Industrial Deals Prime Book Box Men's Summer Sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Internet New LG V35 ThinQ | $699.99. Save with Prime Exclusive Phones. Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outcastS4 outcastS4 outcastS4  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on February 16, 2011
I ordered this product directly from Amazon.com as a Christmas present to myself and as usual the product arrived quicker than I had expected. Gracias Amazon. While taking an immersion Spanish course in South America, I finally found the time to actually use the software. First thing that I have to say is that I am very impressed with Sonia's method of teaching.

She provides so many details in the course to help you learn Spanish. I don't think that I have found another course where the instructor is so passionate about getting the student to understand the language.

I do think the course could have progressed a little quicker. That's the only improvement that that I would recommend for the course. But I guess that I only feel that way because I am not a beginner and should have started with the next level in this series.

The extras that course gives are excellent. Especially the podcasts. The core part of the course or the software covers a lot of traveler's Spanish. Ideal if you are traveling to Mexico. But not ideal for the person who is motivated to learn Spanish for other reasons. That's where the podcasts full in the gaps and provide you with lots of practice conjugating verbs, improving pronunciation, learning the masculine and feminine articles, and so much more. I have to say that Sonia is also great at teaching pronunciation in the podcasts. I am sure that the bonus podcasts are really improving my pronunciation.

The audio CD is a review of the material covered in the software CD-Rom. I am also finding the audio CD lots of help. They could have easily sold the CD or the podcasts as a separate course since they are excellent teaching tools. What stands out most about this course is the tremendous value that you get. The CD-Rom, the audio CD and the Podcasts.

Some other products that I recommend for Spanish language learners are Visual Link Spanish. This is a great learning Spanish software program for the visual learner. Before I discovered Visual Link Spanish - Level I, in all of my reviews I had recommended another Spanish software product. The one that is heavily marketed in all of mass media, including radio and television. But after using Visual Link, it is clear to me that this software is a much better alternative for the visual learner. If you do not consider yourself a visual learner, then Fluenz is probably the way to go.

In order to speak Spanish fluently, you must also learn lots of new words. For increasing Spanish vocabulary, I recommend Quick Study-Spanish Vocabulary Flash Cards-1000 cards You get 1,000 of these cards at an excellent price.

To speak Spanish fluently besides having a stand alone course as your base and a method to learn new Spanish words, you will also need to master conjugating Spanish verbs. The best product for that is the Verbarrator Version 1.1 (Windows Version) software. The Verbarrator software does a great job of replacing the boring Spanish verb conjugation books and makes learning Spanish verbs enough fun that you will want to use the software every day. And the more you use the tool the quicker that you will learn how to conjugate Spanish verbs and reach fluency. The Verbarrator is probably the best investment that I have made in my journey to learn Spanish because it is a product that I use almost daily.

The last product that I recommend for anyone who is really serious about learning Spanish is The Ultimate Spanish Review and Practice w/CD-ROM (UItimate Review & Reference Series). This Spanish grammar book covers every aspect of Spanish grammar imaginable. To get the equivalent learning-Spanish value of this one book you would have to buy 3 or 4 books in the Practice Makes Perfect series
94 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on November 30, 2009
A trip to Barcelona prompted me to review of Spanish language learning programs and purchase of Fluenz Spanish 1. I don't like visiting a country without some knowledge of the language. I was extremely satisfied.

I am a native English speaker with some/limited fluency in French, German, and Japanese - because I have traveled in those couuntries. No Spanish. Despite the "some fluency", I have no real facility for languages. I find them hard to learn.

I put 50 hours into Fluenz Spanish 1. Yes, it takes some work. But that 50 hours alone says a lot -- I didn't give up because the program is engaging, and I was learning what I needed to know to travel.

The approach of this program is very clever. For example, the future "tense" is taught by using the phrase "I am going to...tomorrow". So you do not have to learn a mess of verb conjugations. And the vocablary is directed for the traveler/visitor. No schoolyard conversations with your classmates about whatever.

The use of English is hugely useful. It makes learning so much easier. And Sonia Gill is a really good teacher.

Did it work? Absolutely. I was very comfortable in Spain. In Barcelona, the native language is Catalon, not Castilian. Catalon is somewhere between Castilian and French. I could read every sign in both languages - useful if you want to get somewhere. I could always make my requests understood - useful if you need the toilet.

The down side: I could understand people in the tourist industry because they spoke slowly. Anyone else - hopeless. They speak really fast. And you have to decide which language they are using.

The good side: I actually bought Fluenz Spanish 1 F1, I guess. There were some errors in that version - not major but annoying. I assume F2 fixed those. But because of a very generous upgrade offer, I now have Fluenz Spanish 1 F2, 2, and 3. These folks take care of their customers. And I like the program enough to buy the additional two programs.

By the way, my wife's passport got stolen. I was able to do "okay" in the police station. That was a good thing.

Barcelona is now my favorite European city. Part because of the city, part because of the people, part because of the food, and part because of Fluenz Spanish 1.
58 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
on June 17, 2018
I bought this program for my boyfriend. He's never been "good with languages". He's a Jersey boy, Italian background, doesn't speak a word of Italian. I am Cuban, we've been dating for FOUR YEARS and he still didn't speak a word of Spanish. He always spoke of wanting to learn Spanish, it was important for me that he learn at least one second language, also for his professional growth. He has a full schedule and a son so it was hard to find time for a class. He had about three apps on his phone that kept sending him reminders for workouts to learn Spanish, which didn't do anything for him at all. My boss told me about Fluenz, his Spanish is impressive and he claimed that the Fluenz system was definitive to make the leap into actually conversing in the language. I read only good things about Fluenz, but it still felt like a lot of money to pay for a digital course. I decided to get it as a B-day present. IT HAS BEEN TOTALLY WORTH THE MONEY! Yes, I still have to make sure he uses it, but it's been less than a month and he's already stringing together full sentences. The change is astonishing! The program is intensiva and straight forward, about fourty minutes per session if done properly, but also works perfectly well on a smartphone. Tutorial, drills, audio, it makes for a a very supportive learning experince. I could not have expected anything like it.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on October 12, 2015
If you want to speak, understand and write spanish, this is the program for you. I have had this program for about a month, and I have learn very much.

Their lessons are relevant, and easy to follow along. I Actually learn fairly quickly. In the program, they you tell up front that learning a learning a language is a challenge, and it is, but in the challenges of learning language, Fluenz makes it easy and smooth as it is fairly possible. There is no empty promises of lightning fast learning, just a solid, effective and intutive learning structure that actually works.

Fluenz does many things. Here are some of them:
1. Explain the meaning of spanish words and how it works in a sentence.
2. Trains you to say it right.
3. Has you write the spanish words correctly in a spanish sentence

They have many great workouts found in each lessons. The workouts are not just random bits throw in. All of them cover different aspects of learning a language. In weight lifting, just like how you don't just workout your biceps, the different workouts found in fluenz exercise all of the mental "muscles" it takes to learn Spanish.

So far, in the store I work, I am starting to pick up words in spanish conversations. I am only in the beginng lessons. So, I am not that far along in level one of fluenz spanish, so I have a feeling, if I had practice more dilligently, there be so much more I understand when I hear spanish at where I work. That is part of the reason why fluenz is so wonderful. You don't learn spanish and find out you can't follow the speed and accent of the language. Throughout their workouts, they train you up level by level, and skill by skill, in a way that you eventually won't get lost in conversations by real spanish speaking people. You find that you can follow along. And, that is a very important thing.

Usually, I don't care to give reviews of items I have bought. It just not something I do. However, I was impressed enough by Fluenz intutiveness that I wrote one.
4 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on April 19, 2017
I have tried many self-study language programs in the past but Fluenz is the most effective and fun by far. It is a great program for learning a language before a trip. I purchased the Spanish 1 before a trip to Ecuador. Fluenz 1 Spanish teaches the basics by starting with a short dialogue, an explanation of the dialogue and then several other listening, speaking and writing drills. Other programs I tried in the past left my head spinning at the end of each lesson but Fluenz is different. By the end of each Fluenz lesson I felt like I had really learned the material without playing the lesson over and over again. There is even a conversation session on each lesson that records your voice and plays it back so you can hear exactly how you sound. I have since purchased both Fluenz Italian 1 and French 1-5. I highly recommend it!
2 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on January 8, 2012
After working for some time with Rosetta Stone Spanish and feeling frustrated, I purchased Fluenz Spanish based upon the reviews on Amazon. The problem that I had with Rosetta Stone was the complete lack of context and the absence of any English translation. While immersion might work if living in a Spanish speaking country, it did not work with the RS program. Fluenz on the other hand is amazing. After using it for an hour a day for a week, I am already much further along than I was with weeks of using RS. Fluenz uses all channels-visual, auditory, tactile-along with much repetition to teach the language. The audio CD, podcasts, and flash cards are very helpful additions to the DVD. If one is willing to put in the time, you will learn Spanish with Fluenz. The program is attractive, fun and varied enough to prevent boredom. If you have been frustrated trying to learn a language or been unable to learn with RS, I highly recommend that you give Fluenz a try. I could not be more pleased.
14 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 24, 2011
Fluenz is an attractive piece of software. It's intelligently assembled, and the situations / scenarios that they present are quite useful. You can definitly make progress in learning Spanish with this software. I'd encourage students to, with one major caveat, go purchase...

But for the love of god, buy a book. Get yourself a genuine language learning textbook, and use that for at least half of your study.

I'm saying, here I am going over the initial Fluenz lesson today, and skimming through a just purchased textbook. Here in my book there are all of the conjugations of the verb Estar, while here in Fluenz there are two of them in the workouts in lesson #1.

The point is this - if you're at all good at studying, a book is going to teach you an awful lot more vocabulary much faster than Fluenz ever will. But if you've no access to a teacher, then Fluenz is a great component of your study.
14 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on May 28, 2017
Great product! The instructor uses a great mix of audio and typing repetition to reinforce the learning experience. In addition, the instructor explains the logic behind the grammar to help make the words make more sense. The lessons are focused on real life situations and words that I can put to use in everyday life. This product will definitely help me in my travels! Very easy to use.

I even received a download link email before my disk arrived so I was able to get started one day after me order. Highly recommend the product and easy to follow learning methods.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
Top Contributor: Petson September 9, 2013
FURTHER EDIT AND UPDATE... if this helps any, the amazon ASIN number is B002ZF31NQ for Fluenz levels one through five (copy and paste that number and put it in the search box and it will pop right up ;) )

EDIT AND UPDATE - 4 years later we still find this to be a great program and the customer support nothing short of outstanding :) .... Now bear in mind this is the "old" version of Fluenz but, 4 years ago when we originally purchased it ... and also remember we got this at a sale price (I strongly recommend getting on fluenz's email list and keeping an eye out for the winter sales where the price drops drastically on this program like we did) for Fluenz lessons one through five ... there was some difficulty getting it to work on different user accounts on the same PC... and remember that PC's can be stubborn, independent beasts, just because this was my experience (FOUR years ago, not a problem with the modern day version of fluenz see below) doesn't mean you'll have the same problem... nonetheless, Fluenz gave me a fifty percent refund on the product and let me keep it , just like that ! They were originally willing to give me a full refund and I basically said " No, I like the product and want to keep it I was just having some technical support issues " (of course I'm going to want to keep it at the sale price regardless of those issues :) ) ... and just like that they gave me a fifty percent refund (and bear in mind I got this comparatively cheap compared to the "normal" retail price to begin with) without me even asking for it :) ... and the fact that they were willing to give me a full refund even without me asking ... it speaks to the integrity of the company as a whole, compare to much larger (and greedier) wealthy business corporations that make you pay to have even defective merchandise shipped back to them for an RMA ...assuming you can even get said corporation to go that far to begin with.

On top of that Fluenz gave us a free upgrade to the most recent version of Fluenz which is free of the technical issue I mentioned above (at least in my experience) so I suspect people purchasing the program today (I'm editing this review as of Nov 2017) will not have any problems with it at all.. I recommend the " SPA upgraded " option which is superior to the "default" version of the program (basically higher definition video) ... the revised version is just as good as the original if not better and still a boon to my children who continue to take Spanish classes at their local high school and middle/junior high school respectively...

(ORIGINAL REVIEW) Not knowing if Fluenz would be the right program for us I went ahead and purchased just level one (i.e " Learn Spanish - fluenze Spanish (Latin America) 1 with suplemental audio CD and podcasts" .. DOH ! .. On the one hand the program is working well for us (see below) , but on the other hand when I look at how much I could have saved simply by purchasing all 5 "levels" of Fluenz Spanish at once I'm wincing.. on the one hand buying all five together bundled gives you a big savings which I appreciate.. on the other hand now I feel like my initial investment on Fluenz level one is "going to waste" so to speak since level one is included in the bundled offer for levels one through five ... amazon won't let me enter actual dollar figures here but ... do yourself this favor:

- I heard that their (Fluenz) website offers a free session you can try out before deciding if it's right for you... do that..

- if you're impressed with fluenz then plunk down the cash for all five levels at once .. sure it's a risk but you'll save money in the long run...

Actually my soon to be 12 year old daughter is going through this Fluenz-Spanish program and she's doing quite well with it ... .. we live in Florida and anyone who has spent enough time in the area will tell you there is a HUGE spanish speaking segment - as in speaking Spanish only no English - to the point where it's difficult to find employment in certain areas of Florida (Miami for example) unless you speak both Spanish and English... keeping this in mind I've started my daughter on Spanish instruction early.. I'm hoping this will also help her with the Spanish classes in school that I'll be encouraging her to take.. at this point I'm impressed enough with Fluenz to be planning on ordering levels 1 through 5 once she gets through level 1 .. right now she is halfway through level one, I had her doing it for 45 minutes/day over the summer break from school and she's continuing it on the weekends now that she's back in school ... it's fascinating watching her rattle off words in Spanish andthen provide me with the English translations to said words , many of which she knows well enough to be able to tell me the english version of the spanish phrase presented before she clicks on it, confirming to me that her translation was correct (that is when you click on it , it shows the english translation ... in some of the exercises that is ) ...

I do agree with other people who are saying the emphasis appears to be more on conversational " if you're plunked down in a spanish speaking country you can get by" sort of approach as opposed to the more academic approach one might find in a classroom setting... at this point I'm not sure if my daughter was to have a conversation with one of her Spanish friends that she'd understand most of what was said if the conversation was all spanish - but to be fair, again, we're only halfway through level one and I wouldn't expect her to even try to do that until she completes level five .. which will probably take years at this pace we're currently progressing at. After that if she's not fluent enough I would probably hire one of the many English/Spanish speaking locals to sit and talk with my daughter in Spanish until my daughter gets it down :P ..

If you do decide to use this as an educational tool for your children I'd recommend this approach.. let your child go through the material once on her or his own (complete lesson one in the computer program on his or her own for example).. then have the child go through the lesson again again but sit down with your child and quiz him or her, ask him/her what the english translation is of what she's studying in each lesson and double check to make sure the child is really getting them all correct.. we found when my daughter was having difficulties we could go back to the instructional video Sonia presents and "brush up" on the problem areas.. though we also found in the exercises there were some confusing areas which weren't covered in the videos.. still , given the amount of repetition in the program if you're presented with the same questions over and over eventually you'll learn the correct answers through sheer trial and error. I also noticed an error where we would turn off the whole "type the accent mark" thing and it still insisted on it at times.. and yes we'll be going through the entire program a second time in "challenge mode" where my daughter has to type the accents once she completes her first run through all the lessons.

Time will tell whether or not this helps my daughter when she starts taking her Spanish lessons in school .. my hope is that it would cover at least 90 percent of what is taught, whether that's true or not remains to be seen but fingers crossed and I will of course write up more reviews as her lessons progress through the coming months and years in case it helps anybody out who is considering purchasing the program.. overall I think it's worth the expense.. but again don't make the same mistake I did, buy levels 1-5 of Spanish up front instead of just level 1 ! ..
10 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 26, 2012
I love this language program. I got it two weeks ago and have learned more Spanish is those two weeks than I learned in months of tediously slogging through Rosetta Stone. Fluenz has gotten it right about how to present a second language to adult learners. The format works. It's engaging, interesting, and well designed. Within a couple of sessions (there are 30 in Fluenz 1) I was able to formulate sentences and actually communicate in Spanish. That was not possible with Rosetta Stone, as RS is a program that has no English translation; no explanation of grammar. I am so excited with Fluenz that I have gotten up every morning and worked (played and enjoyed) for a couple of hours. I cannot get enough of it. I will definitely be getting the next level of Spanish and will be getting French, as well. I wish I had known about Fluenz before I invested in Rosetta Stone's Spanish, French, and Portuguese. Fluenz has gotten it right!!!
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse