Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Digital Albums Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(5 star). See all 29 reviews
VINE VOICEon October 21, 2016
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
‘When you play the game of thrones, you win or you die.’ – Cersei Lannister.

If you have never heard of Game of Thrones by this point, the rock you are living under must be under a rock. Game of Thrones was already popular in the book series (Called A Song of Fire and Ice) but HBO’s hit show put it over the top. It’s literally everywhere. So this game will already have a built in fan base. Especially because it is based on the show itself. So the artwork is already iconic.
Now the game itself is based on the classic Cosmic Encounter game rules (with some slight changes of course). Never heard of Cosmic Encounter? It’s an old game actually. Originally created in 1977. Each player would take on the role of different aliens in space, each with its own unique powers that allow you to break a game rule. The game consists of attacking and defending. Allying yourself and betraying that a few turns later. The point is to conquer the universe. The game was a lot of fun. And so popular it keeps being reprinted and kept in print all these years. As you may have guessed, with the mechanics of that game it translates extremely well to this IP.
Now there are some changes with this game. But instead of trying to list the differences I’ll just go over some of the game mechanics as if you’ve never played Cosmic before.
First off you chose your house and the leader to it. Don’t like Ned leading the Starks? That’s cool. Put Arya or Catelyn in the role. Every character has a specific rule they can use to manipulate the game. Please note that Martell and Greyjoy fans might be a little disappointed as their houses are not included in the game. Perhaps there will be an expansion if the game does well. Maybe?

You draw from an event deck at the start of your turn. This tells you who you have to interact with. The person drawing the card is the challenger. The person chosen is the defender. This doesn’t force a battle. But it can. You can ask others for help. You can try to dissuade others from allying with the defender. You have a hand of cards. So no one really knows what you are planning because this affects game play as well. Either adding to the attack, defense, or a truce. If it is a battle, higher number wins. If it is a truce there is negotiation. This seems a little complicated. But trust me it’s really not.
There are some nice pros in this game because it’s random who you interact with. But also you can ally yourself with others as well. The cons to the game would be that people who get angry easy might have an issue with this game. After all there is a lot of backstabbing. So the game might not be for everyone. With that being said though, it’s Game of Thrones. So anyone playing should expect some underhanded dealings just based on theme alone!

So now that you know about the game is it worth the price tag? Very much so. Fantasy Flight Games makes extremely high quality games. And this one is no exception. Cards and tokens are nice. Artwork (mostly pictures from the show) adds to the game play. And the rules are streamlined as well. It plays best with 5 players. Because it’s always a wild time and you never know who will really win. But even with the lowest amount (3 players) the game can still be a lot of fun.
Iron Throne is great for fans of the books or show. It’s a great buy for anyone who likes negotiation type games or chaotic games. I wouldn’t recommend it to people who get angry easy or are poor losers. But overall I’d say this game fires on all cylinders. 5 stars!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 6, 2016
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Iron Throne Game takes a venerable franchise in Cosmic Encounter and recasts it in Westeros with the houses from A Game of Thrones. The basic gameplay is very simple. Each turn is an encounter between two players, each controlling a house. Where it gets fun is that the rest of the players can also get involved, offering support to one side or the other. Further, each player has cards that they may be able to play that can dramatically affect the game. The game melds together strategy, compromise, bluffing and betrayal to make for constantly shifting, dynamic experience. And oh so much fun.

This is definitely a game where more is merrier. Many of the cards and abilities are designed to target or intimidate supporters and deal-making is encouraged. With 5, our games lasted a bit more than an hour though much of that is dependent on the degree of cooperation between players.

This is a great game that perfectly fits the thematic aspects of GoT. The characters have abilities that match their personalities and the leaders within each house are distinct, giving many possible permutations to play. Of couse, if long term variety is a concern, it's almost a guarantee that there will be multiple expansions introducing new houses.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 10, 2016
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a remake of the classic game Cosmic Encounters, customized for Game of Thrones. 3-5 players play as the great houses of that story (only Stark, Lannister, Baratheon, Taragyen and Tyrell), pick a leader for their house, and go to town. Based on the leader, each player gets a rule advantage, then on each player's turn, there's a potential conflict with another house, where the remaining houses can stay neutral or assist either side. The outcome depends on the cards played and the alliances for that encounter.

As a result, this is a very social game, where convincing people to enter a conflict on a particular side or stay out will decide who wins and loses, and there's usually a ton of backstabbing. If you have a group who would enjoy that, you'll like this game a lot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
After playing this game, these are our reactions. My son worked for a company which designed board games, so he chimed in, too. Plus, he is a GAME OF THRONES fan:

* this is a fun board game

* added bonus - it includes stills from the show which will delight fans

* more complicated than simple board games like Monopoly and Risk

* games strategy - this game focuses on bluffing and convincing the other players to join you in confrontations vs. other players

* recommendation: this Game of Thrones game plays best with 4-5 players, playing with 3 players not quite as fun

If you are a fan of the show, think you will enjoy this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 24, 2016
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a version of Cosmic Encounters done for the Fire and Ice world using your favorite characters from the books and TV series.

I would have never thought of this, but it is actually a perfect fit.

The main mechanic is the that players choose one of their avatars/characters from Game of Thrones to attack other players' characters. If they win, they get to place influence. The first player to get five influence on other players' bases wins.

So, what are the nuances. The Cosmic Encounter game is tried and true. First, other players can volunteer to join you or your opponent (and, you have the right of refusal). The upside to help is that you get help. The downside is that they also get influence. So, they could actually win by helping you out.

There is an element of treachery. In some games this comes as an unpleasantness. But, come on, this is a Game of Thrones adaptation. If there were not treachery then you would not be in a GRRM world!

All in all, a great, simple game with a lot of nuanced strategy.

Well done!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 21, 2016
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Game Of Thrones: The Iron Throne Game is a really enjoyable interactive game. The board and the pieces are very good looking and it is easy to assemble for play. This is a really good game for GOT fans.

I have a group of friends that we get together regularly and game. We play all kinds from role play to board games. One night might be D&D and another might just be one of the many board games we have. I told them I was getting this game and seeing that we are all GOT fans, we all were eager for it to arrive. I will say that having 4 to 5 players works best and having a knowledge of GOT is important. As others have stated this is similar to the classic Cosmic Encounter game, so any long time gamers are going to be able to get this one rolling right away. We did not time the game exactly but it was roughly and hour to finish. There is a lot of very cool interaction in this, alliances, betrayal, and everything else you can imagine come into play making it inclusive for everyone.

Game Of Thrones: The Iron Throne Game is really a fun and well done game. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 1, 2016
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a game that was recently released that was developed by some of the creators of the classic game, Cosmic Encounters. If you look up reviews about Cosmic Encounters, you will see it has been around for 20-30 years and is VERY popular game. This is not just a 're-skin' of a game where someone put a different theme on a game. The mechanics are more streamlined in this game and it is a bit easier to play than the traditional version (Cosmic Encounters). Cosmic Encounters has an alien/space theme whereas this is based off of Game of Thrones. The artwork is great in this game and the cards/player boards all have photographs of the HBO TV series. This game does not play with 2 people and it is recommended to have at least 3 people. For this game, the more people the more fun it'll be as treaties can be made, traitors can appear, etc. It is a very fun strategy and social game. The theme works really well in this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 20, 2016
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Sometimes you can get away with playing a 3-5 player game with only 2 players, but this game is not like that! It's most fun with 3 or 5 players, because the strategy in this game is alot like the show itself, scheming and teaming up to take out other players.

If you are a fan of Game of Thrones and boardgames, then purchase this game immediately. You'll be in love with it just ogling the pieces! We found it took us about 45 minutes to play the game, closer to an hour and a half when drinking!!!!

My favorite part of this game is that it doesn't take up much space. Living in a New York apartment with no dining table, we are constantly having to play board games on the floor - but this one fit on the coffee table so it will get played more often than others!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 19, 2016
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I love Game of Thrones, the TV show, the books, the characters, etc... On occasion I'll play a fantasy board game and wish that it were GoT based, so this seemed right up my alley. While I've yet to play any games from Fantasy Flight, they seem to have a robust background of strong (according to Amazon reviews) licenced properties (including other GoT games) and solid original game concepts, so I took the plunge.

This game is based on Cosmic Encounter, which has a incredible reviews, so my expectations were high...and they were met. The game is perfect for 4 players, but not missing much with 3 or 5 of them (5 players max, as they're only five houses). It really helps to have watched the show, but you needn't be an expert--that being said, it's extra rewarding for die hard fans. Gameplay takes about an hour (can take longer if you're multitasking), but I'm guessing some subsequent games where folks have some experience will see 45 minutes game times. Replayability is high as the houses can have different characters leading them and all are balanced to allow for different playstyles.

Setup isn't overly complex (the board is of decent size), and it shouldn't be hard for board game novices to play (fundamentally simple components), though it helps to have at least someone who plays these times of games. As noted before, it helps to watch the show/read the books, but the game works well if you haven't.

Being a new title, there aren't as many YouTube guides for setup and play, but they're starting to get out there. I've found it's a good way to learn the game ahead of game night to speed things up, but I wouldn't say it's needed for any game, especially this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 21, 2016
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My kids are rather obsessed with Game of Thrones, both the books and the HBO series, so this game is perfect for them. Game can be played with up to five players. Play as any of five great houses: Stark, Lannister, Targaryen, Baratheon, or Tyrell. Characters from the show each have their own strengths and abilities and the outcome is different each time you play. The game is fun and well made, and is of good quality. Everything you need to win the throne is included. Would rmake a great gift for any Game of Thrones fan. My kids, who are older, really enjoy it. We would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here