Check out Santa's new ride Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Plus  Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop now HTL17_gno



on June 14, 2008
I didn't expect much for the price I paid, but was pleasently surprised. The screen is very easy to read, and the automatic features actually work without being fine tuned. Far and away the nicest feature about this unit is the dual beam transducer. It has great accuracy not only under the boat, but off to the sides. Lastly the option of mounting the transducer to the trolling motor without having to buy an adapter was icing on the cake.
0Comment| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2009
The Garmin 140 is well made; solid case and transducer/battery connector, the membrane buttons have a nice feel to them and the mounts for transducer and screen are good. You can read the screen easily in full sumlight. I've had it on the water about 6 times already and had good luck with it. Auto settings work well so you can quickly use it right out of the box. I've played with the gain, sensitivity, etc. and found that the auto settings usually work the best. The only issue that I'm trying to figure out is that sometimes I get different bottom depth readings using the different frequencies (wide cone v. narrow).

One other caveat; just because you see the fish doesn't mean that you can catch them.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2011
I've had this product for 3 months and it stopped working 3 weeks ago. It simply will not turn on and prior to it not working anymore it has problems with freezing and not scanning. If you move from shallow to deep water you have to reset the unit for it to start reading the bottom correctly. Sometimes it will stop reading all together and you have to reset the unit. It takes about 30 seconds between resets for it to start reading the bottom correctly. The plug that goes into the back of the unit doesn't always seat in correctly. So sometimes it takes several attempts to seat it before all of the pins make contact.

The only good thing is that it did come with a trolling motor mount.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2008
This is by far the best fishfinder in the price range. This is a VERY durable product, I love the low energy comsumption. I found it pretty straight forward to use and don't need to carry the manual around. The resolution is good, screen is viewable in daylight and the readings seem accurate. It has already made a diffrence in our fishing.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2010
I bought the fishfinder mainly for the depth finder feature while fishing/crabbing in the rivers of the Chesapeake Bay region. It was very easy to install on my jon boat and to hook up to a small 12v battery I purchased from Cabela's. So far, it has worked as expected. I have been adjusting the settings for my own purposes and I like the alarm when I get into too shallow of water. Have not had too many chances to see how accurate the fish finder is under various fishing conditions, but it picks up fish and displays both big and little fish icons on the screen. If you are looking for a quality fish finder at a low price, this unit is a good buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2013
Fab product, arrived as described new, works as described. Very helpful for bass fishing ...use it every time I go out fishing. Would purchase again, priced more reasonably than retail. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2009
I could give it 5 stars for the graph itself, but I could give it 0 for the universal Transom/Trollmotor transducer. It hangs down low under the trolling motor housing in harms way. (Go to Garmin's website and download the owner's manual to view how the transducer mounts to the motor).I broke it first time out. I fabricated a mounting bracket from aluminum plate. So far so good. This product should be available with a puck style transducer just for mounting to trolling motor.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
I use mine for shrimping and crabbing to set my pots. Works well. I have the transducer mounted inside my aluminum hull boat and shoot through the hull and it is very accurate. We jig for chinook salmon where I fish and you need to stay on top of the fish and this unit is very good at identifying the fish and their depth. Cheap and works, what more do you need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2014
Have been using this on my boat for 3 years. Works great no complaints. Easy to install. I did have to cut the transducer coax and splice it (it explicitly states to not do that several places) However I soldered the connections back and re wove the shield. and used heat shrink. I have had no problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2015
the best fish finder that I have owned and still own in working order. it is accurate in depth and fish everytime. do not abuse it and it will last a long time. I use it on my jon boat in the North Carolina rivers and inlets perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here