Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18SW_gno



 A great camera for how small it is. Every tiny little camera like this one has to have tiny little lenses and tiny little photo sensors, and if you'd like higher quality photos then you need to buy a bigger camera. Keep on bringing money and you get a bigger and bigger camera that takes better and better pictures, until finally you have a camera so big you either leave it at home or draw undue attention to yourself pointing some big camera at people. This camera is for those times when you need a tiny camera that literally fits in a shirt pocket, the size of the proverbial package of cigarettes, and is so light you'll forget you are carrying it.

For the micro compact digicam it is, it's an excellent camera. It's a lot better camera than most smartphones have, and the feature set on the ST700 is amazingly detailed. The camera is smarter than virtually all of the people who'll buy it, and that's the point of an advanced point and shoot such as this one. The user pulls it out, sets it on Smart Auto, and begins to take great photos of people and places.

Unless you enlarge the photos from this tiny camera way up, or you compare the shots with a high dollar DSLR camera that usually sits in a drawer back at home because it's so expensive, heavy, and attention getting,,,,, you'd never notice the difference in photo quality. For what this camera is it's an excellent micro compact, and has a front screen so you can take selfies, and more features than you'll probably ever know it has.

It would be five instead of four stars if it had wireless connections to the internet. That's not a big deal for most casual users, but once you have a camera that goes wireless you'll miss that feature on a point and shoot camera.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 11, 2011
This product is visually beautiful for a camera and for a point and shoot it has A LOT of features. I really liked the wide arrange of photo and video options you can choose some with a lot of stunning effects and picture quality.

There is only a few things i wish could have changed with the product.

1. I wish the touchscreen was a little more sensitive. (Overall it isn't THAT bad, but its manageable)
2. Be careful not to get any hard dust or debris in the lense because it WILL refuse to close if it gets to clogged up. This camera is definitely not a rugged all terrain camera, but a delicate camera to be carried in a hard shell camera case.
3. The front LCD could be a little bit more accurate with what the final picture would look like. I kinda wished the LCD in the front would display the final look of the picture from looking from the back as well.

Summary: Other than being an outstanding point and shoot camera with a ton of great features and beautiful stunning pictures, the construction quality of the possible lens malfunction, front LCD inaccuracy, and touchscreen in-sensitivity makes my rating not a full five stars. BUT! The picture quality and its great user friendliness definitely makes up for it and it being a dual screen LCD camera makes it great, innovative, and fun.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 28, 2011
i LOVE this camera. it is small, versatile, very easy to use, innovative (the front lcd screen which shows you the live shot, just like the back screen, is a brilliant idea for self portraits and group shots.... just brilliant), and takes simply EXCELLENT amazingly crisp and sharp pictures. my other point and shoot was a sony with a carl zeiss lens -- now you know those are good lenses, but this samsung beats it hands down.

best best feature of this is the front lcd screen which lets you see the picture, just as if you were looking at the back lcd. so so innovative, so smart, and once you use it you wonder why all cameras don't have this amazing useful bit.

picture quality is superb. even on email mode, this picks up details that my sony had never seen and i couldn't believe it. seriously... a sony with a zeiss lens you would think is perfect!... but this is better. very very very happy with this purchase and i simply love this camera. i bought it in time to go to a wedding, and all the guests were awed with the front lcd also saying, oh my gosh i have to get one of those..... !!! and actually for one relative i hadn't seen in a while at the wedding, she was so in love with the cam to take family shots, i bought her one on the spot as a surprise, from amazon too!

my few pet peeves..... 1) this is a great camera, can you at least somehow make it look a little sexier?!!! it looks like any other camera on the market, but i think is much much better. basic black is SO SO boring. i didn't realize it comes in silver! but some other inventive colors would be nice too... also it seems to be VERY hard to get it in a color here in the u.s., tho i did find some on ebay after i had bought it on amazon.... dayam!!!). 2) battery life seems to be VERY short - about an hour with some active shooting. an hour shooting at a wedding or family event is NOT a lot of time! i have since bought backup batteries, and carry them. 3) this has a wonderful lcd on the front, which it says you can turn on by tapping. but no -- you must paw and pound at the front lcd for it to turn on. you have to paw at the front lcd to hard to turn it on (if you don't use the actual "front lcd button" to turn it on) that i actually thought the camera was broken. 4) though it has a touch-screen lcd on back, it never responds particularly accurate to my finger swipes even though i did calibration, it works much better with the stylus. when you "whoosh" the screen to go to the next screen, it ie goes too fast and goes all the way to the last screen. even if i whoosh it slowly just trying to move a screen ahead. then i have to whoosh oh so slowly and carefully back. 5) some of the menus, since they have several screens of options, need to have an indicator that shows there are more screens with options, like the sidebar on a window when you're on a computer that lets you know you can keep scrolling down.

but still, right now i wouldn't trade this camera for any other point and shoot on the market. it is great and i love it..... seriously, you will too. ;-)

**************

October 2011 UPDATE....

ok, now that i've had this camera a few months i can still say, I LOVE IT! BUY IT! ONE OF THE BEST POINT AND SHOOT CAMERAS OUT THERE.......!

plus seriously, EVERYONE who sees the front LCD loves it and says omg i must get that!

camera still works fine. i am a little less careful with it than when i first bought it and it was nice and pristine and shiny. it gets knocked around a bit in my messenger bag, and it does turn on by accident b/c the "on" button gets hit. but it is taking a licking and keeps on ticking.......

my only TWO complaints now that i've had it a few months......

1) it takes a LONG TIME to get ready for the next shot. like i think 4 seconds almost?! when you are trying to shoot at an event, you probably will loose the shot! of course, the reset is b/c it has to write the info to disk, battery must recharge flash... but seriously. this is about the slowest point and shoot i've ever used.

2) the "kid shot" function shows a little cartoon to get an inattentive baby's attention. BRILLIANT IDEA BUT...... it actually makes the kid look the wrong way in your photo, unless he or she is cross eyed! OH WELL! at least they are smiling........

still, this is a BRILLIANT camera and i love it. it is still right now the only point and shoot i'd buy. oh actually another improvement they could make is to wifi it. samsung does make wifi cameras, so you can transfer pics without cables and cards. but this one isn't one of them. next generation maybe?..... hopefully?.......

but seriously. you'll be very very happy with this. i love this camera. pretty sure you will too. unless you're you know uptight and grouchy.... or something like that......
77 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 27, 2016
Great camera, had to send it once to have the touch screen replaced but out of warranty and did not cost much. I purchased a 128gb micro memory card for another device and it did not work so I tried in this camera today and was surprised that the camera recognized the mem card. At 16mb resolution can take 15,512 pics. Battery will die several times with that. LOL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 7, 2013
This camera takes ten to fifteen seconds after pressing the shot button
to take the picture I am very frustrated because I purchased the camera
to take pictures of my cats, and this long wait time after pressing the
button has made the camera incompatible with the purpose for which
I purchased the camera. Also, the fact that the camera only uses
rechargable batteries makes it frustrating because after putting a new
battery in, the camera needs to charge before use. The camera's idea
of a faster wait time before taking the picture after pressing the shot
button is to wait ten seconds instead of fifteen seconds. By that time,
my shots have been lost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 21, 2011
I bought this camera for my g/f and she loved it! I love cameras and have better ones, but as I told my friends, this is a (not in a bad way) "girls camera"..! One to have fun with and with double screen, so she can take pictures that she likes...

Quality is not the best, but take good pictures, the back is touchscreen, so everything operates that way. The front LCD can be turned off when not using it, so battery will last longer that way.

One final advice: BUY A MEMORY CARD!!! This camera only have 30 MB storage capacity, that means just 2 pictures..! It uses a MicroSDHC memory card, so be sure to get one when you buy the camera!

Well, I definitely recommend it... You won't regret it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 28, 2012
I think this is a great camera. I'm not a pro by any means. I just wanted a camera that had the dual LED screens for self portraits, family portraits and that second screen actually has apps that grab kids attention to keep them still and keep them smiling!!! Its a great camera! Easy to transfer pics with a microSD to USB adapter. Yeah, it doesn't have wifi but it does have some cool features that I didn't expect. I'm really happy with this camera. I bought extra rechargeable batteries, larger miniSD memory card, screen protectors and a case. The biggest problem I have... is to remember to grab it!!! I'm sooo used to using my cell phone. Anyway, when it comes time to upgrade digital camera, the other feature I'd like to have is wifi for quick/easy upload to FB or wifi printer. But don't let that be a deal killer. Its a good camera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2011
The design was sleak and functionality was fancy.
Especially self shot function was the best.
You can see yourself where you are in the scene.
Just be careful not to stare at the screen when you click the camera.
Once you are sure of your pose in the shot, turn your eyes to camera lenz quickly before taking a picture.
of course, if you want yourself to look at the different angle, then you don't have to look at the lenz.
I took tons of my picture myself with this camera and couldn't have better pictures before whether taken by other people or by me.

This camera also has lots of other functions you will like.
Play around and you won't regret.
This camera is my main camera and will be for a long time.
Completely satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 5, 2012
Iam writing this review to caution everyone about this seller..I got carried away by the ratings for this seller and regret buying from them.
A damaged item was shipped to me and now there are excuses to take it back and at different times they change their stand.

I had shipped this out of US and at first a return label was generated and upon relaizing it is outside US they got bold ..must have thought that I will not be able to take any actions..

Return shipping is like more than 30usd which seller wants me to pay and there is no offer to compensate atleast some % of the cost..it is like penalizing me for buying from them

Also the ratings seems manipulated and iam 200% sure that this cannot be genuine ratings shown there..probably amazon should do an audit to find out whether the ratings are the work of an insider.

I had bought this camera and the package arrived on time and there was no damage to the package..upon switching on the camera it was noticed that the front LCD ,which was the main feature,is not working..rather u can see a crack.

This was a refurbished product and have learned a lesson...if u pay peanuts(it was 90 usd ) u will get a monkey..
tks
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 12, 2011
I'm very satisfied with this camera! I am still finding out more of the capabilities. Have had it for 5 months, but only use it occasionally due to my busy schedule. So, I am really a beginner. Light weight and easy to carry. I appreciate the dual LCD screens on front and back. However, I don't really have a good traveling case to go with it, that is small, yet can carry the accessories. Love the convertible cable that comes with it. Just adding an adapter that converts the USB cable to a wall charger. Good job!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here