YED Save up to 90% on textbooks Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 STEM Valentines Day STEM Shop Popular Services TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Beat the Cold with Outdoor Clothing on Amazon STEM

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$11.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 81 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 107 reviews
on May 9, 2011
This is an exceptional album - a great funky soul-drenched set wherein Warren celebrates the music that first turned him on as a young child. Don't expect the monstrous riffs of Gov't Mule (and most Muleheads wouldn't expect them from a solo album of Warren's anyway) but do dig the syncopated licks and fills and call and responses with the horns and keyboards that all coalesce into fantastic songs that pour from the speakers like honey on a hot day.
77 comments| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2011
Warren Haynes performs stunningly on this new CD release, titled 'Man In Motion'. Warren Haynes presents in this CD 10 great compositions, wonderful guitar work & impressive vocals. The overall sound is that of great bluesy-rock sound. The opening track "Man In Motion" : is a solid track/gem/stand-out, a great choice for a title & opening track (gives you the impressive overall feel of this great CD). Other solid tracks/gems/stand-outs include "River Gonna Rise" (sound reminiscent of Kenny Rogers' "Islands In The Stream" sound, very impressive guitar work/sound), "Everyday Will Be Like A Holiday", "Sick Of My Shadow" (wonderful melody), "Your Wildest Dreams" (a slow/ballad track), "A Friend To You" (great sound reminiscent of the band Bad Company's great sound) & "Save Me" (wonderful ballad, great keyboard/guitar combination, great vocals & melody). Great tracks include "On A Real Lonely Night" & "Take A Bullet" (great melody). Okay/good track is "Hattiesburg Hustle" (mid-tempo track). There is no weak track to talk of on this great CD "Man In Motion", 10 great tracks, delivered by a 'man in a serious motion' to dish out great music! On overall, this is a very impressive musical delivery by the talented singer-songwriter/guitarist Warren Haynes, a highly recommended CD listening. A well deserved 5 star perfomance!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2011
Been a Mule fan for a quite a while... This new album doesn't have the bite that I was originally expecting or anticipating, yet it does not fail to please. The diversity of tracks leaves me acoustically satisfied. When it comes to Warren, the guitar licks never are lacking, so it is the rest of the orchestration that pushes the bar higher. Right from the start with the title track, this album grabs you. Phenomenal sax work on "Sick of My Shadow" complements the great guitar work that I've come to love from Warren. I really enjoyed "Take a Bullet", with the good groove and the horns (always liked seeing Mule live when they had the horn section)! I don't know if you could find a better closer to this album than the thick gospel-soul sound of "Save Me".
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2011
Warren Haynes has again surrounded himself with excellent musicians and created another masterpiece. I couldn't pick a best song on the album because every song has that moment of magic. Warren delivers some excellent licks and sometime when I anticipate a lead solo by Warren,Ron Holloway plays Tenor sax to die for. As another reviewer wrote, " all the instruments flow beautifully"and weave in and out creating some very enjoyable, soulful music.
This is music you need to hear !
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2011
Warren Haynes is one of the best guitarist/songwriters in the biz today. His work with the Allman Brothers and his own Gov't Mule has been outstanding. With Man in Motion, Warren realizes his longtime dream of recording a soul-inspired album and it's totally fitting that said album be released on Stax Records. Man in Motion was recorded at Willie Nelson's Pedernales recording studio in Texas, but it might as well have been in soul-dripping Memphis.

Warren's warm Gibson 335 tone provides lots of color, mixing well with the slinky horns, organ, and clavinet. Warren enlists the services of George Porter, Jr. on bass, Ivan Neville on organ, Wurlitzer, clavinet, & backing vocals, Raymond Weber on drums, Ron Holloway on tenor saxophone, Ian McLagen on Wurlitzer, piano, & organ, and Ruthie Foster on backing vocals. Additionally, Dave Grissom plays rhythm guitar on "Take a Bullet", the Grooveline Horns appear on "Take a Bullet & "Man in Motion", and co-producer Gordie Johnson (Big Sugar, Grady) plays guitar on Hattiesburg Hustle".

This unit really knows how to groove, stretching out on some really great Haynes-penned tracks like "River's Gonna Rise", "Take a Bullet", "On a Real Lonely Night", and the possibly autobiographical title track. Only "Everyday Will Be Like A Holiday" wasn't written by Warren.

This is just a gorgeous, very alive sounding record. If you're a Warren Haynes fan or love great rock and soul music, you won't be disappointed with Man in Motion. I even dug the artwork in the CD booklet, with its variations of red and black throughout. It gives the album a very classy look, which matches up well with the music within. I can't recommend it enough.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 11, 2011
Warren Haynes played at the Robert Johnson memorial Blues festival in Greenwood, MS this past weekend. Unfortunately i had to leave before his show-closing set. I missed a treat! My son,however, was blown away and listening to his latest CD, I can see why. With stellar sidemen including Ivan Neville on keys and George Porter on bass, this set, recorded live in studio, is a wonderful combination of soulful singing and masterful guitar work. It has an old-school feel while at the same time sounding up-to-the-minute. I had listened to the CD streaming on the Rolling Stone website and then took advantage of a great introductory download offer from Amazon.com to add this noteworthy album to my collection. I'm even thinking of adding the physical CD - I like it THAT much! Every track is top notch- absolutely no filler here. The songs clock in at anywhere from 5-8 minutes but they never sound elongated or jam-heavy. The combination of clear melodic bluesy guitar lines and funky sax breaks layered over Hammond organ and piano gives this record a timeless appeal for a wide audience. No wonder Warren is known as a musician's musician. This will do nothing but enhance his reputation as one of the finest around - who has mastered the art of 'feel'.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2011
The tremendously talented Warren Haynes seems to make a point to highly differentiate this great solo album from the Gov't Mule catalog. This is NOT the hard-edged blues-rock that the Mule is known for. This is smoky, bluesy R&B, and it still has Warren written all over it, with Warren taking on the songwriting, guitar playing and singing, as well as sharing in the producing and mixing duties. He's definitely a guy who can be left and right brained at the same time, getting all the technical aspects of the production in order, and then writing, singing and playing straight from the heart.

Though I'm more of a blues-rock guy than an R&B guy, I still really like this album, and I'm all for ignoring the current terrible music styles and hearkening back to the 70's, style-wise...a great era for music. What blows me away is how Warren just keeps coming up with song after song, really good ones, too...and they're original, they're not a ripoff or too similar to other past hits. The man's a musical genius, no doubt!

The only song I thought was a little bit long and boring is "In Your Wildest Dreams." Just seemed to drag on a bit. Still a good song, but I thought it could have used more of a changeup somewhere.

In addition to his soulful, muscular guitar playing, I've always enjoyed Warren's singing, and while he sounds great belting out the hard rock vocals for the Mule, he also sounds perfect for the smooth R&B material as well...he really knocks it out of the park! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2014
..was a Dixie Rock revival album. But this is way too good to be ignored. Falls somewhere in between the Allmans and Bonnie Raitt in sound-- closer to the Allman's obviously-- and just first rate, wall to wall... I suppose now I'll have to spend time backtracking him through Gov't Mule...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2011
Musically one of the best albums of the year.
Warren has laid down some great tracks with some very talented musicians. The departure from the jamband sounds provides a platform for Warren to showcase his diverse talents.

The only negative element remains the lyrics which are sophomoric in nature. A Warren collaboration with some of the talented songwriters would create an amazing soul album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2011
I've been a Gov Mule fan for awhile and after seeing them live, I am a fan for life now. So since Warren is the number one driving force of Gov Mule, I knew I'd love this for sure and I do. His guitar work is great and then throw in the vocals, it's a winner.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse