I Do?" and "How Love Should Be" and Sting adds additional credibility and swing on "La Belle Dame Sans Regrets". "Nearness of You" is one of the most moving ballads I've heard in a while and "One For My Baby" just made me want to cry. Maybe because that song always reminds me of Frank Sinatra.

But is it jazz? Well, it's not quite as adventurous as Miles Davis or as complicated as Kenny Wheeler but on the whole, I think it is, and good jazz at that. It's incredibly accessible; hence it's chart success, but maybe jazz needs to be. Sometimes.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2004
Prior to Oprah's endorsement of Chris Botti, and his appearances on The Caroline Rhea Show I have followed Chris Botti since I first encountered a performance of his on Sting's tour a few years ago. Since then I have been an avid listener of his work and I have had the pleasure of meeting him a few times when he was on The Caroline Rhea Show. I think out of all his cds, and I have all of them including a lot of his guest appearances on other people's cds, that this cd is rivaling "Slowing Down the World" as a favorite of mine. Those who know Chris' music are aware that he likes to take contemporary jazz to a new level and on this album he works with some standards as well as popular songs like Sade's "No Ordinary Love" and gives them his own interpretation. A lot of people will say things like, oh if you are into the originals, just buy the original tracks. It's my opinion that the standards chris has chosen such as "The Nearness of You", "When I fall in Love" are revived in such a way that it's not an impersonation of a classic, but a contemporary interpretation. Chris also works with the legendary Burt Bacharach on this album and you can really hear the influence coming through. I like to compare Chris to a musician like Jimi Hendrix, he's someone who successful expresses emotions through the instrument he plays. He laughs with it, he cries with it, and basically just touches something in your soul that you can't put your finger on. That's why I gave "When I fall in Love" a 5 star rating. If you are just introducing yourself to Chris' work I thinkt his is a good album to start with. If you aare a long time fan of his work, like I am, I think this album sets itself apart from his other work and is a great compilation. Congrats to Chris for all your success :)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2005
Chris Botti has been one of the most sought after jazz musicians over the last decade. His CD's have been very diverse within the Contemporary Jazz spectrum, often rolling between Acid Jazz and R&B. But in his latest CD, Botti goes back to jazz standards from the 1950's & 60's. Botti does give a nice rendition of Sade's "No Ordinary Love". Other highlights were "When I Fall In Love" & "Someone To Watch Over Me". It's quite refreshing to hear music done with such a melodramatic touch. If you're looking for music in the line of "Indian Summer" or "Regrooveable", look elsewhere. But, if you want music you can relax to or have a nice dinner with, this CD is for you! Recommended!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2007
It's a great album. I heard from many people that it's good background music but I don't agree. It's far more than that. It's just amazing to listen to. Chris has an impressive control over the trumpet and makes its sound absolutely incredible, smooth and soft.

I heard Chris on a jazz fest and I enjoyed his performance a lot. Now I'm waiting for an album that would be less polished and maybe less romantic but more jazzy and would show all what Chris can do... Still this CD is beautiful and I recommend it to everyone.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
This CD is identified as Jazz and I guess one could call it smooth jazz, which I do not like, being more a bop-cool edgy type jazz fan. But forget that it is labeled jazz, it is dreamy haunting music that captivated me. It provoked buying of other Botti CD's and although they are good, this is the best.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2006
Soothing and romantic. A perfect addition to any party or romantic dinner for two.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2015
This cd is as good as Italia (also by Chris Botti)--which to me--is as good as it gets! It's warm and sexy, it's the essence of the night life, and no talent better to entertain you, than the one and only--Chris Botti--featuring Paula Cole, Billy Childs, Dominic Miller, and Sting. It's so very mellow, very cool. It ends with: Time To Say Goodbye, which is done so elegantly and sincerely--it is very touching. A real class act!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.99

Need customer service? Click here