Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Home Is Loud (Live)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$25.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 18, 2005
Home Is Loud does not have the slick production values of Tift Merritt's two studio albums, and it doesn't have any new material. It's a live album. Tift is in the process of developing her next album of original music, but for those of us who need a Tift fix, this isn't a bad solution. After you listen to the album a few times, the vocal qualities will grow on you. The album definitely captures the excitement of her live performances better than do the studio albums; too bad it doesn't include the visuals.

The performance at the N.C. Museum of Art from Bramble Rose Day 2005 was more Rock 'n' Roll than the allegedly country slant of Bramble Rose or Tambourine (though I don't find Tambourine particularly country despite the Grammy nomination). For those of us who were at the show, it is a nice chronicle of an exiting evening.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2005
The only way Home Is Loud could be better is if it were longer. The record is important because it's the only existing commercially-available showcase of how this band rocks. You won't get it from Bramble Rose or Tambourine, wonderful as they are in their own right. A live Tift show is something else, and here it is. I would stand out on a cold street corner hawking this CD. I guess the next best thing is to do this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2005
Discovered this LIVE CD from Tift last night at one of her shows. The mix of her beautiful vocals and amazing range paired with the live element are a wonderful combination. Favorites include "Supposed to Make You Happy" which she sings as a duet along with Jay Brown her bass player and the finale "When I Cross Over." Included here is a nice combination of old favorites and new selections.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2005
Ok, there is definately a slant from the NC folks here because we LOVE our girl SO much. That being said, I saw Tift & band live three times this year. This CD captures their live show with all of the talent & energy that Tift and band produce. What a talented group of folks Tift has in her band. Buy this CD immediately before they are gone. Why? Because it is great! My only complaint & reason for rating 4 stars is the lack of songs. I was at the NC Museum of Art show when this was recorded & the setlist was MUCH longer. I regret the closing number not be included which inncluded former Carbine members & current Chatham County Line members who sang their hearts out on "I Shall Be Released". Also, the banter between Tift & the audience was eidited out which loses some of the live feel & makes it sound more like a studio album. I still love this CD & can't wait for Volume II.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
Big fan of hers for many years. One of the most underrated singer/songwriters out there! For those who haven't heard her, try "Buckingham LIve" CD first, a nice assortment of Tift's capabilities and vocal range..you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2015
Although her studio work is fantastic, the live versions of songs on this CD are orders of magnitude better. Sounding at ease and well suported by the hometown crowd, the band pumps so much energy into these renditions - even the slow ballads evoke a strength and power not found in their studio counterparts. Not just a great Tift Merritt album, but a great example of what a live album should be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2008
My wife and I were fortunate enough to be able to attend the show that this album was recorded at. Tift and her band rocked for about two hours. This album does not contain the whole show they put on that night, but it is full of the enthusiasm and joy that Tift put into the show and into that night. This is not just a "greatest hits" disk, it is a live recording of a fun show and a great night. I hope she comes back to the NC Museum of Art again this summer!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2008
I have all the Tift Merritt CD's and this is the Best one of all. Great Service through Amazon.com. Will not hesitate to order another copy for my wonderful father-in-law. He got me interested in Tift and we Love her.
Saw her live and this CD is exactly what she sounded like.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2009
TIFT MERRITT'S "HOME IS LOUD" IS A MUST IF YOU LIKE HER MUSIC. HER LIVE
SHOWS ARE UNBELIEVABLE !!!!!!!!!SHE REALLY COMES TO LIFE ON STAGE AND THIS DISC SHOWS IT IN ALL ITS ROCKIN' GLORY . AFTER RELEASING HER CD
"TAMBOURINE" SHE TOURED AND THIS CONCERT RECORDING CAPTURES THE MAGIC I WAS SO FORTUNATE TO WITNESS.WITH HER THEN GUITAR PLAYER "SWEET BEE"
FLAMING ON LEAD COMPLEMENTING HER SOUL/ROCK VOCALS AND HER AMAZING CORE
BANDMATES ZEKE & CO. THIS CD IS TIFT WITH SHADES OF THE ROLLING STONES.
SHE IS AMERICAN MUSIC AT ITS BEST AND IF HAVE NOT SEEN HER LIVE YOU MISSED IT;SO BUY THIS DISC AND SEE WHY "HOME IS LOUD" !!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2016
Tift Merritt in full concert mode. Harder rocking than her solo albums but another view of one of the best singers, songwriters and musicians there is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here