Beauty Summer Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Carters Fire TV Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



TOP 500 REVIEWERon May 26, 2016
As a big follower of OLED technology for several years now, I was almost 100% sure that I was going to buy the EF9500, which I almost did during the Holiday season of 2015. But like any electronic, the most important question to ask is "will it worth it to just wait until next year?". This question kept me curious to wait until CES 2016 just to see if LG had anything really worthy up their sleeves. Turned out that LG did have something worthwhile to show to the electronic world with the new 2016 signature line of OLED TVs. Although nothing would make me happier than having a 65" OLED of my own right now, patience for the right TV has kept me from making an $10,000 investment in Oled a few years ago when the technology was just taking baby steps. Patience is also what's going to get me a great deal on a 2016 Oled this holiday season. Along with the rest of the 2016 signature Oleds (G6, E6, B6, C6 all share the same video processor and specs), the B6 Oled is on the "lower end" and a great combination between 2016 Oled technology and cost. These are the Oleds you've been waiting for, and if you were on the fence on just buying an older model for a steep discount, allow me to explain why I feel its worth the wait to buy a 2016 Oled instead.

I have looked into specs for both the 2016 and the 2015 lineup, and it all boils down to one simple question. For the price (above $2,999), am I getting a TV that is future proof? When the EF9500 was released, no one can deny that it wasn't amazing to look at. Compared to the EG9600, it got rid of the curved screen, and it included all three HDMI 2.0a & HDCP2.2 ports that would allow for UHD HDR content through HDMI (not just apps) which made me feel like it was future proofed at the time. Then the price dropped from $6,999 to $5,999, to $4,999, (I've even seen the 65EG9600 for $3500 on Ebay as a daily deal) so I was tempted to buy and came close. So why should you wait to buy the B6 instead? Simply put, the Oled technology in the EF9500 (also EG9600) will not be able to keep up with UHD players and UHD content hitting the market in the coming years in terms of ability, and in terms of the level of maturity in the OLED technology itself.

To further elaborate on the subject, as another reviewer for the G6 2016 Oled did, as another reviewer did I'd like to refer to a great article from tvevaluate.com with did have some great comparisons between the 2015 (EF9500,EG9600) and 2016 lineup (G6, E6, B6, C6) to help explain what the EF9500 can't do well. I also have added some information on HDR, HDMI 20a, and brightness comparisons that I found out through research as well. KEEP IN MIND THE B6 IS THE ONLY MODEL WITHOUT 3D IF THAT'S IMPORTANT TO YOU.

1) The 2016 Oled lineup features ColorPrime Pro technology allowing them to display 99% of the DCI-P3 expanded range of colors for better true to cinema visuals. The EF9500 and EG9600 models only cover less than 90% of DCI-P3 which affects their abilities to truly recreate cinema type visuals and colors. Blacks are still on par and similar on all models.

2) The 2016 Signature models meet the criteria for “Ultra HD Premium” which requires at least a 540 nits peak brightness and less than 0.0005 nits black level. On the other hand on some calibration tests the EF9500 and EG9600 could be pushed to the upper 370 nit level range, but still not on par with the 2016 Lineup. Brightness levels may not come close to some 2015-2016 TV models from other reputable brands such as Sony and Samsung which can reach close to 1000 Nits or even more. However, LG's Oled's ability to decrease black levels in individual pixels to virtually off levels while displaying rich and vibrant color images creates enough of an image contrast to create superb HDR images and video. Athough HDR was added by a firmware upgrade on the EF9500 and EG9600 models, the increase in brightness in the 2016 signature lineup and wider DCI-P3 color range of 99% changes HDR and UHD video on an LG OLED from a Gimmick, to a industry competitor.

3) Speaking of HDR and keeping up with future standards, one of the reasons I held out on OLEDs each year was the eventual introduction of HDMI 2.0a & HDCP2.2. Originally, 4K content was possible with the older HDMI 1.4 but only at 24-30fps. HDMI 2.0 then came out and has become a standard on all 4K TV's which allowed 4k content to be played seamlessly at 50-60fps. Then out of nowhere, this thing called HDMI 2.0a and HDCP2.2 becomes a standard, and older (and still very decent) 4K TV's became outdated. What is HDMI 2.0a? It's the ability for UHD content to display content in HDR. HDCP2.2 is the copy prevention technology standard moving forward to prevent illegal copying of 4k content. If your TV doesn't have HDCP2.2 embedded into it's connection, (even if it had the ability to) your content will not play to its full potential. As stated before, through a firmware update the 2015 EG9600 was able to play HDR content but only through the third party applications like Amazon, Netflix, Hulu, etc. The HDMI ports were all 2.0 and not HDCP 2.2 which meant future UHD players with the ability to play content in HDR would not work through HDMI. The EF9500 came out later in the year and actually included all three HDMI 2.0a/HDCP 2.2 ports. The 2016 Lineup includes a total of 3 (the more expensive G6 model has 4) HDMI ports all of which are HDMI 2.0a and HDCP 2.2 compliant. The difference with the 2016 models is that they don't just display HDR, they execute it well. Simply having the HDMI port doesn't mean anything is the design and ability of the TV can't showcase the content however. This is where the G6 and all the other 2016 OLEDs impress. The combination of the 2016 Signature lineup's increased brightness and color range, creates a new level of vibrancy and authenticity to UHD video content. These improved capabilities have also made the 2016 signature lineup compliant with HDR (High Dynamic Range), HDR10 (2015 EF/EG are not compliant), and Dolby Vision formats (2015 EF/EG are not compliant). These are all important standards of UHD that Netflix, Amazon, and Movie Studios are incorporating into movies and TV shows that are available now, and in the future. Gizmondo wrote a great article on the comparison and extremely improved visuals of Netflix's Daredevil with HDR (Dolby Vision to be exact) on a 2016 Oled when compared to the 4k TV he already had, which just means I'm going to rewatch both seasons when I do get the TV :-)

4) Lastly, from looking up many forums and researching Oleds the past few years, the issue of Oled technology maturity have been an issue for previous models. This has been apparent for 2015 models with issues such as vignetting, banding, blobs of color on screen, edge lighting issues, simply not working at all, and more. Though these issues have been worked on as the newer EF9500 sets hit the market (serial numbers starting with 505 were first I believe, up to 511 or 512 by now), they are still issues that one has to consider when buying this TV. Because the 2016 are a year older, LG had another year to refine these issues (which they did). Though the percentage is low on people who had these issues, those that did required moderate to extensive repairs which is not a problem when under warranty, but a problem once you're out of the initial 1 year period.

Between the comparison of 2015 and the 2016 lineup, and keeping in mind the progress made in the last few years to elevate 4K content and UHD content, I realized that a shift was made in the entertainment industry from not only focusing on acquiring a higher resolution (4K), but to display video content to near flawless levels. The goal being to bring you elevated visuals straight from the imagination of movie makers, directors, etc. in a manner that balances fluidity, contrast, and color. This is where HDR comes in. And why is HDR so important? Because HDR is like a composer that pushes every visual component of your TV to play gorgeous and fluid visuals. It brings out light where it needs it, pushes black where it should be, and coordinates the color spectrum in an image with an end result that can be described as "balanced, natural, and life-like". The future of TV is not just about the higher resolution, but about what's behind that resolution. The downfall with the EF9500 (and the EG9600 for that matter) is that what it visually displays, it does it well, but where it matters in regards to UHD HDR, HDR10, and Dolby Vision, "well" won't cut it in the near future. Though the improved color range is noticeable if you pay attention to the details, the improved brightness levels of the 2016 models really give UHD HDR content justice. Brightness levels are critical to the future of HDR, and though not as bright as other Samsung, Vixio, Sony models etc., the 2016 models with up to 600 nits of brightness and their ability to turn individual pixels completely off, are truly the first LG models that are competitive in terms of HDR quality. For those still on the fence on whether or not to go 2016, I suggest finding an in store display 65G6 from one of the available locations on LG's website (I went to a Best Buy in Los Angeles) and see the comparison for yourself. To me, these differences were apparent, and if the content is HDR capable the distinctions were even larger.

So what in particular is different with the B6 compared to the other models? Along with the C6 Curved version, the B6 includes a 40W sound system, and is Flat in shape. Unlike the higher end, more expensive G6 and E6 models which have a distinguishable "screen on glass" look which is only a few credit cards deep, the B6 and C6 have backing more comparable to the 2015 models and 1.9 inches deep. So why go with a B6 model instead? the real benefit is cost. Currently a 65 in MSRP is $5,999 for a B6 model, the same as the higher up E6 65 in model on sale (regular MSRP is $6,999). If last years trends continue onto this year, we can shortly expect a $1,000 price cut on the current price, and up to a $2,000 cut by christmas dropping this model between the 4-5k price which would be a great value. Since all the 2016 models have the same video specs, paying 1k or more just for the outer aesthetic look of the TV may not be worth it for some. And as I mentioned with the E6 model, the upper end G6 and E6 models put those with dedicated surround sound systems and audiophiles in a bit of a bind. This is because the E6 and G6 models have a built in sound bar by Harmon which is attached and can’t be removed from the TV. For me, I already have a sound bar under where my TV is mounted, so an additional soundbar under the TV itself would look tacky I would imagine. The featured pics are of the G6 which show the soundbar, also the pics show what the B6 video display looks like since its the same tech. This lack of a built in soundbar in my opinion is a benefit for the B6 and C6 models. Lastly, unlike the rest of the models, the B6 IS THE ONLY MODEL WITHOUT 3D CAPABILITIES. This may not be a deal breaker for many since 3D is a dying trend, but for me with many 3D movies, this news was a deal breaker for me and had to default to the E6 since I’m not a fan of curved.

This year, LG was able to break the standard of what a home OLED TV can really do. I am choosing the 65E6 OLED TV for my household because for the price, you're not just paying for a TV that looks good, you want a TV that hits a homerun for everything. Because in that case, there are plenty of television larger than 65" and cheaper than $3,000 that can make current Bluray HD content look "good to great". But unlike the transition from DVD to Bluray, Bluray to UHD standards now go above simply reaching a desired resolution and are now focusing on how that content is being visually displayed. Every 4K television before 2015 attempted a guess at what the future of TV would hold, but very few were future-proofed for what is yet to come in the next five years. So take it from someone who has been price checking and following Oleds for years, the 2016 LG OLED lineup successfully achieves the perfect balance between, OLED maturity, technological ability, and price that I and many others have long been waiting for. So if the price hasn't stopped you and you want the very best, look no further than the 2016 OLED lineup.

UPDATE 04/13/16- I have recently come across a CNET article which goes over HDR10 and Dolby Vision HDR more in depth, and I want to share some information for those on the fence of buying a new TV of any brand in the next coming months. When the signature line was announced, LG stated that their 2016 Oled Signature line was both HDR10 and Dolby Vision capable, this I thought had more to do with capability rather than actual hardware. As the CNET article explained, VIZIO and LG are the only major TV brands at this time to support both HDR10 and Dolby Vision HDR on their newer TV's (Vizio will add HDR10 through a firmware update). HOWEVER, Samsung and Sony have pledged support for only HDR10. Unlike HDR10 which can be downloaded through a firmware update, Dolby Vision is only capable in TV's that have their Dolby Vision Chip imbedded inside the processor of the TV. Which means that is your TV isn't Dolby Vision capable from the beginning, it won't ever be. At this time, all 4k HDR Blurays are HDR10 and all UHD 4K Players are also HDR10, with neither supporting Dolby Vision at this time. However, most of the Dolby Vision content is coming from online streaming from Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, and Vudu to name a few. As the CNET article also explains, Dolby Vision and HDR10 act differently on how the video content will be displayed in HDR, with some studios, directors, and producers showing a preference for Dolby Vision for some content, and HDR10 for other content. From what Netflix and Amazon have explained, shows that are HDR capable may be available in either HDR format which means that your TV or the streaming service will choose whichever HDR format looks best on your TV, or whichever they are only capable of. If a show was made in Dolby Vision and not in HDR 10 however, you're out of luck if its not an LG or Vizio. From what the Article explained HDR10 is open format which means more user friendly, but the HDR settings are static and don't change throughout the Movie/TV show whereas Dolby Vision might take some more time to work with, but it has the ability to adjust HDR from frame to frame which sounds great. Dolby Vision is also heavily backed by Google if that means something. Either way, HDR10 and Dolby Vision are just becoming known by most people, but it's important for those on the fence for either an LG, Vizio, Samsung, Sony, or other to know what their TV is actually capable of before buying and make sure they understand what their TV is, or isn't capable of.
review imagereview imagereview image
1,287 people found this helpful
|5150+ comments|Report abuse
on November 13, 2016
Pros:__________
- Pure stunning on how thin it is as its thinner than a pencil and borders are almost nonexistence (1.1 cm).
- Motion blur is superb as LG’s TruMotion sharpens movement without creating any extra visual effects when watching in 4k.
- TruMotion also controls with non-4K content videos and you will see a superb improvement when, 1080p-720p, fast pace scenes are shown.
- Its upscaling engine is able to magnify and sharpen picture content the majority of non 4k video sources. Even without 4k quality, you’re still going to view an upgrade with regular (720-1080p) videos.
- As mention before, non 4k sources will also have an upgrade in having a much richer, deeper range of shadow and color variations in their shots.
- Each pixel has the ability to maximize its brightness and deactivate, creating a total blackout. This is the first I’ve seen on any model that each pixel can produce pure / perfect blackness. In other words, each pixel’s wide range of brightness has the ability to turn “on” and “off.”
- When the OLED pixels are shut off in dark scenes during video content you’ll be getting a perfectly infinite level of contrast.
- Comes with plenty of applications in customization and apps that makes it become a smart television platform.
- Navigation of apps and the smart menu is straight forward as a pointer layout is integrated into the system.
- Color performance, contrast, black uniformity, and pixel local dimming are not only stunning in range and quality when watching 4k television, but you’ll honestly never look away.
- Been told that there is a total of 1.07 billion colors under this OLED, creating rich and realism life. This is best explained if you watch Discovery Channels “Planet Earth” series.
- Viewing angles are consistent in color contrast as it’s a flat panel and not the curve model.
- Four HDMI ports and 3 USB port (One is a USP 3.0 port).
- 802.11ac Wi-Fi capacity and built-in Bluetooth.
- No remote, there is a tiny control stick at the bottom center of the television where you’ll be able to control everything from there.
- The magic remote works like a charm as it can control an on-screen cursor as if it was an air mouse, built-in microphone / voice search, and overall you’ll be able to navigate just using your voice. Overall it’s the same layout as its predecessor.
- You’ll be able to customize your content menu for all your favorite television channels / shows as the layout isn’t overwhelming and doesn’t through it at your face.
- Media streaming: Amazon, Google Play, Hulu, Netflix, Vudu.
- Energy saving option cuts down the power use while still being watchable, still prefer full power.
- Multi-View mode is able to display two video sources at once. Keep in mind only one HDMI source at a time.

Cons and Oks:__________
- Roku, Amazon Fire, and Android television sets have more app options. Limited choices / light on apps, overall lack in service (HBO Now, Sling TV, etc.).
- Do not buy this if you’re a gamer. There is significant lag time even when setting on the TV is in “Game Console.” PlayStation or Xbox their will all be lag time and will not function accurately (55-70 milliseconds lag time).
- Lack of analog audio ports.
- No 3D compatibility.
- “Game Mode” can throw off color contrast.
- Under normal watching, it’ll consume an average around 420 watts.
- Hope this isn’t true, but a couple of articles have stated that HDR Gaming fix is not possible since it’s a hardware issue rather than a software issue.

Bottom Line:__________
It’s indeed a beautiful piece of machinery. OLED pixel layout is incredible and what’s best of it all is that it’s slim beyond all competitors. I know in the past the OLED’s has been criticized for its weaker brightness, compared to LCD TV, but this set has shown great improvement and will not be an issue. If you have any concern in color contrast I will always recommend in professional calibration. But overall one of the greatest achievements is the pixel layout that is able to go total blackness.

Overall, four out of five stars because it has one major problem. As much as it’s beautiful in quality it’s not for gaming. The input lag makes it difficult fix as I hope that a software fix will be the answer. But other than that it’s truly a sight hold, and I hope LG is able to fix the issue if you want to use it for gaming entertainment. Verdict: If you’re a gamer wait until the issue is fixed. Not a gamer, it’s indeed the best buy of being a future proof television set.

Hopefully, I was helpful to you.
Love,
Honest Reviewer
285 people found this helpful
|1111 comments|Report abuse
on January 31, 2017
Warning: This is NOT an entry-level TV. If you are looking for something you can plug in and not worry about, don't even bother.

Note: LG has confirmed that this is the exact same display used on all of LG's more expensive OLED TVs. The differences are cosmetic, glass screen cover as opposed to plastic, and 3D capability (which is already dying the death it deserves). The only possible difference in performance is the glass screen cover, but it some cases that can actually be worse, but we're getting far into the videophile and "I didn't even know that was a thing" levels of difference. Effectively this TV is the same as the much more expensive models. So if you are here wondering what the difference is and what this TV is missing that makes it thousands of dollars less expensive, it's basically gold trim and a glass screen that 99.9999% of people won't be able to tell the difference on.

If you are looking at a TV and have the money to seriously consider an OLED, stop what you're doing and go to the nearest big box store and look at one of these things. I mean seriously look at one of them. Adjust the color settings in the store (they NEVER do that properly in a store) and look at it compared to a back-lit LCD TV. The difference is MASSIVE. Plain and simple, no better picture is available on the market today than LG's OLED offering. Period. People who come over and watch it are blown away.

The advertisement that shows on this page is actually pretty informative and not overblown. OLEDs are individually lit and colored, so you get true blacks and no back-light wash that you get with any LED TV. LG's default screen saver actually does a really good job of showing off its color range compared against a true black contrast. I'm typing this on a computer that has a $600 "gaming" monitor that is of exceptional quality, and the difference between my black desktop background and the one on the TV is night and day.

If you are a gamer, this is by far the best TV you can buy for one simple reason: Response time. As a PC gamer, that is one of the most important things you can look for in a monitor. Response time is basically how long it takes for your input to be shown on the screen. Gaming monitors on PC will be ~1-2 ms response time, for example, so the time between you moving your mouse and that movement showing on the monitor is effectively unnoticeable. TVs unfortunately have a major problem they can't overcome to get their response time that low: size. It takes time to process and send a signal to all of the LEDs. The bigger the TV, the worse this generally is. TV Response times are usually in the 60-100 range, and are very noticeable if you are used to a computer monitor. However, this TV is clocking at around 35ms response time, which is phenomenal for a TV this size (both the 55 and 65 had similar response times). It appears that OLED TVs just naturally have a better response time, so if you want the best TV with the best gaming specs on the market, this is it.

Last years models (2015) had some legitimate complaints about brightness when watching in a well-lit room. I can say with the utmost confidence that this generation of LG OLEDs has solved that problem - though it will take some adjusting on your part.

Now, there is some pain that comes with these TVs, and they aren't for the faint of heart nor light of wallet. First and foremost, they are expensive. OLED technology is dominantly used in smart phones and takes up most of the production cycle LG has access to. Beyond that, the technology is just naturally expensive to produce. So buying this TV will hurt your wallet. I got mine in "Like New" condition from a reseller on Amazon and it came in factory packaging for more than 25% off the New price, and it was still more expensive than any other TV anyone I know owns, and I have a few friends with more money than sense.

Next, the TV will absolutely require calibration to your environment. This is something that should be done with every TV, but a good calibration is especially important with OLED TVs. You can look this up online, look for the optimal settings all you want. I will warn you right now, you will get deep down into the videophile rabbit hole and come out of it looking for professional calibration services because screw all that noise. For some people, paying someone to calibrate your TV is the right choice. Ultimately what I did was get the color to where I liked it (wide gamut) and set the gamma to where I liked it (BT.1886), and then made other adjustments that are environment dependent using the 'Expert (Bright Room)' picture mode as a starting point. OLED Light (85), Contrast (90), and Brightness (56) will all vary based on your environment and your eyes. How I got those settings was watching a show on Netlix with letterbox bars, paused it on a dark scene, and adjusted it to where I could see detail in shadows without causing the letterbox bars to start to change to gray. It took me about a week of watching various shows and movies to get it right.

Now, there are some negatives to this TV, but if you go into purchasing it completely informed and accept those negatives, they don't detract from the score as they don't really detract from the experience offered.

First negative is WebOS. I'm sorry, but it sucks. It has little to no third-party support, and you'll be using a Chromecast or Roku to get a lot of your content outside of the big streaming services (Netflix, Hulu, Amazon). Now, that's completely fine since I knew about that and wanted to upgrade to the 4k Chromecast that I use for other things anyways. So while WebOS is a negative, if you're informed about it, you can make a decision. If you only care about watching anime on Crunchyroll, just know that they don't have a WebOS 3.0 app and you'll need a Chromecast. LG would much better serve their customers by going with Android since it has much better third party support. I get that they purchased WebOS and want to make their money off of it, but it really wasn't the most customer-centric decision.

Second negative is the light band. Nearly EVERY OLED screen in existence has these, and they aren't very noticeable once you get your settings right, and they will only be seen when on letterbox bars and particularly dark scenes. These screens have what's called a Burn-In period, and, in most cases, after that period the band will fade to being barely noticeable. Mine is already starting to fade after just a few weeks of casual use. While it technically a negative, it should be expected and you should know how to deal with it going into purchasing an OLED TV.

Third negative is the remote, and it really is the biggest one. Initially I thought it was really cool, it's bluetooth, has an accelerometer that allows you to use the remote like a pointer which is handy in a lot of cases. However, you can't adjust how or when that feature is triggered, and it is seemingly random how much movement is required to bring up the pointer. Sometimes simply picking up the remote to change the volume will trigger the pointer. Other times I can walk the remote across the room and it won't come up. It's also not completely intuitive, since it isn't an IR pointer, whatever orientation you are to the TV is how the remote measures movement. This results in some awkward use of the feature trying to position the pointer, and I often ended up turning off the pointer holding the remote in a deliberate position, and triggering the pointer manually with the scroll wheel on the remote. The single biggest annoyance, however, is to get the pointer to go away you have to function another button, which in any of the built-in apps cause any of a number of things to happen. Ultimately this is just an annoyance that takes getting used to, but the poor implementation of what should be something really cool is a problem. Unfortunately, the feature can't be disabled. I really hope LG fixes this in a future update (luckily software updates can address this issue) as it is the only thing I even considered taking a star off for.

There are many features I don't personally care for and I just turn off, like Tru-Motion (LG's name for the software that is on every Smart TV anymore that causes that "Soap-Opera" effect). Tru-Motion actually can cause headaches and nausea in some people. My advice is to turn it off anyways, a lot of older shows will look terrible with it on. However, it is a feature that can be disabled, so I won't take points off for something I can disable.

Despite WebOS and the stupid remote (It's not even close to "magic", LG), this TV is still the best one I've ever had. The picture alone is mind blowing and worth every penny and minute of effort you will spend learning and adjusting this TV.
241 people found this helpful
|1111 comments|Report abuse
on June 23, 2017
TERRIBLE LG CUSTOMER SERVICE! Overpriced, defective TV. Useless warranty. I've had my LG OLED TV model # OLED55B6P for seven months when I began to notice an image burned into the screen. The image burned into the screen was the ticker tape that runs along the bottom of the screen when watching a business channel. There's also a line that goes up the center of the screen on the TV too. Every morning when I wake up I put on the Fox Business Channel while getting ready to leave for work. Apparently, doing this every morning caused the ticker tape image to burn into the screen. I've never experienced this happening with any other TV I've owned in the past. I called LG customer service and explained the situation and they arranged for a service technician to come out and check the TV. The technician took pictures and confirmed that the image was indeed a burn-in issue caused by NORMAL TV WATCHING and that LG doesn't cover burn-in issues on any of their TV's. So, I'm basically stuck with an overpriced, defective TV under warranty that LG refuses to fix. Why even have a warranty if they are not going to honor it? When I called LG customer service back a second time they had a record of my experience and said I had abused the TV. What??? Abused the TV? How? By turning it on and watching it? How is that abuse? As far as I'm concerned I'm done with LG and will NEVER purchase ANY of their products again. BUYER BEWARE!!! You are taking a chance when buying this TV.
review imagereview imagereview image
88 people found this helpful
|77 comments|Report abuse
on July 11, 2017
picture quality is 5*. best I have ever seen and the rest of the reviews for this product speak for themselves. any yet... I do NOT recommend you buy this TV. Why? because of LG customer service....

at some point, these companies have to realize that their product is not the physical "thing" they sell. it's the whole packages including support and warranty.

This TV has been working great for about 11 months. warranty expiration is right around the corner and I get a dead pixel surprise... a horizontal line across the screen (about 4/5th) of dead pixels. They died mid netflix binge so defiantly not a fault of physical damage. my TV is in pristine condition.

Ok ** happens, sometimes you get a bad panel, still a 4.75* experience....

Email 1 to LG -- nice website. lots of clicks to get to where I need. np. after the email is sent I get a "receipt number" but no email confirmation that the message was sent. Keep this receipt number in mind it comes back later.

Call #1 with LG -- representative wasn't very helpful at all. she couldn't find my email based on the address, phone number or the "receipt number" . she suggested I unplug the TV a couple of times while it's on.... She asked the same questions 2-3 times. based on my SN she found that the unit was sold in august 2016 which means it is still under warranty. Eventually she agreed someone should come out to service the unit but informed me no LG service techs are available. Instead she gave me the phone # for a local company that they trust. 3 days later I get a hold of the company and they tell me no LG case number exists so they can't send someone out.

Call #2 with LG -- I was told the last rep had marked my case as "out of warranty" which is why the local company couldn't find any records. I was asked several times to provide verification of the purchase and information they looked up before was not under suspicion and I had to prove via invoices.The rep explained that I need to be in front of the TV to run some app that helps them trouble shoot, until that was complete, she could not send anyone out to service the TV... Fine, I came home and called back.

Call #3 with LG -- I had to redo all the trouble shooting steps all over again. I was told to download a suspicious application on an android or ios device (apparently if you don't have a device with a camera, LG can't take in your warranty request). I download the app from some website because obviously apple doesn't want it in the app store. the download took about 10 minutes on my Gigabit internet connection... throughout, the rep annoyingly asked me over and over to let her know when it's done downloading.... finally I open the app and surprise! It's blocked on my ipad and I am told I need to find my own instructions for unblocking the app but that I should trust that the app will not do harm. 5 minutes later and the app is open. At this point the rep asks for a few minutes to open the app on her side.... (WHAT WAS SHE DOING WHILE WE WERE WAITING). after about 5 minutes she gives up and says "it seems like someone else is using the app so I can't use it" --- does LG only have 1 license for this shady video chat app that they force you to download????? The rep asks me to email her photos of the TV. I tell her I have already emailed the photos. She says she needs a reference number NOT a receipt number to locate the email. WHY does the website give me a receipt number if I need a reference number???

At this point, I have had it. I asked for a manager. I was told a manager would gladly speak to me in 30-60 minutes :) .... I asked for "oh god, can anyone else just schedule a service for me". I am then put on hold for another 15 minutes with no check-in at which point I hang up and dial again.

Call #4 with LG -- I start out as calmly as I possibly can. I explain that I have spent hours on the phone trying to get someone to service this 11 month old TV set that cost over $4,000 when I purchased it. I told them I would happily pay for the service myself if the technician determines the issue is not LG's fault. I just want someone to come look at this in person. I get no words of sympathy, I am asked for more verification of the purchase date and my name and address. I was then put on hold for about 5 minutes. The rep comes back saying there are no technicians available for the next 5 business days and her scheduling system only lets them schedule 5 days into the future.... WHAT??? come on... REALLLY???? ok so I start laughing and ask for a reference number that the local company can use to bill LG. The rep tells me she called the local company, they are also booked out 5 days into the future and when this happens they cannot create a reference number for me. I was told to sit tight for 3-5 business days at which point LG will hopefully call me to schedule a service.

I am now crossing my fingers and waiting for LG to call me to schedule service. Who knows if the call will ever come... warranty is expiring in a month and I will bet this broken TV that they will lose track of my claim for the next month at which time it's no longer their responsibility. IF only I had a reference number that they can lookup in their system to see the records of my calls....

Update as of July 28th
Call # 5 with George Electronix-- 5 days after call #4, a random man with a strong Russian accent calls my phone saying he wants to come to my house and pickup the TV. After many questions, I find out he is somehow related to LG and got my contact information from them. He attempts to schedule a visit at 11PM on Thursday night. WHAT! ... I explained that I will be sleep at 11pm so that does not work for me. He then tries to schedule a visit at 11PM on Friday night... at this point, I am so suspicious that I want daylight, plenty of people around and enough light for security cameras to keep everyone honest. Finally we schedule a pickup (not an inspection) for Sunday morning.

The older gentleman arrives in a dirty white van, with no identification and no tools. He comes up and immediately decides the TV is un-fixable and he has to take it to the shop. While I insist on showing him the problem, he experienced the TV randomly turning off for no reason. He laughs but confirms that there is no physical damage anywhere on the TV and this type of issue is not really related to physical damage anyways. He then single handedly picks up the giant 65 inch TV and tilts the entire thing to rest on his body. At this point, there is so much pressure on the screen that I am worried about his safety in case the panel breaks as he is holding it. He is not worried and boasts of his strength while the Screen is visibly bending. he finally gets the TV in his truck and tries to leave without giving me any receipt or calling card. just walks out with $4000... I insist on at least a business card and a copy of his work order. He gives me the work order and his business card and leaves.

4 days go by --- I hear nothing....

Call # 6 with LG -- I asked for a status or at least confirmation that LG is aware that my TV was picked up by one of their people. They confirm and assure me that the repairs will be covered under warranty but at this time, they are unable to confirm what the repairs are and when the TV will be back in my possession.

about 7 days go by --- I hear nothing....

Call #7 with "unknown number" -- "hello we have to schedule a delivery with you" ... uhh what? "is your name ..." You get the picture. after 10 minutes of verification, we schedule the unknown but large package to be delivered to my house sometimes between 1-4 on July 28th.

Yay -- looks like I will finally have my TV back.

Call #8 with FedEx freight. -- The delivery man confirmed that he is outside my building and cannot bring the package up. They are not responsible for un-boxing or ensuring the item is in good condition. My wife received the package and smooth talked the guy into bringing it to the elevator so she can take it up.

at this point, it sure looks like I have my TV back so I run home and eagerly open the box. Is it a surprise that all I get is a Giant OLED panel? no TV, no remote no nothing... this part was shipped to me instead of the repair shop. I won't rant about this particular mistake.

Call #9 with LG -- I explain everything again to the patient, rep since she spoke English well and seemed helpful. She did try to verify that the TV is under warranty which is where I almost lost it. I went into hysterical giggles which prompted a "what's so funny sir" question. I re-explained everything again... She asked for time to review the case. 5 minutes later she was very concerned because there was absolutely no record of anyone picking up and doing repairs on my TV. there wasn't even a record of this giant OLED panel being shipped to my apartment. She was totally out of ideas and had no idea how to proceed. I offered George's phone number to her and she spend 10 minutes calling and talking to George. She confirmed the mistakes and said George will be in contact with me to schedule a pick-up. I asked whether these contractors had any SLAs around how long they take to repair TVs and she said they do not. I asked if I should expect to wait 1 week or 3 months and she said she really can't say. :) :) :) :) :)

Call # 10 with George -- George explained how this isn't his fault and how he is the real victim because now he has to come pickup the TV and no one is paying him for the extra trip. I patiently listened since I just need this giant liability to be out of my house. last thing I need is for someone to claim i broke it while packing or unpacking it.

George is stopping by between 9-10 pm tonight (yes, July 28th, it's a Friday night).

the Saga continues... more updates soon. I hope...

Aug 3rd... George called me at 7pm to try and deliver the Tv between 9-10pm. I said fine since I was eager to get this over with. George had a partner with him this time and they delivered the tv with no protective padding or cardboard or foam or just nothing... they man handled it and at one point lifted it by the thin screen, it was bending and groaning in the elevator. They set it down and turned it on to realize there was two black pieces of heavy duty tape on the screen. How did they not notice in the shop?? Anyways, they peeled the tape off and used their nails, water, and paper towels to wipe the glue off the screen. After 20 minutes of leaving finger prints all over, I asked them to just leave and I will take it up with LG.

Call #11 ... LG apologiesed and filed a complaint against the vendor. They had no recommendation for removing the left over glue and told me using any solution with benzene or alcohol would void ,y warranty. It's my responsibility to get the glue off the screen.

Aug 10th... this glue is really resistant to everything I tried. After much cursing and googling, I was ready to call LG again when I noticed the screen had "bubbles" under it. Before jumping off the balcony, I realized the bubbles are very much like those under cellphone screen protectors. After some nail filing, I peeled off the protective cover that the vendor had not bothered to take off and my tv is as good as new. Kind of... need to calibrate the color again.

All in all this was a terrible experience. I would never buy LG again and recommend you wait for Sony oled prices to drop. OLED is absolutely the best picture I have ever seen. It's LG that gets 2*s.
43 people found this helpful
|88 comments|Report abuse
on November 1, 2017
Doesn't matter how good the picture is if it breaks in less than 12 months. This is the second LG HD Tv i've had that failed.

After 11 months of being used just to just watch tv (no gaming), my tv developed an issue where, right down the middle, the left side of the tv was darker than the right side. I called LG, and they sent two different technicians out that agreed with me that there was something wrong, and most likely with the panel... however, LG claims they cannot see the issue (via a mobile app using the camera on the techs phone!) and refuse to take the word of their own techs they contracted to service it.

I also have a vizio p-series tv (both 65 inch) , that has sat side by side with the LG and was used for gaming. While the LG had the advantage when sitting at an angle, if you're viewing both sets from the front, the much cheaper vizio has almost as good blacks (very very good)(believe it not), better motion handling, and more natural colors ... (not to mention waaay brighter.)

Do yourself a favor, save some money ... and look into a Vizio P-Series. LG has lost a customer for life ... and i'll be sure and share my experience with them refusing to honor the warranty.... every chance i get to anyone who will listen!

I wonder if sony does a better job of honoring their warranties... i hope so , as i think their new OLEDs use LG panels. However, i've never had a sony tv fail either so i don't know!

Perhaps i'll give Samsung's latest tech a shot...
10 people found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on September 7, 2017
I purchased this set in November 2016. While the picture is quite good, by July it had developed a significant and noticeable burn in across the bottom of the screen. After some research, I found that this problem is not uncommon with this particular model. However, LG customer service has refused any help with the issue and I have now have a very expensive television set with an annoying burn in. I am extremely disappointed with LG's poor customer service and lack of concern about the issue to the point where I will likely never purchase another product from LG.
review image
27 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
on January 1, 2018
I bought this tv a year ago and the fact that it only has a 1 year warranty should have been a red flag. a week before the warranty was up I woke up to green splotches right in the middle of the screen. I contacted LG on a Wednesday and was told I would be contacted the following day with instructions. The technician didn't get back to me til late on Friday. They referred me to Alpha TV in Oakland, of course there was no way I could catch them before they closed . On Monday I did the photo thing with both Alpha TV and LG on the phone and the guys at Alpha TV assured me that they would take care of it. They even mentioned I was lucky I had called it in when I did. And that is the last I heard from them. They wont return my calls nor will they reply to texts. When I call LG they just point out that its now out of warranty .Apparently this is a problem with OLED and its not really being addressed its just something that happens with the TV's after about a year. Hopefully this review will stop you from buying this garbage. There needs to be a class action lawsuit. There are over 900 letters on consumer affairs , only like 5 are positive , the rest have green blobs or some other malfunction.
8 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 30, 2017
First off, this is a 5/5 star television if one were to only consider image quality. However, the quality of the OLED panel is questionable. I had the television for about 3 months (purchased Sept. 2016) and I started noticing two *very* faint horizontal lines around where the subtitles usually appear. The lines were more apparent in the middle of the TV and gradually faded to being undetectable ~ 8" to either side of center of the TV. I called LG and they made me 'test' the screen by using their standard image. *POOF* the lines were gone! I guess I had being seeing things... it turns out the lines only appear on any backdrop EXCEPT the white / grey one they provided! Fast forward 8 months: now the lines had repeating boxes, maybe 1 inch by 1 inch, approximately 20 or so per line, that gradually started appearing. I once again called LG, they made me display their test screen, the boxes and lines disappeared, so I lied to them and told them they were still there. They sent out a service person who definitely said the screen was defective. Thank god the TV was still under the 1 year warranty as the screen as now been replaced and looks flawless. I never got a clear answer about what made the screen defective (it looked like a burn-in... but I always use a screensaver and don't watch anything with repetitive small boxes in the middle of the screen!). I hope this one lasts and I'll be watching for those lines like a hawk the next three months that the new OLED panel is covered by the warranty.
6 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 8, 2017
At first I was worried about getting an OLED due to a few bad reviews but I took a leap of and oh boy I am happy I did. I am absolutely star struck by this LG OLED set. The picture is out of this world due its infinite contrast ratio a deep dark blacks which make the colors pop richly without the non-saturated color look. I previously owned a Samsung ks8500 tv but I returned it due to its minor light bleeding issues.

Here's my review of the LG OLED B6

Gaming/Input Lag: I own a original Xbox One console which is not capable of 4k/HDR This OLED TV literally makes my Xbox One games look more Rich & Vibrant with everything looking near 4k, I couldn't believe it. Since I previosuly owned a Samsung Ks8500 there was a good amount of detail present when I was playing games but on this OLED LG set I noticed alot more detail I've never seen before. Don't get me wrong, the Samsung ks8500 doesn't come close to being a bad tv, it was the light bleeding issues. I'm also a competitive gamer which means I like to have the edge over my competition. I play alot of Fps shooters like CoD and Star Wars Battlefront but let me tell that the input lag is matched alongside the Samsung Ks8500 tv set. This was another reason I was afraid to buy an LG OLED B6, but no everything has been beyond my expectations so far. I heard that you needed to download a Firmware patch that LG made but for some odd reason I never saw a notification for downloading the patch. I assume that the patch downloaded itself when the TV booted up. 9/10

Movies: This OLED will not let you down at all, this is truly the ultimate movie experience. The OLED is Dolby certified so hopefully see some more Dolby Vision based content later down the road. I watched X-Men Apocalypse which is an HDR premium title. I sit approximately 7-8 ft away from the screen and I noticed little to no film grain when watching the movie with fun rich vibrant colors. I also decided to watch a 1080p title, I decided to watch Spider-man 3. The movie looks amazing on this OLED set although there is some realistic film grain here and there. I also found a feature on the TV where you can eliminate film noise so that you can get the best picture quality possible. It say the process takes 1 hour, I decided to try this feature and everything looks a bit more clean. 10/10

Web browser: Everything is working excellent with web browsing, everything works fast and efficient. You might be a bit disappointed that they may not have a few apps you're looking for, whatever they may be. The apps I use is Hulu, Vudu and Netflix so I'm fully covered 8/10

Component/Inputs: This TV has 4 HDMI inputs and I was shocked not knowing this TV actually supported RCA In, I was saving up to get a receiver due to this but I still need one because of my 5.1 Channel surround sound system. When you open up the Brand New box you will notice two small 3-4 ft mini components cords which you can insert in the back of OLED panel similar to a 3.5mm jack. The first little bag will include a Red/White/Yellow mini component which you can use to hook up DVD Players and Classic gaming consoles. The Second bag includes Red/Blue/Green which can be used for anything 720p or above if you prefer not to use a HDMI. Just a reminder you will need to have the original component cable cords that came with your DVD Player or classic gaming console so that you can insert the matching colors into the mini component cables. For me being upset thinking that the LG OLED won't be RCA Component compatible really surprised me. The joke was on me! 10/10

I think I covered everything so far but message me if you have any question!
29 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse