Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Molecular Mixology Kit - Cocktail R-EVOLUTION
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Price:$49.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 25, 2012
I like the idea of this kit but was highly disappointed that several of the drinks require an immersion blender. The gelification is extremely difficult without one. The recipes that come with it are terrible. The videos are nice for technique but they managed to mess up the recipe for a screwdriver! Also be aware that most of these recipes take quite a while to make and must be consumed almost immediately after they are finished. It's not really something you can pull out at a party to entertain your guests with. You will also go through the included ingredients really fast. The screwdriver recipe needs 2 pouches of gelatin for one drink and considering the kit only come with 10 of them, that's one expensive screwdriver and it takes over an hour to make. I think most people would be better off buying the ingredients by themselves and looking up the recipes online. The included tools consist of a set of measuring spoons, a small slotted spoon and 5 plastic pipettes. Assuming you own any kitchenware, the only think you may not have are the pipettes and you can pick those up or order them really cheap Plastic Transfer Pipettes 3ml, Gradulated, Pack of 100.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2012
I have some of R-Evolution's other kits but I wasn't much of fan of this one. This kit is extremely repetitive and almost identical to the cuisine kit. The recipes aren't for drinks but rather silly additions to classical cocktails. One particularly disappointing "recipe" was for salt foam to top a plain margarita. (Incidentally, the margarita didn't have simple syrup... it was just booze and lime topped with salt foam... yuck!)

The DVD format is old fashioned, which is silly considering it's "modernist."
11 comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2012
I own a nightclub, wanted to go molecular for some specialty drinks. We tried three of these recipes, which are most difficult to decipher, and make so few as an end result, each cocktail would take half an hour to make. Much too confusing and very little instruction. Left me wishing I had not ordered.
22 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
Served its purpose. I made some gummy balls and a mess. Dr. Dreadful for adults. Fun! Now what to do with the leftover blue goo in my refrigerator...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2014
I called the company (molecule R ) directly to ask if the kit is complete to make everything in booklet and they confirmed it was. It's not, you need to buy silicone mold and foamer. I would have purchased everything if they would have given me the correct information, so that's why the low rating.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2013
Received this product with the Cuisine starter kit and both come with their own dvds (which are a bit outdated), their own sachets and tools. I am a personal chef and have been looking forward to putting a few modern twists on my dishes and cocktails. This kit gives you step by step instructions, although I would suggest picking up a professional scale (a small one that measures to the .1g) and a book with full explanations and history of the ingredients. I would also suggest picking up silicon molds because using the dropper or spoons to make larger spheres is BEYOND difficult. The scale will help a great deal on weighing your ingredients to keep stable mixes and after time you will be able to eyeball most things. The kit comes with additives already weighed in 1g measurements which is awesome and very helpful! I was able to make caviar on my first try and it isn't too hard if you follow the directions exactly. Modernist cooking is focused on the precision of food and flavor and these kits are kind of the "foot in the doorway" to that idea. The large amount of time you spend on just a few things is worth it but keep in mind that it WILL be stressful at first lol.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2012
Was expecting a food grade syringe and tube but got some cheap droppers they might last a drink or two.Would help if they listed all the tools instead of tools included. But since they don't show a syringe like some of the other sites I guess you get what you see. DVD is useless it has drinks to make but that something they could discard too lower the price.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2015
I am a bit obsessed with molecular gastronomy and could literally go on a tour of every chef's restaurant who uses the modern techniques around the globe, so I was pretty excited to get this kit along with the food version as I think it might be the only kit like it anywhere. It is a little more complicated than I expected and you need to supplement your kitchen gear with a hand mixer, but with a little focus it's a pretty cool experience to put your own artful spin into your food in your most imaginative way!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
It was always apparent this was a "gimicky" thing you bought for a friend or loved one who likes mixing cocktails. But what wasn't apparent was that you needed other gadgets before you could use this. ..most importantly, an immersion blender. I only begrudge the price of it, not the idea, however.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2016
Purchased accidentally, but keeping it for the hell of it. This kit contains a small amount of additives (5 packs each) and some tools. While I am a believer of Molecule-R's other kits and equipment this one stinks. The "hard copy" recipe book has one type of each discipline, the dvd is terrible, just a step by step with music that came from a bad porno stock site.

If the DVD had an actual walk through with some one talking you through how and why this would get at least 4 stars.

On a side not, for a style of cooking that is supposed to be bleeding edge in tech and art, why did you shoot for a DVD and have it in the style of a high school "how its made" video sans explanation?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here