BCA Month Beauty altText This Week in Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on November 2, 2014
2 discs containing 4 episodes and very Special Features
As always the production value is good. No skips or jumps and the sound is awesome.

Disc 1 contains Episodes 1 - 4

Disc 2 Contains The Very Special Features.

The K-9 Files; A preview of the K-9 spinoff

K-9 - A Dogs Tale; All about K-9, his spinoff and his books

Pebble Mill at One; An Interview with K-9, This is actually my favorite Special Feature on this release. It was great to see K-9 interviewed.

Trails and Continuities; BBC adverts for K-9 and Company. I found this fascinating not only for the content but the style. As an American I don't get to see BBC continuities and they are very different from what I am used to.

Audio Options; Meaning Commentary

Info Text; This contains production notes and insights to the episode. Usually my favorite

Photo Gallery;

PDF Materials;
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon July 4, 2014
At first I thought THE INVISIBLE ENEMY was one of those few I hadn't seen as a kid when I first bought this for my collection, but memories of scenes floated up once I saw the unmistakable makeup on the baddies' faces. And it's still somewhat forgettable. A interviewed Dr. Who fan in one of the DVD documentaries summed up this adventure perfectly, "It goes from Awesome to Awful, back and forth. "

The main fault of this story lies in that it relies on SFX as its linchpin, and as the previous Producer, Philip Hinchcliffe, constantly asserted, when you depend on a guy in a rubber suit to tell your story, you tread very dangerous waters of failure. Producer Graham Williams, who unceremoniously replaced Hinchcliffe, should have taken note. Some effects work, even to this day, others fail horribly, even in BBC standards of the day, and unfortunately upstage who should have been a plot/character driven adventure, the golden crown of early Dr. Who.

This fundamental shift to technical fizz bang in Dr. Who that was spearheaded by Graham also led to the introduction of iconic K-9, a favorite character by a multitude but an absolute nightmare on set that ate up extra resources and precious shooting time. One could argue Graham was a special effects visionary, 30 years before his time in light of the new Dr. Who adventures, but alas visionaries with a tiny BBC budget and extremely tight schedules should have had concentrated enthusiasm. Nevertheless, there is some fun to be had in THE INVISIBLE ENEMY, and the audio commentary is quite fun.

As for the one-off K-9 and COMPANY that's included on this disc... it is somewhat awful. Rift with all manner of crew discord, slipshod planning and, of course, the severe shooting limitations that using K-9 as a centerpiece involved, these issues translate into what ends up as a lackluster pilot. Yet K-9 and COMPANY still remains a must-have for collectors.

All in all, neither are even close to being one of the best. However, being the introduction (and reintroduction) of a beloved "tin dog", this DVD set is highly collectible for even the casual buyer seeking the "Best of" Early Dr. Who.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2014
loved the Robot Dog, K-9, even though he did not appear in this story until the 2nd episode. and I loved the K-9 and Company spin-off; nice how it takes place at Christmas.

my friend on YouTube, Zaranyzerak, would recommend this, along with other Doctor Who Stories, with the exception of the Lost and/or Missing, and/or believed-to-be-destroyed episodes that are still out there.

Great story from the Tom Baker Years. and an even greater spin-off that comes with it.

5 stars out of 5, and a 9.5 out of 10 for Doctor Who: The Invisible Enemy and K-9 and Company: A Girl's Best Friend.

Allons-y!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2013
Sometimes your memory lies to you, but in good ways. I have such childhood memories of watching the episodes of this particular story. The effects, of course, do not withstand the test of time but are okay. It reminded me that Tom Baker is the best Doctor ever. I used to love K-9 and wished fervently that I had one...alas, he's so retro looking now to my adult eyes. Overall a great episode and the DVD has some great features and the documentary on K9 was very interesting. I highly recommend picking this one up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2008
Look, Doctor Who is never going to win any awards for special effects. In addition, the fight sequences occasionally leave me in stitches; I'm afraid everyone in the Doctor Who universe is easily felled with a stiff kick to the shins or a slight nudge to the back of the neck.

Once one gets past these rather inconsequential shortcomings, however, Doctor who is generally a combination of both acting and teleplay brilliance!

The Invisible enemy is no different. Amongst the excellent focal points of this "episode" are: the introduction of K-9 (who preceded even R2-D2 in the cute robot milieu), Leela at the top of her form, Tom Baker - brilliant as always, and a rather interesting plot involving a microorganism with intelligence.

Furthermore, this DVD includes K-9 and Company. As a kid, I always wanted, but was never able to see this quirky chapter in the Doctor Who canon. To be honest, I thought it was quite fun. The theme song, by the way, hilariously embraces the kitzchy-ness of 1970's techno-disco. All in all, Sarah Jane is always fun, K-9's neither over or under-utilized, and the side characters are more than adequate.

My verdict? A fantastic introduction to the Doctor Who collection of DVD's!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2015
Another Great story and one step closer for me to completing the "Impossible Collection" Much appreciated to you for Carrying the Classic Doctor Who!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
This episode the doctor gets a virus and Lela has to take him to get help from a doctor who clones the doctor and Lela and puts the clones inside the doctor body to get rid of the virus not only this is a good episode it tells how the docktor got k-9 and ithas a second movie k-9 and company this is a highly recommended movie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2015
I love the Dr. Who DVDs because they take me back to my childhood experience. The best part of these DVDs is the commentaries and the look behind the camera.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2014
K9 and Company is one of the "Christmas movies" we watch every year. A classic Dr Who spin-off. Maybe not to everyone's taste, but we love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2014
Really good story line of a virus consciousness with amazing special effects for the 1960's. The Doctor's companion Leela, makes a stellar performance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse